728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Air Compressors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4.5-Gal. Electric Air Compressor (Reconditioned)-DISCONTINUED

4.5-Gal. Electric Air Compressor (Reconditioned)-DISCONTINUED

Reconditioned Ridgid 4.5-Gal. Electric Air Compressor (Reconditioned) features a twin-stack tank made from rugged steel and an oil-free design for easy maintenance. It delivers up to 4.9 CFM to allow you to run more nailers and tools, and its control panel is designed to help protect gauges, controls and other key components. An ergonomic rotating handle improves portability. Manufactured by Campbell Hausfeld
Overall rating:
4.571 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product18 of 19reviews
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(14)
4
(6)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product18 of 19reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for 4.5-Gal. Electric Air Compressor (Reconditioned)-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 4.5-Gal. Electric Air Compressor (Reconditioned)-DISCONTINUED

Reconditioned Ridgid Air Compressor

PostedSeptember 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a contractor and i purchased this air compressor because i was tired of buying cheap used tools from pawn shops ect, as well as tired of renting compressors when those i have purchased break down and judging by how often i use it and how long i use it that's exactly what they do every single time break. The cost to rent a compressor is $43 per day with a $100 deposit now you eventually get you deposit back "EVENTUALLY" but for 3 days of usage i spent $229 not including tax and i received my deposit back on my card 3 days later which i quickly learned that using cash would have been better. This reconditioned unit i purchased was in good shape when i seen it in the store however i could tell right away that it was a used item but nevertheless i bought it anyway because of it's price and i will just say this, it was one of the best buys i ever made, the unit is strong. durable and it runs multiple nail guns which in the fencing industry he who nails the quickest correctly get ur done, now add another nailer maaaan we be really moving. The compressor so far handled the heat and the beating we through at it very well and aside from it being heavy this is a great unit and i recommend it to anyone that's looking for a good compressor for a great price.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4.5-Gal. Electric Air Compressor (Reconditioned)-DISCONTINUED
from Austin TX

rusty and signs of wear

PostedMarch 4, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
box came with the compressor, but all the fittings and screws are rusty, and it shows sign of wear, so it is not something I would expect when you get something which is reconditioned. I would expect it to be in like new condition if there were wear marks on anything I would have expected them to change it out. Also the warranty on this compressor is only 1 year compared with 3 years if you get the new one. I did not see that in the online information and it would have made a big difference in the purchase.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4.5-Gal. Electric Air Compressor (Reconditioned)-DISCONTINUED
from Staten Island, NY

This is what a reconditioned tool should be!

PostedJanuary 19, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was one of my better experiences buying reconditioned tools from HD. Truly the condition I expected the item to be in, Like new, versus the “used “ condition of other purchases. The compressor worked perfectly and was just what I needed for the Bostitch floor nailer I am using. As you would expect, this baby is heavy, so keep that in mind if you need to carry this far or up and down stairs, but short of a pancake compressor, they are all heavy. I like the double air fittings which is a nice feature since I am using a finish nailer at the same time that I use the flooring stapler. No need to keep switching tools. One really cool feature is the tank drain; they routed both tanks to a single valve up front in an easy to get to location, no excuse not to drain the tank. I am very please with this purchase.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4.5-Gal. Electric Air Compressor (Reconditioned)-DISCONTINUED
from Elkton, Maryland

Air Compressor (Reconditioned)

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
1) Couldn't believe how fast the item was received.
2) Very well packaged, and HEAVY!
3) Only issue, there was absolutely NO paperwork with the compressor. No user manaual or anything like that. Not that big a deal with todays internet accessability. I just downloaded it, but would be nice to have it included in with the item.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4.5-Gal. Electric Air Compressor (Reconditioned)-DISCONTINUED

power it's best

PostedFebruary 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
really keeps you working! if you need a break don't look to this machine to give you one it just keeps going no matter how hard you work it!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4.5-Gal. Electric Air Compressor (Reconditioned)-DISCONTINUED
from Mpls, MN

Good with some issues

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Have owned this product for about 3weeks. Excellent shape for being reconditioned. No scratches, nicks on it. Pumps up fast and hold PSI well. Noisy. Heavy but I carry it with the handle just fine. I'm not a contractor. I'm a weekend warrior who will use this to finish my basement, build a deck. Only negative .... when draining the tank, the air coming out is dirty. I've drained the tank twice and it's getting cleaner. I drain the tank into an old towel to collect the dirt. Not sure if this is oil bypassing into the air tank at pump up. I will contact HD to investigate. Ok, second negative ... there was no owners manual or warrenty info with the compressor ... once again I will contact HD. You may want to inquire about this before purchase.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4.5-Gal. Electric Air Compressor (Reconditioned)-DISCONTINUED
from Seattle, WA

Definitely a "refurb"

PostedJune 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The unit I got was definitely refurbished... and had been used quite a while before it was refurbished, as the tanks have sun fading on them.
That said, it appears that all of the components that matter are brand new, and I was able to pick it up for about $200 shipped, which is nice. My brother has their 5 gallon unit with wheels and it's been great for him at work, hopefully this one will do the same for me.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4.5-Gal. Electric Air Compressor (Reconditioned)-DISCONTINUED
from Chandler, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great deal

