728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Generators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4,000-Watt Gasoline-Powered Portable Generator

4,000-Watt Gasoline-Powered Portable Generator

This ETQ 4,000-Watt Gasoline-Powered Portable Generator features a SinePower alternator that delivers clean electricity and smooth power to even the most sensitive electronics. Weighing less than 105 lb., this generator is easy to transport from job to job with the included wheel kit and handle. An oversized muffler helps provide quiet operation and the heavy-duty rolled tube steel construction helps ensure rugged and durable protection.
Overall rating:
4.323 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(93 reviews) 93
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product79 of 86reviews
Rating Breakdown 93 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(52)
4
(31)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(5)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product79 of 86reviews
Customer reviews for 4,000-Watt Gasoline-Powered Portable Generator
Review 1 for 4,000-Watt Gasoline-Powered Portable Generator
genorater75

Great Emergency Generator

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used this product several times now after hurricanes, thunderstorms, and power infrastructure failure. Its literally paid for itself in saving my food, running my wife's hair dryer, and air conditioner units.
Pros:
-Easy to use, not too heavy
-Supports 240V applications
-Plenty of power - I run two fridge/freezers, a 10K BTU air conditioner, several box fans, and minor lights/electronics no problem.
-Fuel Efficient when I use High Octane Gas
Cons:
-Runs low on oil quick during extended use. Keep a spare bottle around
-Noise. But not much more so than others.
-120V side is split into two phases so the three prong connector is literally the other half of your generator, be sure to get an L5-30P to 5-20R adapter plug or use the supplied TT-30 (RV) adapter with a TT-30 to 5-20R to fully use this generator with extension cords or get a transfer switch box.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4,000-Watt Gasoline-Powered Portable Generator
Rcchor
from Utah

What I had hoped for was delivered.

PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The generator was delivered when expected. It was packaged well and had no damage at all. It was easy to assemble and only took me about 45 minutes total. Using a funnel I added the recommended oil. I put gas in and pulled the rope handle. Two pulls and it started right up. I let it run for awhile and then tried the power outlets... they worked to perfection. I am very happy with this purchase and don't understand the negative reviews that I have read. I'll admit that I have less than 10 hours on my unit but I don't foresee any problems. I purchased this from Home Depot online because I have had such good experiences with their stores and trust them to help me if I have a problem. I heartily recommend this product.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4,000-Watt Gasoline-Powered Portable Generator
Robert
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I love this generator

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
UPS dropped off my new generator and after reading the instructions, I was ready to fired it up. Work great! I put a load on it....furnace motor, TV, water heater fan, Refrigerator and freezer and it handled it nicely...
The noise level is not to high, this was important to me. With windows and outside doors closed, I was unable to hear the generator. It only stands to reason if you run the generator in the summer on a quiet night with windows open you will hear it. So I would probably not run it during sleeping hours. As compared to others I have heard run this one worked best for me.....
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4,000-Watt Gasoline-Powered Portable Generator
smarteboy
from Northern Utah

My first generator

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This generator is the first one I have ever owned. I purchased it to power my 24 foot camp trailer with a 13,500 BTU A/C unit.
I pulled the generator out of the box, and it was packed quite well. I was surprised that there was no shipping or packaging charge. There were no oil leaks or anything in the box. The legset was a snap to put together, and I even used the tools that came with it, although I surely like my own. The generator is a beautiful blue color too.. which I love. The frame is rigid and well built. The wheelset is very handy and makkes moving the unit a breeze. The pull cord is a little awkwardly placed, when I looked at it I wasn't sure why the manufacturer put it where they did, but it actually works just fine.
Putting in the oil is easy. I leaned the unit at an angle and poured the oil slowly right from the bottle. It took more than I thought it would. To make sure it wasn't too full, I set the generator back on its wheels and let the excess drain off. I put the plug in. Added fresh gas and some lucas oil, just cause I love the stuff - and she started right up (after I realized that the engine run switch was off, and turned it on.) Two pulls.
It seems a bit louder than 65 db to me, but I have no means of measuring it. I would say that the noise is not so much exhaust noise, however, more just plain engine noise. The muffler on this unt is quite oversized.
I hooked it to my trailer and ran the microwave first. Worked fine. Bogged for a second and came right back. Turned off the microwave and turned on several lights and the A/C at the same time. Worked fine, same thing, bogged for a moment and came right back up. My testing was cut short because it is like the middle of winter here this spring, and I couldn't get the A/C to come back on since the temp was below 55 degrees.
The only bad thing I noticed is that some of the bolts on my unit were not tight, and they fell out after running for 15 minutes. These were on the frame braces, and not an engine component. I tightened everthing I could see.. most were tight with the exception of a few.
Also, some reviews mentioned the 13.5 amp breakers. This interested me as well, so I took the cover off to examine what it would take to change them to 15 amp breakers. Under the cover the breaker on mine actually says "15 amp 120 Volt" so I have no idea why the face says 13.5 Amp.
Lengthy review I know, but I researched a lot before I bought my generator, and these reviews made my decision. So I hope this helps. I would buy this generator again in a heartbeat.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4,000-Watt Gasoline-Powered Portable Generator
Ed34
from Huntsville. AL

