728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Door Knobs & Hardware or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Tek4 Digital Key Lock Box with 4-Volt Battery and Charger RP4310-DISCONTINUED

Tek4 Digital Key Lock Box with 4-Volt Battery and Charger RP4310-DISCONTINUED

The Ryobi Tek4 Digital Key Lock Box has flexible code settings and is the perfect tool for when you need to provide access to multiple keys to several people. It also has a manual key override and includes a battery and charger in every kit. If purchased separately battery and charger would cost over 24.
Overall rating:
2.954 / 5
3
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
47%of customersrecommend this product17 of 36reviews
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
3.0 out of 5.0
5
(13)
4
(7)
3
(3)
2
(7)
1
(14)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
47%of customersrecommend this product17 of 36reviews
Customer reviews for Tek4 Digital Key Lock Box with 4-Volt Battery and Charger RP4310-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for Tek4 Digital Key Lock Box with 4-Volt Battery and Charger RP4310-DISCONTINUED
from Santa Ana, CA

Great idea, but lacking refinement

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wanted this at my front door for contractors doing work at my house. The first one I bought was DOA. The second one was good at first, but after about a week, the key door wouldn't open all the time. You could hear the latch released, but the door wouldn't slide down. This product has great potential, but they need to do more work on it. It was on clearance for 22 dollars. That should have been my first clue.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tek4 Digital Key Lock Box with 4-Volt Battery and Charger RP4310-DISCONTINUED
from Salisbury, MD

Defective

PostedNovember 22, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought three of these for controlling access to construction jobs. All three broke within 2 months. one loses time on the clock, one had the opening motor jam, and the last one ran the battery dead overnight (doesn't close properly). Excellent concept, poor quality.
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tek4 Digital Key Lock Box with 4-Volt Battery and Charger RP4310-DISCONTINUED
from DC

Good idea bad product.

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This lock box was exactly what I needed for my business. I read all the reviews and there were more than a few bad ones talking about malfunctioning and not working. I choose to ignore the reviews and buy it anyway. It set it up and it worked perfect, or so I thought. The lock button on the side releases the key box without using the combo. It looked like it was working but it was just an expensive place to put a key unsecured. It does not lock. I did not have the time to send it back but thanks to numerous emails asking me to do a review I can at least tell people to stay away from this.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tek4 Digital Key Lock Box with 4-Volt Battery and Charger RP4310-DISCONTINUED
from Decatur, Georgia

flawed design. Stopped working after a week.

PostedJuly 10, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The lock box looks impressive and pretty sturdy, even though many parts are out of plastic.
The box has one master code and allows for ten contractor codes. In addition one can setup temporary one time codes. Unfortunately, any code that opens the key chamber also allows the removal of the lock box from whatever it was attached to.
Operation is cumbersome: the rubber key pad is not very responsive, one has to type slowly. The locking mechanism doesn't actually open the key compartment. There is a mechanical release button on the side of the box to do that.
After using the box at one of my construction sites for about a week I discovered that the release button would open the compartment regardless of whether the electronic lock was engaged or not.
Not much security here. I hope I can use the rechargeable 4v battery for something else.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tek4 Digital Key Lock Box with 4-Volt Battery and Charger RP4310-DISCONTINUED
from Atlanta, Ga

Filmsy

PostedJuly 11, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I purchased 2 of these items. One worked, the other didn't. It's a neat idea and perfect for realtors who have several diffrent types of conractors coming by during closing if they are not using a Supra box. Most likable idea is you can add up to 8 different codes. One for plumbers, one for electricians, etc. You can even do a 1 time code.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tek4 Digital Key Lock Box with 4-Volt Battery and Charger RP4310-DISCONTINUED
from Charleston, SC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product, but hard to program

PostedDecember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased the lock box on sale for less than $10 so it's an excellent value compared to others costing 3-4X more. The 1st thing you notice is the heft of the lock box, it's heavy and well-constructed. It feels like it could take heavy duty use and probably stop a casual thief from breaking into it. The storage space is not that big compared to the size of the lock box. Think size of a regular screwdriver handle 3 in long. But we are only going to put a couple of keys in it so no problem there. To open the lock you have to key-in your code and then press open while holding the door release button. Not a big problem, but you'll need both hands to do this task. Why you can't just enter your code and press the open button and it unlocks is beyond me. The feature set has an excellent array of digital options. But it is hard to program, it took multiple attempts just to set the master code. Once you get it programmed it's great. We'll use the lock box to control access to our hunting club land. Overall a good buy for the price, but it has it's quarks that if you can live with, then it's a buy.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tek4 Digital Key Lock Box with 4-Volt Battery and Charger RP4310-DISCONTINUED

Lock Box, excellent purchase

PostedNovember 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I got tired of losing my key to my shed and finally purchased this lock box and never have to worry about it again. It was very easy to program and use, so much so my kids can use it as well. No more losing my key and the lock box has been through it's first winter and summer and is heading into the second winter and looks very nice. I was worried it would get damaged in the elements but it has stood the test of mother nature.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tek4 Digital Key Lock Box with 4-Volt Battery and Charger RP4310-DISCONTINUED
from Pendleton Oregon

Good tool

PostedApril 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this so my kids dont need to take there keys to school with them. I love this tool alot.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tek4 Digital Key Lock Box with 4-Volt Battery and Charger RP4310-DISCONTINUED
from Roswell
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great durable product and easy to assemble

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have been using this product for over 6 months at this point and it is extremely useful and easy to use.
Pros:
- You can have multiple access codes for different users
- You can monitor the time the lock box was used
- Battery life - so far I did not have to recharge the batteries and it is still not even 50% used
Cons:
- None at this point in time
I really recommend this item if you are able to find online or on your local store.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tek4 Digital Key Lock Box with 4-Volt Battery and Charger RP4310-DISCONTINUED
from Charles Town WV

Has many features compartment is small for size of unit.

