728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Joist Hangers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Z-MAX Galvanized 14-Gauge 2x Deck Tension Tie (2-Pack) with SDS Screws

Z-MAX Galvanized 14-Gauge 2x Deck Tension Tie (2-Pack) with SDS Screws

The DTT2Z is a safe, cost-effective way to attach deck-railing posts to the deck framing for stronger, safer railings. Because the post is tied back into the deck joists, rather than to the rim joist alone, the connection is stronger than typical through-bolt installations. The DTT2Z is also ideal for guardrail-post connections and lateral-load connections between the deck and house.
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product10 of 10reviews
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5.0 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product10 of 10reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Z-MAX Galvanized 14-Gauge 2x Deck Tension Tie (2-Pack) with SDS Screws
Review 1 for Z-MAX Galvanized 14-Gauge 2x Deck Tension Tie (2-Pack) with SDS Screws

Great Product

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These galvanized tension ties offer great piece of mind for railing systems. The kiddos will be safe.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Z-MAX Galvanized 14-Gauge 2x Deck Tension Tie (2-Pack) with SDS Screws
from Northern, NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Weekly

A must for railing installation!!

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have been installing decks for many years, this produce was used for 2 Purposes in my last installation. 1 to add additional strength to an existing ledger and 2 to properly secure a railing on a deck that would be over 30' above grade.
This product was easy to install and exceeded my expectations. The railing system has little to no deflection and I am certain of the safety the product provided.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Reliable, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Z-MAX Galvanized 14-Gauge 2x Deck Tension Tie (2-Pack) with SDS Screws
Gender:Female

Great Product!

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installed with new deck railings. Amazingly solid. So glad I purchased this. My dad the contractor was equally impressed.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Z-MAX Galvanized 14-Gauge 2x Deck Tension Tie (2-Pack) with SDS Screws
from Atlanta, GA

A must for deck railing posts

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I rebuilt my deck and added new railings to the deck with these Deck Tension ties. They really do a great job of strengthening how you attach the railing posts to your deck. I highly recommend these to make your deck safer.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Z-MAX Galvanized 14-Gauge 2x Deck Tension Tie (2-Pack) with SDS Screws
from DeWitt Charter Township, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Pricey, but works as advertised

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
All these heavier metal,connectors seem way over-priced no matter where u go...but it does work as indicated and does a nice job locking posts tight. Be sure to go back and tighten all the connectors after the wood is thoroughly dried out.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, High Quality, Reliable
Cons: expensive....like most of the heavy connectors
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Z-MAX Galvanized 14-Gauge 2x Deck Tension Tie (2-Pack) with SDS Screws
from Mariposa, CA 95338, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Z max ties the best

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Perfect for bolting through ledgers onto floor and deck joists and securing deck posts.
Pros: Performs Well, Straight, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Z-MAX Galvanized 14-Gauge 2x Deck Tension Tie (2-Pack) with SDS Screws
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solved my problem.

PostedNovember 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My Deck had a seam where old/new construction joined.
A gap had developed on one side to about 1 inch. I attached one of these to a joist on each side of the gap and they worked perfectly to close the gap.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Z-MAX Galvanized 14-Gauge 2x Deck Tension Tie (2-Pack) with SDS Screws

easy to use

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use and they seem to be high quality material.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Z-MAX Galvanized 14-Gauge 2x Deck Tension Tie (2-Pack) with SDS Screws
from NC

Easy to install and great support

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used the old design and these are far better! the supplied lag screws work great and speed up the install.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Z-MAX Galvanized 14-Gauge 2x Deck Tension Tie (2-Pack) with SDS Screws
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product