728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Headphones or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones

Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones

The Ryobi Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones feature speech amplification technology to enhance close-range conversations and noise suppression to help protect your ears from damage. The auxiliary input allows you to use the wireless headphones with iPods, MP3 players and similar sound devices.
Overall rating:
4.265 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(98 reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product80 of 93reviews
Rating Breakdown 98 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(59)
4
(23)
3
(5)
2
(5)
1
(6)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product80 of 93reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
Review 1 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
GA31989
from GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great item!

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These have been fantastic! If I had known what a value these things were, I would have purchased a pair a long time ago. They provide excellent hearing protection, and the built-in microphones allow you to hear everything around you - but allows nothing to exceed a comfortable decibel level. The volume of MP3 music or phone calls in the headphones (utilizing the auxillary jack) is very low, even on the highest level setting... however, I think that this is by design. (They are hearing protectors, after all... not headphones.) The only issue I have had is that the volume knob for the external microphones is poorly placed on the headset. While the knob is large and easy to use with gloves on, the location underneath the right earphone is such that any collared shirt or jacket is constantly rotating the knob and turning the volume down. Other than that, these are a fantastic piece of safety equipment. I purchased them for hearing protection while cutting 1' cement wall plaster; however, I've even found them to be a superb replacement for the earplugs I used to wear when responding to emergencies in the firetruck I am assigned to on my full-time job. While protecting my hearing from being damaged due to my close proximity to the siren, it allows my to hear emergency radio traffic and not miss any pertinent dialogue with my guys on the rig. I can hear EVERYTHING, and everything I hear is modulated to a reasonable noise level. These things are great. Thanks for such a valuable product at such a reasonable price.
Pros: Battery Length, Great Value, good quality, useful features
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
farmerray
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This really works

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great for mowing. I use it with my Grasshopper diesel mower. I have bought many brands of headset. This one is by far the best. It really suppresses the noise. I just used it today for 4 hours. Here in Hawaii I mow about 15 hours every week. There is no Winter. We have 22 acre farm with a small runway for my plane. I have other headsets for plane too. But this headset is the best. The price is really low. I use my own music player with the earbud headset rather than the speakers. This way, I don't use the battery of the headset. I barley hear the mower anymore. very happy with this product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
Dante2004
from Chicago
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perform as advertised. Great buy!

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I reserched a few different headphones before selecting this model and read the reviews on this site.
I don't understand why people are complaining that "they aren't loud enough". You are trying to PROTECT your hearing, why would you then crank up the music so loud that you are sending the same volume of sound into your ears that you are blocking out? That makes no sense.
To put things into perspective, let me tell you a little about how I use these headphones. I wear them while cutting the grass and using a backpack leaf blower. The lawn mower is a 22hp ztr so the engine is literally right behind my head with zero barriers. And the backpack leaf blower is a 50cc 2 stroke, so it isn't exactly quiet.
I'm all about protecting my hearing - which is why I bought these in the first place. I'm plugging these into my iphone and set the volume at a reasonable level THEN i start the engine on the equipment I'm using. These allows me to be certain that I'm not trying to overpower the sound of the engine the audio. But truthfully, I can barely hear the engine. It literally sounds like your car engine when you are driving down the road. Sure you can hear it, but barely. To give you an example, I was cutting the grass yesterday and while I was making an adjustment to the deck, the mower stalled. I didn't even realize that and it took me a second to figure out why it wouldn't move forward. Oops!
I don't use the mic feature at all, so I can't review that feature. I probably could have found cheaper headphones without this feature, but oh well. I purchased these at Home Depot along with some other items with a 10% off coupon so I wasn't going to spend my time bargain hunting.
The headphones are surprisingly lightweight compare to what I expected based on the look. And apparently the noise reduction is not active, meaning the battery pack only powers the mic. I suppose they would still work for my purpose without the battery - which would make them even lighter so I will try that and see if it works.
They also aren't all that hot. I've worn some headphones before that felt more like winter ear muffs and you'd have sweat pouring down your face.
Pros: Great Sound Quality, Nice Design, blocks out almost all the noise
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
lilrabbit
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best in their price range, but they could be better.

