728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Reconditioned 1-3/4 in. Roofing Coil Nailer

Reconditioned 1-3/4 in. Roofing Coil Nailer

The RIDGID Reconditioned 1-3/4 in. Roofing Coil Nailer (Reconditioned) features an easy-access side-load canister design that offers fast nail loading, helping you complete a wide variety of nailing jobs in less time. Housed in magnesium for lightweight durability, this sturdy nailer offers tool-free depth-of-drive adjustment for fast nailing and reliable protection against overdriving. The nailer's selectable trigger offers contact-fire and sequential-fire modes for high productivity and precise fastener placement.
Overall rating:
4.357 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product12 of 14reviews
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product12 of 14reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Reconditioned 1-3/4 in. Roofing Coil Nailer
Review 1 for Reconditioned 1-3/4 in. Roofing Coil Nailer
from Newport, PA 17074, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Top Notch Gun

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been in the roofing business, almost 20 yrs. I had always used Paslode nail guns, until I purchased this Ridgid nail gun a few years back. I consider it to be one of the best out there. It's not bulky like a lot of other guns. You do not need to keep adjusting pressure at compressor or install a regulator on gun, because this gun is equipped with one, inside the gun, that you can control the depth of your nails. This is very useful when the shingles become hot or cool. I bought three more of these guns, for the price of a top quality gun. I have not had any problems. I have only ever had 3-5 nail jams in the few years that I have owned them. If your looking for a quality roofing gun at an unbeatable cost, this is the one to purchase.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Reconditioned 1-3/4 in. Roofing Coil Nailer
from Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not reconditioned, just used

PostedAugust 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Generally, a factory re-conditioned item may have a few scratches or other signs of minor wear, but they at least look like they've been cleaned and serviced. Not so with the "reconditioned" Ridgid nailer I got from HD. This unit come with asphalt smeared all over it and looked like it had just come off the roof after a long day's work. Just wiping it down with a rag and some mineral spirits would have made a huge difference in appearance, and I have no confidence that the internal workings have been checked for condition at all. For the $30 difference in price, I'd buy the new one. In fact, I'm going to return this used tool to HD and buy a new nailer. Not a bargain.
Cons: not reconditioned
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Reconditioned 1-3/4 in. Roofing Coil Nailer
from Lakeville, PA

Ridgid Roof Coil Nailer as Advertised

PostedSeptember 26, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Almost indistinguishable from a new one. I've tried different size nails with no jams and consistent driving depth. Like other Ridgid tools I've purchased, the quality you get for the money is hard to beat.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Reconditioned 1-3/4 in. Roofing Coil Nailer
from Port St John, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product for the price

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Nail gun came with a nice carry case. Had some wear on the contact surfaces (as expected). Easy to load and adjust. Nicely balanced. Lighter weight than other ones I have used. Reroofed my entire house with this gun and only had two jams.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Reconditioned 1-3/4 in. Roofing Coil Nailer
Age Range:35 to 44
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Just okay, not great

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm a general contractor and had a roof that needed to get done on a back house. Instead of just giving it to my roofing contractor, I decided to just get it done myself. I thought I would try out this nailer and give it a chance. First off, I thought I was getting a brand new nailer. It was still in box and it had a security device that kept me from opening it. After I left, I looked at it and that's when I found out it was used. Had scratches all over it and it was obvious it had been used before. I needed it right then so I used it anyway.
The gun is light, so that was good right off the bat. After using it, I just wasn't that impressed. The bump fire is slow so nailing off shingles was was time consuming, more then it should be. Also, it just couldn't drive the nails in all the way. When trying to do typical fast nailing, 4 nails per shingle, it just couldn't drive the nails in completely making it necessary to nail slower. I know my compressor isn't the problem. It's a big 5 gallon compressor meant for framing, which I use it for all the time and nailing off 3/4" sheer panel with as much as 80 nails per sheet has no problem keeping up. I think this gun just can't keep up and drive nails in successfully on every nail. On the entire roof I did have one jam up, but it was easy enough to fix and get back to work.
I do like where the nails go being clear so you can easily see how many nails are left and if you have to reload soon. Though usually I just run out and reload then. Not a huge selling point, but better than all the other brands. Depth gauge is easy to use. Has typical loading feature that all other guns have. Not much to it other than that.
Pros: Light Weight
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Reconditioned 1-3/4 in. Roofing Coil Nailer
from Northern NJ

Great Experience...