Good purchase

PostedJune 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Tornados in Alabama and five days without power is nature's way of saying I need a generator. The reviews were good on this one so that is what I got.
Not much to say that hasn't already been said here. The generator arrived in good shape, the wheels assembled easily, I added oil and gas and it started on the second pull. I got an RV cable with three 120's on the end for $75 and that runs my fridge and small freezer (10 amps total) without a hiccup, so I have three outlets to spare. I am pretty sure I could run the TV and a lamp or two as well - It should get me through the next power outage very nicely (but during the outage, we cooked on the Coleman stove and used hurricane lanterns for light, so my main concern is food spoilage).
It's small and tucks away nicely in a niche in the garage between some shelves. If you are looking for emergency power for the basics, this machine should do fine.
Don't worry about the pull cord placement. It's fine.
Very pleased. That's my review.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4,000-Watt Gasoline-Powered Portable Generator
RedLight
from Houston, TX

Excellent Product...Cheap Price

PostedJune 17, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered this generator with free freight shipping. It took 6 days to receive it. It took about 25 minutes to install the wheels, handle, and fill it with oil (10W-30) and a little gas. The instruction manual is not the best, but is OK. It fired up on the first pull and once I opened the choke, it ran very smoothly. The noise is half as loud as my lawnmower. I was REALLY suprised at that. I tested the outlets with a voltmeter and the 120V outlets were running at 122V and the 240V was right on. The build quality looks as good as those costing twice the price and with some good care and regular maintenance, I think this cheap generator will last for quite a while, at least through a few hurricane seasons.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4,000-Watt Gasoline-Powered Portable Generator
chadcds

beware if you only use 110 volts

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this generator because of its great price and features to use for my camper. It starts up and works great but it will only supply 13.5 amps to the 30 amp plug on it instead of the full amount of power the generator can produce. So this will not run very much of anything in my camper due to this design flaw. So if you are splitting the power use across the plug ins this is a great generator but don't expect the 30amp plug to supply even half that amount.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4,000-Watt Gasoline-Powered Portable Generator
DanS
Gender:Male

Bang for the buck

PostedOctober 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a really great generator for the price, its small in stature, relatively quiet and a heck of a deal. I am using it to power my house during outages. The 3250 running watts is perfect for running my fridge and freezer, and also to watch TV / internet. The best feature is the L14-30 twistlock plug that enables you to backfeed both sides of your panel, enabling you to use 240V appliances. This feature is rare in this price range of genarators.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4,000-Watt Gasoline-Powered Portable Generator
skiper

very good for what i need it for

PostedMay 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
very quite and great for what i need it for i d.j. and it will be a life saver for when and if we have any power outerage.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4,000-Watt Gasoline-Powered Portable Generator
Retired

easy to assemble. started on the second pull

PostedOctober 3, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Almost totally assembled right out of the box. Had to make a trip to the local gas station for a quart of 5-30 oil along with the gas. Started on the second pull. LOUD! Not the generator you want to take along to use in a campsite. The other campers would run you out, but not before you became hard of hearing. It will do for what I need, a backup for an emergency.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4,000-Watt Gasoline-Powered Portable Generator
Thomas68

3250

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this because I live in the country and our power goes out alot. we have a 120 volt pump for the well, no power no water. I have used it once already to get a shower after a thunder storm took the power out. I also tested it before that by running the pump and the clothes washer at the same time.For the price and power out put you cant beat it. The shipping was free wich is awsome, it came with no damage, easy to assemble. you have to add oil, dont blow your engine by forgetting this, I ran mine for about an hour then changed it with new oil. I do not use a grounding stake, it is grounded to the frame but if you float the common you should use one. this is what I recently learned anyway, im not an electrician.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4,000-Watt Gasoline-Powered Portable Generator
doug
from alabama

very good product

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was delivered to my door in good shape. I read the directions on line and again before putting it together. I pulled the rope several times before I found I had not turned on the gas valve it cranked on next pull . I tried it on several things in my basement and carried it to my storage building I plan to run it several times a year to keep the gas fresh.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4,000-Watt Gasoline-Powered Portable Generator
Pops
from Las Cruces, NM

Good purchase

PostedAugust 24, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
When we first got it, added the oil and gas and pulled the cord, it started on the first try. We used it on a week-long trip to the mountains and my only complaint is that it didn't "hold" the air conditioner the last time we tried, but haven't checked again since then, so am hoping it won't be a problem
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4,000-Watt Gasoline-Powered Portable Generator
DMoore
from Rozet, Wy