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've reviewed these before, but HD is asking me to review them again, probably because I bought a second pair. After 3 months, my opinion of them is a bit diminished. These are still a good product, but they could be improved.
The positives first. These muffs attenuate the noise level of power equipment by 25dB. This brings the noise level of nearly all contractor or consumer grade power tools to a level which is below the threshold where hearing damage begins to occur. They do the job for run of the mill circular saws, lawn equipment, model airplanes and so forth. They are not sufficient if you regularly run a jack hammer or direct traffic on an airport, and the attenuation circuit is not fast enough for shooting, but they are just fine for the home shop.
The internal microphone system allows the wearer to hear normal conversation or a the moderate volume of the shop TV or stereo without removing the muffs, but an electronic sensor cuts out the internal speakers when you turn on a power tool.
An accessory audio port allows you to plug in an MP3 player or other audio source so that you can listen to music or podcasts while mowing the lawn, etc.
The adjustable headband is comfortable to wear for extended periods and I have no problem wearing them for an entire workday in the shop. This eliminates the problem of taking off the muffs to talk with my wife or kids when they come into the shop and then forgetting where I set them down and thus leaving them off for "just one quick cut".
But there are some cons.
The ear cups are a bit shallow. I don't have big ears and they don't stick out that much, but nevertheless, they rub against the interior of the cups. This was irritating at first, but I got used to it. My children however, complain that they are uncomfortable because they rub against their ears too. The cups should be deeper or be lined with a softer material.
The sound reduction without the electronics is only 25 dB. Other passive muffs can do 30 dB, and once you get used to the quiet, that 5 dB becomes pretty noticeable.
Be aware that the accessory audio port is not intended to make these a substitute for studio quality headphones. You can hear your MP3 player, but you can't tune it to earsplitting volume.
Still, they are convenient. They allow me to keep my hearing protection on at all times and still hear what is going on in the shop. I can hear the shop stereo clearly without turning it up loud. When my children are in the shop with me, I make them wear these as well and it is good that they can hear me give instructions and warnings.
Ryobi would not have to do much to make these perfect. Deepen the ear cups and line them with a softer material. Replace the cuffs with better quality liquid filled ones. Add a push on, push of switch so the wearer could shut off the internal microphones without fiddling with the volume setting.
Pros: Easy to Use, Battery Length
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
jeric

Great product

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just received my headphones and I must say that I'm very pleased with the way they perform. Noise is blocked tremendously and I can still hear normal conversation without removing the headphones. The music from my iPhone is loud enough to hear even though I'm hearing impaired and wear my hearing aids under the headphones. I definitely recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
Stuart

Great Noise Suppression Headphone

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It wasn't what I expected, but better. I was expecting a sound blocking set of head phones, but was delighted with what I got instead. It dampened all the loud noises, but still allowed me to hear things around me, like people talking. So, my hearing won't get damaged while I worked around the yard with loud outdoor power equipment.
Also, a nice feature is the audio input that allows me to also listen to my iPhone while I was working too.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
ToolboyNC
from RTP, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi RP4530 TEK4 Headphones: Great!

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These headphones are great!
The noise suppression is very good and these headphones can be used for this purpose alone. But turn them on and you can carry on a normal conversation with someone else who's wearing a pair of these, even while a very noisy machine is running nearby!
If you're working alone you can plug in your MP3 player or iPod to listen to while you work.
If Ryobi ever updates this unit, I wish they'd add Bluetooth so that you don't need to connect a dangling wire to listen to your music, which is somewhat dangerous when you're working near spinning blades in your shop. Hands-free use of your phone over Bluetooth while still wearing the hearing protection would really be an awesome feature!
+17points
23out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
Anonymous
from Marysville, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Well, Great Customer Support from Home Depot!!

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had 2 sets over the past 1 yr. plus. I had to return the first set within 90 days. The one foam ear piece started to come unglued & the audio, from the headset mic started being garbled. Home Depot made it right at the local with an exchange. I work in a factory paint booth & the hearing protection is great! What I like the most is that you can actually understand what people are saying in conversation over all the noise! The other plus is that should you not care to hear you can turn that volume down. The other upside is you can plug in your phone & or iPod & listen to music while mowing the lawn etc. The only down side is, if you are used to listening to your music LOUD. This will not play as loud as whatever you plug into it. I'm guessing the reason is maybe it supposed to be hearing protection. :) But the music always sounds good, & you hardly hear the mower.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
chesterthedog
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good - especially for the money

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Overall they work very well - especially for noise suppression. they are NOT active noise canceling headphones - the battery is for a pair of microphones that allow you to hear things (like people) when you turn it on.
if i had one complaint i wish they played louder. However, for safety i understand why they do not.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
Sarge
from Grand Haven,Mi.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

These are the best hearing protection ever. So far I've used them while clearing my driveway with my snowblower.

