728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Headphones or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones

Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones

Ryobi introduces the Ryobi Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones. This tool feature speech amplification technology to enhance close-range conversations and noise suppression to help protect your ears from damage. To learn more about Ryobi tools go to Ryobitools.com and check out Ryobi Nation. See below for more information on this tool.
Overall rating:
4.195 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(113 reviews) 110
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product91 of 108reviews
Rating Breakdown 113 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(66)
4
(27)
3
(5)
2
(6)
1
(9)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
84%of customersrecommend this product91 of 108reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
Review 1 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great item!

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These have been fantastic! If I had known what a value these things were, I would have purchased a pair a long time ago. They provide excellent hearing protection, and the built-in microphones allow you to hear everything around you - but allows nothing to exceed a comfortable decibel level. The volume of MP3 music or phone calls in the headphones (utilizing the auxillary jack) is very low, even on the highest level setting... however, I think that this is by design. (They are hearing protectors, after all... not headphones.) The only issue I have had is that the volume knob for the external microphones is poorly placed on the headset. While the knob is large and easy to use with gloves on, the location underneath the right earphone is such that any collared shirt or jacket is constantly rotating the knob and turning the volume down. Other than that, these are a fantastic piece of safety equipment. I purchased them for hearing protection while cutting 1' cement wall plaster; however, I've even found them to be a superb replacement for the earplugs I used to wear when responding to emergencies in the firetruck I am assigned to on my full-time job. While protecting my hearing from being damaged due to my close proximity to the siren, it allows my to hear emergency radio traffic and not miss any pertinent dialogue with my guys on the rig. I can hear EVERYTHING, and everything I hear is modulated to a reasonable noise level. These things are great. Thanks for such a valuable product at such a reasonable price.
Pros: Battery Length, Great Value, good quality, useful features
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from Rockford IL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

don't buy these

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These headphones have zero noise cancellation circuitry. The only noise reduction is from having earmuffs on. The "volume knob" does not tune out noise, it only amplifies the outside noise. If you plug in an mp3 player, it is only hearable at the setting with the weakest noise reduction and the most outside amplification.
I'll go back to my "non noise reduction" Shop Tunes headphones. At least they had a radio tuner.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from Reading, PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for noise suppression, but completely worthless to hear music through.

PostedMay 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I really thought these were going to be great when I put them on. They are comfortable, I like the rechargeable battery, and it was cool to be able to hear people talk clearly. Unfortunately, I also want to actually be able to HEAR the music that I'm putting into them. As soon as I started the leafblower it completely drowns out any sound coming through the speakers. The volume knob on the bottom has nothing to do with how much it amplifies music, and is only for the amount of volume you hear from small noises and voices. These are going right back to the store.
Cons: may as well not have an mp3 jack.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from gainesville ga
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great noise reduction but still have ability to hear conversations

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Versatility: use as protection only or with digital music devices. Automatic volume limit protection built in. Great on the construction site or at home.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from NY/NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good sound protection headphones

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The noise protection capability of the headphones are worth the purchase, I recently needed them on a job that had heavy sub-woofer use and a db level comparable with a rock concert. Considering the db levels that the headphones had to deal with, I was very satisfied. Regarding the audio amplification capability of the headphones, they were of good enough quality for the price, I could generally hear what other people were saying while the concert was going on. The caveat of this product though is the battery charger. I had to return the item twice because of the charger failing. Subsequently I had to purchase the charger they sell separately. Unfortunately the charger is a substandard product that will drag the headphones down with them. Ryobi needs to provide the charger they sell separately to go along with the headphones. ENDSTATE: Headphones work as described, the included charger does not.
Pros: sound protection, comfort, weight, audio input jack
Cons: battery charger
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from New York, New York
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi TEK4 Noise Suppression Headphones

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Overall ... Just what I was looking for.
I was looking for a product to work around the yard and keep the mower, trimmer, blower, and washer noises to a minimum while listening to my music. Exactly what these headphones provide. The headphones feature a powered microphone that filter out all of that background engine noise, while clearly picking up voice and other sounds.
My only con(s) would be ... to be able to amplify the music, which the power part does not provide. I don't listen to music excessively loud, but the speakers in the headphones do not allow much sound, and has to be controlled by the auxiliary input device. Also would be nice to have a wireless Bluetooth feature to it with all of the Bluetooth enabled devices that are available. The only reason(s) why I give it 4 stars.
Other than that, they are great. Like I said ... Exactly what I was looking for.
Pros: Battery Length, Easy to Use, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from illinois

amazing product

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These are amazing! I have bought and/or recommended them to people at work and family members and they all love them so much that they have told others about them, who have in turn bought them as well. The science behind them is amazing! These can be used in so many different applications! They really do amplify quite noises and reduce loud noises and the battery life is long! (Some people at work wear them for 10 hour shifts and they dont have to recharge during the day). Nothing negative at all to say about them!
Pros: Battery Length, Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from Chicago
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perform as advertised. Great buy!

