728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Headphones or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones

Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones

Ryobi introduces the Ryobi Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones. This tool feature speech amplification technology to enhance close-range conversations and noise suppression to help protect your ears from damage. To learn more about Ryobi tools go to Ryobitools.com and check out Ryobi Nation. See below for more information on this tool.
Overall rating:
4.138 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(123 reviews) 120
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product97 of 117reviews
Rating Breakdown 123 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(70)
4
(28)
3
(8)
2
(6)
1
(11)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product97 of 117reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
Review 1 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great item!

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These have been fantastic! If I had known what a value these things were, I would have purchased a pair a long time ago. They provide excellent hearing protection, and the built-in microphones allow you to hear everything around you - but allows nothing to exceed a comfortable decibel level. The volume of MP3 music or phone calls in the headphones (utilizing the auxillary jack) is very low, even on the highest level setting... however, I think that this is by design. (They are hearing protectors, after all... not headphones.) The only issue I have had is that the volume knob for the external microphones is poorly placed on the headset. While the knob is large and easy to use with gloves on, the location underneath the right earphone is such that any collared shirt or jacket is constantly rotating the knob and turning the volume down. Other than that, these are a fantastic piece of safety equipment. I purchased them for hearing protection while cutting 1' cement wall plaster; however, I've even found them to be a superb replacement for the earplugs I used to wear when responding to emergencies in the firetruck I am assigned to on my full-time job. While protecting my hearing from being damaged due to my close proximity to the siren, it allows my to hear emergency radio traffic and not miss any pertinent dialogue with my guys on the rig. I can hear EVERYTHING, and everything I hear is modulated to a reasonable noise level. These things are great. Thanks for such a valuable product at such a reasonable price.
Pros: Battery Length, Great Value, good quality, useful features
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from Wisconsin
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Quality Plastic

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First set I purchased broke within two weeks. The plastic holding the metal wire is very poor quality. I returned them and ordered a second set. I just picked it up yesterday, opened the box today and it is already broken in the same place. The broken piece of plastic was in the bottom of the box. I really liked these as my dad has a set and has not had any issues. Seems quality has gone down since he purchased his over a year ago. I am not even going to try a third time as I cannot even have them shipped to my closest store. I have to go 40 miles to pick them up.
Cons: weak plastic
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from MN
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Using for Autistic Son

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Although they're a bit bulky to go in my purse when we go out, they are truly a heaven sent for my autistic son. When in loud places or public restrooms with hand dryers...pop these on and he does so much better. I would recommend to anyone in construction or who has a different use for them like us. I like that they can be used with or without the audio cord. I do wish the audio cord came with, but a small price to pay for such a great, useful, well designed product.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use
Cons: bulky
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from Richland, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent! Perform as I had hoped!

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Best hearing protection that I have had among 4 others at 3 and 4 times the price. Fit very well, perform as advertised. I use them mostly at the shooting range. Prior to the Ryobi TEK4's I had to use ear plugs plus hearing suppression. Battery life is excellent, used them two days in a row for six hours each time. Still no need to re-charge.
Pros: Battery Length, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from Pittsburgh, PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Functionality, Little Expensive

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The noise canceling part works great. I have a large commercial weed eater and that things makes a lot of noise. I had a hard time hearing the engine run when starting it.
The voice recognising mics were pretty useful and made it easy to listen to a conversation while wearing the headphones.
The sound quality is not top notch by no means especially if you already have damaged or aged ears. Though with a quality music player, I was able to listen to my music and work.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from Central Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

(One of my) worst purchases ever

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Yes, they do stop some of the noise. But that's not the only reason I paid this much for a big brand name like Ryobi. I could have gotten that for half the price at Harbor Freight.
I paid this much for Ryobi because they supposedly would let me listen to my MP3 players while mowing.
I can turn-up my I-pod or Phillips players ALL THE WAY, and still, BARELY hear them with this Ryobi headset, and that's without any power equipment running.
To get the same volume with our normal MP3 headsets as with this, I need to turn the volume down to the 2nd lowest level.
And if I just got a bad set, there's a problem with Ryobi's Quality Control, especially since others here have described the same problem, and others are just fine with the volume.
I'll try to return them.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: no sound from mp3
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones

