728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Extension Ladders or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 16 ft. Aluminum Extension Ladder with 200 lb. Load Capacity Type III Duty Rating

16 ft. Aluminum Extension Ladder with 200 lb. Load Capacity Type III Duty Rating

The D1116-2 Aluminum 16 ft. Extension Ladder is lightweight yet has a duty rating of 200 pounds. The TRACTION-TRED D rungs are slip resistant. Spring-loaded locks operate smoothly for easy operation. Pivoting shoes with slip-resistant foot pads. Mar-resistant end caps help protect the surface the ladder is leaning against. Exclusive ALFLO rung joint means TWIST-PROOF performance every time.
Overall rating:
4.413 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product38 of 42reviews
Rating Breakdown 46 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(27)
4
(15)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product38 of 42reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for 16 ft. Aluminum Extension Ladder with 200 lb. Load Capacity Type III Duty Rating
Review 1 for 16 ft. Aluminum Extension Ladder with 200 lb. Load Capacity Type III Duty Rating
from St. Cloud, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A good lightweight ladder

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very lightweight. I needed a ladder a few feet longer than the one I've owned for 20-plus years. This was the height I needed to cut down a tree. This lightweight ladder made the job much easier. I'm not a big person. It was sturdy enough for me. Also, I'm not very young anymore, so the light weight was very helpful. The slip resistant pads worked fine. My old ladder had none. I'm glad I bought it.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 16 ft. Aluminum Extension Ladder with 200 lb. Load Capacity Type III Duty Rating
from colorado springs co
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great home ladder for a decent price

PostedJune 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If you are looking for the per-requisite home metal extension ladder-this one is it. It feels sturdy when using it and the price is right. Best all purpose deal on the page.Not for a talllll job or one that needs a work surface included.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 16 ft. Aluminum Extension Ladder with 200 lb. Load Capacity Type III Duty Rating
from Saint Cloud, Florida 34771
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Exactly wht I wanted to make our home look expensive and stylish

PostedApril 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had been wanting to add lights to the columns on our front courtyard entrance to the house, we went to Home Depot and I bought Glidden 4x thicker Silk Grey exterior paint to change the trim then add lights to the columns, the fence was painted with the glidden paint and we painted the trim all around the house. my husband installed the lights, after finished with the front of the house we turned on the house column lights and the beveled glass and clear bulbs that I also bought at Home Depot just glowed like crystal. The front of the house is beautiful and make the house look expensive and elegant. All products were bought at home depot, bricks for the flower bed, the silk grey glidden paint, the lights that I ordered on line
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 16 ft. Aluminum Extension Ladder with 200 lb. Load Capacity Type III Duty Rating
from King City, OR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Affordable and easy to use.

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It is handy to use. It is easy to operate or adjust. I highly recommend the product.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 16 ft. Aluminum Extension Ladder with 200 lb. Load Capacity Type III Duty Rating
from St.Louis, Missouri
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect solution for me

PostedJune 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have a 20 ft. fiberglass ladder that I used for years and it became so heavy since I've gotten older and more and more hard to handle for a 70 yr old 113 lb person. This ladder is just what I needed to ease the burden of gutter cleaning. It's lightweight and strong and It made my life much easier.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 16 ft. Aluminum Extension Ladder with 200 lb. Load Capacity Type III Duty Rating
from mo
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very safe!

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Needed a ladder to reach to the roof of my house to clean out the leafs from the gutter. It was the right length and very sturdy. Fit into my shed without a problem.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 16 ft. Aluminum Extension Ladder with 200 lb. Load Capacity Type III Duty Rating
from Denver, CO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Excellent purchase,

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
great quality ladder, I weight 250 and havent bent a rung yet, great for RV's.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 16 ft. Aluminum Extension Ladder with 200 lb. Load Capacity Type III Duty Rating
from Madison, WI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Deceiving Advertising Regarding Height of this Ladder

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The ladder is of good quality for a lightweight ladder, and not safe for heavy guys over 200 lbs. The problem I have with the ladder is that Werner Corporation advertises it as a 16ft ladder, with a 15 ft reach. In reality, when you take out your tape measure and measure the ladder at its full extended height the ladder is actually only 13 feet long. This to me doesn't seem like honest advertising. Werner goes about this by measuring the two "8" foot sections that comprise the ladder. When you check this ladder out in the store, and when you put the extension hooks on the top wrung of the lower portion you will see there are still two wrungs below the top wrung of lower portion. These two wrungs lessen the length of the ladder by 3 feet. So I just want you to beware the ladder is only 13 feet long when fully extended. I think Home Depot and Werner should be more honest.
Pros: Easy to Move
Cons: deceiving advertising of actual height
+19points
26out of 33found this review helpful.
Response from By WernerCustomerCareAugust 4, 2014By WernerCustomerCareAugust 4, 2014
We apologize for the confusion. Size refers to the ANSI definition of length. For a step ladder or extension ladder that is determined by the overall length of material rail used to make the ladder. For instance, this D1116-2 is a 16' ladder that has two 8' sections that are assembled together which create an overlap. The maximum working length is the maximum length which a ladder can be extended, including the overlap. For the D1116-2 there are 3' of overlap when fully extended, making the maximum working length 13' and maximum reach 15'.

