728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garden Fencing or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)

6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)

Constructed from fresh water reed grown along riverbanks and wetlands, Peeled Reed Fencing provides an affordable and convenient way to enhance your landscape. Not only is it aesthetically pleasing and eco-friendly, but it also functions to add texture to an otherwise one-dimensional setting. To promote durability and longevity, our Peeled Reed Fencing comes pre-assembled and is woven with durable, vinyl-coated wiring. As a lightweight product, Peeled Reed Fencing is often a viable solution when seeking to cover old, unsightly fencing while simultaneously adding an element of tropical flair to your surroundings. Whether you’re looking to add privacy to your backyard or hoping to achieve a natural island look, Peeled Reed Fencing is certainly an environmentally-friendly option to consider. Using natural resources as a way to accent your home not only beautifies your landscape, but it also protects and preserves our environment.
Overall rating:
4.215 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(79 reviews) 79
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product65 of 72reviews
Rating Breakdown 79 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(37)
4
(30)
3
(7)
2
(2)
1
(3)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product65 of 72reviews
Customer reviews for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
Review 1 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
aria
from Miami, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Can't Beat The Price !

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Took me 60 min to install on my own. Would have been easier with help and access to the other side of the fence but no help and didnt want to bug the neighbors to go on their property. I kept the product role folded in half for a double layer. I unrolled it from the way it came and rolled it in the other direction. I kept unrolling it as I went so I could reach around the role to the other side of the fence for the zipties. I installed it on a 3' chin link fence but started it about 2" off the ground by placing two folded up lawn chairs under it as I went down the fence. The grass will cover the gap and this will give me 2" more of privacy on top. I used about 150 6" clear zip ties at the top of the chainlink fence and again half way down it, about 1' apart all the way down. I finished off with spraying it all with thompson's water seal. i got it for privacy since from my one side yard you can see a pedestrian bridge that goes over the water behind my house and lots of people go over it all day. You def want two layers of this! If you have help and access to both sides of the fence, even 3 layers would be amazing. i used two.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight, Seals Well
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+28points
32out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
Andrew

Glad I bought the 4 pack

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A single ply of this will NOT suffice. I bought the box to layer a 4' chainlink fence on both sides to cover an open spot that used to be covered with a butterfly bush that was removed. I am a little leery as to how long it will last, and it is feels relatively brittle with how thin the reeds are. The day after installation it stood up to 60 mph wind and storms without a problem. Double ply is the only way to go. I anchored every 2' directly to the tension bar. It took me about 5 minutes to hook it up to the fence using chain link hooks. I used 2 panels for the section, I have a lot left. I will run a single ply along the remainder of the fence where I already have tree coverage to complete the look.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my review
 
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
Tamster
from Northern NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

We used it as a basement ceiling....

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This fencing is exactly what I needed to inexpensively cover our basement ceiling. I gave it 4 stars only because one of the rolls was only 15' long, which makes a big difference when you're going from rafter to rafter. Now the basement looks like a tiki hut (or Bikini Bottom, depending on your kids' perspective). All four rolls came individually wrapped but together in one big box. I'm wondering what other fun projects I can use it for!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
Bigdog
from Akron, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
To make the product last I sprayed with Water sealer to help make the product last
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my review
 
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
ruby
from texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It added some privacy to my back yard

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It did add privacy to my back yard. Easy to install zip ties worked great. takes 2 to 3 people to install. will buy again.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
02Les
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good screening for privacy area.

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used to screen off an area of my pool deck. Looks real good but time will tell if it will stand up to the Texas heat (sun) and wind.
4 x 16ft lengths in the box were actually 2 x 14'-7", 1 x 15'-6" and 1 x 16'. The second box of 4 I bought were closer to the 16ft. So, be aware if you need them to be exactly 16ft - aim for 15ft and you'll be good.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
Zeke

really did the trick

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great product! Recommend doubling the fence if you want more privacy.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Stylish
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
Thomas
from Levittown, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Excellent Product for inexpensive Privacy

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The reed fencing is an awesome inexpensive way to create a private area in your yard - easy to install - just used zip ties and attached to an existing chain fence and Presto-Privacy!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Good Shape, Great Value, Economical
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
Phred
from Cuyahoga County ,Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

