728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Headphones or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones

Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones

Ryobi introduces the Ryobi Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones. This tool feature speech amplification technology to enhance close-range conversations and noise suppression to help protect your ears from damage. To learn more about Ryobi tools go to Ryobitools.com and check out Ryobi Nation. See below for more information on this tool.
Overall rating:
4.174 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(132 reviews) 129
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product106 of 126reviews
Rating Breakdown 132 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(77)
4
(29)
3
(9)
2
(6)
1
(11)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
84%of customersrecommend this product106 of 126reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer reviews for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
Review 1 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from Malden MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good noise blocking, MP3 sound quality not so great

PostedDecember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I got these to upgrade my prior full muff hearing protection and to have a spare set. the fact that they came with a jack for an mp3 player was a nice perk, but not a buying consideration. That said, the audio quality from the mp3 player is subpar. Since it wasn't a prime consideration, i haven't troubleshot it to see if it can be improved.
That said, what I *did* get them for (noise reduction while using power tools in an enclosed space) they do quite well - better than the pair i had prior. They're also more comfortable to wear.
Pros: Battery Length, Easy to Use, Nice Design, good noise reduction
Cons: poor mp3 sound quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great item!

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These have been fantastic! If I had known what a value these things were, I would have purchased a pair a long time ago. They provide excellent hearing protection, and the built-in microphones allow you to hear everything around you - but allows nothing to exceed a comfortable decibel level. The volume of MP3 music or phone calls in the headphones (utilizing the auxillary jack) is very low, even on the highest level setting... however, I think that this is by design. (They are hearing protectors, after all... not headphones.) The only issue I have had is that the volume knob for the external microphones is poorly placed on the headset. While the knob is large and easy to use with gloves on, the location underneath the right earphone is such that any collared shirt or jacket is constantly rotating the knob and turning the volume down. Other than that, these are a fantastic piece of safety equipment. I purchased them for hearing protection while cutting 1' cement wall plaster; however, I've even found them to be a superb replacement for the earplugs I used to wear when responding to emergencies in the firetruck I am assigned to on my full-time job. While protecting my hearing from being damaged due to my close proximity to the siren, it allows my to hear emergency radio traffic and not miss any pertinent dialogue with my guys on the rig. I can hear EVERYTHING, and everything I hear is modulated to a reasonable noise level. These things are great. Thanks for such a valuable product at such a reasonable price.
Pros: Battery Length, Great Value, good quality, useful features
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from Genesee, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi Noise Suppression Headphones

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ordered online and received in 5 days in great condition. I charged the battery and put it in as instructions stated and started cutting wood with the back round noise of a professional vac system and my wife came in and I could hear her perfectly. I must admit I was worried about damage during shipment, but all was well. The battery has been in for over a month and is still working great. The headphones are very comfortable. As far as the mp3 sound is concerned I prefer not to be distracted if I am cutting wood or mowing so the sound level is perfect for me.
Pros: Battery Length, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Nice Design, sound deadening
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from naples, fl
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great technology... for shooting, or lawn work and power tools.

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I recommend this for anyone who cares to preserve his/her hearing. They work fantastic, and you can carry on conversations with people while they're on, while cutting out the loud noised.. amazing stuff! You can also listen to music through them with the audio port and cable.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones

Perfect accompaniment

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If you were "accessorizing" a yard work outfit this item should be a must. When using tools - whether electric or gasoline engine powered- they're a joy to use and make a fashion statement! All that while protecting your hearing from the damage caused by tools that make noise. That these noise-canceling headphones allow for hearing normal conversation or even your music, is a distinct plus. This ear protection will let you whistle as you work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones

Ryobi Tek4 headphones

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Makes sanding, sawing and welding much more bearable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from Chicago
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perform as advertised. Great buy!

