728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garden Fencing or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)

6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)

Constructed from fresh water reed grown along riverbanks and wetlands, Peeled Reed Fencing provides an affordable and convenient way to enhance your landscape. Not only is it aesthetically pleasing and eco-friendly, but it also functions to add texture to an otherwise one-dimensional setting. To promote durability and longevity, our Peeled Reed Fencing comes pre-assembled and is woven with durable, vinyl-coated wiring. As a lightweight product, Peeled Reed Fencing is often a viable solution when seeking to cover old, unsightly fencing while simultaneously adding an element of tropical flair to your surroundings. Whether you’re looking to add privacy to your backyard or hoping to achieve a natural island look, Peeled Reed Fencing is certainly an environmentally-friendly option to consider. Using natural resources as a way to accent your home not only beautifies your landscape, but it also protects and preserves our environment.
Overall rating:
4.135 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(111 reviews) 111
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product93 of 104reviews
Rating Breakdown 111 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(47)
4
(46)
3
(9)
2
(4)
1
(5)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product93 of 104reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer reviews for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
Review 1 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from Miami, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I Have Some Good Info For You About This Stuff

PostedFebruary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Info that will be good to know before or after you buys this stuff....
1) it WILL turn grey in one year, even if you soak it in Thompson's waterseal like I did the day it installed
2) 1 layer of this makes it about 50% see through, 2 layers 7% see through and 3 layers makes it 1% see through.
3) start with 2 layers and after a year add a 3rd layer to freshen up the look and make it even less see through
4) it can be painted with deck paint. I did a test spot area and 6 mo. later its not fading or chipping so I'll paint it when the 3rd layer I just put on turns grey
5) buy a roll of 18g. galvanized wire and cut it into a lot of 6" pieces. Hook through fence and twist shut to attach to a chain link fence. then bend the ends and tuck them back in. I used zipties at first but many of them broke with the wind so when I added the 3rd layer I went with the wire.
6) if you dont want to go on your neighbors property or ask them if you can, you can still put this up. Just hook wire through fence and back to you every 3' and put one wire at the top of the fence and another mid way down. Just unroll it as you attach on your side
7) i put mine on a 3' fence and its 6' reed fencing but if you want a little extra height ( a few extra inches ) just put a folded up chair or chaise lounge under it as you make your way down the fence and attach it. There will be a little 3' space at the bottom but as the grass grows that will fill in with grass and you can't really see anything through the fence that low anyway.
8) no point in buying a single roll of this since you need 2-3 layers anyway. 4 pack is a better deal.
im attaching a pic of the fence after a year and the new layer of fence I just put on, on the right...
Pros: Multi Use, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight
Cons: turns grey after a year
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)

Glad I bought the 4 pack

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A single ply of this will NOT suffice. I bought the box to layer a 4' chainlink fence on both sides to cover an open spot that used to be covered with a butterfly bush that was removed. I am a little leery as to how long it will last, and it is feels relatively brittle with how thin the reeds are. The day after installation it stood up to 60 mph wind and storms without a problem. Double ply is the only way to go. I anchored every 2' directly to the tension bar. It took me about 5 minutes to hook it up to the fence using chain link hooks. I used 2 panels for the section, I have a lot left. I will run a single ply along the remainder of the fence where I already have tree coverage to complete the look.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my review
6-1/2 in. Aluminum Chain-Link Ties (30-Pack)
5.0 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
+38points
39out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from Massachusetts
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Reed Fence

PostedJuly 20, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Not bad. I used it for an ally way on the side of my house to neaten things up & hide the neighbors weeds. Definitely did that. Doesn't get any easier to install too. I attached it to a very old metal fence. Nice change of scenery. Hopefully it holds up for awhile. May add a second layer later on. Less see through than I thought it would be, which was good.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from Northern NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

We used it as a basement ceiling....

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This fencing is exactly what I needed to inexpensively cover our basement ceiling. I gave it 4 stars only because one of the rolls was only 15' long, which makes a big difference when you're going from rafter to rafter. Now the basement looks like a tiki hut (or Bikini Bottom, depending on your kids' perspective). All four rolls came individually wrapped but together in one big box. I'm wondering what other fun projects I can use it for!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+45points
45out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from Akron, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
To make the product last I sprayed with Water sealer to help make the product last
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my review
CWF-UV 5-Gallon Cedar Wood Finish
5.0 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
+47points
47out of 47found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It added some privacy to my back yard

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It did add privacy to my back yard. Easy to install zip ties worked great. takes 2 to 3 people to install. will buy again.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+36points
36out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good screening for privacy area.

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Used to screen off an area of my pool deck. Looks real good but time will tell if it will stand up to the Texas heat (sun) and wind.
4 x 16ft lengths in the box were actually 2 x 14'-7", 1 x 15'-6" and 1 x 16'. The second box of 4 I bought were closer to the 16ft. So, be aware if you need them to be exactly 16ft - aim for 15ft and you'll be good.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from Miami, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Can't Beat The Price !

