728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Watering & Irrigation or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Spice Granite 58 gal. Salsa Rainwater Harvesting System

Spice Granite 58 gal. Salsa Rainwater Harvesting System

Every gardener knows that the key to a successful growing season is water, water, and more water. But with droughts and shortages hitting parts of the U.S. and Canada, keeping flowers flourishing and the veggie patch productive can be a costly proposition. The Fiskars Rainwater Harvesting System can help you salvage this valuable resource, so you can use it to provide much needed moisture for your yard, garden, and even indoor plants. Designed to easily integrate into your homes existing downspouts, the Harvesting System diverts rainwater from gutters into a covered barrel, where the extra water is stored until you need it to perk up your tomatoes or refresh your rose bushes. Add a Rainwater Harvesting System to your home and keep your plants healthy and hydrated through any water restrictions or drought. Even more important, feel good knowing that you're conserving a critical natural resource that you and your garden so greatly depend on.
Overall rating:
3.952 / 5
4
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product18 of 20reviews
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(7)
3
(3)
2
(3)
1
(0)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product18 of 20reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Spice Granite 58 gal. Salsa Rainwater Harvesting System
Review 1 for Spice Granite 58 gal. Salsa Rainwater Harvesting System
from St. Louis Metro area
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as advertised

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We actually ordered this product twice. The first rain barrel we picked up at the store was warped and the lid would just not stay on so we returned it and re-ordered. The second one we ordered worked just as advertised. It took probably 30 minutes to install it. I'd recommend following the Fiskars video for excellent directions on how to install it, and I wouldn't depend on the brochure that comes with the rain barrel for the installation. It's all just pictures. Little to no words. Very odd.
Our rain barrel has been installed for about a week now and has filled to the top already once and water diverted perfectly down the downspout once the barrel filled. I can't say that I noticed any bulging of the barrel when it was full as others have noted. But I do agree that the spigot that comes with the rain barrel is very cheaply made. Ours hasn't broken YET, but we're being very careful with it. I expect we'll be buying a metal one eventually to replace the plastic one it came with. Overall, it's an excellent product..I gave it "good" only because it is quite expensive for basically a large plastic trash can with a diverter and the fact that the spigot is nowhere near the quality you'd expect it to be. Otherwise, it gets a huge thumbs up!!!
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish, Good Shape
Cons: spigot
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Spice Granite 58 gal. Salsa Rainwater Harvesting System
from CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sharp looking water barrel

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The barrel arrived in good condition (from online order/store pick-up). Found that as the barrel fills it does began to bow out in the back a bit, but a bit of 2x6 between the wall and barrel helped out. Great looking, easy to access and plumb as needed. Actually did purchase a second one of these for water storage.
Pros: Easy to Install, Sharp, Good Shape
Cons: thinner than expected
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Spice Granite 58 gal. Salsa Rainwater Harvesting System
from Lancaster, PA
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not Sure If I Would Recommend This

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
The rain barrel is good except for a weak area in the barrel at the faucet attachment allowing the barrel to flex & permit water to leak past the faucet when you put pressure on it to open the valve. Also, after a week the faucet cracked at the threads where the faucet interfaces with the barrel body. It allowed all the water to leak out. What a mess. Purchased a brass garden hose to pipe thread connector and brass faucet ($11). We'll see if it works. I'm not sure I would recommend it.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Spice Granite 58 gal. Salsa Rainwater Harvesting System

Does the job, but cheap faucet leaks

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Fiskars should provide faucets that actually work for a product with this price. Cheap plastic faucet leaks.
Cons: cheap quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Spice Granite 58 gal. Salsa Rainwater Harvesting System
from North TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Needs some improvements, not too bad though

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Spout is the one and only issue - for 3 reasons. A) it is too high - you end up with 1/3 of the water, trapped in the bottom. Is too deep to bucket it out, it's too awkward to pour it - so, it ends up being wasted when I decide to dump it. B.) The original plastic spout broke after 3 months - plastic tab that turns it became brittle in the heat. Also, it slowly leaked around the spout outside the barrel. C.) replaced the spout with a metal one. Works fine, still leaks around the spout because I believe when the barrel is full it flexes at the spout and pre-drilled hole opens more, so no matter what I do to seal it, it leaks just a bit and stays moist. Super awesome in West Nile Mosquito ridden North TX.
Pro - 2 Years I have owned this barrel, and the actual barrel is sturdy. Still looks nice, has not faded - but it's not in direct sunlight either. Easy to connect to the down spout of my gutter. When the spout works, it's pretty easy to get the water out. Better than not watering because of drought restrictions.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Good Shape
Cons: spout troubles
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Spice Granite 58 gal. Salsa Rainwater Harvesting System
from Westerville, OH

Great if you have a well!

