728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones

Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones

Ryobi introduces the Ryobi Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones. This tool feature speech amplification technology to enhance close-range conversations and noise suppression to help protect your ears from damage. To learn more about Ryobi tools go to Ryobitools.com and check out Ryobi Nation. See below for more information on this tool.
Overall rating:
4.196 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(143 reviews) 140
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product115 of 137reviews
Rating Breakdown 143 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(85)
4
(30)
3
(10)
2
(7)
1
(11)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
84%of customersrecommend this product115 of 137reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer reviews for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
Review 1 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from Malden MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good noise blocking, MP3 sound quality not so great

PostedDecember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I got these to upgrade my prior full muff hearing protection and to have a spare set. the fact that they came with a jack for an mp3 player was a nice perk, but not a buying consideration. That said, the audio quality from the mp3 player is subpar. Since it wasn't a prime consideration, i haven't troubleshot it to see if it can be improved.
That said, what I *did* get them for (noise reduction while using power tools in an enclosed space) they do quite well - better than the pair i had prior. They're also more comfortable to wear.
Pros: Battery Length, Easy to Use, Nice Design, good noise reduction
Cons: poor mp3 sound quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great item!

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These have been fantastic! If I had known what a value these things were, I would have purchased a pair a long time ago. They provide excellent hearing protection, and the built-in microphones allow you to hear everything around you - but allows nothing to exceed a comfortable decibel level. The volume of MP3 music or phone calls in the headphones (utilizing the auxillary jack) is very low, even on the highest level setting... however, I think that this is by design. (They are hearing protectors, after all... not headphones.) The only issue I have had is that the volume knob for the external microphones is poorly placed on the headset. While the knob is large and easy to use with gloves on, the location underneath the right earphone is such that any collared shirt or jacket is constantly rotating the knob and turning the volume down. Other than that, these are a fantastic piece of safety equipment. I purchased them for hearing protection while cutting 1' cement wall plaster; however, I've even found them to be a superb replacement for the earplugs I used to wear when responding to emergencies in the firetruck I am assigned to on my full-time job. While protecting my hearing from being damaged due to my close proximity to the siren, it allows my to hear emergency radio traffic and not miss any pertinent dialogue with my guys on the rig. I can hear EVERYTHING, and everything I hear is modulated to a reasonable noise level. These things are great. Thanks for such a valuable product at such a reasonable price.
Pros: Battery Length, Great Value, good quality, useful features
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from Wyoming
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good deal!

PostedJune 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great set of suppression headphones, super comfortable. Have used them hunting, logging, etc..
Pros: Battery Length, Easy to Use, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from Long Island
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does what it's supposed to do

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Headphones are very comfortable and adjust easily to fit your head. Love the aux jack to plug my ipod into, makes the yardwork more relaxing and enjoyable.
Pros: Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones

Great hearing protection

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought these for working out in the garage and to wear when I'm cutting wood or grinding metal. I really like the noise canceling feature. It works pretty well. The battery is chargeable which is nice.
The noise canceling feature sometimes stops working randomly which bothers me, and it doesn't seem to be a battery issue. 75% of the time it works great though.
I did stretch them out a bit once to try and wear them while I was wearing my face guard for grinding. The plastic where the metal wire comes out busted and so now I have to be real careful with them. I've only had them about a month and a half and work in the garage on the weekends. They still work but I think I'll need another pair at some point.
I really like these, but wish a little more attention was paid toward the quality.
Pros: Easy to Use, Stylish, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from Chicago
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perform as advertised. Great buy!

