728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White

This washer pays for itself in just over six years compared to pre-2004 conventional washers, based on lifetime water and energy savings. With Maytag® Commercial Technology, the transmission's drive shaft, spin gear and synthetic oil have been tested to twice the life. Plus, the 3x3 Spray System provides exceptional cleaning from every angle.
Overall rating:
4.131 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(213 reviews) 213
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product173 of 213reviews
Rating Breakdown 213 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(115)
4
(58)
3
(13)
2
(7)
1
(20)
81%of customersrecommend this product173 of 213reviews
Customer reviews for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
Review 201 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
jms1542
from spring hill tn

NO WAY DONT BUY

PostedNovember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
DO NOT PURCHASE THIS WASHER!!! This washer Is the worse have ever had! Cant connot select load size. or load water fill . Cant select a small load. I Put in a full load and water didnt cover the clothes. Energy star is not worth it! You cant fill the tub with water for a full load but you have to open the washer lid to fill the tub! i dont need a baby sitter for my washerwasher! If this so effincent why do you have a extra rinse??
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 202 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
coco1

auto load sensing

PostedDecember 18, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The auto load sensing has broken twice in 6 months. The machine will not fill. It has never filled properly. Even if you can get it to fill to the proper level for the wash, the rinse does not fill. The clothes aren't even covered with water 90% of the time for the rinse and if you don't catch it in time to lift the lid to add water then your clothes are covered with lint, and show wear & tear. So far a pair of pant, and bath towel have been destroyed.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 203 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
WaterLogged2010
from CA

New shower in the garage.

PostedMarch 22, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased the Maytag washer because it was made in the USA. The washer operated as expected all day Saturday, however Monday at 2:00 AM I discovered the hot water hose had developed a serious crack in the metal casing that attaches to the shut off valve.
I could not determine if the hose was made in the USA. Also so I can not pass judgment on the entire washer's performance. All I know is that I had hot water running down the street from the failed hose. I just wonder how many other defective hoses are out there ?
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 204 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
mrsthatcher
from North Eastern PA

Thank goodness for Home Depot's return policy

PostedMay 22, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We just returned ours today and ordered an LG front loader instead. I liked the idea of this washer--it's load sensing, so it uses less water, and, unlike most load sensing machines, it has an agitator, which you would think would mean it cleans better. WRONG. This machine might be ok if you never have any heavily soiled clothes, but if you have children or your work clothes get really dirty, they will come out of the washer dirty. I've taken my baby's clothes out and found baby food still on the clothes--I could scrape it off with my fingernail! Underwear doesn't get clean (gross), and forget about grass stains or ketchup. I don't know why, but it just didn't get our clothes clean, even after multiple washes, in some cases. Our repairman told us to go with a front loader, so that's what we did, and that's what I would suggest. (By the way, Home Depot returned this one without any problems whatsoever--I'm so happy about that! We even bought this over a month ago, and they returned it, no questions asked. Awesome!)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 205 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
1Becky

Not what I expected from a new machine

PostedJuly 19, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First of all my machine was delivered by 9:30am and it took 5 plus hours for 2 loads of wash. I had to call someone to come and repair it the very first day. It doesn't have a choice of small, medium or large load to wash clothes. Water is filled up to the amount of clothes in the machine and you have to lift the lid to get more water in the machine. So every time you lift the lid to look at your clothes, it fills up with water again. And with the rinse cycle, the rinse sometimes stays on the clothes and looks like stains, so you have to wash the clothes again to remove the Downey. I would think that they would make machines easier to use now a days and not as complicated as this one is.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 206 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
cobrasvt
from Roanoke, Virginia

PostedSeptember 16, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do not purchase any Maytag washers with Auto Load Sensing. I purchased this washer because it was a Maytag and it was so large, I have had it for nine months and am very disappointed with it. It dose not clean all clothes completely, I have tried several things to get it to clean better and what the instructions say nothing works, my husband and my clothes are not filthy or anything and the average load size is medium the clothes come out of the wash with dry spots in them, It dose not get enough water in the machine I have read identical stories in different reviews. I am going to buy a new machine and sell this one in a yard sale. Do not buy a machine with auto load sensing, such a bad design.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 207 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
Dreams
from Texas

A piece of junk!

PostedJanuary 3, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This washer is a piece of junk. DO NOT PURCHASE IT! It is loud, will not stay balanced and does not clean the clothes. The top has already broken and to have it repaired is close to $150. I've only had this machine a little over a year and it certainly was not worth my investment. I will be buying another machine but it will not be a maytag.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 208 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
damage2010
from Bayview, TX

DO NOT PURCHASE THIS WASHER

PostedJanuary 9, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This washer was delivered to us on 5/2/09. Since it was under warranty, the repairman came out to repair it on 5/27/09, 7/8/09, 7/11/09 and 7/18/09. After the one year warranty expired, we have had to call a repairman out again on 6/6/10, 8/13/10, 11/22/10, and 12/24/10. It does not wash your clothes properly. The sensor may not be set correctly, it has not worked from the start. When we load the washer more than half full, it will vibrate and the wiring under the washer will come loose. We were suppose to save money since it is an energy star model, but we have spent much more time and money trying to keep it running. I don't believe this washer was tested before they put it out on the market. Do not buy this product, you will be very unhappy with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 209 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
Anonymous
from Orange, CA

Not happy with self adjusting water level

PostedJune 15, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Delivery and setup was great. However, Washer left powder in with clothes after a normal wash. So, on the next wash, I opened the lid after it started agiting and some of the clothes are not under the water line. After closing the lid, the sensor fills the tub up more. Those of you that have one, check your water line when washing. Maytag thinks it senses the clothes weight and adds the right amount of water, but will I really save money if I can't wash a full load because the powdered soap becomes caked onto the clothes and have to rewash them? We have used it for two weeks so I do not know if we are really saving money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 210 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
sandras
from Houston, TX

Terrible

PostedDecember 10, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Energy efficient and saves on water? Yes. Cleans clothing? NO. I have used high efficiency washers that use less water and my clothes have come out clean. After using this washer for over 2 months, I have not had one single load come out clean. I have had to wash some articles more than twice. It has gotten to the point where I have to scrub my clothes before I even put them in to be washed, and that is NOT how a washer should work. I'm in the process of trying to get it returned.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
3 out of 3 recommend this product
<< 1  ... 7 8 9 10 11