728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Bat House

Bat House

Easy enough for an 8-year-old, but fun for all ages, this pre-cut wooden kit encourages creativity and instills a sense of accomplishment. You will learn to sand with the grain of the wood, hammer and create real cool stuff in less than an hour. These useful items will be treasured for years. Parents of younger children will have fun working with them on this project. Parts are made of wood, and kit includes all necessary assembly hardware. Can be used as-is, or painted or stained and adorned with stickers or stamps. Glue, hammer and/or screwdriver not included.
Overall rating:
4.083 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product11 of 12reviews
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(5)
4
(5)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product11 of 12reviews
Customer reviews for Bat House
Review 1 for Bat House
from Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not a Certified Bat House!

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This bat house is simply too small for bats. The minimum size is 14" wide and at least a 20" tall chamber(s). Also, the chambers should be no more than 3/4" in depth.
This maybe a fun project but it is simply conVERsational not conSERvational. For a REAL bat house that works, search for a Certified bat house builder. Preferably constructed from rough cut cedar.
Cons: not a certified bat house, too small
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+39points
46out of 53found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bat House
from Arlington, MA, USA

These were a great deal and lots of fun

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had eight kids ages 4-8 make these bat houses and they turned out great. The kids needed a decent amount of parent help, but they could do a lot on their own and the whole project took about 15-20 minutes, well within their attention zone. They then decorated them and made them their own. So fun!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bat House
from Cleveland, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Holy Smokes Batman!!

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What a great item. Super easy to put together and a great price. A fun craft afternoon with my three year old! I just hope the bats move in quickly.
Pros: Easy to Install, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bat House
from Indianapolis

Bat Houses Great for Kids

PostedMay 15, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought 25 of these kits for my 8-9 year old Brownies. We had studied bat conservation for Earth Day and this was our final activity. They worked in pairs. With adult supervision, each team was able to build two bat houses (one for each girl) in an hour. They LOVED this activity. My only complaints are: the directions were not real clear...the pictures did not match the actual items in the kit, so it was hard to figure out which piece was indicated. Fortunately, it's not a complicated kit so we could do it without instructions. Also, the nails provided were bigger (and therefor harder to use) than needed. If I were to do it again, I'd pick up a box of 1.5 inch finishing nails to use instead. That said, I would definitely recommend this product. (I did think the price was a tad high, but there was a free shipping promo at the time so that helped a lot...because this item is not in the stores.)
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bat House
from TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy project to complete.

PostedJune 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The number of nails included in the kit needs to be increased.
Pros: easy project to complete
Cons: not enough nails included
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bat House
from CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent value

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble, wonderful thing to do for animals
Pros: High Quality of Material
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bat House
from Denton, TX

Bare Bones Bat House Kit

PostedJuly 10, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Cheap and easy BUT,
almost nonexistent instructions including the picture diagrams that don't even pretend to match the actual wooden parts.
The thin wooden parts will probably warp and not stand up to much weather.
However, not a large investment either.
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bat House
from Massachusetts

bat house is great

PostedDecember 8, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We had a fantastic time building the house. It was simple except for the first side that needed to be done. It made a great gift for grandparents who love bats and have some outside thier house in the summer. :)
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bat House
from Dallas, TX

Bat House project with the Grandsons

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The kit went together fairly easily...Grandsons applied glue and pounded nails after I got them started...they also sanded the parts before assembly...only problem was a mismatch of roof size with angled mounting surface; at least 1/8" shy when excess overlap would probably be better; just split the difference as the roof still covered portions of the side tops...
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bat House
from Savannah, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great product

PostedFebruary 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Grand kids had a ball learning how to build something. Consider having a childs tool kit for sale. I found a great on at Target. I would have felt much better buying them at HD, as I am a stock holder. (I bought 7 ea. at about $14 each - 2 were Pink)
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bat House
from Salisbury, MD, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Educational Project

PostedApril 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had a great time watching grandchild work on project as well as look up information about Bat's on the internet.
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bat House
from Foley, Alabama
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The bat houses were great features of our Earth Day Festival.

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The children enjoyed building them. The only complaint is that the kit would be easier with some pre-drilled holes for starting point on the larger nails.
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.