728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Paint Sprayers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for HVLP Gravity Feed Spray Gun

HVLP Gravity Feed Spray Gun

The Husky Pro HVLP Gravity Feed Spray Gun is made with a gravity feed design that employs pneumatic power for efficient use. The 30 spray settings allow you to employ the spray gun in a number of applications, and the spray gun can be operated at a maximum pressure of 40 psi. The spray gun can accommodate all light to medium viscosity materials including enamels, lacquers, polyurethane top coats and all primers. The 1.44 mm (0.055 in.) fluid nozzle provides medium to fast delivery, and the fluid nozzle and fluid needle are both made from stainless steel for durability.
Overall rating:
4.111 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product8 of 8reviews
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(3)
4
(4)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product8 of 8reviews
Customer reviews for HVLP Gravity Feed Spray Gun
Review 1 for HVLP Gravity Feed Spray Gun
Waveman
from Thornton, Colorado

Excellent value and performance

PostedApril 19, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
You can't beat the performance and versatility in this price range. This gun is like two guns in one since it comes with two nozzle and needle sets (1.2mm and 1.4mm). Additionally it has two cup sizes (200ml and 800ml). It comes with a decent cleaning kit and wall mount holder. The only negative thing I can say is that the gun doesn't come with a wrench to disasseble it for cleaning. However, a 10mm socket or wrench will work to remove the nozzle which is the main component that needs cleaning after every use. It sprays very nicely with a consistent pattern and very good atomization. Very easy to adjust all settings. I use a veriety of coatings painting aircraft parts for the military such as epoxy primers, polyurethanes, teflon coatings, and others. This gun handles them all with no problems. The owner's manual doesn't have an exploded parts diagram, but that can be obtained from the manufacturer's website and downloaded in a PDF format. I use guns that cost $700 (SATA Jet ) and they barely outperform this gun in atomization of the paint and just a slightly larger spray pattern. This gun comes with good instruction material for novices too, so it's not just for the professionals. This is the best $99 I've ever spent on spray equipment. Plus you get a three year warrenty. If you are looking at a similarly priced Kobalt, DeVilbiss, Sharpe, etc. Forget about them and buy this gun you won't regret it.
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HVLP Gravity Feed Spray Gun
Criqui
from Rural Kansas

Good gun for the price!

PostedNovember 25, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used this gun for all of my finishing for about a year as I was first opening a cabinet shop and working part-time at it. I like that it comes with 2 different fluid tips for different viscosity fluids, and it has a decent cleaning kit. I wish they would have included a wrench with the kit. After quite a bit of pretty hard use the packing nut has started leaking on it, and I cannot find parts for it. It beats spending $300 - $400 on a gun with no extras at a paint store, but I wish seal and packing kits were more readily available for this unit.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HVLP Gravity Feed Spray Gun
Dragster
from Michigan

Great Gun

PostedApril 2, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
For the price, this is a great gun. Adjustments are easy to make, sprays consistent and easy to clean. The ONLY negative I have is that the instructions lack an exploded view for reassembly.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HVLP Gravity Feed Spray Gun
MoCannam
from St Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Was looking for something to quickly paint chairs and other furniture for outdoor use. ≈

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Coverage 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
If you have never used one of these, as was my situation, read up on the terminology and parts of these type of sprayers before you begin. The manual you get with this product is not for "consumer" use. It assumes you have knowledge of how to use the product and what the various tools and pieces are used for.
We all know what "assume" does in the consumer world.
As far as the performance of the product, make sure you thin your paint down and also get your compressor set to the correct pressure and you will be off to the races. The coverage and finish is beautiful. I used a porch and deck paint to finish a couple of adirondack chairs and they look fantastic.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HVLP Gravity Feed Spray Gun
movindirt
from Indio, CA, USA

