728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Tile Saws, Cutters & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 10 in. Portable Tile Saw with Laser

10 in. Portable Tile Saw with Laser

The RIDGID 110-Volt Portable Wet Tile Saw is a great choice for tile at the job site. The saw features a powerful 15-amp motor that stops in seconds with the AutoBrake for fast removal of cut tile, while the 3-3/4 in. depth-of-cut capacity is ideal for cutting large pavers. The plunge-and-bevel head offers a laser guide to help you make precise straight and mitre cuts and the table extension supports the tile as you work.
Overall rating:
3.355 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
63%of customersrecommend this product19 of 30reviews
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
3.4 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(11)
3
(2)
2
(4)
1
(6)
Appearance 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3 out of 5
Quality 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
Value 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
63%of customersrecommend this product19 of 30reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for 10 in. Portable Tile Saw with Laser
Review 1 for 10 in. Portable Tile Saw with Laser
Tileinstaller

Overpriced, cheap materials

PostedSeptember 1, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Rusts, doesn't cut straight. Good idea, bad execution.
Pros: easy to carry
Cons: pretty much everything else
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 10 in. Portable Tile Saw with Laser
MarkB

After some hands on time with this machine it was obvious its not even close to the caliber equipment my work requires.

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This machine is poorly built to say the least which was such a disappointment being that I own many Ridgid products of which I have been very happy with. Yes I am aware that the product has a LSA (Lifetime Service Agreement) but that means nothing if the saw must be sent off for repair often. The best warranty is the one that is never needed... Now I am a professional and demand the highest quality equipment so a home owner trying to tackle a small home project may find it to work well but for the true professional I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS SAW. After searching for many years and trying many different brands and types of wet saws I did manage to find what I believe to be the best over all saws on the market which are made by IMER USA. I currently own a few of them and most often use my IMER Combi 1000/250 Lite. I love these saws as they are the most accurate that I have found and the absolutely most dependable time and time again... They are made right here in the good old USA and they have a standard warranty but you will not need it. My first IMER Combi 250VA that I bought over 10 years ago still works strong today and for the smaller projects I still use it. Ridgid really dropped the ball on this one, they had some decent ideas but horrible execution they really let me down with this product.
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 10 in. Portable Tile Saw with Laser
STILEs
from Nebraska, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Impressed to pile of junk

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After about the first month of having this saw, became many issues. I have only had the saw for 8 months now, and already switched to DeWalt. I am a moderately busy Tile Installer and haul the saw in a trailer. Once at job site, i pull it out and set up right by trailer. So it does not go through any RIGEROUS demands. Highly unimpressed and have already switched to DeWalt. Oh and its virtually impossible to get any warrenty service at no charge.
Pros: works good once set up....and for a month
Cons: Set up is a pain, too many disassebled parts and terrible diagram of instructions
- Exact line laser is a joke - once it gets wet it doesnt work (hmmm, wet saw?)
- light on it is nice at first, but fills up with tile dust and eventually stops working
- frame is poorly built, which the frame is most important to a straight cut
- welds on both sides of the wheels broke off
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 10 in. Portable Tile Saw with Laser
Bigham
from Golden Valley, MN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

May as well flush your money down the toilet.

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cant decide what is more worthless the saw or the customer service. I have had many issues with the saw.
1. Stand started rusting after a couple of months. Was told by ridged that every time it gets wet it needs to be towel dried.
2. Plastic hoses and fitting are junk. the valve broke and i am no longer able to cut tile inside because it leaks everywhere. Was told to take it to service center and they will look at and and within a couple of weeks they will get me the parts. I don't have a couple of weeks to sit on my thumbs and wait.
3. DO NOT count on the laser. its not accurate and unless you are cutting in the dark you cant see it.
This saw is so bad even Home Depot wont rent it from their tool center. They rent MK. Buy a MK you can actually cut tile with it.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 10 in. Portable Tile Saw with Laser
TheFixer