To determine which ladder you need for your application, we recommend you reference reach height instead of size. To see a chart of this, please visit the support section of our website at http://us.wernerco.com/support/ladder-safety-tips/how-to-choose-a-ladder for further details on the proper ladder for your height. Please also reference the label on the outside of each ladder that notes all of the required dimensions.Werner
Review 9 for 16 ft. Aluminum Extension Ladder with 200 lb. Load Capacity Type III Duty Rating
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Satisfactory Purchase

PostedJune 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The product works for me.
If this is too short, then I repeat: your product works for me.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 16 ft. Aluminum Extension Ladder with 200 lb. Load Capacity Type III Duty Rating
from Brewster. NY
Age Range:25 to 34

Great Ladder

PostedMay 31, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Paid for itself when I realized the gutters were clogged up and I would need to call someone for about 100 bucks to get it cleaned. Now I have an awesome light weight ladder for the future.
Pros: Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 16 ft. Aluminum Extension Ladder with 200 lb. Load Capacity Type III Duty Rating
from Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great Investment

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We needed an extension ladder to repair a small roof leak. It is perfect for many projects however. I am 4'11 and a girl and I can even carry it. It is a mans best friend in a ladder! He loves it too!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 16 ft. Aluminum Extension Ladder with 200 lb. Load Capacity Type III Duty Rating
from Porter, TX 77365, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good ladder

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I am senior female, dont have alot of reason to get on roof but my current ladder not tall enough. For the price and it being fairly light, I chose this one. I have a place where the leaves sit on my roof and need to get up there and get them off to avoid rot. this does the trick and if set properly is very safe. I wont use it much but I still needed it. The feet dig into the ground good and make it secure. It could be a little cheaper as it is light weight and a big guy is outside its weight limit.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: alittle pricey
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 16 ft. Aluminum Extension Ladder with 200 lb. Load Capacity Type III Duty Rating
from Birmingham, AL

PERFECT FOR WHAT I NEEDED

PostedJune 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This ladder served my needs completly. I wanted it primarily to clean my gutters and do some repainting of windows.
It allowed me to easily reach and clean my gutters. A huge plus is it's extremely light weight. This ladder has a 200 pound maximum. I would recommend buying the next step up that has a capacity of 250 pounds for more versatility (this includes anything you carry up the ladder.)
The comment/misunderstanding in another review about the ladder height arose because of not looking at the prominent labels on the ladder. This ladder does what is advertised.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 16 ft. Aluminum Extension Ladder with 200 lb. Load Capacity Type III Duty Rating
from FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

strong, light and long enough.

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Perfect for getting up into my attic and onto roof of my one-story house.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 16 ft. Aluminum Extension Ladder with 200 lb. Load Capacity Type III Duty Rating

Great basic ladder

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We used this to remove wallpaper on a two story wall.. that was not fun but the ladder did great
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 16 ft. Aluminum Extension Ladder with 200 lb. Load Capacity Type III Duty Rating
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Light enough for a woman to handle

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love the ease with which I can handle this ladder by myself. It comes with instructions and illustrations right on the ladder easy enough for anyone to understand. The price was reasonable and with the free shipping, the experience cannot be beat.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 16 ft. Aluminum Extension Ladder with 200 lb. Load Capacity Type III Duty Rating

Step up

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I really like this ladder. It's light weight and with a bad back I have no problem carrying it. Price is right and just the right height for around the house.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 16 ft. Aluminum Extension Ladder with 200 lb. Load Capacity Type III Duty Rating
from Kansas City, MO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Ladder for Household Chores

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I got this ladder to do jobs around the house up high and for painting and cleaning out the gutters and cleaning windows. It's lightweight and easy to move around, and not too long to be unmanageable, the height is good for anything that I plan on doing, and is tough enough for the use of a regular homeowner.
My Father has a fiberglass stepladder I would use from time to time, and it is so heavy, and tall that I can barely move it, so I like that this ladder is lightweight, so this is a good ladder for females.
I got a good deal on it, and it's invaluable tool to have as a homeowner, so you're not constantly having to borrow someone else's ladder.
After I bought it and brought it home, I realized that one of the legs were bent on the bottom, and I took it back, and they exchanged the ladder with no problems.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 16 ft. Aluminum Extension Ladder with 200 lb. Load Capacity Type III Duty Rating
from La Mesa, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Just what I needed

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I needed a light weight extension ladder that I could easily handle. This was perfect.
Pros: Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 16 ft. Aluminum Extension Ladder with 200 lb. Load Capacity Type III Duty Rating

Good, solid ladder

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The ladder is lightweight and easy to move around.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>