728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Weld Pak 125 HD Wire-Feed Welder

Weld Pak 125 HD Wire-Feed Welder

Basic wire welding for projects and repairs around the shop farm or home that where the Weld-Pak 125HD comes in handy! Plug in the Weld-Pak 125HD anywhere common 120 volt input power is available. Set the simple two knobs tapped control for your material application and get it done. Right out of the box, the Weld-Pak is set up for gas-less flux-cored welding so it’s just right for common steel welding, indoors or out. Compare the precise drive, rugged construction and full list of standard accessories. Lincoln Weld-Pak is a top quality tool for anyone with occasional welding needs.
Overall rating:
4.591 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product20 of 21reviews
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(16)
4
(5)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product20 of 21reviews
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer reviews for Weld Pak 125 HD Wire-Feed Welder
Review 1 for Weld Pak 125 HD Wire-Feed Welder
from Oregon Coast Range
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Welder

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This welder really sizzles! Assembly was easy, it runs perfectly (and quietly) on a dedicated 20 Amp circuit. Long leads, a comfortable and precise wand/torch, and all the controls can be adjusted while wearing gloves. I quickly went through the supplied roll of .35 wire and am using .30 until a 10LB roll arrives which HD sells online for $64 (shipping included).
Feeding-in the new spool of .030 wire could not be easier; up and running again in less than 5 minutes.
Home Depot had it in stock (a Western-Oregon rarity) and they knocked 10% off the price for my military service; thanks!
Online product registration was easy.
Great product, great price, & a great retailer; totally-worth the 40 minute drive.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Nice Design, sizzles; good beads
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Weld Pak 125 HD Wire-Feed Welder
from Tennessee, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The best portable welder available

PostedAugust 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This unit is absolutely trouble free and easy to operate. The wire feed is steady and the power supply in this unit is powerful enough for the larger jobs. I was surprised that the weld quality was so high being that this is not a gmaw and uses flux wire. The wire feed is as good quality as the lm-7 units I use at work. Im very impressed at the performance of this compact unit. Do yourself a favor and get this unit instead of a cheap copy that claims to have as much welding power. You absolutely get what you pay for. You will need a 20 amp outlet and if you use an extension cord it will need to be 8 gauge or better. This unit needs at least 20 amps to operate on high power or it will not start an arc. I use HD's 389cc Power stroke generator to power it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, steady wire feed
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Weld Pak 125 HD Wire-Feed Welder
from CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

OUTSTANDING!!!

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought to make a small utility trailer for the yard. First time with wire feed. I last welded about17 years ago on a Lincoln buzz box. Instructions were good and clear. Did a few practice runs then got to work. Made a 4x8 trailer out of 3x3 square tube steel that is an 1/8 in thick. No disappointments. When I was done I smacked it a few times with a sledge and every weld held. Take your time and practice.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Weld Pak 125 HD Wire-Feed Welder
from Indiana
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

HD wire feed welder

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Pros: Easy to use for a first time wire feed welder user. Didn't even review the CD that came with the unit. Just the right size to move round equipment. 0.035 wire worked good on 3/16 metal.
Cons: The ground cord and wire feed cord could be a little bit longer.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: ground cable and wire feed cable could be longer
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Weld Pak 125 HD Wire-Feed Welder
from Denver, CO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really like my "little" welder.

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Really like this welder for several reasons: 1) 120v (vs 220), 2) flux wire out of the box, 3) convertible to MIG. So easy to use, like spreading butter on your toast. I've had better luck with .030 wire than .035. Among other things, made myself a 4x8 trailer with a 3500# axle to carry my "art" projects and landscape projects. No broken welds yet. May upgrade to the HD140 some day but very happy for now.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Weld Pak 125 HD Wire-Feed Welder
from Portland, OR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent portable unit capable of big projects

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent portable unit capable of big projects this unit really performed both in Portland and Haiti where we used it intensively. Even with power surges and spikes no problem with the unit. At low power though wire feed stops working.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Weld Pak 125 HD Wire-Feed Welder
from Racine, Wisconsin
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice welder, OK price.