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Compressor looked like new with only minor blemish. works perfect so far. Kept me on budget.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4.5-Gal. Electric Air Compressor (Reconditioned)-DISCONTINUED
from Washington

Ridged 4.5 Air Compressor

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This Ridged air compressor has more than meet my expectations. I would recommend it for any "do-it" yourselfer that is looking for a unit that provides excellent air flow!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4.5-Gal. Electric Air Compressor (Reconditioned)-DISCONTINUED
from Green Bay, WI

Very good compressor

PostedDecember 24, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this for various projects but I'm not a contractor, just a weekend warrior. So far this compressor has done everything I have thrown at it including pneumatic fasteners for everything from woodworking projects to construction as well as powering texture guns and just putting air in a car tire. Performance has been flawless and the oil less feature is super when it gets cold out but you still need to do work. The only note in the manufactures specs list that I take issue with is the SCFM rating being the highest available - not true. DeWalt does offer a single tank unit in this size range that exceeds 5 SCFM (but at a higher price tag, too). Never the less, this is a great unit for anything that doesn't require constant air flow like cut off tools. Not sure how this would hold up for a professional contractor but Campbell Hausfeld has been around long enough that I take more confidence in the CH name than in the Rigid name (I have some Rigid power tools whose performance and durability reflect poor quality - whoever the actual manufacturer is) so if you are a concerned because this item has the Rigid name on it, don't be. I would recommend this compressor to a friend based on a very positive experience.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4.5-Gal. Electric Air Compressor (Reconditioned)-DISCONTINUED

Best Compressor in the market.

PostedSeptember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is one of the best compressors you will find on the market. Loved it so much, I brought 9 of them for my company I work for. Plan to buy more :-) The price? Can't beat it!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4.5-Gal. Electric Air Compressor (Reconditioned)-DISCONTINUED
from Troy, MO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Rigid 4.5 Gallon Twin Stack Tank Air Compressor

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Even though I knew the compressor weight was 70lbs, I was still suprised by how heavy it was. Overall I really like the compressor. I like the on/off switch, the tank drain, the easily adjustable pressure regulator, the dual outlets, and carry handle. I plugged the compressor into a 15A outlet and didn't blow the breaker (one of the things I was concerned with). Other than that, I haven't had the opportunity to really use it much so will have to see how it performs over time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4.5-Gal. Electric Air Compressor (Reconditioned)-DISCONTINUED
from Waddell, AZ 85388, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product had broken parts when received

PostedSeptember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I received the compressor about a month ago,I opened the box del. by UPS and noticed that the right side of the pump/motor assembly was not attached to the frame.I called Home Depot and told them about this and ordered an isolation mount that was the wrong part, what I need is the cast metal cover on the right side of the pump/motor assembly that attatches to the isolation mount. Is ther any way I can have this sent to me?
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4.5-Gal. Electric Air Compressor (Reconditioned)-DISCONTINUED
from Nags Head, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Bang For The Buck

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Came in on time. Well packaged. It was reconditioned very well. I have used in with finishing nailers. Works just right. Easy to drain the tanks. I will be using it more extensively in the future and will report back if problems develop. Right now I'm very pleased. It is a bit heavy and loud enough to get your attention. My cats were not pleased.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4.5-Gal. Electric Air Compressor (Reconditioned)-DISCONTINUED
from Hayward, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Unit!

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Manual says no extension cords. That's exactly what it means. I needed to try one, and the unit would not operate. If you loose any amperage in the cord, it won't run. So, I tried a 100 foot air hose, they leak air at both ends, so use plumbers joint tape, it's already added to the more expensive compression fittings.
It's easy to build a roller base for this.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4.5-Gal. Electric Air Compressor (Reconditioned)-DISCONTINUED

Item arrived in very good shape, even had an instruction manual

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I received the compressor in about 3 days after purchase. It arrived in better shape than I expected. I hope to get many years service out of this unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4.5-Gal. Electric Air Compressor (Reconditioned)-DISCONTINUED
from Fort Collins, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great features - quiet operation.

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was ready to go out of the box. Works great and really like the high CFM and PSI capabilities. Was a great price too going with the reconditioned model.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4.5-Gal. Electric Air Compressor (Reconditioned)-DISCONTINUED
from Tennessee, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent experience

PostedNovember 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Fast, smooth transaction with no surprises. Product works like a new one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4.5-Gal. Electric Air Compressor (Reconditioned)-DISCONTINUED
from pearland,tx

4.5 gal air compressor

PostedDecember 28, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It worked well and had plenty of psi for two nail guns. It is a little heavy to carry with the handle.We use a two wheel dolly for any long carry distances.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4.5-Gal. Electric Air Compressor (Reconditioned)-DISCONTINUED
from IL

PostedJanuary 24, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a good compressor. But it draws alot of power and is hard to find a generator that will carry it. But it is a great tool with lots of power
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>