728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop CFL Light Bulbs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) Spiral Dusk till Dawn CFL Light Bulb (E*)

60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) Spiral Dusk till Dawn CFL Light Bulb (E*)

Philips Energy Saver Compact Fluorescent 14-Watt Dusk to Dawn automatic post light is ideal for use in enclosed post light fixtures. It has a soft white light, similar to incandescent light, and a rotating base with a built-in photosensor to turn the light on at dusk and off at dawn. This 14-Watt Dusk to Dawn post light bulb replaces your current 60-Watt incandescent A19 and lasts at least 7 years. Philips Energy Saver Compact Fluorescent household light bu lbs. can be used in enclosed post light fixtures.
Overall rating:
4.122 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(74 reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product59 of 68reviews
Rating Breakdown 74 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(42)
4
(17)
3
(4)
2
(4)
1
(7)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product59 of 68reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for 60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) Spiral Dusk till Dawn CFL Light Bulb (E*)
Review 1 for 60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) Spiral Dusk till Dawn CFL Light Bulb (E*)

good product, but stays on too long

PostedApril 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I’ve had these for only two days, in the post lamps on either side of my west-facing front door. I, too, was happy to find them at my local Home Depot, instead of having to order them online. They come on reliably, and eventually switch off on a clear day. However, they do come on a bit early in the evening, and do not switch off until mid-morning (around 9:30 AM when sunrise is around 6:00). They tend to come on if the sky is moderately overcast, and will even turn on if a cloud crosses the sun on a basically clear day. This is a minor nuisance, and I look forward to the peace of mind that they will provide when we are away on vacation. Still, I would like them better if they were a little more sensitive to light coming from the sky.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) Spiral Dusk till Dawn CFL Light Bulb (E*)
from Stuart, FL

dusk til dawn

PostedJune 29, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I got 2 bulbs for either side of my garage, which faces south. On the plus side, I love the rotating bulb so that the sensor faces out at all times. On the negative side, they are expensive and are not light sensitive enough. In other words, they stay on far too long in the morning and come on too early in the evening. It would be great if they were more light sensitive to extend their life - especially at their cost.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) Spiral Dusk till Dawn CFL Light Bulb (E*)
from Missouri

Work as advertised

PostedJanuary 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had two of the 14W (60W equiv.) on the two back porch lights for security purposes for about a month.
They don't light up the yard, just show anyone lurking around the back of the house - exactly what I wanted!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) Spiral Dusk till Dawn CFL Light Bulb (E*)
from Ohio, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

CFLs that work in the cold automatically

PostedOctober 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought a pair of these on a clearance rack for $7 each. Read the specs on them and they said they were good down to 20* so I figured they would work at least 90% of the time for outside my garage. They fit where my existing regular bulbs did and have been working great since installation. Only issue I had is when I first installed them I just screwed them in until snug but that left one light sensor (which is on the base) facing the garage and one facing out so the one was on a hour or two early and later each day. Just had to screw it in a little further so both light sensors pointed out and now they come on at about the same time.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) Spiral Dusk till Dawn CFL Light Bulb (E*)
from MiddleUSA

Works pretty well!

PostedSeptember 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Despite the installation - under a porch, inside a globe fixture, It works well. It does turn on and off a few times before full darkness, but it's a small annoyance compared to having to remember to turn it on every night!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) Spiral Dusk till Dawn CFL Light Bulb (E*)
from idah
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not the best

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Take a great deal of light to turn off, almost direct sunlight.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) Spiral Dusk till Dawn CFL Light Bulb (E*)

This product has been a tremendous security light for me.

PostedJune 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought one of these a couple of yrs ago. I was amazed at the light output. It lights up the whole back yard, as if it was a 250 bulb, but it only uses 14 watts..
No it doesn't last 7 yrs because all the bulbs are rated based on burning 3 hours a day. A bulb that burns all night obviously burns longer than 3 hours a night.
Pros: Easy to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) Spiral Dusk till Dawn CFL Light Bulb (E*)
from Atlanta

PostedAugust 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This light bulb is fantastic.The first CFL I have been able to get to operate truly dusk to dawn. my other CFLs would stay on all the time. Seems like super high quality.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) Spiral Dusk till Dawn CFL Light Bulb (E*)

Works great, even in dim lighting!