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I reserched a few different headphones before selecting this model and read the reviews on this site.
I don't understand why people are complaining that "they aren't loud enough". You are trying to PROTECT your hearing, why would you then crank up the music so loud that you are sending the same volume of sound into your ears that you are blocking out? That makes no sense.
To put things into perspective, let me tell you a little about how I use these headphones. I wear them while cutting the grass and using a backpack leaf blower. The lawn mower is a 22hp ztr so the engine is literally right behind my head with zero barriers. And the backpack leaf blower is a 50cc 2 stroke, so it isn't exactly quiet.
I'm all about protecting my hearing - which is why I bought these in the first place. I'm plugging these into my iphone and set the volume at a reasonable level THEN i start the engine on the equipment I'm using. These allows me to be certain that I'm not trying to overpower the sound of the engine the audio. But truthfully, I can barely hear the engine. It literally sounds like your car engine when you are driving down the road. Sure you can hear it, but barely. To give you an example, I was cutting the grass yesterday and while I was making an adjustment to the deck, the mower stalled. I didn't even realize that and it took me a second to figure out why it wouldn't move forward. Oops!
I don't use the mic feature at all, so I can't review that feature. I probably could have found cheaper headphones without this feature, but oh well. I purchased these at Home Depot along with some other items with a 10% off coupon so I wasn't going to spend my time bargain hunting.
The headphones are surprisingly lightweight compare to what I expected based on the look. And apparently the noise reduction is not active, meaning the battery pack only powers the mic. I suppose they would still work for my purpose without the battery - which would make them even lighter so I will try that and see if it works.
They also aren't all that hot. I've worn some headphones before that felt more like winter ear muffs and you'd have sweat pouring down your face.
Pros: Great Sound Quality, Nice Design, blocks out almost all the noise
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from Redmond, Oregon
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

awesome

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Excellent protection and still able to hear. Very comfortable.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from Whidbey Island, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Noise Reduction Headsets

PostedMarch 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I go to my local gun range and practice shooting my pistols. I've been looking for headsets that will reduce the sounds of gun fire and still allow me to have a normal conversation. I asked around the other members and they all had noise suppression headphones costing $300 or more.
I "found" these Tek4 headphones while browsing my local Home Depot one day. They are AWESOME!
I can turn the volume up all the way and here my feet moving through the grass yet when I'm near gunfire the noise is dampened to a soft pop.
I haven't used the optional aux input function yet, but I plan to one day.
I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THESE HEADSETS!
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from Hatfield Pa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Awlsome Headphones

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
work very well in engine rooms cancelling the sound , comfortable to wear. Wish HD had more in stock and carried them in there stores
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use
Cons: not in stock, hd doesnt carry in stores
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from Marysville, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Well, Great Customer Support from Home Depot!!

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have had 2 sets over the past 1 yr. plus. I had to return the first set within 90 days. The one foam ear piece started to come unglued & the audio, from the headset mic started being garbled. Home Depot made it right at the local with an exchange. I work in a factory paint booth & the hearing protection is great! What I like the most is that you can actually understand what people are saying in conversation over all the noise! The other plus is that should you not care to hear you can turn that volume down. The other upside is you can plug in your phone & or iPod & listen to music while mowing the lawn etc. The only down side is, if you are used to listening to your music LOUD. This will not play as loud as whatever you plug into it. I'm guessing the reason is maybe it supposed to be hearing protection. :) But the music always sounds good, & you hardly hear the mower.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good - especially for the money

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Overall they work very well - especially for noise suppression. they are NOT active noise canceling headphones - the battery is for a pair of microphones that allow you to hear things (like people) when you turn it on.
if i had one complaint i wish they played louder. However, for safety i understand why they do not.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones

Great Noise Suppression Headphone

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It wasn't what I expected, but better. I was expecting a sound blocking set of head phones, but was delighted with what I got instead. It dampened all the loud noises, but still allowed me to hear things around me, like people talking. So, my hearing won't get damaged while I worked around the yard with loud outdoor power equipment.
Also, a nice feature is the audio input that allows me to also listen to my iPhone while I was working too.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones

Great product

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These headphones are great for work and chopping wood. They are great for quieting the loud noises yet allow me to hear people and carry on a conversation.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from RTP, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi RP4530 TEK4 Headphones: Great!