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I reserched a few different headphones before selecting this model and read the reviews on this site.
I don't understand why people are complaining that "they aren't loud enough". You are trying to PROTECT your hearing, why would you then crank up the music so loud that you are sending the same volume of sound into your ears that you are blocking out? That makes no sense.
To put things into perspective, let me tell you a little about how I use these headphones. I wear them while cutting the grass and using a backpack leaf blower. The lawn mower is a 22hp ztr so the engine is literally right behind my head with zero barriers. And the backpack leaf blower is a 50cc 2 stroke, so it isn't exactly quiet.
I'm all about protecting my hearing - which is why I bought these in the first place. I'm plugging these into my iphone and set the volume at a reasonable level THEN i start the engine on the equipment I'm using. These allows me to be certain that I'm not trying to overpower the sound of the engine the audio. But truthfully, I can barely hear the engine. It literally sounds like your car engine when you are driving down the road. Sure you can hear it, but barely. To give you an example, I was cutting the grass yesterday and while I was making an adjustment to the deck, the mower stalled. I didn't even realize that and it took me a second to figure out why it wouldn't move forward. Oops!
I don't use the mic feature at all, so I can't review that feature. I probably could have found cheaper headphones without this feature, but oh well. I purchased these at Home Depot along with some other items with a 10% off coupon so I wasn't going to spend my time bargain hunting.
The headphones are surprisingly lightweight compare to what I expected based on the look. And apparently the noise reduction is not active, meaning the battery pack only powers the mic. I suppose they would still work for my purpose without the battery - which would make them even lighter so I will try that and see if it works.
They also aren't all that hot. I've worn some headphones before that felt more like winter ear muffs and you'd have sweat pouring down your face.
Pros: Great Sound Quality, Nice Design, blocks out almost all the noise
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from Madison, WI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Comfortable and effective

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm really happy with these so far. They're comfortable, and effective. Allow me to have some hearing protection in the shop, and also listen to music or podcasts at the same time if I'd like.
I'm curious to see how long they'll hold up under some tough use, but the price is pretty great. They seem like a really, really good value.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design, Comfortable, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from Charlotte, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent noise suppression for indoor shooting range

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had recently noticed several members wearing the Ryobi Headphones, and asked where they were available. I mistakenly understood at Home Depot, but when I inquired at the store, was told it was at the web site only. So I placed an order and they arrived two (2) days later!
Pros: Battery Length, Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from Richland, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent! Perform as I had hoped!

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Best hearing protection that I have had among 4 others at 3 and 4 times the price. Fit very well, perform as advertised. I use them mostly at the shooting range. Prior to the Ryobi TEK4's I had to use ear plugs plus hearing suppression. Battery life is excellent, used them two days in a row for six hours each time. Still no need to re-charge.
Pros: Battery Length, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from Marysville, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Well, Great Customer Support from Home Depot!!

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have had 2 sets over the past 1 yr. plus. I had to return the first set within 90 days. The one foam ear piece started to come unglued & the audio, from the headset mic started being garbled. Home Depot made it right at the local with an exchange. I work in a factory paint booth & the hearing protection is great! What I like the most is that you can actually understand what people are saying in conversation over all the noise! The other plus is that should you not care to hear you can turn that volume down. The other upside is you can plug in your phone & or iPod & listen to music while mowing the lawn etc. The only down side is, if you are used to listening to your music LOUD. This will not play as loud as whatever you plug into it. I'm guessing the reason is maybe it supposed to be hearing protection. :) But the music always sounds good, & you hardly hear the mower.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good - especially for the money

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Overall they work very well - especially for noise suppression. they are NOT active noise canceling headphones - the battery is for a pair of microphones that allow you to hear things (like people) when you turn it on.
if i had one complaint i wish they played louder. However, for safety i understand why they do not.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones

Great Noise Suppression Headphone

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It wasn't what I expected, but better. I was expecting a sound blocking set of head phones, but was delighted with what I got instead. It dampened all the loud noises, but still allowed me to hear things around me, like people talking. So, my hearing won't get damaged while I worked around the yard with loud outdoor power equipment.
Also, a nice feature is the audio input that allows me to also listen to my iPhone while I was working too.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from Lincoln, NE USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Low MP3 volume