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this dusk till dawn light because I wanted the convenience of having my front porch light on without manually turning it on and off every day (what I had been doing). Looking online I noticed this product is only available online, wished I could have purchased it in store, but the ship to store was very easy.
When I got the light bulb it fit perfectly in my porch light. I was concerned about how well it would sense daylight considering my porch light has a yellow covering over it (another home depot project in the future!). I have had the light in now for several weeks and it has worked perfectly! Regardless of the day (rain or shine) the light comes on when it's getting dark and shuts off when it's light again. I will he buying this light again and would recommend it to others!
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Dimming, Very Bright, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) Spiral Dusk till Dawn CFL Light Bulb (E*)
from Wayzata, MN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent product.

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works as advertised. It does not flicker in low light situations as do similar products, it's either on or off.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) Spiral Dusk till Dawn CFL Light Bulb (E*)
from Fort Worth, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well in porch light for night time lighting.

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This CFL is approximately the same size as the incandescent bulb it replaced. The light was seldom used on a side porch of the house. This side of the house is now illuminated after sunset and offers light in the driveway. Bright and effective at a reduced cost of operation. You cannot beat that!
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) Spiral Dusk till Dawn CFL Light Bulb (E*)

Great Dusk-To-Dawn Light

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have three of these bulbs in my outdoor residential lamp fixtures. I put them in over two years ago and they are still working well. I am pleasantly surprised. Yes, they are sensitive and may come on when it is not fully dark, or if it is very overcast. This is just not an issue for me. These bulbs have been dependable and are a great value.
Pros: Compact, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) Spiral Dusk till Dawn CFL Light Bulb (E*)
from Sheboygan, WI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did not work

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was not able to get these lights to work. They stayed on all the time. I even tried to point the lamp directly at the window, but it still stayed on. I kept both light bulbs as they are good bulbs and very bright, but the sensor function did not work at all for me.
Pros: Very Bright
Cons: sensor did not work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) Spiral Dusk till Dawn CFL Light Bulb (E*)
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Recommend with reservations

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Works ok except that it comes on to early and off to late.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) Spiral Dusk till Dawn CFL Light Bulb (E*)
from Chicago, IL, USA

They do not work as expected.

PostedJanuary 16, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I got two of these for both sides of my garage door. They stay on for way too long - they are off for about 5 hours during the day (Chicago area). These bulbs need tuning and I'm not gonna take the hit for someone's poor product testing. They are going back to Home Depot.
I have traditional light sensors bought in Home Depot that work just fine with the regular bulbs.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) Spiral Dusk till Dawn CFL Light Bulb (E*)
from NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This light bulb is fantastic.

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This light bulb is fantastic. Looks like high quality and light is very good. Philips did a good job.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) Spiral Dusk till Dawn CFL Light Bulb (E*)

Good but stays on too long...

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I am happy with it, better than having to replace the sensor on my lamp post but the light stays on too long and when the weather is cloudy.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) Spiral Dusk till Dawn CFL Light Bulb (E*)

great for front door safety not blue like some energy bulbs

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We like that there iis no forgetting to turn light on at night or off in the morning. Also we do not have to be home or awake. No one can telll if someone is home or not.
We had tried a bulb with an auto adaptor but it looked awful with our small fixture.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) Spiral Dusk till Dawn CFL Light Bulb (E*)
from Jacksonville, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great bright bulb that lasts 7500 hrs...well worth price!

PostedApril 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased 2 Philips Dusk to Dawn bulbs 2 years ago for the coach lamps outside of my garage. I leave the switch on all the time, and as the garage faces a shady area of the yard, I expected to get no more than 1 year of life out of them. After all, the bulbs are lit for 8 to 12 hours EVERY night. Remarkably, 1 bulb is still working at 8000 hours, and the other just burned out.
As several reviewers have commented, the bulbs do come on at dusk or just slightly before. If it's a rainy, overcast day, they will be on then, too. I disagree, however, with reviewers who chalk this up to poor design...I'd say it's just the opposite: the designers may have reckoned that it's better to have a light on just before it's needed, rather than having a bulb that comes on too late.
Some reviewers also seemed to think the additional run time would add to their electricity bills, but at 14watts, these bulbs are on a starvation diet. They are also compact in height, which means they'll fit nearly any fixture. Finally, they give off a very warm light that LEDs can't beat; from outside the housing, you'd swear you're looking at an incandescent.
I'm off to Home Depot now to buy 2 more!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) Spiral Dusk till Dawn CFL Light Bulb (E*)
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not great, but pretty good.

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The only problem I have with this is that it comes on before dusk. Not a big deal, but does cut back a little on energy saving.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>