PostedJuly 27, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Not having rain for a while concerned me...but now I have no worries. This rain barrel is really great. It has been completely full once since I got it. It does bulge a little just like the paperwork states. The only problem I had with installation was that I had to cut out more of the downspout than what the directions said. Other than that it was pretty simple if you're mechanically capable. I did a lot of research and this is the best for the money that I found. I trust the Fiskars brand too. I would like to get another as soon as my budget allows since I put in a large flower bed this year. If you want to keep some things that wind up in your gutter/downspout from getting into the barrel, I suggest that you put pantyhose over the tube where the water goes into the barrel.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Spice Granite 58 gal. Salsa Rainwater Harvesting System
from Palm Bay FL

Fiskars 58 Gal Rain Barrel

PostedJuly 24, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Barrel works great except in one respect...the spigot.
The barrel was easy to install, and including the downspout diverter only took me about 1/2 hour. The spigot was depressingly cheap. It broke the first time I attempted to use it, when I put only a small amount of pressure on it. Overall average rating. Get a metal spigot I guess.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Spice Granite 58 gal. Salsa Rainwater Harvesting System
from Louisville, Ky

Good Product, but...

PostedJune 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a good product. However, it is true about the spout, before you leave the store, buy a 3/4" steel downspout and some white plumbing tape to wrap around the screw joint, because the plastic spout one provided in the package will break. This product is easy to install, did it myself, took me all of 25 minutes, and that was due to the sawing. We had a good rain, it filled the barrel, but when we went to turn the handle to fill our flower jug, it broke right off. Used some pliers to unscrew it out, went up to HD, in the plumbing section, and got a steel 3/4" downspout with knob, it works perfectly now, but unfortunately we lost all the water except what was below the spout hole. The product works great now. We are going to install another rain barrel on the other side of the garage, to avoid backyard flooding, but this time we will make it ourselves, instructions are online.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Spice Granite 58 gal. Salsa Rainwater Harvesting System

disappointed

PostedJune 20, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
for the amount of money this item costs, i would think a metal spicket would come with it. Recomend not even trying to use the plastic one, spend $10.00 for a metal 3/4 inch one. When the plastic one breaks, it is difficult to remove.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Spice Granite 58 gal. Salsa Rainwater Harvesting System
from South Florida

A good product with some reservations.

PostedOctober 20, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product is well engineered and relatively easy to install. The instruction book which is all pictures and no text leaves too much to the imagination and the height of the tap is too low for the regular watering can to fit under it, I would recommend mounting it on two concrete slabs which would get over this problem.
I does bulge slighlly when full but that is stated in the instructions.
The diverter works well and the container was full after one hour of rain.
All in all a good product.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Spice Granite 58 gal. Salsa Rainwater Harvesting System
from Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Rain

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Spice Granite 58 gal. Salsa Rainwater Harvesting System is very nice looking in our back yard.
My husband and had it set up in a matter of minutes. Hasn't rained here in Sugar Land Texas so not sure how good it works yet. So far so good.
Pros: Stylish
Cons: need to open lid to see how mush water w
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Spice Granite 58 gal. Salsa Rainwater Harvesting System
from Topeka, Kansas

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The rainwaterimg system that we purchased is an excellent product. We can give this product a 5 star rating because of the ease of installiation. The apperance of the product next to our home is good looking and easy to use.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Spice Granite 58 gal. Salsa Rainwater Harvesting System
from Solvang, CA

Rain Barrel

PostedApril 19, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased 4 of these rain barrels at the end of our rainy season . I figured they wouldn't get any use until next November. They sat on my deck for two weeks and then we had an unseasonal rain storm!!. We dragged each barrel under an overflowing gutter, and in less than an hour all 4 barrels were full to overflowing. All we did was attach the spigot, which took all of ten seconds. We are now using this rainwater to water all indoor and potted outdoor plants. Needless to say the plants are very happy and so are we. This product is wonderful.I plan on getting more before our rainy season in November. The only recommendation I would have is that they include an extra connector so that I can connect two or three or more barrels together. I need to get the connectors in order to do this, I hope Home Depot has them.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Spice Granite 58 gal. Salsa Rainwater Harvesting System
from Bolingbrook, IL

