728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Door Knobs & Hardware or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey

985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey

Step up to designer styles and superior security with Kwikset Signature Series products. The 980 deadbolt is both tough and attractive. The complementary Antique Brass finish offers a warm feel with deep accents in the contours of the product. This double cylinder deadbolt is operated by a key on both sides. SmartKey Re-key Technology allows you to control who has access to your home. Re-key the lock yourself in seconds in 3 easy steps. Have you recently moved or had a child lose a key. It’s time to re-key. SmartKey provides the highest level of residential security and features BumpGuard to protect against lock bumping.
Overall rating:
3.897 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(68 reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product52 of 64reviews
Rating Breakdown 68 reviews
3.9 out of 5
5
(41)
4
(7)
3
(4)
2
(4)
1
(12)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product52 of 64reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
Review 1 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ought To Be Better

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
A premium-priced product that ought to be better. On the plus side, keying/rekeying is extremely easy. But there are two negatives. First, the printed installation instructions are quite poor; I had to go online to look for the answer to an installation problem, and their web site is poorly organized, too. Second, the tumblers seem to fall out of alignment from time to time, and the key binds. I work the lock for a bit and it frees up again, but I don't have a good feel about this. I've had the lock for a few weeks now, and it's happened two or three times.
All in all, I feel like Kwikset is relying on their good name, but not putting enough effort into documentation and product quality.
Pros: easy to rekey
Cons: poor instructions, tumblers get out of alignment
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
from Bradenton, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product was exactly what I needed.

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I wanted to replace my front door single cylinder dead bolt with a double cylinder dead bolt and wanted to make sure it would fit and work in my existing door hardware. I asked Kwikset for a recommendation and ordered the product they recommended from Home Depot. It fit and worked perfectly.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design, matched the existing finish.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey

The smart key feature is great.

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Good product, and people in the store were very helpful in ordering on line as the store did not carry this sku.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
from Inverness, FL

Excellent product

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A little difficult to install owing to lining up the long screws. I found that it is easier to leave all screws loose until the long screws are lined up and able to turn. The Home Depot store does not carry this model in antique brass. Otherwise an excellent product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
from Sebastian, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product in innovative

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
A great lock and the smart key feature is very easy to use.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, smart key feature
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
from Venice, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product - heavy duty

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Product is well made. Directions a bit hard to follow. Directions are mostly pictures which leave a lot to be desired. Product itself is excellent.
Pros: Sturdy, Nice Design
Cons: poor instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey

Easy to install and set the key.

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These locks are perfect for the average homeowner. They are easy to install and setting the key to whatever key you want is also very easy.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
from Tucson, AZ, USA

great lock, safe from "bumping" attempts

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My only problem with the purchase is not the lock, but the instructions. There was no information about how to remove my Cell lock from the door before I could install the Kwikset. I couldn't get info. about this from the customer service phone help when I called that number. The person providing the customer service had no information about how the Cell lock worked or could be removed, so, I couldn't install my new Kwikset lock and I'll probably end up having to call a locksmith.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: No Instructions, Difficult to Install, no help in instructions on how to remove old lock
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
from Indiana, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice lock

PostedJune 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very nice lock. The lock installed easily and is easy to re-key as needed. One nice feature is that each side of the lock can use the same key or different keys as desired.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
from Scottsdale, AZ

Easy Replacement Installation

PostedMarch 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This replaced a deadbolt I had on a french door so I wanted keyed locks on both sides for extra security. I was able to swap it out in 15 minutes and Kwikset's rekeying feature make it a breeze to change it to the keys we already had for the other locks. The only downside was the receiver end hardware provided by Kwikset, while giving additional security, it's not as easy to retrofit to an existing door/doorjam. Without question, these are the types of locks I'll be installing from now on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey

The SmartKey technology is great

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I installed this lock along with two other Kwikset SmartKey locks in a house I recently purchased. It was great to have all three locks controlled by one key.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
from Huntsville, AL.

AOK

PostedJuly 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product works as advertised. Rhis was actually our second choice. Originally we wanted a keyless lock set but kwikset did not offer the product in antique brass. The self keying feature works great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
from NYC

One key fits all locks

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This review is from:985 Double Cylinder Satin Nickel Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
I just purchased 2 sets of this kwikset 985 double cylinder locks and one key opens all of the 2 sets i just bought without even the need of smartkey rekey. What are the odds. Those fours keys have exactly the same cuts. What if some dude go buy the same exact kwikset 985? I wonder if that dude's key could open on my locks. Where's the security in that? Does anyone ever have the same situation?
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: one key opens all.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy THD-CSJanuary 15, 2015
Dear Valued Home Depot Customer, All lock manufacturers do offer the convenience of selling keyed alike product to our retailers. This convenience allows a customer with multiple doors to their home to purchase multiple deadbolts/locks that all match to one key without having to be rekeyed. At Kwikset we regularly rotate the inventory we ship to the retailer so the stores are constantly receiving various key combinations. Fortunately, if you purchased a Kwikset SmartKey product you can easily rekey the lock you purchase to a new Kwikset key.
Sincerely,
Kwikset Support Team
1-800-732-8238
Review 14 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey

Deadbolt

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:985 Double Cylinder Venetian Bronze Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
Double-Cylinder-Venetian-Bronze-Deadbolt-Featuring-SmartKey
Easy to install!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not worth a darn

PostedMarch 15, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:985 Double Cylinder Satin Nickel Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
i just replaced my 2nd Kwikset "smartkey" handle set. The first one failed when I locked the door and tried to remove the key. the key would not come out and I could not unlock the door. $180 locksmith visit later I could get in and out my front door. The locksmith said maybe someone tried to bump the lock, doubtful since I have video surveillance of my property and did not have anyone linger at the door long enough. I sent my wife for the same lock since we loved the style. We got lucky with the second failure and we were home and just unlocked the door and tried to remove the key. the lock was not releasing the key, so we turned the deadbolt as if the door was shut and we were locking it then it jammed. So i went back to homedepot and retuned that lock too. both failures took place within 3 months of installation. buyer beware.....
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
from El Paso, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great and easy to install.

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:985 Double Cylinder Polished Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
Would have been easy to replace my broken locked but the were on metal security steel bars doors that were narrower that regular wood doors. Had to make town spacers.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
from San Antonio, Tx

DO NOT BY Kwickset SMARTKEY

PostedJuly 6, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:985 Double Cylinder Satin Nickel Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
DO NOT BUY KWICKSET SMARTKEY LOCKS. Kwickset locks are good locks but the SMARTKEY locks are junk and could get you locked out of your house! Over the weeks we have installed three different models of Kwikset SMARTKEY double deadbolt locks. First one failed in days, second in a week and third lasted two weeks. Each lock failed in the similar manners, all related to the SMARTKEY tumbler design. The first deadbolt stopped turning on the inside lock, key would not turn at all, when tried from the outside lock, it turned a small amount then would not release the key! Second deadbolt “locked” up totally, would not turn from either side. Third lock did the same as the first but at least would give the key back. Each time we moved up in price and still had the same result.
Finally went my local locksmith, while they agreed Kwickset locks are good locks the SMARTKEY locks are not and often do what I have described, they said the SMARTKEY design is not a perfected design yet, and are mostly plastic on the inside cylinder. They added that SMARTKEY locks cannot be repaired, they must be replaced.
Fortunately we did not get locked out of our home because we have a backdoor we could enter through. Please be careful!! This lock could cost you a fortune in locksmith fees if you were to get locked out of your home!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
from Texas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great idea, Not So Great Performance

PostedAugust 27, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:985 Double Cylinder Satin Nickel Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
I have bought three of the Kwik-set double cylinder deadbolt locks within the last 18 months.  Two have performed as advertised, but one has given me nothing but problems.  Specifically, one of the cylinders "sticks", i.e. when the key is put in it will not turn.  The first time this happened (about 8 months after installation) I contacted Kwik-Set and they mailed me a replacement cylinder.  After another 8 months or so, the replacement cylinder quit as well.  This time I took the cylinder back to Home Depot and the "Lock and Key guy" at the store was able to reset it.  One thing that I noticed was that just prior to the key sticking I had to "jiggle" the key to get the cylinder to turn.  After a few times of "jiggling" the key the cylinder "froze"---so if you notice this symptom, be prepare to replace the cylinder or risk not being able to lock or unlock that door.  
Overall, I think the concept behind the Smart Key is a good one.  I particularly liked the idea of being able to have one key for all four of my exterior doors.  However, I don't believe this product delivers on performance---especially at the price.  I think one would be better served to purchase regular non-smart key deadbolts and get them all keyed the same.  Even with getting regular non- smart key deadbolts keyed the same it will cost about 1/2 the price. If you need to change the key with the regular non-smart key deadbolts, simply take the cylinders out, take them to a locksmith or back to Home Depot to get them re-keyed.  It will still be cheaper than Smart Key locks and you won't have to deal with the aggravation of the lock failing.  Again, great idea, but disappointing performance.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
from Maine, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Much easier to re-key than expected

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:985 Double Cylinder Satin Nickel Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
I am a landlord with a few rental units. In the past I have had to swap out the locks on my units every time a tenant moves out. Now I won't have to! It only takes a minute to re-key! No more taking apart the old door locks and switching them out (10-15 minutes per door). Of course I cannot use the double cylinder on my rentals due to housing codes, but I can use it on my own place. Since it's the same mechanism to re-key, I will be upgrading to the single cylinder SmartKey system for my next round of tenant turnovers.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Deadbolt easy

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:985 Double Cylinder Satin Nickel Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
This deadbolt was easy to install and rekey using smartkey.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>