728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Cleaning Tools & Supplies or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Steam Mop

Steam Mop

The Shark Steam Mop features powerful steam that sanitizes and cleans while leaving hard floors virtually dry. The mop features a quick start-up that allows the steam to be ready in as little as 30 seconds. It comes with an ergonomic soft grip handle for added comfort and control during use and 2 triple-layered, micro-fiber cleaning cloths that work to loosen, lift and lock in dirt for easy cleaning. The quick cord release allows you to easily store the 20 ft. power cord, and the mop only weighs 3 lb. for easy maneuvering.
Overall rating:
3.95 / 5
4
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product32 of 39reviews
Rating Breakdown 40 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(18)
4
(12)
3
(4)
2
(2)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product32 of 39reviews
Customer reviews for Steam Mop
Review 1 for Steam Mop
from Columbus, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product performs very well.

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This steam mop does a great job cleaning our laminate floors. The instructions say that plain tap water can be used; however, the instructions also say that the life of the product can be extended by using distilled water. The mop heats up quickly, is light and easy to use. It comes with a number of mop heads so a clean one is always available to use. Very dependable product!
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Steam Mop
from PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job!

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works really well, the water steams within a minute and it couldn't be any easier to use. The only thing keeping this from a 5-star review is the sturdiness of the pole from the handle to the mop. It's very lightweight (aluminum I guess) and it feels like it might bend (and then get creased, rendering it useless) at any time. Otherwise, good product at a good price.
Pros: Cost Effective, Easy to Use, Fast Results, Effective
Cons: lacks heavy-duty craftsmanship
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Steam Mop
from Iowa, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I have had this product before and knew that i wanted another one. It works fabulously!

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The steam mop works fabulously and has two steam features. I'm very happy with this.
Pros: Cost Effective, Easy to Use
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Steam Mop
from Neptune, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great job

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased one a couple of years ago and wore it out - I can't live without one. I own four dogs and it does a great job cleaning my floors without harsh chemicals.
I've given three of these as Christmas gifts to family and they also love them. I would suggest getting extra pads as I change them often to be sure I am getting all the dirt off the floors. Woks great on tile, wood and laminate flooring.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Steam Mop
from ok
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

steam mop

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
does the job for a great price,wife loves it. First one lasted over 4 years even with the hard water
Pros: Cost Effective, Easy to Use
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Steam Mop
from Central New York
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works like it's supposed to, but...

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It does heat up fast and produce steam. The resevoir is large enough that it lasts a good-long time, but I don't believe it "sanitizes" without there being some type of cleaner used in conjunction with it. Yes, it does make it easier to get things up off the floor without having to get down on your hands and knees, but it does leave streaks behind. You really have to get all the dirt off the floor first to get a clean look -- which would mean sweeping at least a couple of times and then mopping with some type of cleaner first. I like the product, but just don't think it's the best thing since sliced bread.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Steam Mop
from Huntington Beach, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very handy tool for the Kitchen

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The Shark Steam Mop is very handy in keeping the kitchen and other hard floors clean in my house. Old stains DO need to be pretreated before cleaning, but daily dirt and small stains clean up with ease. This my second steam mop. It is important to use distilled water as hard water will plug up the steam outlet if left standing for a long period between uses. If the Mop stops producing steam try placing a fine wire in the steam outlet on the bottom, this will breakup up the clog caused by hard water. Use the wire when mop is cool and unpluged.
Pros: Cost Effective, Easy to Use, Effective
Cons: needs distilled water
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Steam Mop
from Antioch, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love steam cleaning!

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the first time i used a steam cleaner and it was great. I use it on tile floors in the kitchen, den and livingroom. I use it more in the kitchen and it works great. It is fast and efficient. I wasn't sure what to expect from it but after it drys the floors are nice and clean. I do agree with other reviews about the water container being bigger. But that doesn't take away from the use of the product.
Pros: Immediate Results, Cost Effective, Effective
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Steam Mop
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy and efficient

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This steam mop is fast and cleans as well as sanitizing.
Pros: Cost Effective, Easy to Use, Fast Results, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Steam Mop
from West Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It's OK...Too gentle for me.

