728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Extension Ladders or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 16 ft. Aluminum Extension Ladder with 200 lb. Load Capacity Type III Duty Rating

16 ft. Aluminum Extension Ladder with 200 lb. Load Capacity Type III Duty Rating

The D1116-2 Aluminum 16 ft. Extension Ladder is lightweight yet has a duty rating of 200 pounds. The TRACTION-TRED D rungs are slip resistant. Spring-loaded locks operate smoothly for easy operation. Pivoting shoes with slip-resistant foot pads. Mar-resistant end caps help protect the surface the ladder is leaning against. Exclusive ALFLO rung joint means TWIST-PROOF performance every time.
Overall rating:
4.294 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product26 of 30reviews
Rating Breakdown 34 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(18)
4
(12)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product26 of 30reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for 16 ft. Aluminum Extension Ladder with 200 lb. Load Capacity Type III Duty Rating
Review 1 for 16 ft. Aluminum Extension Ladder with 200 lb. Load Capacity Type III Duty Rating
from St. Cloud, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A good lightweight ladder

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very lightweight. I needed a ladder a few feet longer than the one I've owned for 20-plus years. This was the height I needed to cut down a tree. This lightweight ladder made the job much easier. I'm not a big person. It was sturdy enough for me. Also, I'm not very young anymore, so the light weight was very helpful. The slip resistant pads worked fine. My old ladder had none. I'm glad I bought it.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 16 ft. Aluminum Extension Ladder with 200 lb. Load Capacity Type III Duty Rating
from Madison, WI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Deceiving Advertising Regarding Height of this Ladder

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The ladder is of good quality for a lightweight ladder, and not safe for heavy guys over 200 lbs. The problem I have with the ladder is that Werner Corporation advertises it as a 16ft ladder, with a 15 ft reach. In reality, when you take out your tape measure and measure the ladder at its full extended height the ladder is actually only 13 feet long. This to me doesn't seem like honest advertising. Werner goes about this by measuring the two "8" foot sections that comprise the ladder. When you check this ladder out in the store, and when you put the extension hooks on the top wrung of the lower portion you will see there are still two wrungs below the top wrung of lower portion. These two wrungs lessen the length of the ladder by 3 feet. So I just want you to beware the ladder is only 13 feet long when fully extended. I think Home Depot and Werner should be more honest.
Pros: Easy to Move
Cons: deceiving advertising of actual height
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Response from By WernerCustomerCareAugust 4, 2014By WernerCustomerCareAugust 4, 2014
We apologize for the confusion. Size refers to the ANSI definition of length. For a step ladder or extension ladder that is determined by the overall length of material rail used to make the ladder. For instance, this D1116-2 is a 16' ladder that has two 8' sections that are assembled together which create an overlap. The maximum working length is the maximum length which a ladder can be extended, including the overlap. For the D1116-2 there are 3' of overlap when fully extended, making the maximum working length 13' and maximum reach 15'.

To determine which ladder you need for your application, we recommend you reference reach height instead of size. To see a chart of this, please visit the support section of our website at http://us.wernerco.com/support/ladder-safety-tips/how-to-choose-a-ladder for further details on the proper ladder for your height. Please also reference the label on the outside of each ladder that notes all of the required dimensions.Werner
Review 3 for 16 ft. Aluminum Extension Ladder with 200 lb. Load Capacity Type III Duty Rating
from Porter, TX 77365, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good ladder

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am senior female, dont have alot of reason to get on roof but my current ladder not tall enough. For the price and it being fairly light, I chose this one. I have a place where the leaves sit on my roof and need to get up there and get them off to avoid rot. this does the trick and if set properly is very safe. I wont use it much but I still needed it. The feet dig into the ground good and make it secure. It could be a little cheaper as it is light weight and a big guy is outside its weight limit.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: alittle pricey
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 16 ft. Aluminum Extension Ladder with 200 lb. Load Capacity Type III Duty Rating
from Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great Investment

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We needed an extension ladder to repair a small roof leak. It is perfect for many projects however. I am 4'11 and a girl and I can even carry it. It is a mans best friend in a ladder! He loves it too!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 16 ft. Aluminum Extension Ladder with 200 lb. Load Capacity Type III Duty Rating
from King City, OR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Affordable and easy to use.

