728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Appliances or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White

This washer pays for itself in just over six years compared to pre-2004 conventional washers, based on lifetime water and energy savings. With Maytag® Commercial Technology, the transmission's drive shaft, spin gear and synthetic oil have been tested to twice the life. Plus, the 3x3 Spray System provides exceptional cleaning from every angle.
Overall rating:
4.124 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(210 reviews) 210
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product170 of 210reviews
Rating Breakdown 210 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(113)
4
(57)
3
(13)
2
(7)
1
(20)
81%of customersrecommend this product170 of 210reviews
Customer reviews for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
Review 201 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White

You will be sorry if you buy this.

PostedApril 28, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the second time I have tried to submit a review on this machine and the 4th time I have called in a repair person. I have owned the machine for 10 months.
This machine keeps breaking down. During my last two repairs it was determined that connecting wires to the spin cycles were incorrectly installed so the repairman circumvented the wiring to make sure the system worked.
It does not even begin to fill up with enough water to get your clothes clean unless you open up the lid mid cycle.
The agitator is tearing up my clothes as there is very little water during the wash cycle. The hot water cycle is really luke warm (unless you use the blanket or comforter setting, then the hot water is scalding hot).
If you buy this machine you will be sorry. Even the repair man said it is cheaply made.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 202 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from North Eastern PA

Thank goodness for Home Depot's return policy

PostedMay 22, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We just returned ours today and ordered an LG front loader instead. I liked the idea of this washer--it's load sensing, so it uses less water, and, unlike most load sensing machines, it has an agitator, which you would think would mean it cleans better. WRONG. This machine might be ok if you never have any heavily soiled clothes, but if you have children or your work clothes get really dirty, they will come out of the washer dirty. I've taken my baby's clothes out and found baby food still on the clothes--I could scrape it off with my fingernail! Underwear doesn't get clean (gross), and forget about grass stains or ketchup. I don't know why, but it just didn't get our clothes clean, even after multiple washes, in some cases. Our repairman told us to go with a front loader, so that's what we did, and that's what I would suggest. (By the way, Home Depot returned this one without any problems whatsoever--I'm so happy about that! We even bought this over a month ago, and they returned it, no questions asked. Awesome!)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 203 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from LITTLE ROCK, AR

PROCEED CAUTIOUSLY WITH THIS WASHER

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The end-user does not have control over hardly anything such as water level, water temperature or automatic water level. You have to keep lifting the lid to adjust the correct water level for your clothes. And the water comes in too slow, it takes forever to get the washing cycle going.
The normal washing cycle, time-wise, is not long enough. However, the heavy-duty washing cycle is too long in time.
When you lift the lid, everything cuts off. Cannot see the agitator work. The water stops coming in and therefore you cannot even clean your cup that has detergent in it. You now have to go to the kitchen to clean it.
Washing clothes use to be so simple and convenient until I purchased this product. Now it is a pain to use and I have to "baby-sit" this thing until everything is done.
If I could take the washer & dryer back and start over, I certainly would. I got it at a great price, but guess what, you get what you pay for!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 204 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from Maryville TN

Unhappy Home Depot Customer

PostedNovember 29, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Washer is definitely not an energy saver especially where water is concerned. If you lift the lid for any reason, the washer immediately fills to capacity or if you switch cycles it does the same thing. In the users manual, this is not mentioned, but a single blue supplement page is stuck in the manual to advise you of this, as an after thought, so Maytag is quite aware of the problem. The washer is being returned this week.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 205 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from Camdenton, MO

WORST PURCHASE EVER!!!

PostedMarch 8, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchsed this washer along with a Maytag dryer(MEDC500VW) on black Friday 2009. They both were out of stock at the time and would not be available until Jan. 9, 2010. We have had the washer and dryer for just over a month and have been deeply disappointed. The washer is already scheduled for repair. Both appliances seem very cheaply made. They make lots of noises when running that a new one should not make. Should have went with a Kenmore. I will never purchase another Maytag appliance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 206 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from CA

New shower in the garage.

PostedMarch 22, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased the Maytag washer because it was made in the USA. The washer operated as expected all day Saturday, however Monday at 2:00 AM I discovered the hot water hose had developed a serious crack in the metal casing that attaches to the shut off valve.
I could not determine if the hose was made in the USA. Also so I can not pass judgment on the entire washer's performance. All I know is that I had hot water running down the street from the failed hose. I just wonder how many other defective hoses are out there ?
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 207 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from Texas arlington

Have 2 wash everything twice :(

PostedSeptember 19, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The only good thing about this washer is the way it look. When using this washer you have to wash everything twice before you get it clean and i hate the fact u can not open it with out the water starting over , so u dont even know if it enough soap and water. I go 2 school and work and have kids so I dont have time to washh everything twice. I wish I could bring it back i havent had it for a mth yet :(
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 208 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from Memphis, TN

Expected More

PostedJune 24, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Washer has a delay when starting
Washer does not allow you to add clothers as the water fills the machine due to automatic load feature
Washer is VERY loud and does not remove excess water from clothes
Washer often leaves stains that an average washer would remove
Buttons on washer are stiff and hard to twist also buttons make A VERY LOUD SCRAPING NOISE
I expected so much more from Maytag
I am switching back to GE
I suggest you do the same
VERY DISAPPOINTED CUSTOMER
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 209 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from Texas

A piece of junk!

PostedJanuary 3, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This washer is a piece of junk. DO NOT PURCHASE IT! It is loud, will not stay balanced and does not clean the clothes. The top has already broken and to have it repaired is close to $150. I've only had this machine a little over a year and it certainly was not worth my investment. I will be buying another machine but it will not be a maytag.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 210 for Centennial® 4.0 IEC cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White
from spring hill tn

NO WAY DONT BUY

PostedNovember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
DO NOT PURCHASE THIS WASHER!!! This washer Is the worse have ever had! Cant connot select load size. or load water fill . Cant select a small load. I Put in a full load and water didnt cover the clothes. Energy star is not worth it! You cant fill the tub with water for a full load but you have to open the washer lid to fill the tub! i dont need a baby sitter for my washerwasher! If this so effincent why do you have a extra rinse??
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1  ... 7 8 9 10 11