Very Disappointed

PostedJuly 14, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this Genarator for my Husbands birthday. The first time we used it, it ran great (camping) we ran it twice for about 30 minutes each time. On the weekend of July 4th
we started having problems , first time we used it it died after about 20 minutes, the gas was low so we filled it (hubby had not put much gas in the first time we used it) after that it ran for maybe 15 minutes before dying, it just went down hill from there. Could not get it to run after that we checked and the sparkplug was bent and broken, we replaced it and still would not start, tried emptying and replacing the gas per the manuals instructions, still will not start. After rechecking the sparkplug we noticed that the connector is also falling apart. So now we will be returning it to Home Depot . I am at a loss as to what generator to replace it with...
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4,000-Watt Gasoline-Powered Portable Generator
Donald
from Siren WI

Quiet, starts easily

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Haven't needed to use the full capacity of this unit since it arrived, but it was easy to assemble, started on the first pull, and runs quietly. I checked the AC power, and it seems fine. Wheels and collapsible handle are handy for a unit this size. It moves easily.
The unit needs oil, less than a quart, added before operation.
I ordered this online for home delivery, and it came promptly, as promised.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4,000-Watt Gasoline-Powered Portable Generator
ellis09
from Wakefield, MA

Nice Generator

PostedMarch 28, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had been looking for an inexpensive portable generator
for emergency use and this one fit the bill. I bought it based on all the favorable reviews I read at HD. It arrived nicely double boxed within one week. As others have pointed out, you need to add oil using a long funnel. It started up after about four pulls w/ choke on and evened out after ~ 10 seconds as I backed off the choke. I was amazed at how quite it was since it's an open frame unit which ordnarily are considerably noisy compared to the closed frame inverter generators. This unit has a good size muffler which makes it much more quiet than most lawnmowers. As an acid test, I walked away ~ 50-75 feet around the perimeter of my back lot line and the noise dropped off rather quickly. I don't think this will be too disturbing for the neighbors. I loaded it up w/ a 500 watt halogen, 7.5A vacuum cleaner and 1/8 hp utility pump. The engine reved up briefly when I turned on the vacuum but settled right down. I also powered more sensitive equipment such as my 27" CRT TV, home stereo system and 100 watt room lamp again with no light flicker or audio/video distortion. I think for the money paid including free shipping, this was a very good deal. After the spring time flooding we had last year, I could not chance losing power which imakes the generator an inexpensive insurance policy. Of course the real test will be to see how the generator performs over time. One other thing I would highly suggest is to put fuel stabilizer in the gas tank and make a point of periodically testing the generator at different times during the year to keep it in tip top shape.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4,000-Watt Gasoline-Powered Portable Generator
Billusmc
from Rural Pa.

Do you Home (Depot) work!

PostedOctober 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After having a long power outage this summer and hearing my neighbors standby generators going, I decided its time for one in our home. I searched several local retailers but for several reasons I kept looking. I found this ETQ generator at Home Depot did a little research and price comparisons, read the reviews and decided to order from HD and then was pleasently suprised delivery was FREE! Great little, quiet generator does the job and it did start on the second pull. I like it and the wife likes the color! It definitely is worth the price!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4,000-Watt Gasoline-Powered Portable Generator
Phil
from Summerville, SC

The product worked as indicated.

PostedSeptember 5, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The generator came within 3 days and was not damaged. I took it to the mountains to run my new camper and it worked perfectly. The only trouble I had was the red supports fell off during the first two hours but they were easy to put back on. I can't run everything in the camper at the same time, but I can run the air on low, refrigerator on normal and the tv and water pump. When I want to run the microwave, I cut off the air for a minute. Well worth the price.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4,000-Watt Gasoline-Powered Portable Generator
GrampaRick

So far so good!

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Generator came undamaged, ordered from Home Depot because of free shipping. Intend to use for emergencies when power is out. Easy to assemble and it started on the second pull. I think the manual included is outdated and needs to be updated, mine says oil capacity is 20 ounces and I spilled oil when trying to pour a full quart in the unit. The access to oil filling area and the placement of the start rope are the only negatives and they are minor.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4,000-Watt Gasoline-Powered Portable Generator
UncleDavid
from Suga Land, Texas

Ammendment of first review

PostedOctober 27, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First off everything I said in my June 7th review was true. it appears to also hold true for my niece's new generator:however, I am not as lucky.
I started using my generator the weekend of August 14th. it worked great that weekend and the next. On the third weekend It started to surge and the light would cycle off and on. ETQ sent me a voltage regulator. it worked for one night. I then took it to an authorized service center. three and a half weeks later I got it back. It needed a carburator adjustment and a new voltage regulator. It worked great. Last weekend it started to surge again and is currently in the shop.
Two out of three ETQ generators work good.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>