728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Indoor Christmas Decorations or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for North Pole Express Train Set

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

North Pole Express Train Set

Invite this North Pole Express Train Set into your home for the holidays. Extensive, 35-piece set includes a locomotive, coal tender, car with elves, caboose, box car, 7 road signs, 12 curved tracks, 10 straight tracks and a radio-controlled transmitter. The train set plays festive Christmas carols and features operating train headlight for a realistic touch. Traditional O-gauge. Powered by 4 C batteries and 9-volt battery (not included). For ages 3 years and older.
Overall rating:
3.978 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(91 reviews) 91
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product68 of 86reviews
Rating Breakdown 91 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(46)
4
(19)
3
(12)
2
(6)
1
(8)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product68 of 86reviews
Customer reviews for North Pole Express Train Set
Review 41 for North Pole Express Train Set
from San Antonio, TX

AWESOME TRAIN AND GREAT VALUE

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm so happy with this purchase. I've been looking for a Christmas train for a long time. They were just too expensive even off season. I bought this at an incredible price. The reviews were good and I agree. The train is much bigger than I expected. The figures move, the music is awesome and it even has a remote. The only thing missing that I would have loved would be smoke but I can live without it.
I saw the same train at a local store for almost double the price! So go ahead and buy it. You won't regret it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for North Pole Express Train Set
from DeSoto, Tx

Christmas Train

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great buy. My 5 year son wants to play with " HIS" train everyday. When it's time to put it up after Christmas, he's going to be one sad little fella. Train was easy to set up and the price was awesome, only $29.99 with free shipping.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for North Pole Express Train Set
from Burleson, TX

Great Christmas Train

PostedDecember 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My 8 year old daughter loves this train set. This is the third set we bought in the last three years and is a keeper.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 44 for North Pole Express Train Set
from Titusville Fl
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

5 yr old Grandaughter loved it !

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Nice Large Train set to go around the Christmas tree or set up to run anywhere, anytime, sturdy large 20 feet of track, easy to put together, detailed large cars, with moving parts, lights & sound & remote control. Great Value for the money, got it On sale and Shipped free ( even better ) grandaughter loved it and could manage the remote and train by herself.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for North Pole Express Train Set
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

looks great

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
we put it under the christmas tree. has more than enough track.fun to watch and listen to.my wife plays with it all the time
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for North Pole Express Train Set
from Texas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product for under the tree atmosphere. Grandkids love it!

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product is simple to operate. Even our two year old grandson likes to grab the remote control and play with the train. Battery operated so no electrical connection. Safe for most ages.
They liked it so much that we had to send ours to them and purchase another for this year.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Functional
Cons: train derails easily
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for North Pole Express Train Set
from Fontana, California

Good for the holidays

PostedDecember 6, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This product is a nice addition to go under the tree while the 12 days of Christmas come up it brings joy to hear the xmas toons play and the sound of a little traine.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 48 for North Pole Express Train Set
from Englewood, NJ, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product But Not Perfect

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The overall look of the set is nice. It has a rich, pricy appearance. Set up was quick and straight-forward. Didn't really need instructions. The remote works well and from a reasonable distance. Remote functionality is adequate, controls forward and backward motion, stop and sound. The kids love it. The problems I have with it are the motor noise is quite loud, the individual cars does not have lights (only the train), the train gets derailed too easily and the sound volume is not adjustable. But overall I am pleased with the purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for North Pole Express Train Set

For the price great

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
As others said the front wheels wont stay on the tracks but it doesn't effect the train. Remote quit working after 8 days. Still what do you want for the price a Lionel
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for North Pole Express Train Set
from KEY WEST, FL

LOVE IT!

PostedDecember 1, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
BOTH OF MY SONS LOVE THIS TRAIN! IT'S FUN AND VERY "CHRISTMASY" LOVE IT!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for North Pole Express Train Set
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Kids Favorite

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was searching for a Christmas train for around my tree for awhile that would suit our needs and was not too expensive. I came across this one that not only plays music but has elves that go up and down and the price was right. I have two boys and they absolutely love it as do I. It is easy to put together and is adorable. The only complaint I had is that within a week the battery died and we really didn't have it on that much. Since we will only take out during the holidays it wasn't a big deal to me. Great buy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for North Pole Express Train Set

Amazing!

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This train is awesome. Having a remote for it is the icing on the cake! It is large enough to be seen but not to large to take away from the tree. Only downfall is it is very loud.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for North Pole Express Train Set
from South Carolina
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great train for the boy who loves trains

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My grandson (2 years old) absolutely loves trains! He saw this at a friend's house and wouldn't leave without the promise of finding one for him. Luckily, your product finder located one about 10 miles away (great feature BTW) and it was waiting for us when we got there. He was able to easily operate it and just loves it! Great product! (it does need batteries!)
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 54 for North Pole Express Train Set
from Northeast United States
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The product has the ability to catch the attention of small children.

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
For the price this is a good train set. The tracks do not allow too much alteration for space allotment. The tracks are not permanently locked to maintain continuous travel. You need to check them after a short while of usage. I have this train set for Christmas because I enjoy the smiles it creates in my young grandchildren. In fact, I like it that much I ordered this one after I purchased one for my home in Florida when we celebrated Christmas there.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for North Pole Express Train Set
from Gasport, NY 14067, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very good value

PostedJanuary 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I really love the train but the sound of the train drowns out the music and it falls off the track very easily. It was a little bigger than I expected, also. Little things that could be fixed by the designer. I did buy two more on black friday for presents. All in all an affordable train.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for North Pole Express Train Set
from Orange County, CA

Really nice train for the price.

PostedDecember 5, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I paid $30 for this train from HomeDepot.com. We couldn't be happier! Runs smooth, nice music and sound effects. Motor is a little loud, but that is ok. And some of the plastic wheels squeak, but I'm sure it's nothing a little oil wouldn't fix.
Overall, we are very happy with this purchase. It looks great under our Christmas Tree! (Christmas Tree, not a Holiday Tree...)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for North Pole Express Train Set
from NE Georgia

a good toy train for 5-10 yearolds

PostedFebruary 10, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is my 3rd set. woreout 1st set in three years of use with grandson. Kept the track and now own two engines and 3 sets of cars and tracks which can be used together. Tracks get loose after much use but can be held together with rubberbands. A good toy which allows child to be creative in track setup and use of other play sets to set up a town.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 58 for North Pole Express Train Set
from Cape Coral Florida

North pole Train Set

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Nice little "toy" train set.The good: Large cars, animated, easy to assemble and inexpensive. The bad: Batteries wear easily, wheels squeak. For the money......its not a bad set.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for North Pole Express Train Set
from Stratford, CT, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Deal!

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Picked it up on Black Friday for $25. It was easy to put together; we set it up under the Christmas tree. The remote makes it easy for the kids to operate and it kept them busy while my husband and I decorated the tree. The music is a bit repeatative and quality is a bit off but other than that, it was a perfect add on to the decor.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for North Pole Express Train Set
from Houston, TX

Great value!

PostedNovember 27, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is a fun-for-kids train set that meets expectations for the price. The track is easy to assemble and plenty long enough to go around the base of our 8' Christmas Tree with room to spare. The train doesn't like to go backwards (click, click, click, ...) but is fine forwards. The "music" isn't great and always restarts from the first song if you stop it. However, this is a cheap price for a remote control train and makes for a great value if seen that way. The only other reviewer so far must have had pieces missing from the box, as any one of the tracks can be made if the pieces are all there.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5 >>