728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Screen Doors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 37 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included

37 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included

The Instant Screen Door is the affordable and easy alternative to the traditional screen door. Each screen is made of pliable polyethylene fabric with a weighted bottom, packaged in a heavy clear reusable plastic box for convenient storage. The Instant Screen installs with tension rod or Velcro.
Overall rating:
4.165 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(266 reviews) 266
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product221 of 245reviews
Rating Breakdown 266 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(129)
4
(97)
3
(15)
2
(5)
1
(20)
Appearance 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product221 of 245reviews
Customer reviews for 37 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
Review 1 for 37 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Meets the need perfectly

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was a little disapointed in the amount of time it took for the item to reach my local store. Once I got it home it was up and installed in less then 5 min. Now I can open the door and let the air circulate without the worry of bugs getting in. In an apartment where you can not actually put in a screen door this is perfect. I do have to put the spring rod back up every now and then when I go out. But it is a very small price to pay. The screen fit the door perfect, with even a little it of extra on each side. I have not added any more velcro then what came with it. I have not needed to. I may put a strip of it at the top to help the spring rod stay in place.
Pros: Great Value, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 37 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included

This product works great and very easy too install.

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this product on line. The manager of the store found it on line for me while I was there buying something else. Its free shipping if you send it to a store were you can pick it up.
It took less time then they said to get it in and I was very happy with all the service I got. The product worked like a charm and only took me about 5 min. to put it up.
Awesome!
Pros: Multi Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, Great Detail
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 37 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
from Largo
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy installation for this great product really made it a great value!

PostedMay 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased this screen door after seeing a similiar product advertised on TV. Searching the internet and reading reviews we decided to see what Home Depot had to offer. Even though our local HD didn't stock this item it was great that we could order it and have it sent to our favorite Home Depot. Everything was included for installation with this screen door. We opted for the tension rod at the top and the velcro on the sides keep unwanted critters out. It was so easy to install and gave us immediately airflow throughout our home.
THANKS HOME DEPOT...for a great product that fits our budget!!!
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+52points
56out of 60found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 37 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
from San Mateo, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seems to be a good product, and was easy to install...

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Seems to be a good product, and was easy to install...
Pros: Great Value, Fits in Various Rooms, Functional, Well Made, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 37 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
from Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

needs some more Velcro points

PostedJune 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
works as advertised just very tedious to put back in place each time you move it, but overall I like it. and it needs more Velcro attachment points in my opinion.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Good Size & Fit
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
17out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 37 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included

Pretty good product

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We were either constantly getting up and down to open the sliding glass door to the lanai for our pets, or keeping the door open about 8 inches which let a lot of bugs into the house. Looked at other options and either you have to spend an arm and a leg, or get one that got bad reviews. Since I wasn't even sure if this would work for us, I didn't want to spend as much as the expensive ones were. It looks ok on the door, and the Velcro is holding pretty well so far (it's been a few months). I wouldn't say it's absolutely fantastic but it gets the job done and I'm glad we have it. I was not able to use the rod enclosed with it because once you get it to a certain width, it cannot be shortened, and we had it just a tad too big. Didn't make much sense to us why this could not be adjusted but putting Velcro on the top of the sliding door frame works just as well. Glad I had extra Velcro in addition to what they gave me. Good buy.
Pros: Great Value, Functional
Cons: installation was not easy because of rod
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 37 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Instant Screen Door

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The kit arrived within a week of ordering and in perfect condition. The curtain rod adjusts to fit the width of the door so installed quickly. There are weights sewn into the bottom to keep the screen verticle and velcro pieces you can install along the left and right sides of the door to hold it in place. My family and I are living in an apartment temporarly so needed something that could be removed without leaving any damage. The screen is of good quality and works fine for keeping our two cats inside; however I'm not sure how well it would hold up if you had a medium or large dog. Overall, a good quality product that stores and sets up quickly.
+32points
35out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 37 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
from Houston
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

best what I needed

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Fits good on door jam works for what I need look is is good
Pros: Easy to Install, Well Made, Good Size & Fit
Cons: color, Appearance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 37 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
from California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It did the job

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I did not want any holes in my door frame so this did the trick. It is to be only a temporary fix anyway, for the 100 degrees temperature we were having, to let the cool air in the home in the evenings.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Well Made, Good Size & Fit
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 37 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
from Santa Maria, Ca.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best $20.00 screen door I ever bought ! Cat loves it too.