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
MP3 volume is NOT controlled by the volume control on the headphones! Nor do the headphones amplify MP3 volume. MP3 volume is controlled only by the MP3 player. And so the volume in the headphones is only as loud as the MP3 player's amplification minus the loss in the headphone speakers. If you remove the headphone battery, the MP3 volume is the same volume as with the headphone battery installed. The headphone volume control ONLY controls the headphone MICROPHONE gain.
Buy these if you:
1) Want very marginal MP3 volume
2) Want to comfortably attenuate sounds around you
3) Want to control the volume of the ambient sounds around you through the headphone microphones, its amplifier and its speakers
I misunderstood how these headphones work. Its just not clear what is amplified and what is not.
1) MP3 sound is NOT amplified by the on board battery and amplifier
2) On board microphones ARE amplified and gain controlled by the on board battery, amplifier and volume control
The MP3 input is a STEREO input, as is the cord that comes with the headphones. These headphones do reproduce music in STEREO. I have not played with them enough to know whether or not the microphones are STEREO, but I suspect they are STEREO since there's a microphone on the left headphone and a microphone on the right headphone.
Mfgr. Suggestion: When the headphone amplifier is ON, apply some default amplification to the MP3 input so that adequate MP3 sound level can be achieved in the headphone speakers using the headphone battery and amplifier. Doing so would make these good headphones GREAT.
Pros: Easy to Use, Comfortable
Cons: input not amplified
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones

They are better than I thought

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The outside noise is muffled like you would expect. The microphone and sound for the earmuffs work extremely well it amplifies conversations extremely well, you can even hear footsteps coming or your own footsteps if the volume is turned up all the way. Then when you turn on a tablesaw or radial arm saw or router you can hear the sound being muffled and the sound drops way down.
As for connecting the MP3 player the wire works very well. The volume will not go extremely loud you can turn it up on the device but on the headphones it only goes up to a certain level which in retrospect isn't a bad thing since you are working with power tools so you should be able to hear some of the ambient noises from the power tools that you're using. So at first I was upset at the imposed volume level but now that I think about it and I've used it I actually like the fact that they are saving me from myself. All in all I think is it a very good product especially for the price point and I would recommend anybody who's looking for this and wants to hear some music while working that this is a very good value.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from RTP, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi RP4530 TEK4 Headphones: Great!

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These headphones are great!
The noise suppression is very good and these headphones can be used for this purpose alone. But turn them on and you can carry on a normal conversation with someone else who's wearing a pair of these, even while a very noisy machine is running nearby!
If you're working alone you can plug in your MP3 player or iPod to listen to while you work.
If Ryobi ever updates this unit, I wish they'd add Bluetooth so that you don't need to connect a dangling wire to listen to your music, which is somewhat dangerous when you're working near spinning blades in your shop. Hands-free use of your phone over Bluetooth while still wearing the hearing protection would really be an awesome feature!
+17points
23out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones

Great hearing protection

PostedSeptember 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These headphones are great while I am mowing grass. They block out most of my lawn tractor noise. My ears don't ring after cutting grass for 2hours when I wear these so they work. As for the music it is not very loud but that would kind of defeat the purpose of the hearing protection.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

You can still hear

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Good, damper noise levels, but you can still hear what's going on around safely. Great for mechical rooms or any area you need to hear low noises
Pros: Battery Length, Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from Holmes, New York
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

OK

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It works but needs an amplifier. The music is very low.
Pros: Battery Length
Cons: no amp
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from Reading, PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for noise suppression, but completely worthless to hear music through.

PostedMay 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I really thought these were going to be great when I put them on. They are comfortable, I like the rechargeable battery, and it was cool to be able to hear people talk clearly. Unfortunately, I also want to actually be able to HEAR the music that I'm putting into them. As soon as I started the leafblower it completely drowns out any sound coming through the speakers. The volume knob on the bottom has nothing to do with how much it amplifies music, and is only for the amount of volume you hear from small noises and voices. These are going right back to the store.
Cons: may as well not have an mp3 jack.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>