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These headphones are great!
The noise suppression is very good and these headphones can be used for this purpose alone. But turn them on and you can carry on a normal conversation with someone else who's wearing a pair of these, even while a very noisy machine is running nearby!
If you're working alone you can plug in your MP3 player or iPod to listen to while you work.
If Ryobi ever updates this unit, I wish they'd add Bluetooth so that you don't need to connect a dangling wire to listen to your music, which is somewhat dangerous when you're working near spinning blades in your shop. Hands-free use of your phone over Bluetooth while still wearing the hearing protection would really be an awesome feature!
+17points
23out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from Brockton, MA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality ear protection

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Good value for the money. They are of high quality.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from Genesee, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi Noise Suppression Headphones

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ordered online and received in 5 days in great condition. I charged the battery and put it in as instructions stated and started cutting wood with the back round noise of a professional vac system and my wife came in and I could hear her perfectly. I must admit I was worried about damage during shipment, but all was well. The battery has been in for over a month and is still working great. The headphones are very comfortable. As far as the mp3 sound is concerned I prefer not to be distracted if I am cutting wood or mowing so the sound level is perfect for me.
Pros: Battery Length, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Nice Design, sound deadening
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from Canton, Ga
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Idea, poor quality

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered this online to use at work. Literally the 3rd time I pulled them off my head, the plastic piece holding the wireframe to the headphone itself broke. Figuring this was just a fluke, I returned it and ordered another set. The EXACT same thing happened. I chose to repair it myself with zip ties and super glue. Hopefully it holds up..
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality
Cons: poor quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It broke after two months of use

PostedMarch 9, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After using for about two months (weekend use only), the plastic thing that holds in the metal bars which are attached to the ear pieces broke. I have not returned it as I don't want to go through the hassle for ~$20. When the bar comes out, I put it back in so I can still use it. Just disappointing it broke after 2 months of use.
Cons: cheap plastic
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones

Great on the job.

PostedMarch 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I work construction and these work really well. There is a bit of getting used to the delay of the microphones, but once you do you'll wonder why you used anything else.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Tek4 Audio Plus Noise Suppression Headphones
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best in their price range, but they could be better.

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I've reviewed these before, but HD is asking me to review them again, probably because I bought a second pair. After 3 months, my opinion of them is a bit diminished. These are still a good product, but they could be improved.
The positives first. These muffs attenuate the noise level of power equipment by 25dB. This brings the noise level of nearly all contractor or consumer grade power tools to a level which is below the threshold where hearing damage begins to occur. They do the job for run of the mill circular saws, lawn equipment, model airplanes and so forth. They are not sufficient if you regularly run a jack hammer or direct traffic on an airport, and the attenuation circuit is not fast enough for shooting, but they are just fine for the home shop.
The internal microphone system allows the wearer to hear normal conversation or a the moderate volume of the shop TV or stereo without removing the muffs, but an electronic sensor cuts out the internal speakers when you turn on a power tool.
An accessory audio port allows you to plug in an MP3 player or other audio source so that you can listen to music or podcasts while mowing the lawn, etc.
The adjustable headband is comfortable to wear for extended periods and I have no problem wearing them for an entire workday in the shop. This eliminates the problem of taking off the muffs to talk with my wife or kids when they come into the shop and then forgetting where I set them down and thus leaving them off for "just one quick cut".
But there are some cons.
The ear cups are a bit shallow. I don't have big ears and they don't stick out that much, but nevertheless, they rub against the interior of the cups. This was irritating at first, but I got used to it. My children however, complain that they are uncomfortable because they rub against their ears too. The cups should be deeper or be lined with a softer material.
The sound reduction without the electronics is only 25 dB. Other passive muffs can do 30 dB, and once you get used to the quiet, that 5 dB becomes pretty noticeable.
Be aware that the accessory audio port is not intended to make these a substitute for studio quality headphones. You can hear your MP3 player, but you can't tune it to earsplitting volume.
Still, they are convenient. They allow me to keep my hearing protection on at all times and still hear what is going on in the shop. I can hear the shop stereo clearly without turning it up loud. When my children are in the shop with me, I make them wear these as well and it is good that they can hear me give instructions and warnings.
Ryobi would not have to do much to make these perfect. Deepen the ear cups and line them with a softer material. Replace the cuffs with better quality liquid filled ones. Add a push on, push of switch so the wearer could shut off the internal microphones without fiddling with the volume setting.
Pros: Easy to Use, Battery Length
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>