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this welder as an upgrade to replace my old hobby welder which was MIG capable. I wanted something that was easy to setup and could handle an occasional weld for some of the projects/fabrications that I do as a hobby. Like some of the other comments, I was surprised with a little practice that I could achieve MIG quality welds with only fluxcore wire. I have welded 1/4" with multiple passes and beveling and almost thin gage (18) sheetmetal without blow throughs. This welder is very easy to use, a little on the high price side, but I hope that translates to quality over the years.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Weld Pak 125 HD Wire-Feed Welder
from Auburn, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product for small jobs

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
great product ,great for small jobs. Great welder to take on the go.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Weld Pak 125 HD Wire-Feed Welder
from High Point, NC, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great welder... Misadvertised

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ok, so I bought this welder needing to do some outdoor work right away, with the intentions of eventually getting the gas conversion kit, box and home depot shelf says the 125 can be converted to use gas, didn't want to fork out the additional cash right away for the gas so I took the 125 home. Turns out that certain 125 models can not be converted to gas and apparently I grabbed the one that can't be converted, I'm a little irritated in the fact that the box and the home depot shelf both say that it can. Overall the 125 performed flawlessly, I have MIG welded with much larger industrial machines and I can defiantly say that this works just as well on the gauge metals it is designed for, highly recommend if you just need to do some light fabrication and don't need or want the gas. If you do need or want the gas make sure the unit you grab can actually be converted or step up to the 140
+23points
28out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Weld Pak 125 HD Wire-Feed Welder
from Central, NJ

Great machine

PostedDecember 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great little welder.
But "little" is probably an under-statement, this thing has handled everything I've thrown at it so far.
-----
Great machine for the money.
I was really hesitant to spend $400+ for an entry-line welder. I really just wanted to get one of those "cheapy" $150 machines that I keep seeing everywhere.
But I soon learned those cheap-o's just DON'T cut it.
They have inconsistent feeds, and can't weld for more than a couple seconds without shutting off.
Trust me, just save up for the Lincoln 125 or 140!
They are made rock solid, and you can weld all day long, and not worry about problems.
And these things hold their re-sell value like crazy.
----
I do 1/8's Flat and Angle Iron all the time, it welds like a dream, 1/4 inch, no problem.
I've done half-inch rod, no problem.
But it also does small stuff like 3/16 rod well too.
But smaller stuff is tricky, gotta have a steady hand.
Bigger stuff is easier.
This machine is PERFECT for beginners and someone who needs a portable Back-up welder.
It's definitely not a machine that you just "grow" out of.
When you're ready for a bigger machine, you just throw it in the back of the truck, or keep it in the garage.
Because this machine will get in places that your bigger 225v CAN'T.
You can do some REALLY tricky weld angles with this thing, and still have good quality welds that hold.
And this machine still puts out tons of power for a 115v machine. I've blown my breaker a few times, and popped out the surge protector a couple times! So make sure you buy a shop surge protector, that way all ya gotta do is Flip Her back on if you blow it out.
----
If you plan on doing sheet-metal of any kind, thick or thin.
Get the MIG conversion kit!(gas kit)
Because this baby will burn right thru sheet metal without even trying!(kinda like a plasma cutter,haha)
You CAN tack-weld sheet, but it's kinda "iffy".
You REALLY need the gas-kit to do it right.
----
Definitely buy yourself a nice mask, because the one they supply you with is a joke. It does the job, but you have to hold it in One Hand, and weld with the other.
The arc flash is too distracting, unless you're wearing a head-mask!
Also get a fan setup to blow all the fumes away, this baby will put out some smoke! You might want a small welding-filter mask too, the ones with interchangeable filters, not the $2 dust masks.
(ventilation systems ARE a better idea....so you could do a cheap-setup if your really worried about fumes.)
And DEFINITELY get a set of gloves, anything you weld for more than 2 seconds can literally get Red-hot. And even if it Isn't red hot, it's still going to burn you badly.
You won't even feel it, with welding gloves.
Get a wire-brush too....absolutely necessary to brush your welds afterwords, that way you can see the weld clearly.
----
Overall, it's been a fun machine, had tons of good times playing around with it!
I've spent countless hours making repairs, and building all kinds of stuff for the garage.
+32points
37out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Weld Pak 125 HD Wire-Feed Welder
from CT
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Awesome Welder

PostedMarch 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my first welder, and i dont think i could have made a better choice. Its easy to learn how to weld with this machine and it really gets the job DONE. Very Reliable Unit. Ive gone threw 3lbs of wire so far with no problems. I LOVE THIS WELDER!!!!
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Weld Pak 125 HD Wire-Feed Welder
from Hawaiian Gardens, CA, USA
Age Range:18 to 24

this product is amazing!