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I reserched a few different headphones before selecting this model and read the reviews on this site.
I don't understand why people are complaining that "they aren't loud enough". You are trying to PROTECT your hearing, why would you then crank up the music so loud that you are sending the same volume of sound into your ears that you are blocking out? That makes no sense.
To put things into perspective, let me tell you a little about how I use these headphones. I wear them while cutting the grass and using a backpack leaf blower. The lawn mower is a 22hp ztr so the engine is literally right behind my head with zero barriers. And the backpack leaf blower is a 50cc 2 stroke, so it isn't exactly quiet.
I'm all about protecting my hearing - which is why I bought these in the first place. I'm plugging these into my iphone and set the volume at a reasonable level THEN i start the engine on the equipment I'm using. These allows me to be certain that I'm not trying to overpower the sound of the engine the audio. But truthfully, I can barely hear the engine. It literally sounds like your car engine when you are driving down the road. Sure you can hear it, but barely. To give you an example, I was cutting the grass yesterday and while I was making an adjustment to the deck, the mower stalled. I didn't even realize that and it took me a second to figure out why it wouldn't move forward. Oops!
I don't use the mic feature at all, so I can't review that feature. I probably could have found cheaper headphones without this feature, but oh well. I purchased these at Home Depot along with some other items with a 10% off coupon so I wasn't going to spend my time bargain hunting.
The headphones are surprisingly lightweight compare to what I expected based on the look. And apparently the noise reduction is not active, meaning the battery pack only powers the mic. I suppose they would still work for my purpose without the battery - which would make them even lighter so I will try that and see if it works.
They also aren't all that hot. I've worn some headphones before that felt more like winter ear muffs and you'd have sweat pouring down your face.
Pros: Great Sound Quality, Nice Design, blocks out almost all the noise
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not great

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The fit was perfect, however, the adjustable volume knob did not work at all
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: poor sound quality adjustment
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from Marysville, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Well, Great Customer Support from Home Depot!!

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had 2 sets over the past 1 yr. plus. I had to return the first set within 90 days. The one foam ear piece started to come unglued & the audio, from the headset mic started being garbled. Home Depot made it right at the local with an exchange. I work in a factory paint booth & the hearing protection is great! What I like the most is that you can actually understand what people are saying in conversation over all the noise! The other plus is that should you not care to hear you can turn that volume down. The other upside is you can plug in your phone & or iPod & listen to music while mowing the lawn etc. The only down side is, if you are used to listening to your music LOUD. This will not play as loud as whatever you plug into it. I'm guessing the reason is maybe it supposed to be hearing protection. :) But the music always sounds good, & you hardly hear the mower.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones

Great Noise Suppression Headphone

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It wasn't what I expected, but better. I was expecting a sound blocking set of head phones, but was delighted with what I got instead. It dampened all the loud noises, but still allowed me to hear things around me, like people talking. So, my hearing won't get damaged while I worked around the yard with loud outdoor power equipment.
Also, a nice feature is the audio input that allows me to also listen to my iPhone while I was working too.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good - especially for the money

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Overall they work very well - especially for noise suppression. they are NOT active noise canceling headphones - the battery is for a pair of microphones that allow you to hear things (like people) when you turn it on.
if i had one complaint i wish they played louder. However, for safety i understand why they do not.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice headphones at a reasonable price

PostedJune 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased these headphones after looking for something that I could listen to music with while cutting the grass. These fit the bill. The headphones do a great job of amplifying voices around you. The amplification feature is not automatic as you must turn them on and adjust the volume, unlike some headphones I have used in the past. These do not automatically mute, which isn't a big deal. One feature that I wish they had is an amplifier for the line in. I can plug my phone or MP3 player into them, but it can be difficult to hear sometimes.
Overall, I like these headphones.
Pros: Battery Length, Easy to Use, Nice Design
Cons: missing a line-in amplifier.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones

Better than I had anticipated!!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ride a John Deere rider mower and the noise generated by the engine and the spinning blades is incredibly loud. I had purchased some headphones that minimized it but did not truly suppress it. These headphones are great. I would recommend them to anyone who values their hearing!
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from Benson AZ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

disapointed

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
very unhappy w/ this product. returned to store. can't hear Mp3. back ground noise over loads other sounds
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: poor design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from RTP, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi RP4530 TEK4 Headphones: Great!