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Took me 60 min to install on my own. Would have been easier with help and access to the other side of the fence but no help and didnt want to bug the neighbors to go on their property. I kept the product role folded in half for a double layer. I unrolled it from the way it came and rolled it in the other direction. I kept unrolling it as I went so I could reach around the role to the other side of the fence for the zipties. I installed it on a 3' chin link fence but started it about 2" off the ground by placing two folded up lawn chairs under it as I went down the fence. The grass will cover the gap and this will give me 2" more of privacy on top. I used about 150 6" clear zip ties at the top of the chainlink fence and again half way down it, about 1' apart all the way down. I finished off with spraying it all with thompson's water seal. i got it for privacy since from my one side yard you can see a pedestrian bridge that goes over the water behind my house and lots of people go over it all day. You def want two layers of this! If you have help and access to both sides of the fence, even 3 layers would be amazing. i used two.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight, Seals Well
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+53points
58out of 63found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from Arizona
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great natural yard screening

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The height is perfect for my yard, and gives a really nice natural atmosphere. I just used wire to lash this to the standard aluminum fencing that was already there, and it changed the whole feel.
You just really want to affix it tightly, and at 3 points (top, middle, bottom) at each stage (I did it about every 1 yard down the whole fence ). Hopefully that'll keep it standing straight / not sagging for a long time.
Pros: Multi Use, Stylish, Light Weight
Cons: can see through it
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from VT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A ceiling instead of a fence

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I knew when I purchased the reed it wasn't going to be for fencing. Our yurt ceiling was plain and I wanted to add some pizzazz and warmth, so I put the reed under the rafters and attached it with faux sinew to the end rafters . It is light and easy to work with and I highly recommend it to anyone thinking about their ceilings in a new way.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from IOWA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

did just what it said

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
THE OTHER REVIEWS WERE VERY HELPFUL. THIS WORKED PERFECT FOR A LITTLE PRIVACY AROUND OUR TEMPORARY ABOVE GROUND POOL. THE 16' LENGTH WAS TWICE THE LENGTH WE COULD GET LOCALY AND WAS STILL LESS EXPENSIVE. YOU CAN SEE THROUGH IT SOME AND NEXT YEAR WE MAY PUT ANOTHER LAYER ON. WE HAD A BIG STORM RIGHT AFTER WE PUT IT UP. THE POLES WE USED WERE LIGHTER WEIGHT THAN I THOUGHT SO WE HAD TO HAMMER THE POLES IN FURTHER AND ADD SOME REINFORCMENT TO OUR POLES.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from St. Louis
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

We did something different... we hung it from a porch ceiling.

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
We have a porch that is cedar paneling from top to bottom. It's also 22' long x 11' wide. That's a lot of cedar.
We wanted to break up the texture and our daughter said "hang bamboo shades across the ceiling." And the light went off.
The problem is the sheer quantity of shades needed vs the cost. Then we found this product and bought a case for $90.
It took an afternoon to hang by 50 hooks. When it was done - the effect was what we hoped for. Not a pinterest-worthy project - but different and nice all the same. The only issue I really see is humidity messing with it.
Pros: Easy to Install, Light Weight
Cons: quality is average.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from Amissville,Virginia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well described

PostedJuly 8, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This reed fencing can only be found by looking. That is ok though, if you know what to search for it comes right up. We are actually using this fencing as a sun shade over our trellis. The product is as described. It looks great and was easy to install. I will use the rest to do around the pool equipment to help make the pool area look more "tropical".
Pros: Multi Use, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from 97217

Not thick enough

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I 've been using this bamboo fencing for years. Up to this year I'd always been satisfied: 2 layers of fencing on top of a chain-link fence was enough to provide privacy as you could not see through easily. This product however is more sparse, and even with two layers people on the street can see through very easily. The quality definitely went down.
This time however I bought it online instead of in-store.
Disappointed.
Pros: Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Light Weight
Cons: color fades quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from Levittown, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Excellent Product for inexpensive Privacy

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The reed fencing is an awesome inexpensive way to create a private area in your yard - easy to install - just used zip ties and attached to an existing chain fence and Presto-Privacy!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Good Shape, Great Value, Economical
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from West Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Inexpensive privacy fencing that worked out great

PostedFebruary 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We bought this fencing to cover our neighbor's old wood fence that they wouldn't replace. Using a staple gun and galvanized staples, this went up easily and you don't really see the staples. It covered all the mismatched sections and filled in areas perfectly. I read the other reviews where some complained about the thinness of the material, but that was not an issue because the backing is more or less solid. You cannot see through the reed to the unsightly boarding below it. Now we have a finished look to our yard that didn't require cooperation from the neighbors, or the cost of replacing a fence that is not on our property. Plus, this was the best cost for this product that I could find anywhere either in stores or on line.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)

Economical solution to screening challenges.

PostedMarch 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The 4-pack of 6 x 16' rolls was a great purchase for me. It provided the most screening for my money, as compared to other screening options. It does not provide opaque screening, but establishes enough separation for my needs. It provides light shade, which should be appropriate for my gardening plans in that area of the yard. I attached it to stakes about 4' apart and will probably add more stakes in between, because the wind has caused the product to lean a bit in places. With the proper structural support, I think the product will be sufficiently reliable. The rolls were lightweight and easy for me to carry and install by myself, which was great.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Economical, Light Weight
Cons: needs plenty of support to stay upright.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

temperary fix

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This fencing was easy to install just ziptie to chainlink fence that is already there. the read fencing
looks really nice but I don't think its gonna last very long. This was just a temperary fix untill
I can afford to replace my fence with a privacy fence.
Pros: Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Light Weight, temperary fix
Cons: poor quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from Berwyn, Il
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Used for 5 yrs

PostedApril 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
When I moved into this rental house, there was one already up on the side of the fence where my yard meets the alley. I had to take it down as it was rotting. Put the 1st one up and it covered the area but was still a little more see thru than I would like, so I put up a second one. After 5 years, it needs to be replaced. Yes, it did turn gray but that was fine. I am ordering the 4 pack because I may try the 3 up at a time since a tree that was behind it was cut down. I will try the thompson's trick--even if it doesn't keep it from turning gray, maybe it will keep if up longer than 5 yrs. But I do really like this product
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 6 ft. x 16 ft. Reed Fencing (4-Pack)
from north nj
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

serves its purpose

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I use it up against my chain link fence for privacy and decor. It needs to be braced in case of severe wind. I use guaged wire and plastic ties.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>