728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garden Fencing or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)

6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)

Constructed from fresh water reed grown along riverbanks and wetlands, Peeled Reed Fencing provides an affordable and convenient way to enhance your landscape. Not only is it aesthetically pleasing and eco-friendly, but it also functions to add texture to an otherwise one-dimensional setting. To promote durability and longevity, our Peeled Reed Fencing comes pre-assembled and is woven with durable, vinyl-coated wiring. As a lightweight product, Peeled Reed Fencing is often a viable solution when seeking to cover old, unsightly fencing while simultaneously adding an element of tropical flair to your surroundings. Whether you’re looking to add privacy to your backyard or hoping to achieve a natural island look, Peeled Reed Fencing is certainly an environmentally-friendly option to consider. Using natural resources as a way to accent your home not only beautifies your landscape, but it also protects and preserves our environment.
Overall rating:
4.15 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(93 reviews) 93
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product77 of 86reviews
Rating Breakdown 93 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(43)
4
(34)
3
(8)
2
(3)
1
(5)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product77 of 86reviews
Customer reviews for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
Review 1 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)

Glad I bought the 4 pack

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A single ply of this will NOT suffice. I bought the box to layer a 4' chainlink fence on both sides to cover an open spot that used to be covered with a butterfly bush that was removed. I am a little leery as to how long it will last, and it is feels relatively brittle with how thin the reeds are. The day after installation it stood up to 60 mph wind and storms without a problem. Double ply is the only way to go. I anchored every 2' directly to the tension bar. It took me about 5 minutes to hook it up to the fence using chain link hooks. I used 2 panels for the section, I have a lot left. I will run a single ply along the remainder of the fence where I already have tree coverage to complete the look.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my review
 
+27points
28out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from Miami, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Can't Beat The Price !

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Took me 60 min to install on my own. Would have been easier with help and access to the other side of the fence but no help and didnt want to bug the neighbors to go on their property. I kept the product role folded in half for a double layer. I unrolled it from the way it came and rolled it in the other direction. I kept unrolling it as I went so I could reach around the role to the other side of the fence for the zipties. I installed it on a 3' chin link fence but started it about 2" off the ground by placing two folded up lawn chairs under it as I went down the fence. The grass will cover the gap and this will give me 2" more of privacy on top. I used about 150 6" clear zip ties at the top of the chainlink fence and again half way down it, about 1' apart all the way down. I finished off with spraying it all with thompson's water seal. i got it for privacy since from my one side yard you can see a pedestrian bridge that goes over the water behind my house and lots of people go over it all day. You def want two layers of this! If you have help and access to both sides of the fence, even 3 layers would be amazing. i used two.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight, Seals Well
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+45points
50out of 55found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from VT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A ceiling instead of a fence

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I knew when I purchased the reed it wasn't going to be for fencing. Our yurt ceiling was plain and I wanted to add some pizzazz and warmth, so I put the reed under the rafters and attached it with faux sinew to the end rafters . It is light and easy to work with and I highly recommend it to anyone thinking about their ceilings in a new way.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from Northern NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

We used it as a basement ceiling....

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This fencing is exactly what I needed to inexpensively cover our basement ceiling. I gave it 4 stars only because one of the rolls was only 15' long, which makes a big difference when you're going from rafter to rafter. Now the basement looks like a tiki hut (or Bikini Bottom, depending on your kids' perspective). All four rolls came individually wrapped but together in one big box. I'm wondering what other fun projects I can use it for!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+37points
37out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from Akron, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
To make the product last I sprayed with Water sealer to help make the product last
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my review
 
+41points
41out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It added some privacy to my back yard

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It did add privacy to my back yard. Easy to install zip ties worked great. takes 2 to 3 people to install. will buy again.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+31points
31out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good screening for privacy area.