They are better than I thought

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The outside noise is muffled like you would expect. The microphone and sound for the earmuffs work extremely well it amplifies conversations extremely well, you can even hear footsteps coming or your own footsteps if the volume is turned up all the way. Then when you turn on a tablesaw or radial arm saw or router you can hear the sound being muffled and the sound drops way down.
As for connecting the MP3 player the wire works very well. The volume will not go extremely loud you can turn it up on the device but on the headphones it only goes up to a certain level which in retrospect isn't a bad thing since you are working with power tools so you should be able to hear some of the ambient noises from the power tools that you're using. So at first I was upset at the imposed volume level but now that I think about it and I've used it I actually like the fact that they are saving me from myself. All in all I think is it a very good product especially for the price point and I would recommend anybody who's looking for this and wants to hear some music while working that this is a very good value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones

Great hearing protection

PostedSeptember 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These headphones are great while I am mowing grass. They block out most of my lawn tractor noise. My ears don't ring after cutting grass for 2hours when I wear these so they work. As for the music it is not very loud but that would kind of defeat the purpose of the hearing protection.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

You can still hear

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good, damper noise levels, but you can still hear what's going on around safely. Great for mechical rooms or any area you need to hear low noises
Pros: Battery Length, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from Chicago
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perform as advertised. Great buy!

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I reserched a few different headphones before selecting this model and read the reviews on this site.
I don't understand why people are complaining that "they aren't loud enough". You are trying to PROTECT your hearing, why would you then crank up the music so loud that you are sending the same volume of sound into your ears that you are blocking out? That makes no sense.
To put things into perspective, let me tell you a little about how I use these headphones. I wear them while cutting the grass and using a backpack leaf blower. The lawn mower is a 22hp ztr so the engine is literally right behind my head with zero barriers. And the backpack leaf blower is a 50cc 2 stroke, so it isn't exactly quiet.
I'm all about protecting my hearing - which is why I bought these in the first place. I'm plugging these into my iphone and set the volume at a reasonable level THEN i start the engine on the equipment I'm using. These allows me to be certain that I'm not trying to overpower the sound of the engine the audio. But truthfully, I can barely hear the engine. It literally sounds like your car engine when you are driving down the road. Sure you can hear it, but barely. To give you an example, I was cutting the grass yesterday and while I was making an adjustment to the deck, the mower stalled. I didn't even realize that and it took me a second to figure out why it wouldn't move forward. Oops!
I don't use the mic feature at all, so I can't review that feature. I probably could have found cheaper headphones without this feature, but oh well. I purchased these at Home Depot along with some other items with a 10% off coupon so I wasn't going to spend my time bargain hunting.
The headphones are surprisingly lightweight compare to what I expected based on the look. And apparently the noise reduction is not active, meaning the battery pack only powers the mic. I suppose they would still work for my purpose without the battery - which would make them even lighter so I will try that and see if it works.
They also aren't all that hot. I've worn some headphones before that felt more like winter ear muffs and you'd have sweat pouring down your face.
Pros: Great Sound Quality, Nice Design, blocks out almost all the noise
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from Holmes, New York
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

OK

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It works but needs an amplifier. The music is very low.
Pros: Battery Length
Cons: no amp
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from Reading, PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for noise suppression, but completely worthless to hear music through.

