728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garden Fencing or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)

6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)

Constructed from fresh water reed grown along riverbanks and wetlands, Peeled Reed Fencing provides an affordable and convenient way to enhance your landscape. Not only is it aesthetically pleasing and eco-friendly, but it also functions to add texture to an otherwise one-dimensional setting. To promote durability and longevity, our Peeled Reed Fencing comes pre-assembled and is woven with durable, vinyl-coated wiring. As a lightweight product, Peeled Reed Fencing is often a viable solution when seeking to cover old, unsightly fencing while simultaneously adding an element of tropical flair to your surroundings. Whether you’re looking to add privacy to your backyard or hoping to achieve a natural island look, Peeled Reed Fencing is certainly an environmentally-friendly option to consider. Using natural resources as a way to accent your home not only beautifies your landscape, but it also protects and preserves our environment.
Overall rating:
4.143 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(119 reviews) 119
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product100 of 112reviews
Rating Breakdown 119 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(52)
4
(48)
3
(9)
2
(4)
1
(6)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product100 of 112reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer reviews for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
Review 1 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from Miami, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I Have Some Good Info For You About This Stuff

PostedFebruary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Info that will be good to know before or after you buys this stuff....
1) it WILL turn grey in one year, even if you soak it in Thompson's waterseal like I did the day it installed
2) 1 layer of this makes it about 50% see through, 2 layers 7% see through and 3 layers makes it 1% see through.
3) start with 2 layers and after a year add a 3rd layer to freshen up the look and make it even less see through
4) it can be painted with deck paint. I did a test spot area and 6 mo. later its not fading or chipping so I'll paint it when the 3rd layer I just put on turns grey
5) buy a roll of 18g. galvanized wire and cut it into a lot of 6" pieces. Hook through fence and twist shut to attach to a chain link fence. then bend the ends and tuck them back in. I used zipties at first but many of them broke with the wind so when I added the 3rd layer I went with the wire.
6) if you dont want to go on your neighbors property or ask them if you can, you can still put this up. Just hook wire through fence and back to you every 3' and put one wire at the top of the fence and another mid way down. Just unroll it as you attach on your side
7) i put mine on a 3' fence and its 6' reed fencing but if you want a little extra height ( a few extra inches ) just put a folded up chair or chaise lounge under it as you make your way down the fence and attach it. There will be a little 3' space at the bottom but as the grass grows that will fill in with grass and you can't really see anything through the fence that low anyway.
8) no point in buying a single roll of this since you need 2-3 layers anyway. 4 pack is a better deal.
im attaching a pic of the fence after a year and the new layer of fence I just put on, on the right...
Pros: Multi Use, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight
Cons: turns grey after a year
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+31points
31out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)

Glad I bought the 4 pack

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A single ply of this will NOT suffice. I bought the box to layer a 4' chainlink fence on both sides to cover an open spot that used to be covered with a butterfly bush that was removed. I am a little leery as to how long it will last, and it is feels relatively brittle with how thin the reeds are. The day after installation it stood up to 60 mph wind and storms without a problem. Double ply is the only way to go. I anchored every 2' directly to the tension bar. It took me about 5 minutes to hook it up to the fence using chain link hooks. I used 2 panels for the section, I have a lot left. I will run a single ply along the remainder of the fence where I already have tree coverage to complete the look.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my review
6-1/2 in. Aluminum Chain-Link Ties (30-Pack)
5.0 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
+38points
39out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from Northern NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

We used it as a basement ceiling....

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This fencing is exactly what I needed to inexpensively cover our basement ceiling. I gave it 4 stars only because one of the rolls was only 15' long, which makes a big difference when you're going from rafter to rafter. Now the basement looks like a tiki hut (or Bikini Bottom, depending on your kids' perspective). All four rolls came individually wrapped but together in one big box. I'm wondering what other fun projects I can use it for!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+45points
45out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from Akron, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
To make the product last I sprayed with Water sealer to help make the product last
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my review
CWF-UV 5-Gallon Cedar Wood Finish
5.0 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
+48points
48out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It added some privacy to my back yard

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It did add privacy to my back yard. Easy to install zip ties worked great. takes 2 to 3 people to install. will buy again.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+36points
36out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good screening for privacy area.

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Used to screen off an area of my pool deck. Looks real good but time will tell if it will stand up to the Texas heat (sun) and wind.
4 x 16ft lengths in the box were actually 2 x 14'-7", 1 x 15'-6" and 1 x 16'. The second box of 4 I bought were closer to the 16ft. So, be aware if you need them to be exactly 16ft - aim for 15ft and you'll be good.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from Miami, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Can't Beat The Price !

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Took me 60 min to install on my own. Would have been easier with help and access to the other side of the fence but no help and didnt want to bug the neighbors to go on their property. I kept the product role folded in half for a double layer. I unrolled it from the way it came and rolled it in the other direction. I kept unrolling it as I went so I could reach around the role to the other side of the fence for the zipties. I installed it on a 3' chin link fence but started it about 2" off the ground by placing two folded up lawn chairs under it as I went down the fence. The grass will cover the gap and this will give me 2" more of privacy on top. I used about 150 6" clear zip ties at the top of the chainlink fence and again half way down it, about 1' apart all the way down. I finished off with spraying it all with thompson's water seal. i got it for privacy since from my one side yard you can see a pedestrian bridge that goes over the water behind my house and lots of people go over it all day. You def want two layers of this! If you have help and access to both sides of the fence, even 3 layers would be amazing. i used two.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight, Seals Well
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+53points
58out of 63found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from Massachusetts
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Reed Fence

