728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Weld Pak 140 HD Wire-Feed Welder

Weld Pak 140 HD Wire-Feed Welder

Whether you have a home project, farm repairs or basic auto body welding to complete, the Weld-Pak 140HD should be at the top of your shopping list! Requiring common 120 volt input power, the Weld-Pak 140HD can be used almost anywhere. With simple two knob tapped control, the machine is easy to set up for gas-less flux-cored welding for deep penetration on thicker steel or gas-shielded MIG welding on thin gauge steel, stainless or aluminum. Compare the precise drive, rugged construction and full list of standard accessories. Lincoln Weld-Pak is an excellent choice.
Overall rating:
4.429 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(42 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product33 of 39reviews
Rating Breakdown 42 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(29)
4
(9)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product33 of 39reviews
Customer questions and answers:
17 Questions | 49 Answers
Customer reviews for Weld Pak 140 HD Wire-Feed Welder
Review 1 for Weld Pak 140 HD Wire-Feed Welder
from 518
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Welder works good

PostedFebruary 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this welder to do light repairs to our equipment. up to 1/4
We use it more than we thought we would and it works great. Simple to use and cost effective well worth the money. After welding for a while with inner shield wire. We got the co2/argon tank and has made welding even better. Now we have been building anything that we need saving us money.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+36points
36out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Weld Pak 140 HD Wire-Feed Welder
from Mississippi
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent welder for the dollars

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am primarily a woodworker. However, one of my clients wanted a combination of wood and steel in some designs I made. From years gone by, I have welded with a Stick welder and had minimal experience with a MIG welder. This Lincoln 145 fit a budget need and has preformed excellently. Out of the box, I started welding and completed the table in the photograph with this review. Having owned Lincolns in the past, I felt I would get good results with this welder. It has surpassed my expectation. Just before checking my e-mail today, I was welding with this machine and walked away pleased with the finish I achieved.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, quality tools produce quality results
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Weld Pak 140 HD Wire-Feed Welder
from Florida, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Little Welder! I Love It!

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was looking for an affordable welder that ran on 120V for small household projects, and I found this one online at Home Depot. Forty years ago, I used to do some arc welding, but I have never done any wire-feed welding before. Once I set this machine up, I was welding like a pro in no time. The welds are nice and professional looking, not to mention strong. My only advice to beginners is to slow down your speed a little, and use one weld setting lower than the manufacturer suggests. Practice, practice, practice, and you will be welding like a pro in no time. My first project was building mounting brackets out of 1/8" angle iron and 3/16" flat steel for an air horn kit that I mounted underneath my truck. The brackets are very sturdy, and it was very satisfying building them myself and not having to rely on someone else to build them for me. The welder is economical, and it is great for small projects. I can't wait to find a reason to do some MIG welding, so I can see how it works with gas!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: no cons found
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Weld Pak 140 HD Wire-Feed Welder
from Los Angeles
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Lincoln Weld-Pak 100

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm using the older model Lincoln Weld-pak 100 with C25 (25% CO2, 75% argon gas mix), Lincolnweld .025" L-56 wire. After a little trial and error, the welds came out pretty nice!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design, so far no problems
Cons: have to learn proper technique!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Weld Pak 140 HD Wire-Feed Welder
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Welder

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Outstanding welder from Lincoln Electric. I know it can be intimidating to purchase a MIG with little to no experience, but for those out there interested, take a simple course at a local school a couple days a week, and learn the right way. I did just that, and wanted my own. HD had this in stock and gave me a fair price. It comes with two spools (2lbs) and everything, besides gas tank, gas, and mask/gloves that you need to rock and roll. It's simple to use and was built with quality. PLugs right into your 110 V home outlets as well, no custom huge plugs like my stick welder has. Highly recommended.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: should come with some gloves
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Weld Pak 140 HD Wire-Feed Welder
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

As good as any Lincoln welder

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I do welding, machining & fabrication for a living. Went for this when my home 220V went out. I've used a Lincoln 110V and 220V with spool gun at work for years now. This one's just as good. Not as hogging on gas either. Uses half the gas my 220V did. Tried it a little with fluxcore then hooked up gas & changed over to steel wire then finished 2 jobs with it. Just as good as the 2 Lincoln welders at work. I love that you can hook up a spool gun to it. Handy for doing aluminum and stainless if you don't have a TIG. I do aluminum work even at home.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, spool gun ready, good price
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Weld Pak 140 HD Wire-Feed Welder
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality control issue???