Easy install, quality product

PostedMay 17, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This barrel is a great value for the money. Install was easy. Some people mention difficulty with the picture-only instruction manual and measuring issues. I think they might have been looking at the measurements for the wrong size downspout. (I accidentally did this on my first measurements...before cutting.)
We haven't had much rain since I installed it, so I can't comment on durability or the bulging that is mentioned on their site (and in some comments). The barrel seems durable--and is thicker than I would have guessed.
On thing to note is that their website says it should come with the DiverterPro, but the one from Home Depot did not. (Since the DiverterPro wasn't included in these before March of 2010, maybe Home Depot's still going through inventory or something.)
We'll be getting another one if/when we need to add capacity.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Spice Granite 58 gal. Salsa Rainwater Harvesting System
from King of Prussia, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy Install and Works Great

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
There were no issues with the install. The product works as described. Only issue is the basic down spot connection that came with the unit does not handle heavy rain well. I am assuming that is why there is a pro version for an additional $38.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Spice Granite 58 gal. Salsa Rainwater Harvesting System
from Attleboro, MA

Best Purchase Ever!

PostedJune 3, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read the reviews and spent lots of time checking out several different types/styles. This one looked like the one that would best suit my needs, and it was!
One concern of mine was the height of the drain. On many styles, the drain is low but on this one a full size wathering can has no problem fitting under it. I actually installed this on a almost 2 inch cement base and it has more room then needed now.
On instalation, the picture directions were not bad at all. At first glance it may look difficult but it was easy. Took me about an hour to install and that was without having the 1 inch drill bit needed to drill the hole in the side. I improvised (with a half inch) and it worked out just fine.
The day after instalation it rained and became full from one mild shower. Have not noticed any buldging and the plastic quality is great.
Looking forward to installing another on the other side of my house.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Spice Granite 58 gal. Salsa Rainwater Harvesting System
from Thousand Oaks, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This rain barrel is excellent, and it can be cleaned when the water is gone because it has a big lid that comes off .

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The plastic spigot is weak and will have to be replaced with brass. My only complaint. Except for the shipping. The normal shipping cost to me is exorbitant and the store does not carry these excellent barrels any more. They used to, I bought two previously.
Pros: Functionality, Durable, Easy to Clean, Strong, Great Quality
Cons: bad plastic spigot
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Spice Granite 58 gal. Salsa Rainwater Harvesting System
from Hilton, NY

Problems from the start.

PostedJune 27, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I ordered the Fiskars Tuscany 57-Gallon Rainwater Harvesting System and received this one instead. Apparently they don't even make the Tuscany model anymore although it is still advertised here on the HD website for $2 more but you simply get this one, which is $2 less. So, from the start I was out $2.
Also, I went ahead and purchased a 3/4 brass spout expecting the plastic spout to be cheap and break after reading all the reviews. Yes, and it is definitely a cheap spout that comes with it. However, when I installed the brass spout I found it slowly drips around the threads even after I made several attempts to stop it with Teflon tape. I even used 2 feet of tape wrapped around it and it still leaks. I think I might try some sort of thread sealer. Anyway, the barrel looks good but there's not much in the way of quality associated with it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Spice Granite 58 gal. Salsa Rainwater Harvesting System
from United States
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worthwhile product

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The salsa rainwater barrel met my expectations. We had no gutter on our cabin,, so the hard part of the job was putting the gutters and downspout up first. The directions for installing the rain barrel properly were clear and easy to follow. Following other reviewers suggestions I replaced the plastic spigot with a brass one. My only complaint is why doesn't Fiskar just include a decent spigot instead of making everyone spend extra $$ to replace it?
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: spigot breaks after use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Spice Granite 58 gal. Salsa Rainwater Harvesting System
from Gainesville, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product works well and easy to install

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very pleased with this Fiskars product. Instructions were easy, good plastic, and even the plastic spigot was okay. Very useful and has already saved us money in watering the garden or plants.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
Cons: may need to replace the plastic spigot in time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>