728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Curacao 54 in. Ceiling Fan

Curacao 54 in. Ceiling Fan

The Hunter Curacao 54 in. Ceiling Fan offers an update on classic styling with its 5 reversible bamboo/rattan plastic blades and rich, brushed cocoa finish. The fan can be hung standard-, angled- or flush mounted and is damp rated for installation outdoors in covered porches, sunrooms and patios. The fan comes with an integrated bowl kit that includes Italian amber scavo glass and 2 candelabra bulbs.
Overall rating:
3.521 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(48 reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
62%of customersrecommend this product28 of 45reviews
Rating Breakdown 48 reviews
3.5 out of 5.0
5
(23)
4
(6)
3
(3)
2
(5)
1
(11)
Appearance 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
62%of customersrecommend this product28 of 45reviews
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for Curacao 54 in. Ceiling Fan
Review 21 for Curacao 54 in. Ceiling Fan

Great product

PostedJune 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great aquisition!!!!!
So beautiful and so nice!!!
It's much silence.
I'll buy another one.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Curacao 54 in. Ceiling Fan
from Vero Beach, Fl=L

Curacao 54 in. Ceiling Fan

PostedMay 4, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Fans are installed in screened porch
Easy to install, Look great, Noiseless
However there is something wrong with those hard plastic blades, they dont move the air like the other fans that I have.
In order to feel the air you have to stand very close to the fan, on HI.
I have five (5) other fans in my house I never use them on HI.
I wish you had a different set of blades. If you do let me know.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Curacao 54 in. Ceiling Fan
from South Florida

Looks great, works terribly.

PostedMay 15, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This fan looks great. But you don't buy a fan just because it looks good, you buy a fan because you want a breeze. We installed 2 of these on our covered patio. On full speed you feel NOTHING. A complete waste of money. Even at the fastest setting, the fan spins so slowly that you can see the blades... that's how slow they are moving. Save yourself the cost and hassle of installation fees and move on to a different model.
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Curacao 54 in. Ceiling Fan
from Stamford, CT
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great looking - decent performance

PostedSeptember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This is a very good looking piece, which I installed in a room with dark hard wood floors, a dark bedroom set and light green walls. It fits in beautifully. I will say I'm lucky the room is on the small side because the actually draft created isn't very good. The summer is almost over, and I was hoping this would reduce my need for AC in the summer during the night - but I'm not sure it will be up to the task.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Curacao 54 in. Ceiling Fan
from florida

gives no air

PostedJuly 30, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I hate this fan. No air flow at all. High speed, sitting right under it, cannot feel the air.
I thought 5107 advertised CFM was a lot of air it would be moving and I would feel some breeze.
Nada, no breeze, worthless fan.
My wife likes how it looks. I, on the other hand, have a Patton table fan sitting on the table.
Florida - you need a big breeze.
For $200 more, could have got a Hunter Original outdoor - they really move the air.
Am calling Hunter Mon to see if a way to change pitch on the blades or I will try to do it myself.
If I burn it out, haven't lost anything at all (except the money of course).
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Curacao 54 in. Ceiling Fan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DOES NOT MOVE AIR!!!

PostedMarch 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Beautiful fan, especially if you're looking for a tropical theme. Unfortunately, it does NOT move air! I stood under it with the setting on high and could barely feel any air moving! Extremely disappointing!!! Will be returning it tomorrow.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Curacao 54 in. Ceiling Fan

Beautiful Fan

PostedMay 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This fan is really beautiful. It looks lovely on my patio and works like a charm. Hunter is my favorite fan anyway, but this one is really nice.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Curacao 54 in. Ceiling Fan
from Waterloo, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

not able to withstand outdoor weather conditions

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These ceiling fans come with very small screws. I purchased 2 for my back porch and both have come completely out of the ceiling hanging only by wires due to the wind. I also have lost 2 of the blade sto wind as well!! Very overpriced and definitely not good for outdoors!!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Curacao 54 in. Ceiling Fan
from Chico, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a beautiful fan; looks great in my living room!

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It's only been a few days, but so far I'm in love with this fan. It's wintertime, so I've got it set in the reverse mode to direct the warm air downward. Beautiful fan, works great in every mode. Light only takes two small bulbs but puts out lots of light!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Curacao 54 in. Ceiling Fan
from raleigh, nc
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good looking

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
2nd one purchased, great look with any decor.Very quiet
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Curacao 54 in. Ceiling Fan
from San Antonio, TX

Quiet but plastic and smells

PostedMay 2, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This fan looks great on the box and installed well but I was disappointed in the plastic blades, flimsy glass light cover, and smell that fills the area it's in.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Curacao 54 in. Ceiling Fan

Doesn't move air AT ALL

PostedApril 20, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Terrible fan. Put two of them up, turned them on and no air movement at all. Look great, but worthless is you are actually wanting to feel some air, which is why you buy a ceiling fan, right? I'll be taking them down today and exchanging for something that hopefully works. DO NOT BUY THESE, trust me. First time I have ever left a review for any product, that's how bad it is.
Cons: sucks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Curacao 54 in. Ceiling Fan

TRUST THE OTHER BAD REVIEWS!

PostedJune 12, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I fell in love with the look of this fan and in my infatuated haze, I ignored the 50/50 reviews. Against my better judgment (and to my husband's dismay) we purchased and installed this fan. On HIGH there was just the slightest breeze. It's good looking (hence the 1 star) but what good is a fan that blows NO AIR?
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Curacao 54 in. Ceiling Fan
from Boynton Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This fan makes the room

PostedApril 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great fan. Installation was easy, and the fan moves air enough for me. It's very quiet, the light is bright enough for the room. I just wish it had a remote, but I usually hear that the remote box is tough to install in the tight space. Great fan.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Curacao 54 in. Ceiling Fan
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

fan moves air with little noise

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
this fan look great in our home and functions well
Pros: Well Made, High Quality of Material, Fast / Speed, Lots of Features, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Curacao 54 in. Ceiling Fan
from MURRIETA, CA

AWSOME

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
THIS FAN IS AWSOME. THE LOOK THE PERFORMACE. WE ARE VERY HAPPY WITH OUR NEW FAN.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Curacao 54 in. Ceiling Fan
from Ponte Vedra, FL

Looks great, still waiting for replacement part...

PostedJanuary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We really like the look of this fan. However...the lighting did not work so we had to order a replacement part several weeks ago, which has still not arrived. The fan looks great on our lanai, but it it is not doing us a lot of good at night since the the light doesn't work. Hoping the replacement part will come soon so we can enjoy it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Curacao 54 in. Ceiling Fan
from United States

all looks no function

PostedJune 28, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This fan is quiet and beautiful, it looks fantastic on my lanai. I am VERY disapointed after having two of them installed to find they blow NO air at all. Keep looking.
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Curacao 54 in. Ceiling Fan

Great outdoor fan

PostedAugust 3, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Yes, this fan has plastic blades. The reason is that wooden blades will get saturated with humidity and warp when used outside. When warped blades are on a fan it becomes highly unbalanced.
These blades are made of plastic for this reason. It is an outdoor fan...they look like wood.
The fan has no odor.
The light uses candle sized bulbs, and does have a slight delay when you turn it on.
Overall a fine looking and working fan.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Curacao 54 in. Ceiling Fan
from Virginia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

love this product

PostedMarch 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
bought for the covered outdoor patio. Has a light and fan.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 >>