PostedNovember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is my first "New" welder. Ordered it online and picked it up the same day. The store couldn't find the welder when I got to the store to pick it up. It would have been faster to just go to the store to pick up and pay at the same time. Bad form on home Depot for offering a service of convince just to make the process more inconvenient. I use a welder for home and automotive projects. That said, when I splurge on a product I expect it to work. Especially if it is new. This particular welder is giving me trouble and it isn’t even a year old. There is a whining sound that has developed with use (gas shielded wire being used in ten pound spool). The welder has to be turn off and back on to make the sound go away. Now the welder has to be sent to Lincoln for service. Very unhappy that this has to be done at my own expense, at least this is what Home Depot is telling me. I unfortunately need this welder for a project currently underway. I am just hoping it doesn't break completely. Bottom line, works as advertised but I have had used welders work just as well for half the cost. Also I have not used the gas feed function yet.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Weld Pak 140 HD Wire-Feed Welder
from Erie, PA, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

You won't regret it.

PostedDecember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The welding shop I worked at had this unit set up with MIG and they let me use it to weld up some body and floor panels on my truck. It's quality matched the industrial sized Lincolns we used, in just a minute I got it's settings good enough to make trigger-pulls look like production TIG welds! I feel this unit is the best deal in the 110v class, and I'm certainly going to purchase one in the near future.
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Weld Pak 140 HD Wire-Feed Welder
from Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Its good.

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had gotten this because my mom was going to make some lawn art, and I could weld it for her. I thought that it might be a good idea other then going over to a friends house and doing it. The only thing that I didn't like was that the flux core wire that had come with the welder was NOT put on the spool right. I might have gotten a bad spool of wire or something but I do love this welder.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Weld Pak 140 HD Wire-Feed Welder
from McMinnville Or.

home hobbies

PostedMay 31, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use this for auto body repair and other hobbies that require welding 20 ga. to 1\4 in.
The spools change quickly and switching thickness is simple. I have only had this for 1 week but have used it a lot. So far I have not found anything that did perform as advertised. Has exceeded my expectations.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Weld Pak 140 HD Wire-Feed Welder
from Kansas City, MO, USA

you wont be dissapointed

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Welds anything you need it to. Use gas for the best results.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Weld Pak 140 HD Wire-Feed Welder

great welder

PostedOctober 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have never welded in my life and i found this to be very simply to use and it does a great job.
+17points
19out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Weld Pak 140 HD Wire-Feed Welder
from Jersey City, NJ

Great all around home welder

PostedDecember 16, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I did a ton of research on 120v welders since I don't have access to a 220v line. This Lincoln 140 was the winner. You can find cheaper welders but they’ll only be 110v, (every bit helps) will not have the gas kit, less voltage settings and don’t include any supplies. Complete beginners will appreciate this and the DVD that’s included as well.
With the right gas/wire set up and proper prep work, I found it to be no problem welding thin sheet metal to ¼ inch plate.
+23points
30out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Weld Pak 140 HD Wire-Feed Welder
from Illinois
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good purchase

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Light weight, section instructions easy to follow and it welds good. I would recommend this product for light welding and home projects.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Weld Pak 140 HD Wire-Feed Welder

Great welding machine

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very good welding machine. can run on thin metal and thick also.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Weld Pak 140 HD Wire-Feed Welder

Love It

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just bought one in store at HD, my Dad has the big name "blue" brand equivalent...... It is easy to use and welds excellently. It also cost less than half of the blue one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Weld Pak 140 HD Wire-Feed Welder
from Narvon Pa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

LOVE IT!!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First welder i bought, so not a ton of experience.Now i'm not the sharpest tool in the shed, but this thing is simple to figure out!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Weld Pak 140 HD Wire-Feed Welder

weld pak 140

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this welder being some what new to mig welding, was fairly easy to set up!once it was set up it welded great , and was wasy to use! Would definatly recomend this welder for the money
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Weld Pak 140 HD Wire-Feed Welder
from Kanab, UT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bad Troubleshooting section.

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this welder and could not figure out how to get it to feed wire. Followed instructions perfectly and would not work. Disgusted, I wrote a bad review. Well, it turns out that the voltage setting knob was in between settings and that is why the wire would not feed. This was NOT covered in the troubleshooting section of the manual. (Lincoln, take note!) I was packaging the welder back up to return it when I found the problem. Since then, have used the welder for hours with flawless operation. I like it! Wish the feed cable and ground cables were a little longer, and the gun seems a little cheap, but it works well and makes fine welds. If someone reads this that knows how to delete that bad review, please do.
+10points
23out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Weld Pak 140 HD Wire-Feed Welder

great deal

PostedOctober 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
seems to last long and get the job done. easy to use and very portable
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>