Design Flaws Need Correcting

PostedSeptember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Let me start by saying that I am an owner of a number of Ridgid tools. I continue to purchase them because they are a quality product that beats the price point of the competition, and they have a strong warranty.
This saw was a big disappointment. I returned it without ever cutting a tile because the water spray did not hit the blade. I called Ridgid technical support before returning it to see if there was a spray adjustment that I was missing, and I was informed that there was not. I'm an engineer and could have probably figured out a fix to the issue, but why spend almost $700 and then have to fix issues? I have since read that mine was not an isolated issue. (Note: Ridgid did offer to have me return the saw for them to replace the head to fix the problem.)
Another factor in my decision to return the saw was with the stand. The folding stand is neat (although the assembly directions are horrible), but I question its longevity. The tubing is very thin wall and although it is powder coated on the outside that doesn't prevent the tubing from rusting out from the inside. The saw assembly bolts directly to the stand so when the stand rusts out (and it will) you will be left figuring out how to attach the saw to a standard stand.
Since returning the saw I have ordered a Dewalt 2400S. It is costing me another $150 but as a long term investment I think it will be money well spent.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 10 in. Portable Tile Saw with Laser
MidWestTile
from Blue Springs, Missouri

10" Rigid Tile Saw

PostedNovember 22, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am a tile contractor. I bought this saw because it would cut 18" tiles diagonally. This saw is pretty much for light duty use. The bad things are (#1) The assembly instructions were horrible.(#2) The collector for all the hoses for the pump, filter, etc. was useless. It clogged up on the 1st job I put it on. I ended up bypassing all that and running the pump hose directly to the motor. (#3) The blade that came with it was not good quality. (#4) The laser is not accurate making it useless. (#5) The arm that the motor bolts on to will bend slightly when cutting harder tiles such as porcelain or granite. This makes for a crooked or curved cut. I can grab the handle on the motor and bend the motor arm without much effort. (#6) The tubular stand is starting to rust after 3 months of use because it gets water inside the tubes. This is about all the bad things so far. The good things are (#1) The light weight. (#2) The quick stop blade after you stop the saw. Maybe I just got a lemon. All my other Rigid tools are great, but this tile saw was a real dissapointment. If you are a tile contractor, you should NOT buy this saw. Get a Dewalt tile saw....that is what I should have done. Thankyou, Mark
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 10 in. Portable Tile Saw with Laser
BHnWV
from Princeton, WV 24740, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Rated a Dissappointing Almost

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I tried 2 tile saws before this one. The R4010 is hands down the best design. The integral stand is handy for support and transport. I agree with other reviewers that the tubing is thin walled, but it is adequate and light weight. I was concerned about the reviews indicating rust and sprayed WD40 in each tube as I assembled. Eighteen months later and no rust on the stand. The freshwater delivery system is great. Never used the pump, so can't rate that. However, I would agree wholeheartedly with other reviewers that the water delivery system is just cheap - all plastic. The hose-coupling/shutoff-valve broke the second time I used the saw. I picked this saw over the DeWalt DW24000 because of price. Add $40.00 to the price of the Ridgid for a ball valve, hose coupling, and brackets beefy enough to support a garden hose, and you're a bit closer to the cost of the DeWalt. The laser is handy. My first job was a diagonal pattern. The laser is great for quickly cutting corner to corner on tile that will be covered by baseboard. If it has to be precise, mark and cut the mark. I wouldn't buy this saw because of the laser, but it's a nice feature. I also would not buy it because of "Lifetime" parts. It took almost a year just to get the saw registered. It also takes months to get parts, and I've needed too many of them. My local repair center just dropped Ridgid because of slow service and poor quality parts. I also agree the instructions are small and bad. A contractor should not even think about this saw. A busy DIY guy like me will be frustrated. It's a great design and a lot to like, but poor quality. Ridgid almost has a great saw and easily could, but until they improve the quality, I would buy the DeWalt!
Pros: great design
Cons: poor quality, slow parts suppport
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 10 in. Portable Tile Saw with Laser
Jeff

Poor Quality

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Better set aside a few hours to put this saw together.
Then, don't depend on the water pump and valves.
The only way to get it to work is to hook up a garden hose. Real garbage design.
The laser is useless.
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 10 in. Portable Tile Saw with Laser
Mark
from New Mexico
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Blades too large for cooling, excessive vibration

PostedJanuary 7, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Does handle larger tiles easily. The cuts on porcelain have a tendency to chip along the cut (and this was after purchasing and installing two different Ridgid blades.) I also tried using a blade stiffner for a period of time. The water jets on the blade do not cool evenly causing the blade to warp and wobble. May work differently on ceramic tile.
Pros: Looks Great, Easy to Clean
Cons: does not make clean cuts
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 10 in. Portable Tile Saw with Laser
DrePS
from Palmp Springs