PostedJuly 20, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Not bad. I used it for an ally way on the side of my house to neaten things up & hide the neighbors weeds. Definitely did that. Doesn't get any easier to install too. I attached it to a very old metal fence. Nice change of scenery. Hopefully it holds up for awhile. May add a second layer later on. Less see through than I thought it would be, which was good.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from VT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A ceiling instead of a fence

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I knew when I purchased the reed it wasn't going to be for fencing. Our yurt ceiling was plain and I wanted to add some pizzazz and warmth, so I put the reed under the rafters and attached it with faux sinew to the end rafters . It is light and easy to work with and I highly recommend it to anyone thinking about their ceilings in a new way.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from Arizona
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great natural yard screening

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The height is perfect for my yard, and gives a really nice natural atmosphere. I just used wire to lash this to the standard aluminum fencing that was already there, and it changed the whole feel.
You just really want to affix it tightly, and at 3 points (top, middle, bottom) at each stage (I did it about every 1 yard down the whole fence ). Hopefully that'll keep it standing straight / not sagging for a long time.
Pros: Multi Use, Stylish, Light Weight
Cons: can see through it
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from wasington
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do not waste your money!

PostedAugust 12, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These particular panels are worthless. They ave 1/4" spaces between them in most places, and many of the reeds are not even the thickness of a drinking straw. It would take a cat one minute to get through them. I unrolled one just enough to lean it on a wire fence between my neighbor's trash bins and my yard, to block the view. It was is if it was not there at all. It allows you to see the entire view of what you are trying to block off. I was astonished at the lack of quality. I used to buy these years ago, and they blocked off all the view to the other side. Not these! Instant return! And I waited two weeks to find this out! Very unhappy and very surprised at Home Depot for this. I am usually so happy with their inventory.
Cons: thin poor quality flimsy provides no privacy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from Ormond Beach, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great addition to boring stockade fence

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We had 400' of wood fence installed. Shrinkage was terrible. Decided for privacy to add this reed fence. Stapled it up in no time and it really softened the look of the stockade fence and provides the added privacy we wanted. We live in Florida so the tropical look goes great with all the palms we have.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Light Weight, tropical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)

Good stuff

PostedAugust 18, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Great stuff and for a 4-pack, well worth it. I originally bought 3 rolls a while back and used them to cover up my chainlink fence. It looks beautiful and gives a sense of privacy although you can actually see right through it. I guess its all about looks. I bought the 4 pack because I plan to build something of a tiki bar and maybe even a Pergola and add the reed to it. Just love the tropical look it provides.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from Orangevale
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great artistic addition to yard

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to attach to fence when rail is attached first as a guide and support.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: better with helper
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from SoCal
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good deal on 4-pk

PostedAugust 16, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These sections of reed fencing have been part of my patio surround for many years. They usually last for 3 or 4 years and are easy to replace if you have a good framework that lasts for many years. I keep buying them and was happy to find the 4-pk online
Pros: Easy to Install, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from glendale, az
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bamboo Reed Fencing Awesome!

PostedAugust 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
bought this to get some privacy for our very large backyard that has only chain link fencing. a block wall was over $17,000 for our perimeter, but for way under $1,000 we were able to do the whole yard.
BETTER WAY TO ATTACH.....i always see zip ties recommended to attach with to chain link...STOP...don't do that!! i live in AZ and the heat kills zip ties within months and not only that it is hard to pull the zip ties through to really make a good install. i use copper plated clips (we refer to them as hog rings). you can simply clip the metal wire holding the bamboo to the chain link. home depot item # is HR-14002 and tool is HR-14000. you can truly hardly see them..you have to really look to see them actually.
personally i think installing them with the above described method will save you lots and lots of time and you don't have to worry about the zip ties breaking (which i would imagine would happen anywhere eventually with the outside elements). i just used a little home depot cheap apron and fill it up with my hogs rings and you can move along the fence really quickly.
just as a side note:
we also used this same reed fencing and same install method about 17 years ago on a house we flipped. the house was on the corner of a busy street with chain link fencing. it does not provide total privacy, but it does provide a feeling of seclusion at a very affordable price. it also gives the yard continuity as the views behind the perimeter of a chain link fence can vary so much. that reed fencing is still there and while it looks older; sort of worn out...it is still standing and looks good providing the privacy needed.
Pros: Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight, Good Shape, element of privacy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from California
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A good way to dress up your fence

PostedAugust 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The reed was in one box and rolled out very easily. With a air stapler, it went up on the fence with no problem. Very easy to do.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from Miami, FL

Update To My Last Review

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
After a year it has turned greyish. I live in MIami. I used thompson's water seal on it when I first put it up. I have 2 choices. I can paint it with outdoor deck type paint/stain or, I can put another layer of this fence up. I tried putting a little of this kind of paint on some hidden test spots that get full sun and rain and 3 mo. later it has adhered and not chipped even though I heard this type of fence can't be painted. Rather than paint it though I'm going to put a 3rd layer of this fence on and instead of zip ties ( several have snapped ) I'm using galvanized ( rust resistant ) wire. I can just hook it through and back, then twist and tuck the end so I wont have to go on the neighbors property. A 3rd layer will look good for awhile and make the fence not at all see through. Right now 2 layers is about 85% " non-see through " which is good enough. You would really have to try hard to see through it. When it turns grey again down the road I'll paint it. Still very happy with the stuff!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from Ma
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent value

PostedAugust 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Looking forward to the privacy the fencing will provide
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from Levittown, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Excellent Product for inexpensive Privacy

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The reed fencing is an awesome inexpensive way to create a private area in your yard - easy to install - just used zip ties and attached to an existing chain fence and Presto-Privacy!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Good Shape, Great Value, Economical
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>