728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Desiccant Dryer

Desiccant Dryer

Desiccant dryers provide extremely dry air for applications requiring complete removal of water and water vapors (such as painting). The desiccant material absorbs moisture in the air until it becomes saturated. After the desiccant becomes saturated, it can no longer absorb moisture and must either be regenerated or replaced. To work properly, a desiccant dryer must have a oil removal filter preceding it. For convenience, the desiccant dryer is sold pre-assembled with an oil removal filter and mounting bracket.
Overall rating:
3.733 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product12 of 13reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(4)
4
(7)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product12 of 13reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Desiccant Dryer
Review 1 for Desiccant Dryer
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Air Compressor Water Seperator

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great Product for the price. Makes sandblasting and painting with my compressor much more efficient. Works great and for the price compared to similar desiccant dryer set-ups this items is a great value!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Desiccant Dryer
from Ponte Vedra, FL

Desiccant Dryer Model # PA208503AV

PostedAugust 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have owned the product for three weeks. Appears to work fine under very humid conditions. Very good product for the price.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Desiccant Dryer
from Chesapeake, VA

A bit on the small side.

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It works great but with the amount of air that I put through it while sandblasting/soda blasting, the desiccant needs to be changed every couple of hours. There were absolutely no leaks and I still wouldn't have spent 4 times as much for a bigger one.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Desiccant Dryer
from Austin TX

Nice Unit.

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this to do my blasting, powder coating and painting in my home shop.I also got the CH filter/reguator to go before it. No complaints so far other than that the dessicant bowl could have been at least twice the size. Replacement parts are sold by CH on the internet (you can also re-dry the dessicant). Great value other units are way out of my price range and other sites have this unit listed for almost twice the price! Good buy(s).
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Desiccant Dryer
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice color blue

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have not connected to use it yet. It seems a good product. I was expecting to be larger then what I got. The price is ok but if it can perform good.
Pros: Durable, All In One
-7points
0out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Desiccant Dryer
from Washington
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Product is cheaply made

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product is cheaply made and not worth the money. It is definitely a disposable part even though I could have gotten a much better one for less money if I would have not purchased from Home Depot
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Desiccant Dryer

Very sad for Campbell hausfeld

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
This product from day 1 did not work at all even after re-routing all my lines .There is Definatly a need to rework the Dessicant dryer so it works Properly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Desiccant Dryer
from Texas

EASY TO USE

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The replacement filer and desiccant media are hard to find. Home Depot should check into stocking these items.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Desiccant Dryer
from Bristol CT

Campbell Hausfeld

PostedJune 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have used Campbell Hausfeld products before with very good results. Home Depot had this item listed at a good price.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Desiccant Dryer
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what the doctor ordered

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Use to clean air for airbrushing fish baits, having replacemnet dessicant material was a big plus ... I am able to swap out the material and I bake the moisture laiden pink to reviatalize it which makes it ready for the next use.
Drawback is the O ring that wants to slide up the canister, I did find if I stretch it and quickly place it on the canister and insert the canister into the top of the filter I was able to reseat the assembly successfuly
Pros: All In One, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Strong, Light Weight
Cons: o ring seems a bit undersized
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Desiccant Dryer
from Savannah, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Does what it's supposed to do

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This filter/dryer works as designed. It is geared more for the hobbiest it is NOT designed to move massive amounts of air.
I paint cars (bumpers and such, not whole cars) for a living and clean dry air is mandatory. Works great for what I use. Draining the tank through the air hose was a bit much for the dessicant to handle.
Made a remote drain under the tank and the dessicant has remained blue after 2 weeks of daily use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Desiccant Dryer

a waste of time

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
purschased this product and got it about a week later, installed in my garage to compressor and overnite heard the compressor kick on a couple of times. sprayed for leaks and found leaks both at the inlet and outlet of the filter. took apart and this time used 4 layers of teflon tape, still came up with a leak. cleaned and screwed in fittings without teflon to make sure im using the right size fittings, and they screw in but leaves a little wiggle room. returning this today. expected a better product. will definetly run up your electric bill and cost you more in the long run.
-2points
4out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Desiccant Dryer
from houston texas

only get half use

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The desiccant beads turn pink at the bottom third of the canister and then moister starts to get through before the upper portion of beads turn pink.
If the design allowed to use up all the beads before changing them out it would be better...It works good other wise...for the price I guess...bought one two weeks ago and the next week went to buy one for the other shop and they went up $20 ...it used to be a good deal.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Desiccant Dryer

Desiccant dryer

PostedOctober 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It performs the way it describes. Works well on my plasma cutter. It saves consumables lifespan.
Pros: best price on this item i could find.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Desiccant Dryer
from Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far so good, 3 weeks in service and no problems

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product as advertised, so far no problems after 3 weeks in use, home shop use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.