728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 38 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included

38 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included

The Instant Screen Door is the affordable and easy alternative to the traditional screen door. Each screen is made of pliable polyethylene fabric with a weighted bottom, packaged in a heavy clear reusable plastic box for convenient storage. The Instant Screen installs with tension rod or Velcro.
Overall rating:
4.097 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(310 reviews) 310
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product249 of 286reviews
Rating Breakdown 310 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(148)
4
(109)
3
(16)
2
(9)
1
(28)
Appearance 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product249 of 286reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for 38 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
Review 1 for 38 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Meets the need perfectly

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was a little disapointed in the amount of time it took for the item to reach my local store. Once I got it home it was up and installed in less then 5 min. Now I can open the door and let the air circulate without the worry of bugs getting in. In an apartment where you can not actually put in a screen door this is perfect. I do have to put the spring rod back up every now and then when I go out. But it is a very small price to pay. The screen fit the door perfect, with even a little it of extra on each side. I have not added any more velcro then what came with it. I have not needed to. I may put a strip of it at the top to help the spring rod stay in place.
Pros: Great Value, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 38 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
from Largo
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy installation for this great product really made it a great value!

PostedMay 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We purchased this screen door after seeing a similiar product advertised on TV. Searching the internet and reading reviews we decided to see what Home Depot had to offer. Even though our local HD didn't stock this item it was great that we could order it and have it sent to our favorite Home Depot. Everything was included for installation with this screen door. We opted for the tension rod at the top and the velcro on the sides keep unwanted critters out. It was so easy to install and gave us immediately airflow throughout our home.
THANKS HOME DEPOT...for a great product that fits our budget!!!
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+61points
65out of 69found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 38 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included

This product works great and very easy too install.

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this product on line. The manager of the store found it on line for me while I was there buying something else. Its free shipping if you send it to a store were you can pick it up.
It took less time then they said to get it in and I was very happy with all the service I got. The product worked like a charm and only took me about 5 min. to put it up.
Awesome!
Pros: Multi Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, Great Detail
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+17points
20out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 38 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
from Sherman Oaks
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

perfect

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this screen as a temporary fix for until I got the sliding screen door fixed. I decided to just keep it on. This on is better than those as seen on TV screens. This is one piece of screen and the rod is included. My hubs does not want a screen for our wooden front door so I am getting a second one for our front door, I love the front door open and hate flies, so this is the perfect compromise. I can take it off as soon as I close the door. Great when you have kids (or dogs) over that are running in and out (that is how my original screen was broken). I tell everyone how perfect they are when they see it in my home.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functional, Good Size & Fit, Easy to Remove
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 38 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
from Charlotte NC

Great alternative to an actual screen door

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The screen was easy to install. The additional hardware provided was not needed in our case. Just adjust the rod to the correct length, put in place and it was done. Just take it down when you no longer need it. No additional rod adjustment needed, so it is easy to put up again. Just roll up the screen when not in use. Due to an odd sized door, the screen is a couple inches short, but it is not a show stopper. Even with the gap (at the bottom), we had no issues with bugs coming in. We will try this out for the rest of the year and if satisfied, we plan to get another for a different door.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 38 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included

Not to keep bees out

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i bought this to keep bees out and at the same time allow my dog access to the outside. The bees are finding their way in, the tension rod is poor quality and falls down easily. I am giving it away and getting one with magnetic closure that I had last year, much better!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 38 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
from Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

needs some more Velcro points

PostedJune 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
works as advertised just very tedious to put back in place each time you move it, but overall I like it. and it needs more Velcro attachment points in my opinion.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Good Size & Fit
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+20points
25out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 38 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
from florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

does great where a conventional door isn't an option example-(mobile home)

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
product was a great deal for the price easy to install and seems the best solution for a door way without the option of a screen door
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Fit
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 38 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Instant Screen Door

