728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop CFL Light Bulbs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 60W Equivalent Soft White Spiral Dusk-Till-Dawn CFL Light Bulb (E*)

60W Equivalent Soft White Spiral Dusk-Till-Dawn CFL Light Bulb (E*)

Philips Energy Saver Compact Fluorescent 14-Watt Dusk to Dawn automatic post light is ideal for use in enclosed post light fixtures. It has a soft white light, similar to incandescent light, with a built-in photo sensor to turn the light on at dusk and off at dawn. This 14-Watt Dusk to Dawn post light bulb replaces your current 60-Watt incandescent A19 and lasts at least 7 years. Philips Energy Saver Compact Fluorescent household light bulbs can be used in enclosed post light fixtures.
Overall rating:
4.153 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(124 reviews) 124
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product99 of 117reviews
Rating Breakdown 124 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(76)
4
(21)
3
(7)
2
(10)
1
(10)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product99 of 117reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer reviews for 60W Equivalent Soft White Spiral Dusk-Till-Dawn CFL Light Bulb (E*)
Review 1 for 60W Equivalent Soft White Spiral Dusk-Till-Dawn CFL Light Bulb (E*)

Works great, even in dim lighting!

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this dusk till dawn light because I wanted the convenience of having my front porch light on without manually turning it on and off every day (what I had been doing). Looking online I noticed this product is only available online, wished I could have purchased it in store, but the ship to store was very easy.
When I got the light bulb it fit perfectly in my porch light. I was concerned about how well it would sense daylight considering my porch light has a yellow covering over it (another home depot project in the future!). I have had the light in now for several weeks and it has worked perfectly! Regardless of the day (rain or shine) the light comes on when it's getting dark and shuts off when it's light again. I will he buying this light again and would recommend it to others!
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Dimming, Very Bright, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 60W Equivalent Soft White Spiral Dusk-Till-Dawn CFL Light Bulb (E*)

good product, but stays on too long

PostedApril 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I’ve had these for only two days, in the post lamps on either side of my west-facing front door. I, too, was happy to find them at my local Home Depot, instead of having to order them online. They come on reliably, and eventually switch off on a clear day. However, they do come on a bit early in the evening, and do not switch off until mid-morning (around 9:30 AM when sunrise is around 6:00). They tend to come on if the sky is moderately overcast, and will even turn on if a cloud crosses the sun on a basically clear day. This is a minor nuisance, and I look forward to the peace of mind that they will provide when we are away on vacation. Still, I would like them better if they were a little more sensitive to light coming from the sky.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 60W Equivalent Soft White Spiral Dusk-Till-Dawn CFL Light Bulb (E*)
from Stuart, FL

dusk til dawn

PostedJune 29, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I got 2 bulbs for either side of my garage, which faces south. On the plus side, I love the rotating bulb so that the sensor faces out at all times. On the negative side, they are expensive and are not light sensitive enough. In other words, they stay on far too long in the morning and come on too early in the evening. It would be great if they were more light sensitive to extend their life - especially at their cost.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 60W Equivalent Soft White Spiral Dusk-Till-Dawn CFL Light Bulb (E*)
from Missouri

Work as advertised

PostedJanuary 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've had two of the 14W (60W equiv.) on the two back porch lights for security purposes for about a month.
They don't light up the yard, just show anyone lurking around the back of the house - exactly what I wanted!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 60W Equivalent Soft White Spiral Dusk-Till-Dawn CFL Light Bulb (E*)
from Atlanta

PostedAugust 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This light bulb is fantastic.The first CFL I have been able to get to operate truly dusk to dawn. my other CFLs would stay on all the time. Seems like super high quality.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 60W Equivalent Soft White Spiral Dusk-Till-Dawn CFL Light Bulb (E*)
from MiddleUSA

Works pretty well!

PostedSeptember 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Despite the installation - under a porch, inside a globe fixture, It works well. It does turn on and off a few times before full darkness, but it's a small annoyance compared to having to remember to turn it on every night!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 60W Equivalent Soft White Spiral Dusk-Till-Dawn CFL Light Bulb (E*)
from idah
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not the best

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Take a great deal of light to turn off, almost direct sunlight.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 60W Equivalent Soft White Spiral Dusk-Till-Dawn CFL Light Bulb (E*)
from Ohio, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

CFLs that work in the cold automatically

PostedOctober 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought a pair of these on a clearance rack for $7 each. Read the specs on them and they said they were good down to 20* so I figured they would work at least 90% of the time for outside my garage. They fit where my existing regular bulbs did and have been working great since installation. Only issue I had is when I first installed them I just screwed them in until snug but that left one light sensor (which is on the base) facing the garage and one facing out so the one was on a hour or two early and later each day. Just had to screw it in a little further so both light sensors pointed out and now they come on at about the same time.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 60W Equivalent Soft White Spiral Dusk-Till-Dawn CFL Light Bulb (E*)

This product has been a tremendous security light for me.

