728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Door Knobs & Hardware or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey

985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey

Step up to designer styles and superior security with Kwikset Signature Series products. The 980 deadbolt is both tough and attractive. The complementary Antique Brass finish offers a warm feel with deep accents in the contours of the product. This double cylinder deadbolt is operated by a key on both sides. SmartKey Re-key Technology allows you to control who has access to your home. Re-key the lock yourself in seconds in 3 easy steps. Have you recently moved or had a child lose a key. It’s time to re-key. SmartKey provides the highest level of residential security and features BumpGuard to protect against lock bumping.
Overall rating:
4.714 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product13 of 14reviews
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(13)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product13 of 14reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
Review 1 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
ziggy
from Sebastian, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product in innovative

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A great lock and the smart key feature is very easy to use.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, smart key feature
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
Jerry
from Bradenton, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product was exactly what I needed.

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wanted to replace my front door single cylinder dead bolt with a double cylinder dead bolt and wanted to make sure it would fit and work in my existing door hardware. I asked Kwikset for a recommendation and ordered the product they recommended from Home Depot. It fit and worked perfectly.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design, matched the existing finish.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
jimp444
from Venice, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product - heavy duty

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product is well made. Directions a bit hard to follow. Directions are mostly pictures which leave a lot to be desired. Product itself is excellent.
Pros: Sturdy, Nice Design
Cons: poor instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
Knittingsuecq

Easy to install and set the key.

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These locks are perfect for the average homeowner. They are easy to install and setting the key to whatever key you want is also very easy.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
ejoe

The smart key feature is great.

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good product, and people in the store were very helpful in ordering on line as the store did not carry this sku.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
Sorrybuyer
from Indiana, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice lock

PostedJune 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very nice lock. The lock installed easily and is easy to re-key as needed. One nice feature is that each side of the lock can use the same key or different keys as desired.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
sibby
from Inverness, FL

Excellent product

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A little difficult to install owing to lining up the long screws. I found that it is easier to leave all screws loose until the long screws are lined up and able to turn. The Home Depot store does not carry this model in antique brass. Otherwise an excellent product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
Rosalie
from Tucson, AZ, USA

great lock, safe from "bumping" attempts

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My only problem with the purchase is not the lock, but the instructions. There was no information about how to remove my Cell lock from the door before I could install the Kwikset. I couldn't get info. about this from the customer service phone help when I called that number. The person providing the customer service had no information about how the Cell lock worked or could be removed, so, I couldn't install my new Kwikset lock and I'll probably end up having to call a locksmith.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: No Instructions, Difficult to Install, no help in instructions on how to remove old lock
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
jck1

The SmartKey technology is great

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I installed this lock along with two other Kwikset SmartKey locks in a house I recently purchased. It was great to have all three locks controlled by one key.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
HeatExhaustion
from Scottsdale, AZ

Easy Replacement Installation

PostedMarch 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This replaced a deadbolt I had on a french door so I wanted keyed locks on both sides for extra security. I was able to swap it out in 15 minutes and Kwikset's rekeying feature make it a breeze to change it to the keys we already had for the other locks. The only downside was the receiver end hardware provided by Kwikset, while giving additional security, it's not as easy to retrofit to an existing door/doorjam. Without question, these are the types of locks I'll be installing from now on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
GENEES
from Huntsville, AL.

AOK

PostedJuly 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product works as advertised. Rhis was actually our second choice. Originally we wanted a keyless lock set but kwikset did not offer the product in antique brass. The self keying feature works great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
Joseph
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Smartkey fails on 2 locks within 2 years. Pure junk!

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:985 Double Cylinder Venetian Bronze Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
I bought 3 sets of Kwikset double cylinder and entry levers for exterior doors. I wanted to easily match other door locks. The Smartkey hardware seems to be the problem. Eventually, your key won't work and you'll find yourself locked out unless you've got another door for access. Online forums confirm my worst fears. I'll return these ASAP and try to find something above "builder grade."
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable, poor quality.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
HandyMann

Unusual

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:985 Double Cylinder Iron Black Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
I bought this as it fit well with my black iron gate. The look and quality look good. It was easy to install and the dimensions fit standard lock openings.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 985 Double Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
Cracker
from Gilbert, AZ, USA

Great quality, great color, great product

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:985 Double Cylinder Venetian Bronze Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
Would continue to buy in this line of products. I love the color and how classy it looks.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.