728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Door Knobs & Hardware or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey

985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey

Step up to designer styles and superior security with Kwikset Signature Series products. The 980 deadbolt is both tough and attractive. The complementary Antique Brass finish offers a warm feel with deep accents in the contours of the product. This double cylinder deadbolt is operated by a key on both sides. SmartKey Re-key Technology allows you to control who has access to your home. Re-key the lock yourself in seconds in 3 easy steps. Have you recently moved or had a child lose a key. It’s time to re-key. SmartKey provides the highest level of residential security and features BumpGuard to protect against lock bumping.
Overall rating:
3.911 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(56 reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product44 of 53reviews
Rating Breakdown 56 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(34)
4
(7)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(11)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product44 of 53reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
Review 1 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
from Bradenton, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product was exactly what I needed.

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wanted to replace my front door single cylinder dead bolt with a double cylinder dead bolt and wanted to make sure it would fit and work in my existing door hardware. I asked Kwikset for a recommendation and ordered the product they recommended from Home Depot. It fit and worked perfectly.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design, matched the existing finish.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
from Sebastian, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product in innovative

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A great lock and the smart key feature is very easy to use.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, smart key feature
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey

The smart key feature is great.

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good product, and people in the store were very helpful in ordering on line as the store did not carry this sku.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
from Venice, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product - heavy duty

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product is well made. Directions a bit hard to follow. Directions are mostly pictures which leave a lot to be desired. Product itself is excellent.
Pros: Sturdy, Nice Design
Cons: poor instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
from Inverness, FL

Excellent product

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A little difficult to install owing to lining up the long screws. I found that it is easier to leave all screws loose until the long screws are lined up and able to turn. The Home Depot store does not carry this model in antique brass. Otherwise an excellent product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey

Easy to install and set the key.

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These locks are perfect for the average homeowner. They are easy to install and setting the key to whatever key you want is also very easy.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
from Indiana, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice lock

PostedJune 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very nice lock. The lock installed easily and is easy to re-key as needed. One nice feature is that each side of the lock can use the same key or different keys as desired.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
from Tucson, AZ, USA

great lock, safe from "bumping" attempts

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My only problem with the purchase is not the lock, but the instructions. There was no information about how to remove my Cell lock from the door before I could install the Kwikset. I couldn't get info. about this from the customer service phone help when I called that number. The person providing the customer service had no information about how the Cell lock worked or could be removed, so, I couldn't install my new Kwikset lock and I'll probably end up having to call a locksmith.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: No Instructions, Difficult to Install, no help in instructions on how to remove old lock
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey

The SmartKey technology is great

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I installed this lock along with two other Kwikset SmartKey locks in a house I recently purchased. It was great to have all three locks controlled by one key.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
from Scottsdale, AZ

Easy Replacement Installation

PostedMarch 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This replaced a deadbolt I had on a french door so I wanted keyed locks on both sides for extra security. I was able to swap it out in 15 minutes and Kwikset's rekeying feature make it a breeze to change it to the keys we already had for the other locks. The only downside was the receiver end hardware provided by Kwikset, while giving additional security, it's not as easy to retrofit to an existing door/doorjam. Without question, these are the types of locks I'll be installing from now on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
from Huntsville, AL.

AOK

PostedJuly 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product works as advertised. Rhis was actually our second choice. Originally we wanted a keyless lock set but kwikset did not offer the product in antique brass. The self keying feature works great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
from Olmstead, AR
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked great.

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:985 Double Cylinder Venetian Bronze Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
Easy to install and rekey. Long screws on strick plate and long bolt makes for a more secure lock.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
from Louisville, KY, USA

Easy to install

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:985 Double Cylinder Venetian Bronze Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
Nice solid lock set. good value for the money. Like the SmartKey feature
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
from Jackson, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Sturdy lock

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:985 Double Cylinder Satin Nickel Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
The lock was easy to install and works great. It can also be re-keyed if necessary.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey

locks

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:985 Double Cylinder Satin Nickel Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
Great product and easy install. The locks work great.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey

Not good

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:985 Double Cylinder Satin Nickel Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
The cylinder popped out of the lock. I returned it and bought another brand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy THD-CSNovember 18, 2014
Thank you for providing us with your valuable rating and feedback for Kwikset model 985 15 SMT CP. This feedback allows us to understand your needs and concerns to better improve our products and services.
We have attempted to contact you with no success and would appreciate the opportunity to assist you with your product under warranty. Please contact our Warranty Support line at 1-800-732-8238 and refer to this case number # 201410699750.
Sincerely,
Kwikset Support Team
Review 17 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey

Double sided bumpproof protection

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:985 Double Cylinder Satin Nickel Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
I've actually purchased two versions of this system and have no regrets. It was very simple to install and when I made a mistake it was incredibly easy to correct. The fact that bump proof protection was added is great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
from Richmond, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Had a challenge with SmartKey

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:985 Double Cylinder Satin Nickel Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
I may not be a lock smith, but when I had a challenge with the smartkey feature not working (to the point where I could no longer use my keys to unlock or lock it - both the old and new key), the documentation told me to take it in to a locksmith. I was going to return it, but decided to try to fix it and was successful by opening up the device and resetting it to my key's specifications. I would hope that my unit was faulty and is not the norm, but there are quite a few reviews mentioning this problem. Overall the unit is sturdy and attractive - works as advertised now that I've fixed it.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install
Cons: had a problem with smartkey but was able to fix
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So easy to rekey the house!

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:985 Double Cylinder Satin Nickel Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
With no drilling and 5 minutes of my time, I was able to replace the lock and rekey the house. It doesn't get any easier than this!
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not worth a darn

PostedMarch 15, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:985 Double Cylinder Satin Nickel Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
i just replaced my 2nd Kwikset "smartkey" handle set. The first one failed when I locked the door and tried to remove the key. the key would not come out and I could not unlock the door. $180 locksmith visit later I could get in and out my front door. The locksmith said maybe someone tried to bump the lock, doubtful since I have video surveillance of my property and did not have anyone linger at the door long enough. I sent my wife for the same lock since we loved the style. We got lucky with the second failure and we were home and just unlocked the door and tried to remove the key. the lock was not releasing the key, so we turned the deadbolt as if the door was shut and we were locking it then it jammed. So i went back to homedepot and retuned that lock too. both failures took place within 3 months of installation. buyer beware.....
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>