728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Tek4 DuraShot Indoor/outdoor 4-Volt 8 MP Digital Camera

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Tek4 DuraShot Indoor/outdoor 4-Volt 8 MP Digital Camera

The Ryobi Tek4 DuraShot Indoor/outdoor 4-Volt 8 MP Digital Camera offers a number of advanced features for your photographing applications, including an ergonomic button layout, a 3x optical zoom and a construction that resists water, dust and shock damage. With a lithium-ion battery, this digital camera delivers over 800 photographs per charge.
Overall rating:
3.615 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
67%of customersrecommend this product8 of 12reviews
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(5)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(2)
67%of customersrecommend this product8 of 12reviews
Customer reviews for Tek4 DuraShot Indoor/outdoor 4-Volt 8 MP Digital Camera
Review 1 for Tek4 DuraShot Indoor/outdoor 4-Volt 8 MP Digital Camera
Satweavers

Tek4 4V 8 Megapixel Camera

PostedAugust 22, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My new digital point and shoot camera was an impulse buy. It's the Ryobi DuraShot 8 MegaPixel, 3x optical zoom, comes with a 1 gig SD card (will take 8 gigs), water proof, dust proof, impact resistant, rugged styling... $200 at Home Depot. Throw it in the back pack for care free hiking. It's meant to be used by a contractor to throw in his tool box, I guess. The features are really basic, and all the buttons have rubber seals over them. The lens is protected by a barrel that's molded into the case. There's a flat glass window to keep dust out of the lens focusing gizmo. The lens can auto focus down to an inch and a quarter from the lens, which is very nice. The 3X optical zoom is nice to have, but there's a digital zoom beyond that that creates a rapidly degrading image, which is rather confusing when you consider the alleged 8 megapixel image claim. Those are the details I like. Here are some of the short comings: It would still like to have a lens cap to protect the optical window, because if IT got scratched, you'd be hosed. The SD card fits into a slot that is covered by a dust/moisture resisting flap, but it is difficult to remove the SD card, often requiring needle nose pliers to reach it. The camera feels pretty good in your hands, but the wrist strap attachment is on the top LEFT corner. A right handed person slings this to his dominant hand and the strap goes diagonally across the LCD panel. The camera is slow, especially at larger image sizes. It takes time to gulp down the pixels from the photo you just took, so its not optimal for capturing people in candid situations or photographing wildlife. The color rendering is a bit off tending towards blue. There have been a few instances where the camera locks up and the controls become non-interactive. The only way to "reboot" the camera is to pull the battery and replace it, then hit the power button. At the beach, framing a photo with the LCD screen in full sunlight one is absolutely shooting blind. You can see no image on the LCD panel. It might as well be a box camera with no viewfinder. What you get for $200 is a ruggedized, knock-around camera that takes marginal large digital images that will require some Photoshop loving to make them pretty. It's a utility camera that promises to survive punishment and provide documentation,
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tek4 DuraShot Indoor/outdoor 4-Volt 8 MP Digital Camera
billinWNY
from New york 14075

This is great

PostedJuly 20, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This camera has the features and duability that I've been looking for ! and it takes better pictures than my camera at home - Easy to hold and built tough
I like that I can take it on site on a rainy day and don't have to worrie about it
Sawdust - don't worrie about it - Blow it off and shoot
And the features this has is quantum leap over a home cameras Just what any one would want on the job site
GREAT IDEA GUYS
RECOMEND BUY IT BEFOR THEIR GONE !!!!
k--- Hamburg NY
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tek4 DuraShot Indoor/outdoor 4-Volt 8 MP Digital Camera
tomdallas
from Dallas, TX

Tek4 camera

PostedFebruary 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have used the camera for several days in our landscaping business. The pictures a good quality but not what you would expect an 8mp would be.
Our goal was good battery life and a damage proof camera and good quality pictures which is exactly what it is.
I read other reviews that were not happey about quality and said the camera hung up. We had the camera get hung up but only when the battery needed to be recharged. We keep extra charged batteries on the truck as it is not the only Tek5 tool we use.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tek4 DuraShot Indoor/outdoor 4-Volt 8 MP Digital Camera
HMillerfromOK

Nice Idea, Poor product!

