728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White

This washer pays for itself in just over six years compared to pre-2004 conventional washers, based on lifetime water and energy savings. With Maytag® Commercial Technology, the transmission's drive shaft, spin gear and synthetic oil have been tested to twice the life. Plus, the 3x3 Spray System provides exceptional cleaning from every angle.
Overall rating:
4.117 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(214 reviews) 214
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product173 of 214reviews
Rating Breakdown 214 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(115)
4
(58)
3
(13)
2
(7)
1
(21)
81%of customersrecommend this product173 of 214reviews
Customer reviews for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
Review 201 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from Orange, CA

Not happy with self adjusting water level

PostedJune 15, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Delivery and setup was great. However, Washer left powder in with clothes after a normal wash. So, on the next wash, I opened the lid after it started agiting and some of the clothes are not under the water line. After closing the lid, the sensor fills the tub up more. Those of you that have one, check your water line when washing. Maytag thinks it senses the clothes weight and adds the right amount of water, but will I really save money if I can't wash a full load because the powdered soap becomes caked onto the clothes and have to rewash them? We have used it for two weeks so I do not know if we are really saving money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 202 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from Orange County, CA

PostedJuly 24, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Unfortunately, this load sensing washer did not work. I returned it twice because the load sensing water level did not work. It used a full size load of water every time I washed a small load, thereby wasting lots and lots of water. I know we have to be open to modern, but the washers should have both options, automatic load sensing and manual load sensing.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 203 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from Memphis, TN

Expected More

PostedJune 24, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Washer has a delay when starting
Washer does not allow you to add clothers as the water fills the machine due to automatic load feature
Washer is VERY loud and does not remove excess water from clothes
Washer often leaves stains that an average washer would remove
Buttons on washer are stiff and hard to twist also buttons make A VERY LOUD SCRAPING NOISE
I expected so much more from Maytag
I am switching back to GE
I suggest you do the same
VERY DISAPPOINTED CUSTOMER
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 204 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White

Not what I expected from a new machine

PostedJuly 19, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First of all my machine was delivered by 9:30am and it took 5 plus hours for 2 loads of wash. I had to call someone to come and repair it the very first day. It doesn't have a choice of small, medium or large load to wash clothes. Water is filled up to the amount of clothes in the machine and you have to lift the lid to get more water in the machine. So every time you lift the lid to look at your clothes, it fills up with water again. And with the rinse cycle, the rinse sometimes stays on the clothes and looks like stains, so you have to wash the clothes again to remove the Downey. I would think that they would make machines easier to use now a days and not as complicated as this one is.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 205 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White

PostedDecember 5, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The washer doesn't work properly. It has no wash cycle, only load, unload water, rinse and spin.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 206 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from Maryville TN

Unhappy Home Depot Customer

PostedNovember 29, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Washer is definitely not an energy saver especially where water is concerned. If you lift the lid for any reason, the washer immediately fills to capacity or if you switch cycles it does the same thing. In the users manual, this is not mentioned, but a single blue supplement page is stuck in the manual to advise you of this, as an after thought, so Maytag is quite aware of the problem. The washer is being returned this week.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 207 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from Camdenton, MO

WORST PURCHASE EVER!!!

PostedMarch 8, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchsed this washer along with a Maytag dryer(MEDC500VW) on black Friday 2009. They both were out of stock at the time and would not be available until Jan. 9, 2010. We have had the washer and dryer for just over a month and have been deeply disappointed. The washer is already scheduled for repair. Both appliances seem very cheaply made. They make lots of noises when running that a new one should not make. Should have went with a Kenmore. I will never purchase another Maytag appliance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 208 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White

You will be sorry if you buy this.

PostedApril 28, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the second time I have tried to submit a review on this machine and the 4th time I have called in a repair person. I have owned the machine for 10 months.
This machine keeps breaking down. During my last two repairs it was determined that connecting wires to the spin cycles were incorrectly installed so the repairman circumvented the wiring to make sure the system worked.
It does not even begin to fill up with enough water to get your clothes clean unless you open up the lid mid cycle.
The agitator is tearing up my clothes as there is very little water during the wash cycle. The hot water cycle is really luke warm (unless you use the blanket or comforter setting, then the hot water is scalding hot).
If you buy this machine you will be sorry. Even the repair man said it is cheaply made.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 209 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from Roanoke, Virginia

PostedSeptember 16, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do not purchase any Maytag washers with Auto Load Sensing. I purchased this washer because it was a Maytag and it was so large, I have had it for nine months and am very disappointed with it. It dose not clean all clothes completely, I have tried several things to get it to clean better and what the instructions say nothing works, my husband and my clothes are not filthy or anything and the average load size is medium the clothes come out of the wash with dry spots in them, It dose not get enough water in the machine I have read identical stories in different reviews. I am going to buy a new machine and sell this one in a yard sale. Do not buy a machine with auto load sensing, such a bad design.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 210 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from Texas arlington

Have 2 wash everything twice :(

PostedSeptember 19, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The only good thing about this washer is the way it look. When using this washer you have to wash everything twice before you get it clean and i hate the fact u can not open it with out the water starting over , so u dont even know if it enough soap and water. I go 2 school and work and have kids so I dont have time to washh everything twice. I wish I could bring it back i havent had it for a mth yet :(
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
3 out of 4 recommend this product
<< 1  ... 7 8 9 10 11