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used to screen off an area of my pool deck. Looks real good but time will tell if it will stand up to the Texas heat (sun) and wind.
4 x 16ft lengths in the box were actually 2 x 14'-7", 1 x 15'-6" and 1 x 16'. The second box of 4 I bought were closer to the 16ft. So, be aware if you need them to be exactly 16ft - aim for 15ft and you'll be good.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from Minneapolis, MN
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Size wrong, quality poor

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is listed as 6' x 16'. I needed to cover a 15' area. The actual length was 13-14', so was completely inadequate. The reeds were very thin, and many were broken. The mats were folded, not rolled, so laying them out was difficult, and led to more damage. I will be returning these to a local store.
Cons: wrong size, poor quality, poorly packed
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from Columbia County, GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Reed Fencing

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Easy, quick fix to attatch to an existing wire, farm fence to deter deer...aware that it will not last long...coat with a preservative to increase loife span.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from Levittown, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Excellent Product for inexpensive Privacy

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The reed fencing is an awesome inexpensive way to create a private area in your yard - easy to install - just used zip ties and attached to an existing chain fence and Presto-Privacy!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Good Shape, Great Value, Economical
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from Longmont, CO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product, good price, easy to install

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This item is just as advertised. It provides privacy, sunlight filtering, and looks attractive in the yard itself. It should last at least 3-5 years, even in our fairly harsh weather, and I would order it again. The price is very good for the four pieces of reed fencing.
Pros: Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Light Weight, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from Oceanside CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

6' x 16' reed fencing (4 pack)

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
in 2003 when we had new fencing in the back yard, we painted it all white. The white proved to be very reflective so we purchased some reed fencing fo help dampen the brightness of the white fence. The reed fencing lasted 11 years. We knew it was time to replace and decided to purchase the 4 pack of 6' x 16' reed fencing. the price was so affordable. Home depot delived our fencing quicking, 3-4 days from the date ordered, and in 4 long boxes. we used our trusty staple gun and installed 112 feet of fencing. We are so happy with this product
Pros: Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Stylish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)

Economical solution to screening challenges.

PostedMarch 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The 4-pack of 6 x 16' rolls was a great purchase for me. It provided the most screening for my money, as compared to other screening options. It does not provide opaque screening, but establishes enough separation for my needs. It provides light shade, which should be appropriate for my gardening plans in that area of the yard. I attached it to stakes about 4' apart and will probably add more stakes in between, because the wind has caused the product to lean a bit in places. With the proper structural support, I think the product will be sufficiently reliable. The rolls were lightweight and easy for me to carry and install by myself, which was great.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Economical, Light Weight
Cons: needs plenty of support to stay upright.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)

not as described

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The longest section I received was 13 feet long. A lot of missing reeds, so it was very patchy looking. I bought this for a sample and I will not buy any more.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)

really did the trick

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great product! Recommend doubling the fence if you want more privacy.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Stylish
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from West Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Inexpensive privacy fencing that worked out great

PostedFebruary 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this fencing to cover our neighbor's old wood fence that they wouldn't replace. Using a staple gun and galvanized staples, this went up easily and you don't really see the staples. It covered all the mismatched sections and filled in areas perfectly. I read the other reviews where some complained about the thinness of the material, but that was not an issue because the backing is more or less solid. You cannot see through the reed to the unsightly boarding below it. Now we have a finished look to our yard that didn't require cooperation from the neighbors, or the cost of replacing a fence that is not on our property. Plus, this was the best cost for this product that I could find anywhere either in stores or on line.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)

Reed ceiling

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We used this on our patio ceiling to give a tropical vacation feel to the back yard. We just stapled it up. Not sure it would make good fencing. Reed is real thin. Great value!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)

great product

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Mounted the reed to my block wall looks awesome, so far has held up to some pretty rough Las Vegas winds...I would recommend this product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from Key Largo, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what I wanted

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The fencing is exactly what I wanted. Easy to staple to wood frame. Looks great in our backyard around the pool
Pros: Stylish, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from VA

Does the job needed

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this to dress up a 4ft chain link fence and keep the dog from jumping it. It achieves both needs. Looks better than the other similarly priced product home depot offers. Put it up with zip ties and 16ga wire. As others have said it is not adequite for privacy. You'd probably need to double the layers. Also they are not quite 16 feet long. About a foot short on each span. Plan accordingly. Had to run to local store to buy one more to finish the job. Thus knowing this looks better than what's on the shelf.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>