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is handy to use. It is easy to operate or adjust. I highly recommend the product.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 16 ft. Aluminum Extension Ladder with 200 lb. Load Capacity Type III Duty Rating
from bloomfield, ny
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

a very good deal

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
easy to pick up, was just what I was looking for, thank you
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 16 ft. Aluminum Extension Ladder with 200 lb. Load Capacity Type III Duty Rating
from Montgomery, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

16 ft ladder

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
light weight makes it handy for cleaning rain gutters. much cheaper than buying gutter covers.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 16 ft. Aluminum Extension Ladder with 200 lb. Load Capacity Type III Duty Rating
from Wilmington, DE, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Ladder

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Lightweight and sturdy! Couldn't ask for much more out of a ladder!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 16 ft. Aluminum Extension Ladder with 200 lb. Load Capacity Type III Duty Rating
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Light enough for a woman to handle

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love the ease with which I can handle this ladder by myself. It comes with instructions and illustrations right on the ladder easy enough for anyone to understand. The price was reasonable and with the free shipping, the experience cannot be beat.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 16 ft. Aluminum Extension Ladder with 200 lb. Load Capacity Type III Duty Rating
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Very useful

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very light, I can take this in any part of the house. Very useful too.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 16 ft. Aluminum Extension Ladder with 200 lb. Load Capacity Type III Duty Rating
from FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

strong, light and long enough.

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Perfect for getting up into my attic and onto roof of my one-story house.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 16 ft. Aluminum Extension Ladder with 200 lb. Load Capacity Type III Duty Rating

Great basic ladder

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We used this to remove wallpaper on a two story wall.. that was not fun but the ladder did great
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 16 ft. Aluminum Extension Ladder with 200 lb. Load Capacity Type III Duty Rating
from Birmingham, AL

PERFECT FOR WHAT I NEEDED

PostedJune 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This ladder served my needs completly. I wanted it primarily to clean my gutters and do some repainting of windows.
It allowed me to easily reach and clean my gutters. A huge plus is it's extremely light weight. This ladder has a 200 pound maximum. I would recommend buying the next step up that has a capacity of 250 pounds for more versatility (this includes anything you carry up the ladder.)
The comment/misunderstanding in another review about the ladder height arose because of not looking at the prominent labels on the ladder. This ladder does what is advertised.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 16 ft. Aluminum Extension Ladder with 200 lb. Load Capacity Type III Duty Rating
from Kansas City, MO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Ladder for Household Chores

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this ladder to do jobs around the house up high and for painting and cleaning out the gutters and cleaning windows. It's lightweight and easy to move around, and not too long to be unmanageable, the height is good for anything that I plan on doing, and is tough enough for the use of a regular homeowner.
My Father has a fiberglass stepladder I would use from time to time, and it is so heavy, and tall that I can barely move it, so I like that this ladder is lightweight, so this is a good ladder for females.
I got a good deal on it, and it's invaluable tool to have as a homeowner, so you're not constantly having to borrow someone else's ladder.
After I bought it and brought it home, I realized that one of the legs were bent on the bottom, and I took it back, and they exchanged the ladder with no problems.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 16 ft. Aluminum Extension Ladder with 200 lb. Load Capacity Type III Duty Rating
from Moreno Valley, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Inexpensive, but not for daily use.

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Price attracted me to this product. I weigh 175 lbs. The ladder is fine for going up and down, but when you stand and work from it, the ladder has a shake to it that is hard to stop. (That is at or near full extension.) Great for occasional use if you are not maxing the weight limit.
Pros: Easy to Move, Nice Design
Cons: shakey
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 16 ft. Aluminum Extension Ladder with 200 lb. Load Capacity Type III Duty Rating

Suffices for most household needs

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For $100, this ladder does everything I need it to. The extension slides easily, the locking mechanism is solid, and it is not too heavy. This ladder has lots of value.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 16 ft. Aluminum Extension Ladder with 200 lb. Load Capacity Type III Duty Rating
from Tucson, AZ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great ladder for the money

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The ladder is light and functional. The hardware is well made and doesn't pose any challenges with telescoping
Pros: Durable, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 16 ft. Aluminum Extension Ladder with 200 lb. Load Capacity Type III Duty Rating

this product is great for small jobs

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
this product is just the right size for all your small home improvements and the price was fairly reasonable even in this economy
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 16 ft. Aluminum Extension Ladder with 200 lb. Load Capacity Type III Duty Rating
from Sylmar, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

16 ft Ladder

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ladder is not has tall as I needed. It is light and perfect for a small woman.
Pros: Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 16 ft. Aluminum Extension Ladder with 200 lb. Load Capacity Type III Duty Rating
from Lexington, SC

Unsteady Ground

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this ladder when I was installing gutters around portions of my house. It worked fine except when using it on unlevel surfaces in the garden. It was difficult to maneuver and to set the levelling feet in a consistent manner. If you have a short temper, I would only recommend this ladder if it will be used on a level surface, and if you don't weigh more than 200 pounds.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 >>