Its got potential

PostedSeptember 3, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I am a general contractor and hope this helps out other people. This is my second review as my first didn't get through.
This is a good tile saw for a home owner or handy man. Not for a tile contractor. I would recommend the saw to a friend but not to a tile guy. They did put on allot of nice features and accessories. But you don’t need all that stuff. only reason I bought this saw is my target tile saw got stolen and couldn’t afford another one at this time, plus I got half off for opening a new account. It makes this a Great deal.
I did like the plunge cuts as I just got doing a tile floor job 12x24 and some mosaic. I like the ease of transport/folding. The saw did a good job for what I needed at this time.
Here are things I was not impressed by.
Instructions need to have bigger pictures . or just make the book bigger. Not a 5x7. It helps that parts are labeled and put A to A, B to B and so on. But could be better especially on fig.6.
The folding stand doesn't lock when fully closed and wants to swing open as the saw is in vertical position while moving, plus it feels little more flimsy compare to my rigid table saw stand. I own a lot of rigid tools.
The water tray needs to be bigger and deeper and Maybe have less attachments. I don’t care for the ready rack. its nice but unnecessary. The span deck for mosaic tile does not clamp down all the way down to the trays, And it didn’t hold my mosaic tile. The sliding tray needs to be little wider but deeper for sure. When fully pulled back, the tray wants to move to the left and right moving the point of tile cut in the front. Especially on 24" tile. Maybe adding on an extra set of rollers to the front of the trays would help. The cleaning nozzle is a waste unless you have a garden hose hooked up to it. By then I'll hose everything off. The laser need to have one more laser so there is a line on each side of the blade (for home owners and etc...) honestly, you don’t need a laser. Water jets could spray more water on the blade. When I moved the tile further up from the tray, the blade was dry. The rubber guard in the back got pushed into the blade and got all cut up, was hoping this would have happened later on, not the first time using it. I wish the lock knob was more of a handle like 1/4 turn for fast and secure lock or release. If not TIGHT, the blade will rise up. One thing that I hated was the motor assembly shook sometime, almost like the motor mount was not strong enough. I might be nit picking, but rigid should know these things. Less attachments and accessories , but better build saw and better components. But for a weekend warrior. Its more than what you’ll need.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 10 in. Portable Tile Saw with Laser
JJet
from Omaha, Nebraska

Rigid 10" tile saw

PostedAugust 4, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The instructions and diagrams to assemble the product are terrible. It took quite a while to assemble as the diagrams were difficult to understand and small and separate from the written instructions. Once assembled, the test on the saw was pretty good. The cuts went fast and were accurate. There was a slight chipping on some of the tiles. Maybe it needs a better blade. Otherwise, this is a good saw for large projects. I liked the discount that Home Depot provided which brought the saw price more in line for a home user. Compliments to Home Depot for the fast and free delivery. I could not believe how fast the delivery was made--just a few days. I think I will be happy with the saw but I will probably buy a better blade.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 10 in. Portable Tile Saw with Laser
deafkid
from Ogden, Utah

Very Decent Tile Saw

PostedOctober 7, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have had this saw for a few months and it has done pretty well. It is not as heavy as my old MK and I can lift it pretty easy with my small wingspan. I have not really used the laser and the blade is poor in quality as is the material used to make the rip guide (mine cracked and broke while tightening it). The overspray guard is nice and the stand is easy to use. Overall I would say I definitely got what I paid for in this saw.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 10 in. Portable Tile Saw with Laser
Bhuffy
from Alabama
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Assembly Instructions? Hardly...

PostedOctober 17, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
When you open the box, you'll discover a lot of tubing in need of proper orientation to connect the pieces properly. The assembly pages of the manual, are little more than a tiny picture of the parts "exploded" and some bullet points on the facing page as if to suggest that you might consider assembly in this order. It took me half an hour to orient myself to the parts in association to the picture as there was no parts page to label the part and give its dimensions (2 inch hex bolt, or 4 inch carriage bolt) and a one-to-one picture to bolt comparision, which I always find helpful in sorting the screws and bolts into piles.
Good luck with assembly and give yourself an hour to put it together with the existing assembly guide.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 10 in. Portable Tile Saw with Laser
Wooz
from Medford, OR, USA