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The kit arrived within a week of ordering and in perfect condition. The curtain rod adjusts to fit the width of the door so installed quickly. There are weights sewn into the bottom to keep the screen verticle and velcro pieces you can install along the left and right sides of the door to hold it in place. My family and I are living in an apartment temporarly so needed something that could be removed without leaving any damage. The screen is of good quality and works fine for keeping our two cats inside; however I'm not sure how well it would hold up if you had a medium or large dog. Overall, a good quality product that stores and sets up quickly.
+39points
42out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 38 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included

complete trash

PostedApril 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is by far the worst product I have ever purchased. The screen is too light and does not close back by itself. And unless you have rubber arms, how are you supposed to close the screen from the inside, and make sure the Velcro catches? Answer: you can't! Only to make this product work is to buy additional magnets and place them all the way up on the sides to ensure it closes. Other than that, it flops in the wind. Waste of money, and I hope the company doesn't see another dime from consumers. Purchase the split magnet screen instead and save yourself the money
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 38 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
from Vermont
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fits the job to a T

PostedJune 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this screen for my sliding glass door. The winter destroyed the original screen door, and with out wanting to spend alot to replace it. I decided to try this screen.
Well I am very happy that I did, it works great for me. It is easy to install , it stays in place really well, I have 2 dogs that have leared how to open it, and they just love going in and out as they need.
I am completely satisfied with it.!!!
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Good Size & Fit
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 38 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
from South Carolina
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I wanted a screen with maximum opening that would keep the critters out and this does it. My dog quickly learned how to come and go through it so it acts as a pet door also. Who knew? This was planned as a temporary solution until we decided on a real door, but this may be the solution.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Good Size & Fit
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 38 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included

Great

PostedJuly 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Only thru the store's website. It is easy to install n requires no tools.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 38 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
from Riverdale, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Instant screen

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The hardware needs to be screen won't stay attached.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: not functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 38 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
from State College PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great quickie screen!

PostedJune 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just needed a screen for the patio door at the house I'm renting short term. Perfect find. Great price and shipped to my local store even sooner than was estimated. So easy to fit the adjustable tension rod and it's up. I actually cut the included velcro into smaller pieces to save the majority for the house I'm closing on. Dogs are happy to get out when they want...I'm happy that I don't have to let them out.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Fits in Various Rooms, Good Size & Fit
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 38 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
from west jefferson nc
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Instant door screen

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Excellent price. Better quality than any other instant screen door that I have looked at. Fast shipping.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 38 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
from cool cali
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works great

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Very easy to install. Good temporary screen to keep bugs out and to allow dog to exit for business. Did not want to spend a lot because dog is just a loaner until son finds a place to keep her. Wait a minute that may be forever. Maybe I should have gotten something more permanent because the dog may never leave and we will have kid back
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Good Size & Fit
Cons: Appearance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 38 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included

Pretty good product

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We were either constantly getting up and down to open the sliding glass door to the lanai for our pets, or keeping the door open about 8 inches which let a lot of bugs into the house. Looked at other options and either you have to spend an arm and a leg, or get one that got bad reviews. Since I wasn't even sure if this would work for us, I didn't want to spend as much as the expensive ones were. It looks ok on the door, and the Velcro is holding pretty well so far (it's been a few months). I wouldn't say it's absolutely fantastic but it gets the job done and I'm glad we have it. I was not able to use the rod enclosed with it because once you get it to a certain width, it cannot be shortened, and we had it just a tad too big. Didn't make much sense to us why this could not be adjusted but putting Velcro on the top of the sliding door frame works just as well. Glad I had extra Velcro in addition to what they gave me. Good buy.
Pros: Great Value, Functional
Cons: installation was not easy because of rod
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 38 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included
from Rochester, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Simple screen door protection

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Very easy to install. Material is rather flimsy, so I wouldn't recommend this for large families with kids running in and out of the house all day. I had to replace it after 1 season with just a dog pushing it open. The cost is worth it when compared to putting in a doggy door
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Fit
Cons: tears easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 38 in. x 80 in. Black Easy to Install Instant Screen Door with Hardware Included

Useless if you need to open the door

PostedJune 1, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This screen might work if you want a stationary door that you don't open. It's basically a velcro frame with a screen curtain.
I needed to use this on my front door, where I go in and out frequently. In this case, you have to constantly re-stick the velcro frame to the door to make this work. And even when you do (carefully, each time), the velcro leaves big gaps on the sides, to the pure delight of my local mosquitoes :)
I really wanted this to work and I was so disappointed to have to take it back.
Cons: not functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 16 >>