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My unit did not work out of box. Gears operated but box did not open. It did open with key so there was a internal problem. Programing went easy had to program to operate this is when I found out it did not work. For the size of the unit I was disapointed that the key holder inside was so small. It will hold a couple of keys but not say a remote key like a auto key (which is why I bought it so I could lock it to a solid part of a vehicle and lock key inside so I would not have to carry it and others would have access to it. They in turn would be able to lock their keys into the trunk and not have to carry theirs no lost keys or damaged remotes from water or getting lost) This is the same as hanging on a door knob for access to buildings.Like I said key holder inside is small and unit did not work out of box so I can not review any of the many features.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tek4 Digital Key Lock Box with 4-Volt Battery and Charger RP4310-DISCONTINUED
from Oak Park, CA

Great idea but not reliable

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the second unit I purchased - the first had to be immediately returned because it regularly failed to open properly. The second one is better but still refuses to open once in a while. You have to press the side button deeply with edge of thumbnail in order to get it open and that's difficult to explain to other users. A great idea, though, and I wish they'd make one that works easily and reliability.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tek4 Digital Key Lock Box with 4-Volt Battery and Charger RP4310-DISCONTINUED

Awesome Product!

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This works as expected. It is much more bulky than I expected it to be which was a + since it meant that the unit is much stronger. The overall configuration wasn't as easy as I wanted it to be but once I got it working it was great.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Tek4 Digital Key Lock Box with 4-Volt Battery and Charger RP4310-DISCONTINUED

Great Product For Price

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Solid product for the price. Read directions carefully, initial code entries can be frustrating if you don't follow directions.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Tek4 Digital Key Lock Box with 4-Volt Battery and Charger RP4310-DISCONTINUED
from Texas

Never worked

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product would never give you the master code access, build quality seems good. Cost more to ship back for return than for it to collect dust.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tek4 Digital Key Lock Box with 4-Volt Battery and Charger RP4310-DISCONTINUED

failed to function

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Twice I ordered this item online, charge the battery and twice it failed to operate properly.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Tek4 Digital Key Lock Box with 4-Volt Battery and Charger RP4310-DISCONTINUED

would have ordered more.

PostedJuly 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
works great! I use this every day. stong construction.
the best one ever.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Tek4 Digital Key Lock Box with 4-Volt Battery and Charger RP4310-DISCONTINUED
from Florida/Georgia
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Short Battery Life

PostedFebruary 27, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Setup was rather straightforward but that's where the good turned to BAD. After many repeated tries the best I could get out of a full charge was 3 weeks not 8 months as advertised. Even several emails to Ryobi only got me a wishy washy excuse like your battery is old so I got a new battery with same results.This is not good for someone who needs access once a month because it will DOA. Totally useless for me. Plus after every recharge you need to reset the date and time.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tek4 Digital Key Lock Box with 4-Volt Battery and Charger RP4310-DISCONTINUED
from Newport news, va

Great key box

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This thing is great. I have it on my back door. I was able to program it with 2 diffrent codes that each child remembers.. Further it can program for 1 tome access, which had let us go enjoy the water park when our heating & cooling company came out to do maitnace. Finally our family came to town and I used another feature to program the box with a code I gave the family. And set it do that the day after they left the code expired. This thing is great, many program options. Very easy to use. This had made it so I do not have to worry about my kids losing keys. Very very cool box. Thinking of geting another one to mount out on my shed. It even comes with a mount for such type of also application.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tek4 Digital Key Lock Box with 4-Volt Battery and Charger RP4310-DISCONTINUED
from Fairway, Kansas

To Large, Heavy, Complicated.

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Unit looked cool on-line, but upon receiving the thing was large hard to use on all styles of knobs. The item weighs to much and just overall over engineered. The combo locks that I have used in the past are very adequate and a lot easier to use. I returned it and can't recommend it.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Tek4 Digital Key Lock Box with 4-Volt Battery and Charger RP4310-DISCONTINUED
from Toms River, NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works like a charm!

PostedOctober 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After reading through reviews here, I very reluctantly purchased this unit when on sale. I don't know where all of the negative reviews are coming from -- especially the ones about the unit opening without a digital code. The unit works exactly as I would have expected and opens only with 1) a key, 2) the master code, or 3) any of the temporary codes you've already programmed. Battery life so far seems fine -- just be sure to fully charge the battery prior to programming/operating. I'd buy it again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>