Almost great

PostedMay 23, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am a professional tile setter with 12 years experience. I have owned many different tile saws from MK, Target, Orion, and DeWalt. With that said I have not found the perfect saw yet. Below are the pros and cons I have experienced so far with the Ridgid.
Cons:
1. Instructions are absolute garbage!!
2. Valves seam pretty weak. ( they actually give you an extra one just in-case)
3. Saw seams to leak very easily at the rear of the catch pan.
4. Not quite the quality of the Target, or the DeWalt, but not terrible either.
5. Takes up a lot of space in the tool trailer.
Pros:
1. Separate water pump switch a nice feature.
2. Easy transport and set-up very nice feature.
3. Water catch bucket is a great feature.
Final verdict: This saw has some good features with some areas of quality concerns. If the quality was a little better this would be a great saw. I like this saw and for $700 it is pretty hard to beat. I just hope it last.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 10 in. Portable Tile Saw with Laser
Buckycorp
from Pell City, AL

Tile saw

PostedSeptember 10, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Instructions for assembly need much improvement. Must upgrade to a premium blade for production cuts however saw has plenty of power & makes true cuts. Suggested improvements 4" depth cut (pavers 4" X 8"), longer cleaning nozzle tube & optional lock pin to hold saw down (power of saw over rides clamp stop).
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 10 in. Portable Tile Saw with Laser
Pierre
from Tucson AZ

Happy with it, some suggestions though

PostedJuly 12, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this saw 1 month ago, and already I cut like 10 yards of granite and 20 yards of tile.
Pros:
- Very powerful motor, nice break feature.
- Laser is helpful for out of square cuts, but not totally necessary. You can just align pencil mark with the blade
- The miter is very good with pre-set angles 0/22.5/45
- Bevel head is great for stone but useless for tile (you don't want to cut below the glaze)
- No problem with the water pump and original blade, they are good spec.
- Assembly was OK, it helps to have matching letters on the different part holes.
Suggestion:
- The water is dripping from the back extension tray to the main tray, a 1/4" longer would have solve that.
- Idem for the lateral extension tray
Overall
I am very happy with the saw and would recommend it.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 10 in. Portable Tile Saw with Laser
1stTimeTiler
from Parker, CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Saw Overall, disappointed with the storage though

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
So, I've never tiled before and bought this saw. We did 18" tile but also had intricate cuts as well. The cuts on it I found to be very accurate. I had no issues with chipping, but I did run tape along the tile to ensure there would be none. The one issue I have is the storage. It folds up nicely, it has a lock mechanism for the slider, which doesn't seem to hold very well. Now all the wheels on the sliders are broken and I can't cut tile again until I get that fixed. I would recommend storing it with the slider detached.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 10 in. Portable Tile Saw with Laser
CDog
from Denver, CO

Mostly Great

PostedAugust 1, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I just purchased this saw to replace / upgrade my Husky 7" saw as my tile experience and projects have outgrown it (Husky still works great though). I am a general contractor but love to jump in on high end tile projects.
I had a similar experience to the last review during setup. Worst instructions ever! I too tossed the book aside and spent 3 times longer figuring it out than it should have taken. After installing the water hoses, I realized I had left off the hose clamps. When removing the hoses to add the clamps, one of the nipples broke off the diverter valve, good thing they included an extra valve in the package.
My initail frustrations faded as I rolled the saw across some landscaping rock, through the house and down the stairs to the basement we are finishing. The folding legs and big rubber wheels are great and seem very solid. The seperate tray and water system should make clean up very easy. This saw seems to have it all, even a rinse hose. I think the only thing missing is a storage spot for the mosaic clamp and multiple wrenches.
I only have one day of use on it but it seems like a great saw and I will post again after using all features a few times.
P.S. Dont be too turned off by the setup issues, I wrote this in hopes that it will make its way to Ridgid and improve the setup for others in the future.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 10 in. Portable Tile Saw with Laser
robfloorservice

PostedMarch 2, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
got this saw to replace an MK that was 11 years old and on it's last leggs. If this is 1/2 the saw that my MK was then I will be one happy contracter. I have used this saw on one large job and it worked very well, the only complant is you should just chuck the setup instructions because it is really not that complex and the instuctions are stupidly hard to understand.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 10 in. Portable Tile Saw with Laser
Clawsinerator
from Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very good for a 1 man Tile company & Has some neat accesories

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have been a tile setter for over 12 years and have used many types and brands b4. This Ridgid wet saw is very easy to handle and set up after you spend the extra time to put the wet saw together. Theres not much detail to the instructions. in my opinion this is not a commercial grade wet saw but it will do the job for me as a custom tile installer. It has some nice features that make some of the cuts easier and water line system that runs off the pump or a hose feed. some of the parts are plastic but helps make cleaning effortless.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Effective, easy to transport
Cons: plastic parts
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>