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The battery holds a charge for 12 hrs.which is plenty long for my projects.
Pros: Battery Length, Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
thomaslt
from Hyattsville, MD, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased these headphones for work to suppress the noise of a vacuum running for fours a day. They do suppress the noise of the vacuum but it also muffles a knock on my office door and the music I have playing.
Pros: Battery Length, Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Replacement
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
Noname

I love the features and the colors

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought these headphones for a friend for Christmas. She loves them and says they work great!
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Clear Instructions, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
OldRob
from Fort Worth, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Incredible!!!

PostedJune 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased yesterday, charged the battery and then did yard work. My mower sounded like it was 2 blocks away. I couldn't hear my edger at all and barely heard my blower. All this time, I had Iphone music at low decibel and was able to have a brief conversation. I was physically tired after the work, but mentally, was in a whole different place since I avoided the noise. It was exactly as advertised. This is my new favorite tool.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
WW001
from Matthews, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Where is the Amplification?

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought these for both the hearing protection AND the audio amplification. I could not discerne any amplification above normal hearing. They seem like nice muffs and would likely provide good hearing protection BUT the advertised amplification just was not there in the ones I bought. Returned them for refund.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
gsartz
from Ferndale, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic Noise Protection

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works amazingly well to reduce noise while still allowing conversation/instructions to be heard. Ear cups nicely adjustable for comfortable fit. Included cable connects to iPhone/Android/Windows Phone for music or streaming radio.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
Steve

Decent product

PostedJune 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Would be nice to have some volume control from headphones when listening to devices plugged in.
Pros: Battery Length
Cons: Too Heavy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
ronroy62
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It does work's with awesome features! Don't order on Line!!!!

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product works very well! I have used it in an auto manufacturing plant paint booth for about a month. I can’t wait to try it for mowing etc.! The battery life seems to be excellent! I bought an extra battery for back up & have not needed to change them out. I learned about this product on the DIY channel “Cool Tools”. It takes about a week, to get over what seems to be an annoying hissing sound when the volume is turned up on the unit. This (volume control) enables you to not just hear but understand people speaking in your area & still muffles out the noise (Awesome)! (Thinking the air used in the paint booth that intensifies the hiss) however you can listen as well as converse or not with the people around you. (Your choosing LOL volume up or down).
Pros: Excellent hearing protection! Can hear& speak very well (MUCH BETTER than earplugs) with other in a high noise environment! Can play any music from your phone or whatever you choose to plug in. You can choose to listen or just use as hearing protection! For less than $50.00 you can’t beat it! Comes with battery charger & headset.
Cons: The thing of “buying online” What I ordered was cheaper at the local store (returned & bought @ the local). What I received from online was in a ripped up box that would not suit for a gift for anyone!!! The music that you would hear from your source would not be as loud as it would be if you had headphones or ear buds in… Guessing that might be the hearing protection thing. Last con… no Bluetooth! That’s just me I’m a DJ as well.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
Freebirdandfloyd
from Oklahoma City, Ok

As good as it gets 98%

PostedDecember 15, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These are great headphones that do a great job as noise suppression. They have stereo microphones for outside noise input. They also have stereo input for an MP3 player or stereo input.
The kit I bought had the battery pack and a power source adapter for powering external devices. It does a good job with all the connectors that are with the power adapter also.
The ONLY thing that could make this any better is the batteries. I have searched for them and they are hard to find sometimes. They were around 18.00 I think, so BUT THE KITS WITH BATTERIES.
I give this a HEFTY score of 98%, as these are functional, sturdy, well -made. Its as good as it will get.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
Handy

Ryobi hearing protector

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have used these for a couple of years. I am a contractor, so hearing protection is important, as the day goes on the ear cups tend to pinch my ears. If you wear them for a short time they are comfortable. It is nice to be able to speak to someone without removing them. The biggest con that I have found is that they did not make the speakers water proof, I sweat a lot during the summer so after a couple of hours the speakers short out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
Bill

Great product!

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I can do yard work without ringing in the ears or headaches!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>