728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Weld Pak 180 HD Wire Feed Welder

Weld Pak 180 HD Wire Feed Welder

Get it done with the Weld-Pak 180HD for farm, light fabrication, auto or home projects! If you have access to industrial 208/230 volt input power, you can weld on thicker material - up to 3/16 in. with MIG welding and 1/2 in. with gas-less flux-cored welding. Simple two knob tapped control makes it easy to tackle thin steel, stainless or aluminum sheet metal with MIG or thicker steel with flux-cored welding. Compare the precise drive, rugged construction and full list of standard accessories. Lincoln Weld-Pak is an excellent choice.
Overall rating:
4.818 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product19 of 19reviews
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(19)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product19 of 19reviews
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer reviews for Weld Pak 180 HD Wire Feed Welder
Review 1 for Weld Pak 180 HD Wire Feed Welder
Jbee
from Grand Junction, CO, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent! right out of the Box

PostedAugust 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
New to the Wire feed world. The welder worked right out of the box. NOTE: Buy yourself a big spool of wire with it maybe 2. I bought an extra 1lb spool of wire. I went through 2lbs in the first day. I have attached a pic of my project in progress.
My Wife misses me as I am playing with my new toy in my shop. LOL
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+51points
54out of 57found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Weld Pak 180 HD Wire Feed Welder
Russ
from Check, Virginia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great welder

PostedApril 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this welder 3 years ago and have used it much more then expected. I have had no problems with it nor has there been a problem with the welding wires I have used. I do not have a gas tank for it yet, but with the flux wire I really don't need it for the work I do. The only thing I would do differently is to get a traditional type of helmet instead of the auto darkening one I have.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Weld Pak 180 HD Wire Feed Welder
Jmbarr
from Chattanooga, TN

Versatile and easy adjustments

PostedSeptember 18, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have owned this welder for over a year now and had great success making solid clean welds. I am using shielding gas to aid in the process. I am not an expert welder, but my career is in the weld inspection field. I know what a good weld should look like! I have found the instructions easy to follow when changing settings for different materials and thicknesses. Their table inside the cover gives great starting points for setting the controls on the system. You may have to make minor adjustments to get the best welding performance out of the system. It has been a solid performer with no issues in the year + I have owned and used it.
+36points
36out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Weld Pak 180 HD Wire Feed Welder
Oregoncoast
from Oregon Coast
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

High Quality Unit

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
MIG welders are a total joy to use and it's easy to understand why they've replaced most of the stick welders. I added an 87 cubic-foot tank of argon/CO2 and a cart. The unit arrived set up for flux-core welding wire and I needed to change gun tip, feed roller, and polarity for use with gas. The gun has a nice 10-foot lead. You will soon need a 10 or 12 pound spool of wire, but the sample roll is certainly enough to use the first day or so. This is a high quality machine for home use with accessories and parts available. I asked several professional welders and they recommended this 220 Volt machine.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, High Quality, Nice Design
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Weld Pak 180 HD Wire Feed Welder
EST1
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great welder!!

PostedJuly 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just got this welder, I was a little skeptical as it is a lot cheaper than something like a Miller of the same size. I didn't have time to get the argon but had a project to do. Ran the .035 flux wire. I had to weld some 1/4 inch and some sheet metal. It did both with ease!! Very easy welder to use, works flawlessly! Perfect for home projects, car repairs,etc. Great deal!!
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Weld Pak 180 HD Wire Feed Welder
desi
from Kaplan, LA 70548, USA

reviews are important

PostedJuly 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
did not believe that reviews are real but here i am writing one so anyway.... i wish they could make a 120 volt model this stong it never over heated and i welded some perty long beads... i have no regets..... when this one goes out ill buy one just like it... i have no use for anything stronger the 180 is great
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Weld Pak 180 HD Wire Feed Welder
rbwhale

powerful yet compact

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this welder when my 20 year old Lincoln 140 gave up the ghost. Every aspect of the welder has been improved, I'm happy to say. The arc starts faster and smoother, the wire feed mechanism is easier to use and has a more positive feed, and the unit has sufficient power to easily weld 1/4 inch stock, with excellent penetration. (I've sawed welds in half to check that). The regulator supplied also functions quite well.
In making the sculpture pictured I had to attach 700 3/8" diameter14 gauge wire rings to the tentacles; that went quite smoothly, despite the fact that the tentacles are 3/8 inch steel.
The power cord is flimsier than I would like, and the placement of the power switch could be better. I may swap out the cord to a heavier gauge.
Other than than that I'm extremely satisfied. The price was lower than any other dealer or E-Bay seller, and I was able to pick it up at my local store the same day, which was a great convenience
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Weld Pak 180 HD Wire Feed Welder
sixpair
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A very good machine