PostedAugust 31, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
THe idea of a rugid, waterproof camera was an appealing since I work outside and also am a avid fisherman. In actuality, this camera leaves alot to be desired. It continues to lock up and you have to remove the battery to reboot the product. Picture quality is worse than my cell phone camera which has a fraction of the megapixels. Save you time and buy a nice Sony or Nikon and a plastic freezer bag if you want a waterporrf camera...
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tek4 DuraShot Indoor/outdoor 4-Volt 8 MP Digital Camera
sider
from Southwest, Ohio

Great Job-Site Camera

PostedJuly 26, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a really great camera for anyone in the construction trade. The over function is simple, the covered lens and the buttons are perfect for those not so perfect conditions, and the best thing is it still has great resolution. I don't have to worry anymore about using a 'precious' camera to get shots of the work we are doing and have done.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tek4 DuraShot Indoor/outdoor 4-Volt 8 MP Digital Camera
BobC
from Florida

Tek4 Camera...

PostedAugust 9, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have purchased several of the Tek4 tools, and for the most part they are a very good bang for the $$. The RP4200 camera is easy to use, the controls are simple and easy to understand. It's case construction was designed for rugged use, and the Flash has a lot of light output for it's size. The image quality is where it falls off. I have two other digital cameras, one a 4 megapixel and the other a 5 megapixel. The Tek4 camera with it's 8 megapixel image sensor produces images that are noticeably less quality than my 4 megapixel camera. For quick pictures, where image quality is not a concern the RP4200 works well. For the price it's not bad, but I sure would like to see better image quality from it. It's auto focus has some problems under low light conditions too, but again, it only cost $200. For capturing quick images of projects in process, and where one would want a camera that won't be bothered by saw dust or rain, it's a fine product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tek4 DuraShot Indoor/outdoor 4-Volt 8 MP Digital Camera
Spector
from Aspen Hill, Maryland

Just what I needed

PostedOctober 20, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Pros: I read several reviews about this camera and found it had a median rating. Now that I own it, it's just what i needed. As a home inspector I get caught in the rain. With this one I get all my shoots with out the fear of camera failure. This baby gets the job done. If you need a rugged and water proof camera for your use, this is the one. Great pics, easy functions and long battery life.
Con: Needs away to connect a neck strap. I use it a lot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tek4 DuraShot Indoor/outdoor 4-Volt 8 MP Digital Camera
r0nd0n
from Southeast, MO

Good camera, very versatile

PostedMarch 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This camera hasn't left my side since I received it. I was able to produce some really great job site pics for reference. The camera's default auto setting rarely provides the perfect pic but tweaking the settings to your light conditions and focus distance really brings them to life. It is also capable of some awesome close ups, but a tri-pod is definitely recommended.
I also have considered using it for surveillance on my tools since it's waterproof and has a photo timer to take a pic every 5/15/60 mins.
The downside is the flash, which is super powerful. Although it claims 800 pics per charge,it only gets 10-20 with the flash on. The flash charges up when you first turn the camera by default. which drains 1 bar of battery right off the bat. I have 3 batteries (1 w/ camera & 2 with 5pc kit) and i can easily use them all in one night. It seems to last a long time with the flash off just have to remember to turn it off as soon as the software boots on start-up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tek4 DuraShot Indoor/outdoor 4-Volt 8 MP Digital Camera
4jeff
from San Angelo, TX

Rugged Unique

PostedOctober 13, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This would be great for bad weather and at dirty job sites. But am questioning the quality of the photos. Most I have seen are not spectacular. I understand from the manual that it takes videos. One feature mentioned is that the video can be paused and restarted. This is not very common on digicams. Nice touch!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Tek4 DuraShot Indoor/outdoor 4-Volt 8 MP Digital Camera
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
1 out of 3 recommend this product