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this product is easy to use and very handy when you need it the most. the customer service was amazing and they were very nice and patient with any questions I had. I am extremely satisfied :)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Weld Pak 125 HD Wire-Feed Welder
from Kingwood, TX

Very Solid Rig

PostedJanuary 16, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am a machinist by trade and also an established welder. I am impressed by the weld pak 125. I purchased it about a month ago and have already gone through 2 spools of wire. The flux cored welding is great for outdoor applications as there isn't any shielding gas to blow away with the wind. after beveling and milti passing the plate i have been incredibly impressed with the 125 up to 5/16 carbon steel.
I only have 2 negative things to say.
The visual appeal of the weld is mediocre. It doesn't "nickel up" as good as other machines; however a buff with a wire wheel on a grinder fixes this without haste.
I also wish the power dial and wire feedrate dial were in amps and feet/min respectively. the way i learned to weld with a wire feeder was with the amps required per the type and thickness of steel and the same for the wire feed.
all in all, the 125 is absolutely ideal for the at home do-it-yourselfer. if you are an inexperienced welder i encourage you to buy this rig. it is compact, powerful, and easy to use. you will be making quality U T passing welds in no time.
just don't forget to chip your flux inbetween passes=)
+13points
20out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Weld Pak 125 HD Wire-Feed Welder
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

welder

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
great buy. Quality product. Works well. Very happy with this.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Weld Pak 125 HD Wire-Feed Welder
from El Paso, TX, USA

this welder can get the job done

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
i have been shopping around for a good weekend welder and this is the one . I have used other lincoln welders like 140 mig and arc ( stick ) 240 volts , and this welder ( 125 ) doesn't fall be hind on how it welds . I just got mine and set up was like 10 min and was already welding great for jobs around the house and even job sites. You can't beat it for the price
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Weld Pak 125 HD Wire-Feed Welder
from panama city, fl

Good for what it's made for

PostedSeptember 2, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this to do exhaust work origanally, and it does it great, even with flux core. It is only 110v so it does have limitations as far as thickness, but I plan on building some bumpers out of 3/16" steel and have no concerns it will get the job done.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Weld Pak 125 HD Wire-Feed Welder
from Vero Beach, Fl

Weld Pak 125 Wire Feed Welder

PostedMarch 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best welder that I have used for repairs around the shop in in the feild, It is lite enoungh to go any where to get the job done, and with the gas kit you can do any type of weldding you need to do. Thie is an excellent machine for all the jobs that I had to do so far and I can no reason not ot but this welder for anyone who needs to do any welding any where.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Weld Pak 125 HD Wire-Feed Welder
from AZ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

125 MIG WELDER

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I HSD A MILLER WELDER IT IS A GOOD WELDER JUST HAS A SHORT WELD CYCLE COMPARED TO THE NEW LINCOLN WELDER I GOT I TRYED MY NABERS ONE FIRST AND LOVED IT HE HAS A 100 WITH NO GAS FIVE STARS FOR THE 125 WELDER THANKS.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Weld Pak 125 HD Wire-Feed Welder
from San Antonio Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do not buy this welder

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This welder is not reliable and is very poor quality. When it works, it works well, but is prone to failure. When it was first purchased it, it worked fine. The next time I needed it, it would not turn on. After troubleshooting, I found the power switch was bad. After replacing it it worked for a short while, now the wire will not feed. I paid for a high-quality product, and that is not what I got.
Cons: Not Durable
-7points
1out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Weld Pak 125 HD Wire-Feed Welder
from Eatonville, Wa

The Lincoln Weld Pak 125HD

PostedDecember 31, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Lincoln Weld Pak welder is an excellent choice. These welders are versatile, dependable and a great value.With a Lincoln Weld Pak you will be welding with gasless, flux-cored wire on light gauge mild steel. Lincoln Electric’s Weld-Pak welders are easy-to-use, lightweight and compact. The Weld-Pak is a great choice for flux-cored welding on mild steel and comes complete with everything you’ll need to start tackling those important repair jobs.
-9points
6out of 21found this review helpful.
1 2 >>