2 Seasons at best

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used this as a privacy / wind break for my deck. The fence was secured to bamboo poles and did a nice job blocking both the wind gusts and the view while still allowing enough sun for my garden. I used 2 x 16' runs and rebar to hold up the bamboo poles.
What I never anticipated was the wiring used to hold the reeds together rusted mid way through the 2nd season. The reeds are fine but I need to either reinforce the wiring or start fresh.
I live along Lake Erie and took the fence down for the winter so snow was not the issue.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight
Cons: short term solution
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
Nolan
from Lancaster, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Should be indoor decoration only

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product would add a nice touch for indoor decorating, but as for outdoor use, it is cheap, way too fragile, and cannot handle any type of wiring or string or fixing to posts, walls, or fences because if you wire or string it to a post or fence the wire that strings the reeds together breaks or the reeds get easily damaged. When the wire that strings the reeds together breaks, the reeds fall and break. You have to be extremely careful in handling this product because if you are not careful in carrying or lifting it, the chances of you damaging it is high, so I not only feel I wasted my money, but I also have to trash all four of them because I cannot return them in the condition that the wind has destroyed them further after the reeds broke from the wire breaking and the reeds falling on the ground. That's $88.96 plus tax down the toilet.
Pros: Stylish
Cons: bad for outdoor use, the reeds are way too fragile, the wire that strings it together is too weak, it was advertised wrongly as indoor/outdoor use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
4245Ricks
from Milwaukee, WI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

just what I wanted.

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
gives the privacy & decor I was looking for without a closed-in feeling.
Pros: Easy to Install, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
William
from PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not for outside use!!

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This would be good used inside, or maybe on a covered porch. This was used on a 6' high fence and it lasted for 2-3 months. I wish I didn't spend $100 on this. I will say this, it does look cool and gives a little more privacy. This is more of a decoration.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight
Cons: weak
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
southerngardener

Economical solution to screening challenges.

PostedMarch 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The 4-pack of 6 x 16' rolls was a great purchase for me. It provided the most screening for my money, as compared to other screening options. It does not provide opaque screening, but establishes enough separation for my needs. It provides light shade, which should be appropriate for my gardening plans in that area of the yard. I attached it to stakes about 4' apart and will probably add more stakes in between, because the wind has caused the product to lean a bit in places. With the proper structural support, I think the product will be sufficiently reliable. The rolls were lightweight and easy for me to carry and install by myself, which was great.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Economical, Light Weight
Cons: needs plenty of support to stay upright.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
hedidit
from Corona, CA 92880, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great addition to our backyard fencing

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We replace the decorative reed on our backyard fences every 2-3 years, as needed. This is a great way to cover up an ugly wood fence, and add a warm tropical feel at the same time.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
mebjc
from West Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Inexpensive privacy fencing that worked out great

PostedFebruary 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this fencing to cover our neighbor's old wood fence that they wouldn't replace. Using a staple gun and galvanized staples, this went up easily and you don't really see the staples. It covered all the mismatched sections and filled in areas perfectly. I read the other reviews where some complained about the thinness of the material, but that was not an issue because the backing is more or less solid. You cannot see through the reed to the unsightly boarding below it. Now we have a finished look to our yard that didn't require cooperation from the neighbors, or the cost of replacing a fence that is not on our property. Plus, this was the best cost for this product that I could find anywhere either in stores or on line.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
TJWe
from Tucson, AZ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A lot of fencing for a low price.

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The fencing was priced well however the material was put together poorly. Lots of gaps and bad wire used in construction. The reeds are very thin and not very strong. Had to use two panels to cover gaps
Pros: Alternative for Real Wood, Light Weight
Cons: lots of gaps and poorly wired together
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
johnboyo66
from CA

Great Cover-up.

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used this to cover up old panel fence. This product did a great job to freshen up the appearance.
Pros: Easy to Install, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
Thgay
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

wish these were more tightly weaved

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Good but not great, but OK for the price wish the bamboo were more tightly weaved
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
grandpa
from Fernley, NV, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It is what it is, but it handled strong winds, a good choice

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
worth the time to install, very nice addition to the yard.
Pros: Multi Use, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
Kahnighit
from VA

Does the job needed

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this to dress up a 4ft chain link fence and keep the dog from jumping it. It achieves both needs. Looks better than the other similarly priced product home depot offers. Put it up with zip ties and 16ga wire. As others have said it is not adequite for privacy. You'd probably need to double the layers. Also they are not quite 16 feet long. About a foot short on each span. Plan accordingly. Had to run to local store to buy one more to finish the job. Thus knowing this looks better than what's on the shelf.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>