728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White

This washer pays for itself in just over six years compared to pre-2004 conventional washers, based on lifetime water and energy savings. With Maytag® Commercial Technology, the transmission's drive shaft, spin gear and synthetic oil have been tested to twice the life. Plus, the 3x3 Spray System provides exceptional cleaning from every angle.
Overall rating:
4.131 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(213 reviews) 213
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product173 of 213reviews
Rating Breakdown 213 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(115)
4
(58)
3
(13)
2
(7)
1
(20)
81%of customersrecommend this product173 of 213reviews
Customer reviews for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
Review 201 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from Texas arlington

Have 2 wash everything twice :(

PostedSeptember 19, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The only good thing about this washer is the way it look. When using this washer you have to wash everything twice before you get it clean and i hate the fact u can not open it with out the water starting over , so u dont even know if it enough soap and water. I go 2 school and work and have kids so I dont have time to washh everything twice. I wish I could bring it back i havent had it for a mth yet :(
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 202 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White

auto load sensing

PostedDecember 18, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The auto load sensing has broken twice in 6 months. The machine will not fill. It has never filled properly. Even if you can get it to fill to the proper level for the wash, the rinse does not fill. The clothes aren't even covered with water 90% of the time for the rinse and if you don't catch it in time to lift the lid to add water then your clothes are covered with lint, and show wear & tear. So far a pair of pant, and bath towel have been destroyed.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 203 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from Maryville TN

Unhappy Home Depot Customer

PostedNovember 29, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Washer is definitely not an energy saver especially where water is concerned. If you lift the lid for any reason, the washer immediately fills to capacity or if you switch cycles it does the same thing. In the users manual, this is not mentioned, but a single blue supplement page is stuck in the manual to advise you of this, as an after thought, so Maytag is quite aware of the problem. The washer is being returned this week.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 204 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White

Not what I expected from a new machine

PostedJuly 19, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First of all my machine was delivered by 9:30am and it took 5 plus hours for 2 loads of wash. I had to call someone to come and repair it the very first day. It doesn't have a choice of small, medium or large load to wash clothes. Water is filled up to the amount of clothes in the machine and you have to lift the lid to get more water in the machine. So every time you lift the lid to look at your clothes, it fills up with water again. And with the rinse cycle, the rinse sometimes stays on the clothes and looks like stains, so you have to wash the clothes again to remove the Downey. I would think that they would make machines easier to use now a days and not as complicated as this one is.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 205 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White

Like an 'Alien' in your laundry room...

PostedSeptember 26, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you care about your wardrobe and linens, your water bill, and, your time, DON'T buy this product. First issue: Oxyclean and powdered detergents will not dissolve, leaving wet laundry covered with clods of coagulated powder; lack of a lint basket for water to flow through means the spun laundry is also covered with the lint fibers that would otherwise be collected during the washing process; no matter what you do, there is something in the design of this washer that doesn't do the job at hand and no cleaning product, pre-treatment, or hot water will ever get whites bright and spotless. Second: this is suppose to be a water saving product, but that purpose is defeated for two reasons. 1) every time the lid is opened once the washing process has begun - and who doesn't drop a sock along the way to the laundry room - more water is automatically added, presumably to accommodate the extra weight. However, at this time, you'll discover that adaquate water isn't supplied during the initial fill cycle, leaving dry laundry churning above the water line. So (issues 2 & 3), in the end, you'll want to open and close the lid several times just to make sure you have enough water to do the job. The idea of low water=better friction=a better way to clean laundry, actually means too much friction=wear and tear on fabrics=loose lint in the water=worn and linty clothes at the end of the cycle. Another problem, that I think is related to too little water for clothing to swish around in, is that things get jammed around the base of the agitator, resulting in shredded shirts and stretched out t-shirts. Oh, lest I forget to mention the cheap and tinny quality of the body of this product -- on the occasion the towels you toss in cause the machine to go off whack, not only will you be horrified by what sounds like an uninvited demo crew suddenly pounding through your laundry room wall, you will actually see for yourself the thumping motion of the barrel causing a 'convexing' action on the front of the machine -- kind of like a scene from 'Alien' -- what on earth is the front of your brand new washing machine about to give birth to! (On the positive side, if you're a fan of horror shows, DO buy this product!)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 206 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from North Eastern PA

Thank goodness for Home Depot's return policy

PostedMay 22, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We just returned ours today and ordered an LG front loader instead. I liked the idea of this washer--it's load sensing, so it uses less water, and, unlike most load sensing machines, it has an agitator, which you would think would mean it cleans better. WRONG. This machine might be ok if you never have any heavily soiled clothes, but if you have children or your work clothes get really dirty, they will come out of the washer dirty. I've taken my baby's clothes out and found baby food still on the clothes--I could scrape it off with my fingernail! Underwear doesn't get clean (gross), and forget about grass stains or ketchup. I don't know why, but it just didn't get our clothes clean, even after multiple washes, in some cases. Our repairman told us to go with a front loader, so that's what we did, and that's what I would suggest. (By the way, Home Depot returned this one without any problems whatsoever--I'm so happy about that! We even bought this over a month ago, and they returned it, no questions asked. Awesome!)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 207 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from spring hill tn

NO WAY DONT BUY

PostedNovember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
DO NOT PURCHASE THIS WASHER!!! This washer Is the worse have ever had! Cant connot select load size. or load water fill . Cant select a small load. I Put in a full load and water didnt cover the clothes. Energy star is not worth it! You cant fill the tub with water for a full load but you have to open the washer lid to fill the tub! i dont need a baby sitter for my washerwasher! If this so effincent why do you have a extra rinse??
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 208 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from Roanoke, Virginia

PostedSeptember 16, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do not purchase any Maytag washers with Auto Load Sensing. I purchased this washer because it was a Maytag and it was so large, I have had it for nine months and am very disappointed with it. It dose not clean all clothes completely, I have tried several things to get it to clean better and what the instructions say nothing works, my husband and my clothes are not filthy or anything and the average load size is medium the clothes come out of the wash with dry spots in them, It dose not get enough water in the machine I have read identical stories in different reviews. I am going to buy a new machine and sell this one in a yard sale. Do not buy a machine with auto load sensing, such a bad design.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 209 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from Texas

A piece of junk!

PostedJanuary 3, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This washer is a piece of junk. DO NOT PURCHASE IT! It is loud, will not stay balanced and does not clean the clothes. The top has already broken and to have it repaired is close to $150. I've only had this machine a little over a year and it certainly was not worth my investment. I will be buying another machine but it will not be a maytag.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 210 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from Bayview, TX

DO NOT PURCHASE THIS WASHER

PostedJanuary 9, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This washer was delivered to us on 5/2/09. Since it was under warranty, the repairman came out to repair it on 5/27/09, 7/8/09, 7/11/09 and 7/18/09. After the one year warranty expired, we have had to call a repairman out again on 6/6/10, 8/13/10, 11/22/10, and 12/24/10. It does not wash your clothes properly. The sensor may not be set correctly, it has not worked from the start. When we load the washer more than half full, it will vibrate and the wiring under the washer will come loose. We were suppose to save money since it is an energy star model, but we have spent much more time and money trying to keep it running. I don't believe this washer was tested before they put it out on the market. Do not buy this product, you will be very unhappy with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
3 out of 3 recommend this product
<< 1  ... 7 8 9 10 11