728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Screen Doors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 37 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included

37 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included

The Instant Screen Door is the affordable and easy alternative to the traditional screen door. Each screen is made of pliable polyethylene fabric with a weighted bottom, packaged in a heavy clear reusable plastic box for convenient storage. The Instant Screen installs with tension rod or Velcro.
Overall rating:
4.212 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(241 reviews) 241
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product203 of 222reviews
Rating Breakdown 241 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(121)
4
(87)
3
(13)
2
(3)
1
(17)
Appearance 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product203 of 222reviews
Customer reviews for 37 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
Review 1 for 37 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
VFRSEANIE1
from Largo
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy installation for this great product really made it a great value!

PostedMay 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased this screen door after seeing a similiar product advertised on TV. Searching the internet and reading reviews we decided to see what Home Depot had to offer. Even though our local HD didn't stock this item it was great that we could order it and have it sent to our favorite Home Depot. Everything was included for installation with this screen door. We opted for the tension rod at the top and the velcro on the sides keep unwanted critters out. It was so easy to install and gave us immediately airflow throughout our home.
THANKS HOME DEPOT...for a great product that fits our budget!!!
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+46points
48out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 37 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
Harlemracerx
from Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

needs some more Velcro points

PostedJune 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
works as advertised just very tedious to put back in place each time you move it, but overall I like it. and it needs more Velcro attachment points in my opinion.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Good Size & Fit
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 37 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
islandgirl

Pretty good product

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We were either constantly getting up and down to open the sliding glass door to the lanai for our pets, or keeping the door open about 8 inches which let a lot of bugs into the house. Looked at other options and either you have to spend an arm and a leg, or get one that got bad reviews. Since I wasn't even sure if this would work for us, I didn't want to spend as much as the expensive ones were. It looks ok on the door, and the Velcro is holding pretty well so far (it's been a few months). I wouldn't say it's absolutely fantastic but it gets the job done and I'm glad we have it. I was not able to use the rod enclosed with it because once you get it to a certain width, it cannot be shortened, and we had it just a tad too big. Didn't make much sense to us why this could not be adjusted but putting Velcro on the top of the sliding door frame works just as well. Glad I had extra Velcro in addition to what they gave me. Good buy.
Pros: Great Value, Functional
Cons: installation was not easy because of rod
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 37 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
redneckgirl
from California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Easy to install and looks GREAT!

PostedApril 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had one of these easy install screen doors in the past and LOVE it! I used the velcro stripping vs. the bar to put it up as the bar didn't seem strong enough to withstand the strength of my 2-1/2 grandson. It keeps the flies out and is easy for my cats and dog to go in & out without me having to constantly get up and open the door for them. I had it shipped to my local store ... free shipping & fast to boot!!!
Pros: Energy Efficient, Easy to Install, Great Value, Good Size & Fit
+22points
24out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 37 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
Dave
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Instant Screen Door

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The kit arrived within a week of ordering and in perfect condition. The curtain rod adjusts to fit the width of the door so installed quickly. There are weights sewn into the bottom to keep the screen verticle and velcro pieces you can install along the left and right sides of the door to hold it in place. My family and I are living in an apartment temporarly so needed something that could be removed without leaving any damage. The screen is of good quality and works fine for keeping our two cats inside; however I'm not sure how well it would hold up if you had a medium or large dog. Overall, a good quality product that stores and sets up quickly.
+27points
29out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 37 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
ArchiesMom
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What I like best about this product is it's versatility

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These screens are simple to install, and I like being able to pull it down and store it if I am having company and don't want it up. NO holes in the door either. My cats and dog slip in and out without a problem. I bought one of those invisible screens and it broke within two months. MOney down the drain. Only suggestion would be to have this available in other colors besides black.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Fits in Various Rooms, Functional, Well Made, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit
Cons: color, Appearance
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 37 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
Rick
from Round Rock, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Door Painting:

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We wished to repaint our front entrance door. To do so we decided the most efficient way to achieve the success we desired was to remove the door. There is not screen or storm door at this entrance.
We removed the door and for the next several hours during the refinishing and painting the temporary screen door kept the insects out and the dog in. The person who did the work is a professional in this type of carpentry and repair so following our job we gave it to him. He thought it was a great idea and wondered why he had never thought of it.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 37 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
Sonya
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Ideal as Screen Door