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Velco had to be re-glued to the door frame with gorilla glue(super glue) to keep it on. Original adhesive on backing just wasn't strong enough, but with gorilla glue, it's still holding!!!
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Great Value, Functional, Good Size & Fit
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 37 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
from santa paula, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Needed item at low cost

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
works as intended xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 37 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
from California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Easy to install and looks GREAT!

PostedApril 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had one of these easy install screen doors in the past and LOVE it! I used the velcro stripping vs. the bar to put it up as the bar didn't seem strong enough to withstand the strength of my 2-1/2 grandson. It keeps the flies out and is easy for my cats and dog to go in & out without me having to constantly get up and open the door for them. I had it shipped to my local store ... free shipping & fast to boot!!!
Pros: Energy Efficient, Easy to Install, Great Value, Good Size & Fit
+24points
26out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 37 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
from Chicago, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Screen works well but Implementation is uncertain

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The design of the screen is simple, and yes, installing it is easy using the pressure/adjustable pole at the top or the velcro strips. What isn't clear is how to trim the width to fit the doorway better. There are built in velcro connectors along the side. If you trim the width to fit, you will eliminate the velcro on that side. Awkward! Otherwise, it works well. My pets learned quickly how to pass under it, so it was useful to blocks flying pests while not hindering human or pet traffic.
Pros: Great Value, Good Size & Fit
Cons: trimming to fit means losing a feature
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 37 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What I like best about this product is it's versatility

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These screens are simple to install, and I like being able to pull it down and store it if I am having company and don't want it up. NO holes in the door either. My cats and dog slip in and out without a problem. I bought one of those invisible screens and it broke within two months. MOney down the drain. Only suggestion would be to have this available in other colors besides black.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Fits in Various Rooms, Functional, Well Made, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit
Cons: color, Appearance
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 37 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
from Round Rock, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Door Painting:

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We wished to repaint our front entrance door. To do so we decided the most efficient way to achieve the success we desired was to remove the door. There is not screen or storm door at this entrance.
We removed the door and for the next several hours during the refinishing and painting the temporary screen door kept the insects out and the dog in. The person who did the work is a professional in this type of carpentry and repair so following our job we gave it to him. He thought it was a great idea and wondered why he had never thought of it.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 37 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
from New York
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good temporary door screen for renters

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Tried to install with pole first, but found it fit better with the Velcro. Did the job of keeping out bugs and letting in fresh air. My dog loves the freedom of coming and going on her own.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 37 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included

Highly recommended

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We live in a condo and can't attach a screen. We thought about retractable screens but saw this. It's perfect and so affordable and easy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 37 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included

Scrap the bar - just use velcro

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This screen is great - heavy but not bulky, dark enough that the dogs know it's there, really nice look.
I first mounted it with the tension rod, but my corgi and min pin knocked it down every time they went through and it hung so low, they would step on it which led to it tumbling down on them too. I scrapped the tension bar and instead lined the top of the door frame with velcro and attached the screen. It is now raised about 1/2 inch above the floor, clears the threshold with ease, and the dogs slow down before going through because they can see the black strip at the bottom.
+25points
29out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 37 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
from midwest, usa
Gender:Female

perfect in every way

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
great value, great product, easy to install. no need for extra velcro if installed correctly. I bought a roll of velcro because some had said it needed more, but i haven't had a problem, so i returned the velcro. very fast shipping. installation took five minutes. no problems, love it. I would highly recommend this.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 37 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
from Mentor, OH, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This has saved me so many steps. The dogs let themselves in and out. It's great !!!!

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to install. You have 2 choices of installation. I find the velcro method the best for me. Product delivered in the time specified.
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Sturdy, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Easy to Install, great dog door !!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 14 >>