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had this mop for over 2 years now:
+ It's ready to go as soon as you plug it in (like 10 sec), but...
- the mop itself is not very sturdy. When applying some pressure on it (on some stuck-on dirt areas), it starts to squeak and feels like it's about to break.
- It does not clean grout at all.
- It can leave the floor too wet, on account that you have to pump the mop for steam and that can lead to accidentally overproducing steam.
- The velcro pads do not stick to the mop well, esp after about 4 washes in the washer.
- In addition, the pads shrink and do not fit the mop well, leaving your floors prone to scratches by the flimsy plastic.
Overall, it's an overpriced light mop, a bit too light and gentle for my weekly mopping. I still had to get on my knees to get my floors clean.
I am looking into buying a Steamfast SF-142, looks well built, many good reviews and not too expensive.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Steam Mop
from Palm Bay, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does exactly what it should!

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
i really enjoy this product! Have been meaning to purchase for such a long time and when i got a gift card for christmas,i finally thought it was a great opportunity to get one. Very convenient for the little foot prints and spills around the home. Has a funny odor, not exactly sure what it is, but i got over it quickly once i saw how effective the shark mop was.Didnt give 5stars due to mop not being able to remove really tough messes such as stuck on grape jelly mess from my 2 year old, i had to take a lysol wipe to it first and then continued to mop.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Steam Mop
from Gainesville, GA

Love This Mop!

PostedSeptember 28, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love it, love it, love it!!!! I have two wonderful dogs with muddy paws covered with red Georgia clay when it rains. I used to cringe every time they came into the house because they left red paw prints on all my floors. The Shark Steam Mop is a life saver. It is extremely
lightweight and so easy to use. There is no heavy pail to carry around. I can just pull it out whenever I need it and clean my floors in a fraction of the time it took me before. It even has removed the red stains left behind by my old mop. I couldn't be more pleased with the product!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Steam Mop
from Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very good

PostedApril 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good price handles good easy to handle i like the steam clean
Pros: High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Steam Mop
from Bethany, OK

ok

PostedNovember 26, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I use my Shark steam mop all the time. I have tile and laminate throughout my house. If I had my preferences, I would have bought a more expensive model, as the results are great, but I'm not real fond of the pump action. I definitely do like steam clean compared to chemical clean.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Steam Mop

Great for cleaning

PostedApril 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great time saver. I really like the fact the floor is dry almost immediately after using it.
Pros: Great Scent, Immediate Results, Cost Effective, Easy to Use, High Quality, Fast Results, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Steam Mop
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Reasonable

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Reasonably good. Only improvement would be beneficial is swivel head.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: no swivel head
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Steam Mop
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for cleaning bathroom and kitchen floors

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great time saver. I really like the fact the floor is dry almost immediately after using it. It comes with two pads that are color coded so you can use one with the bathroom and one in the kitchen. Does a great job and steams quickly.
Pros: Cost Effective, Easy to Use, Fast Results, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Steam Mop
from Chicago, IL, USA

BUY IT!

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Makes washing the floor fun! So easy and cleans floor beautifully.
Pros: Easy to Remove, Immediate Results, Cost Effective, Easy to Use, Fast Results, Packaging, Effective, easy to store for apt. living, pads easy to clean, pads easy to remove/attach
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Steam Mop
from Huntsville, AL

bought 2!

PostedNovember 24, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have bought this product two times, it works great for at the begining after using it for 10-15 times stops working / no more steam..I have a friend that had the exactly same expirience..do not buy it!!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Steam Mop
from Rochester, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Nice color

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product is very lite and easy to move around. We receive the product in less time then originally quoted.
Pros: Easy to Remove, Cost Effective, Easy to Use, Fast Results, Packaging, Long-Lasting, Effective
Cons: should have more then one pad, to clean the floor.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>