PostedMay 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I really thought these were going to be great when I put them on. They are comfortable, I like the rechargeable battery, and it was cool to be able to hear people talk clearly. Unfortunately, I also want to actually be able to HEAR the music that I'm putting into them. As soon as I started the leafblower it completely drowns out any sound coming through the speakers. The volume knob on the bottom has nothing to do with how much it amplifies music, and is only for the amount of volume you hear from small noises and voices. These are going right back to the store.
Cons: may as well not have an mp3 jack.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from Marysville, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Well, Great Customer Support from Home Depot!!

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had 2 sets over the past 1 yr. plus. I had to return the first set within 90 days. The one foam ear piece started to come unglued & the audio, from the headset mic started being garbled. Home Depot made it right at the local with an exchange. I work in a factory paint booth & the hearing protection is great! What I like the most is that you can actually understand what people are saying in conversation over all the noise! The other plus is that should you not care to hear you can turn that volume down. The other upside is you can plug in your phone & or iPod & listen to music while mowing the lawn etc. The only down side is, if you are used to listening to your music LOUD. This will not play as loud as whatever you plug into it. I'm guessing the reason is maybe it supposed to be hearing protection. :) But the music always sounds good, & you hardly hear the mower.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good - especially for the money

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Overall they work very well - especially for noise suppression. they are NOT active noise canceling headphones - the battery is for a pair of microphones that allow you to hear things (like people) when you turn it on.
if i had one complaint i wish they played louder. However, for safety i understand why they do not.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones

Great Noise Suppression Headphone

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It wasn't what I expected, but better. I was expecting a sound blocking set of head phones, but was delighted with what I got instead. It dampened all the loud noises, but still allowed me to hear things around me, like people talking. So, my hearing won't get damaged while I worked around the yard with loud outdoor power equipment.
Also, a nice feature is the audio input that allows me to also listen to my iPhone while I was working too.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones

Ryobi Tek4 noise suppression headset

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I like everything about these except the volume when listening to audio. It is too low to hear when you are using any power tool. I have an IPhone and even if the volume is all the way up, I can still barely hear it. Otherwise, a decent product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from Rockford IL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

don't buy these

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These headphones have zero noise cancellation circuitry. The only noise reduction is from having earmuffs on. The "volume knob" does not tune out noise, it only amplifies the outside noise. If you plug in an mp3 player, it is only hearable at the setting with the weakest noise reduction and the most outside amplification.
I'll go back to my "non noise reduction" Shop Tunes headphones. At least they had a radio tuner.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from RTP, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi RP4530 TEK4 Headphones: Great!

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These headphones are great!
The noise suppression is very good and these headphones can be used for this purpose alone. But turn them on and you can carry on a normal conversation with someone else who's wearing a pair of these, even while a very noisy machine is running nearby!
If you're working alone you can plug in your MP3 player or iPod to listen to while you work.
If Ryobi ever updates this unit, I wish they'd add Bluetooth so that you don't need to connect a dangling wire to listen to your music, which is somewhat dangerous when you're working near spinning blades in your shop. Hands-free use of your phone over Bluetooth while still wearing the hearing protection would really be an awesome feature!
+17points
23out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from gainesville ga
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great noise reduction but still have ability to hear conversations

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Versatility: use as protection only or with digital music devices. Automatic volume limit protection built in. Great on the construction site or at home.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from NY/NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good sound protection headphones

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The noise protection capability of the headphones are worth the purchase, I recently needed them on a job that had heavy sub-woofer use and a db level comparable with a rock concert. Considering the db levels that the headphones had to deal with, I was very satisfied. Regarding the audio amplification capability of the headphones, they were of good enough quality for the price, I could generally hear what other people were saying while the concert was going on. The caveat of this product though is the battery charger. I had to return the item twice because of the charger failing. Subsequently I had to purchase the charger they sell separately. Unfortunately the charger is a substandard product that will drag the headphones down with them. Ryobi needs to provide the charger they sell separately to go along with the headphones. ENDSTATE: Headphones work as described, the included charger does not.
Pros: sound protection, comfort, weight, audio input jack
Cons: battery charger
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>