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These headphones are great!
The noise suppression is very good and these headphones can be used for this purpose alone. But turn them on and you can carry on a normal conversation with someone else who's wearing a pair of these, even while a very noisy machine is running nearby!
If you're working alone you can plug in your MP3 player or iPod to listen to while you work.
If Ryobi ever updates this unit, I wish they'd add Bluetooth so that you don't need to connect a dangling wire to listen to your music, which is somewhat dangerous when you're working near spinning blades in your shop. Hands-free use of your phone over Bluetooth while still wearing the hearing protection would really be an awesome feature!
+17points
23out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best in their price range, but they could be better.

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've reviewed these before, but HD is asking me to review them again, probably because I bought a second pair. After 3 months, my opinion of them is a bit diminished. These are still a good product, but they could be improved.
The positives first. These muffs attenuate the noise level of power equipment by 25dB. This brings the noise level of nearly all contractor or consumer grade power tools to a level which is below the threshold where hearing damage begins to occur. They do the job for run of the mill circular saws, lawn equipment, model airplanes and so forth. They are not sufficient if you regularly run a jack hammer or direct traffic on an airport, and the attenuation circuit is not fast enough for shooting, but they are just fine for the home shop.
The internal microphone system allows the wearer to hear normal conversation or a the moderate volume of the shop TV or stereo without removing the muffs, but an electronic sensor cuts out the internal speakers when you turn on a power tool.
An accessory audio port allows you to plug in an MP3 player or other audio source so that you can listen to music or podcasts while mowing the lawn, etc.
The adjustable headband is comfortable to wear for extended periods and I have no problem wearing them for an entire workday in the shop. This eliminates the problem of taking off the muffs to talk with my wife or kids when they come into the shop and then forgetting where I set them down and thus leaving them off for "just one quick cut".
But there are some cons.
The ear cups are a bit shallow. I don't have big ears and they don't stick out that much, but nevertheless, they rub against the interior of the cups. This was irritating at first, but I got used to it. My children however, complain that they are uncomfortable because they rub against their ears too. The cups should be deeper or be lined with a softer material.
The sound reduction without the electronics is only 25 dB. Other passive muffs can do 30 dB, and once you get used to the quiet, that 5 dB becomes pretty noticeable.
Be aware that the accessory audio port is not intended to make these a substitute for studio quality headphones. You can hear your MP3 player, but you can't tune it to earsplitting volume.
Still, they are convenient. They allow me to keep my hearing protection on at all times and still hear what is going on in the shop. I can hear the shop stereo clearly without turning it up loud. When my children are in the shop with me, I make them wear these as well and it is good that they can hear me give instructions and warnings.
Ryobi would not have to do much to make these perfect. Deepen the ear cups and line them with a softer material. Replace the cuffs with better quality liquid filled ones. Add a push on, push of switch so the wearer could shut off the internal microphones without fiddling with the volume setting.
Pros: Easy to Use, Battery Length
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from Dalton. GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ear Protection

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This are great ear protection headphones. They are comfortable to wear and light weight. I use them while I'm in my workshop and also at the shooting range. You can hear a pin drop but yet shoot a gun, these are simple amazing.
Pros: Battery Length, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones

Excellent shooting ear protection

PostedMay 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was my first experience with an electronic ear protection muff. I wanted something that I could use for both shooting and mowing the lawn (2 hours on my John Deere gets a bit tiring with the constant drone and it's nice to be able to listen to iPhone programming.) I LOVE the way that you can carry on normal conversation while shooting because you can hear between shots. Being able to "hear" without taking the muffs off really enhances the experience. Yet you get full protection from the pistol firing, even with .45 ACP "big" stuff.
Pros: Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from Hubert, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Headphone

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This works great with a smartphone I can use the phone when I have the headphones on, and the great thing is that I don't have to take them off when I talk to anyone.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>