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live in an apartment and adding a screen isn't an option. This is the perfect alternative. Lets in fresh air. Keeps out insects. Perfect for me.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit
+16points
19out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 37 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
npdimes

Scrap the bar - just use velcro

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This screen is great - heavy but not bulky, dark enough that the dogs know it's there, really nice look.
I first mounted it with the tension rod, but my corgi and min pin knocked it down every time they went through and it hung so low, they would step on it which led to it tumbling down on them too. I scrapped the tension bar and instead lined the top of the door frame with velcro and attached the screen. It is now raised about 1/2 inch above the floor, clears the threshold with ease, and the dogs slow down before going through because they can see the black strip at the bottom.
+24points
28out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 37 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
Anonymous
from midwest, usa
Gender:Female

perfect in every way

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
great value, great product, easy to install. no need for extra velcro if installed correctly. I bought a roll of velcro because some had said it needed more, but i haven't had a problem, so i returned the velcro. very fast shipping. installation took five minutes. no problems, love it. I would highly recommend this.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 37 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
Aramat85
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Instant Screen Door

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the second of these sturdy screens I've purchased from Home Depot.
In between, I bought one of the split screens you can get at Walgreens or Walmart. That one had thin fabric, cheap, small strips of velcro and never stayed closed. It lasted less than 3 months before it began to rip at the seams.
Back to Home Depot for a better product. This screen is a world of difference. Sturdy screen, well made, withstands the pets coming and going all summer. My first one lasted two years before the sun and weather degraded the fabric. Excellent deal for $20. It installs with sturdy velcro or a good extension rod (both included). It stays closed because it's heavy enough to fall back into place.
Perfect solution for any place you need a screen and can't put up a screen door.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 37 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
Jaimee
from Oregon City, OR, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what I was looking for!

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My craftsmen style front door has a ledge/shelf on it that doesn't allow me to install a traditional screen door, this screen is just what I was looking for to be able to open my front door and let air and light in and still keep the bugs out! I opened it and put it right up no tools or husband required!
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Fits in Various Rooms, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 37 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
Billy77
from Wheatland, MO 65779, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Serves my purpose

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This door does what we wanted but I thought the picture on line showed it was 2 pieces; it is only one. The problem we had was that the adhesive on the velcro is ineffective. It doesn't stick very well.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 37 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
springshine
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works perfectly!

PostedApril 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So easy to install. Opened the box, threaded the screen onto the tension rod and put up on the door frame. Comes with the stick on velcro patches you apply to the door frame. Thats how the screen stays closed. Easy to open, just pull and push the screen to the side. No annoying magnets in the middle. I like this one so much better than the one that is split down the middle!
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 37 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
kosmickowgirl
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Convenient for apartment living

PostedMarch 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appealing apperance, easy to install especially with the velcro strips (tension bar is flimsy) great for apartment living!
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, Great Detail
Cons: tension bar is flimsy
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 37 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
Harvey
from San Luis Obispo County, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

5 minutes to install and it's still hanging.

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
So far, so good. It only took me 5 minutes to install 2 screens and they are still hanging. It's been a week of my family and our 3 dogs going in and out and so far it's been great and no worse for our wear.
Pros: Great Value, Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 37 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
azdisneyfan
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

perfect if you put it up with 2 way tape

PostedMarch 14, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This was exactly what I wanted. It was strong enough to keep bugs/flys from coming in and light enough for our dogs to go in and out. The magnets keep it perfectly weighted. The only bad thing was the rod would not stay in place. It's like a shower rod which fits between the arcadia door and the door frame. I finally gave up and bought two-way strong tape. I put tape on my door frame and the screen stuck right to it.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 37 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
chickadee
from VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A good idea but needs a lot more tweaking and quality control.

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Rod has no spring. Wedging the rod between jamb as tightly as possible still does not prevent it falling when passing through screen. I will next put up with the velco provided and then use tacks. A bit of a disappointment since I had reviewed quite a few other pass-through screens.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 37 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
KCJON1

Very satisfy. Neighbors are impressed.

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product works very well. I am happy with the purchase and the performance.
Pros: Functional, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 37 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
Floridawoman
from Central Florida

Useless

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is going back to the store. Magnets didn't work. Stick-on velcro didn't stick and doesn't stay closed at all in the slightest breeze. I'd call this useless.
Cons: not functional
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 13 >>