pretty solid unit

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is for the potential first timers to HVLP. Espescially the die hard cup gun users.
The manual that comes with this gun should read as follows:
The can't miss method for the HVLP gun:
If you are one of the aforementioned cup gun die hards you have to forget about the fog coat first and then build with several light coats application method if your going to spray latex. (see below)
First the material. Most of the latex paints come pretty thick out of the can. The following seems to work for me. You can tweak the numbers based on how much finished product you need but here's the baseline I use. 8oz. paint, 2oz. flotrol- up to 4oz if it's cold outside and 2-4oz. water depending on the viscosity out of the can. Usually 2 parts paint to 1 part flotrol/water gets it pretty close. If it's cold and the paint is thick to start I've gone 1 to 1.
Basically you're looking for the consistency of whole milk. Once you get that, run it thru a med./fine cone strainer and you're good to go. Last thought here. Mix about 1-1/2 times what you think you need since you're applying it wetter and it's kind of a pain if you have to mix a little more to finish.
Next, the gun.
First and probably most important thing. Throw away the small strainers that go in the throat of the gun. With the latex paint you will never get enough material to the tip. Next take the red plastic cap and drill the vent hole in the center to 1/8". The small hole it has blocks to easily and it wont draw right. Run an inline regulator at the gun. I run around 100psi on the line and shoot between 20-30 for latex. (about 15-20psi with oil or lacquer). A 3' lead in hose with swivel attached to the regulator makes the gun much easier to shoot also. I actually have a male air fitting swivel and the lead in swivel for even more freedom. Set the air valve on the gun to max pressure. You can make minor adj. mid stream there if needed. The pattern control is a bit overstated. If you try to get the max pattern you can't get enough material to fill it. I never go more than 1/2 way here. It gets you about 5-6". Last thing is the fluid control. For the 5-6" pattern I run it all the way in to 0 then back it out 4-5 full turns depending on the material.
Now for the fun part. Get a half sheet of masonite, something hard and smooth will give you a pretty good look at what you're gonna put down. Forget the fog coat and several light build coats to get home (with latex). Lay the first coat light to med. pretty solid coverage. Then 2-3 "wet coats and you're done. Sometimes the first coat will raise a little grain since it's wetter but a 220 sponge after a bit of dry time takes care of it. I never wait the dry time between coats per the can either. If I can touch it I'm movin on.
Once you get this figured out you will never use a cup gun again.
Final note back on the material for a second. Sometimes the flotrol/ water thinning method de-glosses the paint some. A semi-gloss can turn out like a satin. If you need high sheen you have to put a waterbourn clear on or go to oil based.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HVLP Gravity Feed Spray Gun
Chap
from CO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I couldn't ask for more

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After reading other reviews of this product, I decided to order one.
I'm completely happy with it, even with some thicker paint that I wasn't sure I had thinned enough.
I did find that the air hole in the lid would get clogged, this would cause paint to stop flowing. After I figured out what was going on and unclogged the hole it was great again.
I would buy another just like it if I ever need one.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, good balance
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HVLP Gravity Feed Spray Gun
SATAPRO
from Baltimore, MD, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This Gun

PostedApril 7, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Coverage 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Low odor 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I use this gun for primers and sealers on cars and it's sweet ya just have to get use to your paint gun ! Oh and " Husky "in case you guys didn't know youcan use a PPS adapter #2....Yeah I'm good
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HVLP Gravity Feed Spray Gun
refinisher

ok

PostedSeptember 30, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I used it for furniture refinish. it was working well at first,but then the plastic cap got broke and then the trigger got broke too in less than a year.
Is good but not really pro.
-1point
5out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HVLP Gravity Feed Spray Gun
TractorNut
from Turlock, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Quality HVLP Spray Gun

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My first HVLP gun. I have use the traditional guns for spraying home interior stuff and some metal work for years. Wanted to paint an antique tractor and a friend told me HVLP was the way to go. I searched the usual places and found the Husky unit to have the most features and best quality appearance. I have sprayed about 1 gallon of automotive paint though it with no problems. What is really amazing is how far paint goes when it is not going all over the place as with the cup gun. NO spray dust all over the shop!! I recommend HVLP spraying and the Husky gun it a great choice - glad I bought it.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.