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is not a cheap low quality machine. I bought mine almost a year ago and have used it on my hot rod chassis and suspension as well as all other fabrication work.
Many items with HD on the name usually imply Heavy Duty. In this case the HD means Home Depot. This means that the HD model is slightly different than what you'd get at a welding supply store. On the HD model, many of the interior workings are plastic, not aluminum. If you intend to use it professionally, get the other. If you are a weekend warrior like me, buy the "HD". The 100 to 150 bucks you save will buy a lot of grinding discs.
Either way, it's a great machine.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, accurate procedure chart
Cons: plastic mechanism
+5points
10out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Weld Pak 180 HD Wire Feed Welder
watsey1970
from central jersey
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

This is one great little welding machine

PostedApril 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been a welder/fabrication mechanic for over 25 years,and have used quite a few welding machines,and this machine is ,for the price,the best machine out there. I bought this one to replace the Lincoln 175 hd,that I bought,brand new,7 years ago. That one still works,but i wanted to do aluminum,so i needed more heat. This truly is one great little machine.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, great price
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Weld Pak 180 HD Wire Feed Welder
TheGoodWife
from Rapid City, SD

PostedSeptember 18, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After researching several welders, I purchased this welder for my husband as a gift. He LOVES it!! So many outdoor projects have been completed with the help of this welder!! Great product with a great price!! Good for the experienced welder or the beginning welder!!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Weld Pak 180 HD Wire Feed Welder
drpepper
from Louisville,Mississippi

Great welder

PostedDecember 28, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been a welder for 20 years. This is a great little welder, it will handle all you home task and lite industrial.It is a very good price and a very good welder, works great with the gassless wire too. I would not hesitate buying another one just like it. It does a superburb job.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Weld Pak 180 HD Wire Feed Welder
Thomas
from Rochester

First time welder and I love it.

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this as an all purpose welder for my property. I have already used it to repair a fender on my log splitter and to fix a broken hinge on my hydraulic landscaping trailer. I have yet to get to all the features but have had great results with what I have done.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Weld Pak 180 HD Wire Feed Welder
SanChes
from Millers Creek, NC

Great Welder + Great Price= Good Sense

PostedFebruary 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After doing a bit of research we found that this was the best for the average do it yourselfer. It's a great package for the occassional welder. Looking forward to getting many past due jobs done. I feel that I am going to get great performance with this Lincoln Welder. Have a Lincoln stick welder for years and it works great still. I would suggest this welder to anyone that is need a good dependable welder at a great price. Happy Welding!!!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Weld Pak 180 HD Wire Feed Welder
joecontractor
from CO

Great little welder

PostedJuly 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been welding for ten years and have owned many welders. This one performs well right out of the box, easy to set up and makes a good clean weld.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Weld Pak 180 HD Wire Feed Welder
TCguy
from Traverse City, MI, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great welder and customer service through HD

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Excellent welder for light to moderate welding. Previously had a 120v 100amp mig welder. While the 120v worked great on fixing light metal like cracks on mower decks, light brackets, etc. it lacked the punch to weld deep enough to get a strong hold on thicker metal or anything that received any significant stress.
In comes the lincoln 180. I had a crack in my trailer that the weld consistently broke from my 100a. I fired up my new lincoln and put it on it's second to highest setting and got a deep burn and fantastic pooling using flux on 1/4 steel. I finally have a weld I feel confident that will hold. Fantastic welder, I finally have a welder strong enough to fix frames or breaks on any of my farm implements.
Also kudos to HD customer service, The original purchased unit had a broken amperage knob. Took it back to HD and exchanged for a new one no questions asked. Was in and out of the store in less than 5 minutes.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Weld Pak 180 HD Wire Feed Welder
LawnGuy26
from Milan, MI

Great Welder

PostedJuly 10, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great, easy to use. Since I purchased it I've made a 7x14 trailer with it and have had no problems. Makes welding 1/4" steel together easy,
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Weld Pak 180 HD Wire Feed Welder
BigE
from Carriere ms
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great welder

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the lincolin 180hd its a great mochine to use also easy to use my wife can even weld with it
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Nice Design
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Weld Pak 180 HD Wire Feed Welder
Shockme

Excellent product

PostedMay 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works very well, priced the best of any I could find, and delivered very quickly.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Weld Pak 180 HD Wire Feed Welder
Rich
from Oregon
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works very well

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The welder took some getting use to but after a few test welds I was able to adjust it so everything works great now.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Weld Pak 180 HD Wire Feed Welder
Ryan

Good welder BUT....

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This machine welds steel without missing a beat. It will not weld aluminum out of the box. you need to buy the additional 200$ spool gun to go with it. That little piece of information is not provided. Lincoln advertises it will do it all out of the weld pack box. Tack on another 200$ more it will.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: No Instructions, instruction could be a little more in depth
-8points
2out of 12found this review helpful.
1 2 >>