PostedApril 3, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was a great find.. needed to do my Roof and since rentals were so expensive for me. I wanted to be able to do it without killing myself and since I don't do Roofs for a living I am not in the shape those guys are... so this was a great alternative... this unit worked great... I am super happy with the Professional build qulity and this unit is working great.. If you had any question about Refurbs I say you need to just get it this gun is a great tool and I am glad I got it. Good Luck
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Reconditioned 1-3/4 in. Roofing Coil Nailer
from NJ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great buy

PostedDecember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a professional and wanted to get a new roofing nailer for work. After reading reviews and handling a display in store I decided to try a Ridgid for the first time, and I have to say so far I am extremely impressed.
I have used Hitachi, Dewalt and Porter Cable, as well as had some horrible no name brands supplied by the boss on occasion, but this nailer can easily measure up to the quality and features of it's more expensive competition.
The nailer itself is lightweight and very durable, has alot of small features that really add to it's value. It does weigh slightly more than Porter Cable's R175, and side by side they are extremely similar. I personally like the slightly heavier feel of the Ridgid and it just seems to be a slightly more durable build.
I recommend getting either the new or reconditioned model, reconditioned will save you money and still comes with a 1 year warranty, and there are only a few minor cosmetic blemishes, no more then you will do yourself after a few uses. Other than that the two nailers I own look and function like new.
However if the price is right, I also recommend getting this model brand new, ridgid offers a lifetime service plan with their new power tools, certainly worth it if you plan on using the product heavily.
All in all I think this product is the best bang for the buck, after buying one and using it I immediately purchased a second, and most of the guys on my crew have done the same.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Reconditioned 1-3/4 in. Roofing Coil Nailer
from Oklahoma City
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Performed well with no jams.

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Lightweight. Worked well with out any jams on the entire roof. Would buy another one if needed.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Reconditioned 1-3/4 in. Roofing Coil Nailer
from Wisconsin

Solid performance

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used the nailer for a 16 square roof, worked great, no jambs, no misfires, easy to handle. It was obvious it was reconditioned because there were many scuffs, scratches, and marks on the nailer but that did not impact the performance. It worked much better than the second nailer we used on the job which was a rental.
I only wish it had the same warranty as new.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Reconditioned 1-3/4 in. Roofing Coil Nailer
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great tool, great price!

PostedJune 13, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As a professional remodler, I look for tools that are dependable and get the job done right with minimal down time. I don't do a ton of roofing, but enough to invest in a pneumatic nailer. I have had great success with other Ridgid pneumatic tools, and that is why I purchased this one. I bought it reconditioned from the website, and am very pleased with it's performance. On occasion, it wouldn't collate to the next nail and it would jam up. Not sure if that was the nailer or the nails, but overall, a great tool.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Reconditioned 1-3/4 in. Roofing Coil Nailer
from Pine Island, MN 55963, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Rock Solid for the DIYer

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Solid tool, easy to setup and use. Has select switch for multiple nails. Light weight for continued use or extreme pitched roofs. Has more than one use with nailing selections. I always go with reconditioned tools. Better price point, same great product. Not a Pro, but, the advantage is not to pay the hefty rental price and I save on gas to and from the rental store.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Reconditioned 1-3/4 in. Roofing Coil Nailer
from Minneapolis, MN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worked good

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this to re roof my house. It worked good, never had a problem with it, The guy I hired to help me brought his also, shortly after we started his broke down, we had to use just this one. He has done many roofs and the only bad thing he had to say about it was it was still a little to "stiff" needs to be broke in more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Reconditioned 1-3/4 in. Roofing Coil Nailer
from Erwin TN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I'm very pleased with this roofing nailer, its price and performance.

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The purchase service was great, The reconditioned nailer came looking like brand new. It included a nice case, protective goggles, small container of oil, Allen wrench, and instructions. More than I expected. It has worked flawlessly everyday for over two weeks now. No regrets for making this purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Reconditioned 1-3/4 in. Roofing Coil Nailer
from az
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great product

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
for the price, this is a great product. I purchased a reconditioned one and have used it on three roofs so far and have not had any issues. I wish there were more shipping options, but that is understandable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.