728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White

This washer pays for itself in just over six years compared to pre-2004 conventional washers, based on lifetime water and energy savings. With Maytag® Commercial Technology, the transmission's drive shaft, spin gear and synthetic oil have been tested to twice the life. Plus, the 3x3 Spray System provides exceptional cleaning from every angle.
Overall rating:
4.121 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(215 reviews) 215
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product174 of 215reviews
Rating Breakdown 215 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(116)
4
(58)
3
(13)
2
(7)
1
(21)
81%of customersrecommend this product174 of 215reviews
Customer reviews for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
Review 201 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from Orange County, CA

PostedJuly 24, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Unfortunately, this load sensing washer did not work. I returned it twice because the load sensing water level did not work. It used a full size load of water every time I washed a small load, thereby wasting lots and lots of water. I know we have to be open to modern, but the washers should have both options, automatic load sensing and manual load sensing.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 202 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from Maryville TN

Unhappy Home Depot Customer

PostedNovember 29, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Washer is definitely not an energy saver especially where water is concerned. If you lift the lid for any reason, the washer immediately fills to capacity or if you switch cycles it does the same thing. In the users manual, this is not mentioned, but a single blue supplement page is stuck in the manual to advise you of this, as an after thought, so Maytag is quite aware of the problem. The washer is being returned this week.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 203 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White

auto load sensing

PostedDecember 18, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The auto load sensing has broken twice in 6 months. The machine will not fill. It has never filled properly. Even if you can get it to fill to the proper level for the wash, the rinse does not fill. The clothes aren't even covered with water 90% of the time for the rinse and if you don't catch it in time to lift the lid to add water then your clothes are covered with lint, and show wear & tear. So far a pair of pant, and bath towel have been destroyed.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 204 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from CA

New shower in the garage.

PostedMarch 22, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased the Maytag washer because it was made in the USA. The washer operated as expected all day Saturday, however Monday at 2:00 AM I discovered the hot water hose had developed a serious crack in the metal casing that attaches to the shut off valve.
I could not determine if the hose was made in the USA. Also so I can not pass judgment on the entire washer's performance. All I know is that I had hot water running down the street from the failed hose. I just wonder how many other defective hoses are out there ?
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 205 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from Roanoke, Virginia

PostedSeptember 16, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do not purchase any Maytag washers with Auto Load Sensing. I purchased this washer because it was a Maytag and it was so large, I have had it for nine months and am very disappointed with it. It dose not clean all clothes completely, I have tried several things to get it to clean better and what the instructions say nothing works, my husband and my clothes are not filthy or anything and the average load size is medium the clothes come out of the wash with dry spots in them, It dose not get enough water in the machine I have read identical stories in different reviews. I am going to buy a new machine and sell this one in a yard sale. Do not buy a machine with auto load sensing, such a bad design.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 206 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from Texas arlington

Have 2 wash everything twice :(

PostedSeptember 19, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The only good thing about this washer is the way it look. When using this washer you have to wash everything twice before you get it clean and i hate the fact u can not open it with out the water starting over , so u dont even know if it enough soap and water. I go 2 school and work and have kids so I dont have time to washh everything twice. I wish I could bring it back i havent had it for a mth yet :(
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 207 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from spring hill tn

NO WAY DONT BUY

PostedNovember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
DO NOT PURCHASE THIS WASHER!!! This washer Is the worse have ever had! Cant connot select load size. or load water fill . Cant select a small load. I Put in a full load and water didnt cover the clothes. Energy star is not worth it! You cant fill the tub with water for a full load but you have to open the washer lid to fill the tub! i dont need a baby sitter for my washerwasher! If this so effincent why do you have a extra rinse??
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 208 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from Houston, TX

Terrible

PostedDecember 10, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Energy efficient and saves on water? Yes. Cleans clothing? NO. I have used high efficiency washers that use less water and my clothes have come out clean. After using this washer for over 2 months, I have not had one single load come out clean. I have had to wash some articles more than twice. It has gotten to the point where I have to scrub my clothes before I even put them in to be washed, and that is NOT how a washer should work. I'm in the process of trying to get it returned.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 209 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from LITTLE ROCK, AR

PROCEED CAUTIOUSLY WITH THIS WASHER

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The end-user does not have control over hardly anything such as water level, water temperature or automatic water level. You have to keep lifting the lid to adjust the correct water level for your clothes. And the water comes in too slow, it takes forever to get the washing cycle going.
The normal washing cycle, time-wise, is not long enough. However, the heavy-duty washing cycle is too long in time.
When you lift the lid, everything cuts off. Cannot see the agitator work. The water stops coming in and therefore you cannot even clean your cup that has detergent in it. You now have to go to the kitchen to clean it.
Washing clothes use to be so simple and convenient until I purchased this product. Now it is a pain to use and I have to "baby-sit" this thing until everything is done.
If I could take the washer & dryer back and start over, I certainly would. I got it at a great price, but guess what, you get what you pay for!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 210 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from Bayview, TX

DO NOT PURCHASE THIS WASHER

PostedJanuary 9, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This washer was delivered to us on 5/2/09. Since it was under warranty, the repairman came out to repair it on 5/27/09, 7/8/09, 7/11/09 and 7/18/09. After the one year warranty expired, we have had to call a repairman out again on 6/6/10, 8/13/10, 11/22/10, and 12/24/10. It does not wash your clothes properly. The sensor may not be set correctly, it has not worked from the start. When we load the washer more than half full, it will vibrate and the wiring under the washer will come loose. We were suppose to save money since it is an energy star model, but we have spent much more time and money trying to keep it running. I don't believe this washer was tested before they put it out on the market. Do not buy this product, you will be very unhappy with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
4 out of 5 recommend this product
<< 1  ... 7 8 9 10 11