PostedJune 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought one of these a couple of yrs ago. I was amazed at the light output. It lights up the whole back yard, as if it was a 250 bulb, but it only uses 14 watts..
No it doesn't last 7 yrs because all the bulbs are rated based on burning 3 hours a day. A bulb that burns all night obviously burns longer than 3 hours a night.
Pros: Easy to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 60W Equivalent Soft White Spiral Dusk-Till-Dawn CFL Light Bulb (E*)
from New Jersey
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Great Solution

PostedNovember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just screw them in and forget about it. Way easier than setting up a timer switch. Just be aware that some bulbs may be defective in the sense that they will stay on if it is cloudy. These should be returned.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 60W Equivalent Soft White Spiral Dusk-Till-Dawn CFL Light Bulb (E*)

Strange Behavior

PostedDecember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The light activates at dusk and shuts off at dawn as expected but during the night, there are periods of time when the light turns itself off for minutes on end then back on. You manually switch the light off then on to reactivate it and it blinks 6 times then stays on briefly before turning off and on again throughout the night. This is not what I paid for.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 60W Equivalent Soft White Spiral Dusk-Till-Dawn CFL Light Bulb (E*)
from Wayzata, MN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent product.

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works as advertised. It does not flicker in low light situations as do similar products, it's either on or off.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 60W Equivalent Soft White Spiral Dusk-Till-Dawn CFL Light Bulb (E*)
from Fort Worth, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well in porch light for night time lighting.

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This CFL is approximately the same size as the incandescent bulb it replaced. The light was seldom used on a side porch of the house. This side of the house is now illuminated after sunset and offers light in the driveway. Bright and effective at a reduced cost of operation. You cannot beat that!
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 60W Equivalent Soft White Spiral Dusk-Till-Dawn CFL Light Bulb (E*)

Great Dusk-To-Dawn Light

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have three of these bulbs in my outdoor residential lamp fixtures. I put them in over two years ago and they are still working well. I am pleasantly surprised. Yes, they are sensitive and may come on when it is not fully dark, or if it is very overcast. This is just not an issue for me. These bulbs have been dependable and are a great value.
Pros: Compact, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 60W Equivalent Soft White Spiral Dusk-Till-Dawn CFL Light Bulb (E*)

not looking to good!

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
I installed one this morning, it's still on. Now lets see On at dark, Off at dawn!! When does it start that?? So far all I can say is don't wast your money!!
Pros: Easy Installation
Cons: does't go out!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 60W Equivalent Soft White Spiral Dusk-Till-Dawn CFL Light Bulb (E*)
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product !

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I didn't know anyone made this ! I wanted a dusk-to-dawn feature for my front porch light. I bought an adapter with this feature,but when I put a bulb in it, the globe wouldn't fit back on the light. Now what,buy a new fixture? Nope. This bulb does just what I wanted for under $10 bucks.
Could only find it on-line,wished they carried in the store.
maybe soon it'll come as an LED, but for now, its fantastic !
Pros: Easy to Use, Very Bright, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
Cons: not sold in-store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 60W Equivalent Soft White Spiral Dusk-Till-Dawn CFL Light Bulb (E*)

Work much better than the twilight sensor adapters I had before

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I've only had these for a few weeks, but they are working much better than the screw-in twilight sensor adapters I was using before. Those would leave the bulb on all day long unless they got direct sunlight. These bulbs with the sensor built in turn the lights on and off at appropriate times.
I purchased 8 total, and they are mostly all working great. There is one that rattled when I first got it that might be questionable, but it might also be the location that it is installed in. Seems like pretty decent QA to me.
Another advantage to these bulbs with the built in sensor vs the screw in adapter is that the bulbs fit in the light fixtures appropriately now.
I'd recommend them!
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 60W Equivalent Soft White Spiral Dusk-Till-Dawn CFL Light Bulb (E*)
from Rochester, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Works in wall lanterns also

PostedMay 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This bulb starts saving energy and money as soon as you screw it in. No electrical work required to install a new fixture or add a photocell. I installed it on a porch wall lantern (bulb up, socket down, photocell facing the street) and it's working fine in that application. The spiral compact tube is not an aesthetic upgrade, but the old bulb was looking kinda dingy. I tried this bulb in an overhead fixture and determined that it cannot handle reflected light; the photocell in the base needs an unobstructed view of ambient light. My bad.
Pros: Compact, Eco-Friendly, Easy Installation
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 60W Equivalent Soft White Spiral Dusk-Till-Dawn CFL Light Bulb (E*)
from Towson, MD
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Super useful!!

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We have a large back yard and no street lights in any part of our neighborhood so we wanted to try something where we could "set it and forget it." This works great. I was a little concerned that it wouldn't turn on well because I couldn't find a way to screw the bulb into the socket so the sensor would be in the front. That didn't matter. The sun is currently setting around 8:10pm and the light comes on right around then, which is perfect. I haven't seen it turn on when it's simply a cloudy day, as some other reviewers indicated. Even if that happened, we wouldn't mind... no biggie. My only "complaint" is that they don't seem to sell this in the store near us.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 60W Equivalent Soft White Spiral Dusk-Till-Dawn CFL Light Bulb (E*)
from Tucson, AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I LOVE IT!!!!

PostedMay 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Now I don't have that dread feeling that I'm going home to a dark driveway and pray that my headlights stay on long enough for me to see my backdoor lock. Half the time, when I did remember to turn the light on, I would forget to turn it off during the day, using unnecessary electricity. Best purchase I every made!
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>