728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for North Pole Express Train Set

North Pole Express Train Set

Invite this North Pole Express Train Set into your home for the holidays. Extensive, 35-piece set includes a locomotive, coal tender, car with elves, caboose, box car, 7 road signs, 12 curved tracks, 10 straight tracks and a radio-controlled transmitter. The train set plays festive Christmas carols and features operating train headlight for a realistic touch. Traditional O-gauge. Powered by 4 C batteries and 9-volt battery (not included). For ages 3 years and older.
Overall rating:
3.978 / 5
4
 / 
5
(91 reviews) 91
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product68 of 86reviews
Rating Breakdown 91 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(46)
4
(19)
3
(12)
2
(6)
1
(8)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product68 of 86reviews
Customer reviews for North Pole Express Train Set
Review 41 for North Pole Express Train Set
from Carnegie, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth much more than the price!

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this train set at work and was amazed at the high quality of set! There is a lot more track than I realized, so I was able to make different layouts with it. The sounds, both the engine sound and the music, are clearly audiable. The remote works well and you can turn the music off and on and work the train seperately with the remote.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 42 for North Pole Express Train Set
from Tennessee, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great item

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got this to go under our Christmas tree due to the fact that our two year old son loves trains. Our son loved it from the start. This looks to be the same train that I have seen in stores for twice the price. Great train.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for North Pole Express Train Set
from Melbourne, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Nice Train with Good Features.

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Excellent train for under your Christmas Tree. I really like the remote control feature.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for North Pole Express Train Set
from Vienna, VA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It's for 3-5 year olds!

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is the most ideal for children between ages of 3 and 5. In fact, they can use the remote to go forward, backwards, stop, and blow the horn and play chistmas carols!
If you are careful, you can make the train follow on its course and teach your child or grandchild how to put it together and take it apart. The details are rough enough that a child of this age can try with a little effort to figure it himself with a little guidance.
It's true that it sound a bit loud, but it is about the same noise level he or she would made. My grandson uses the engine to all around the house with just the little light on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for North Pole Express Train Set
from Titusville Fl
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

5 yr old Grandaughter loved it !

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Nice Large Train set to go around the Christmas tree or set up to run anywhere, anytime, sturdy large 20 feet of track, easy to put together, detailed large cars, with moving parts, lights & sound & remote control. Great Value for the money, got it On sale and Shipped free ( even better ) grandaughter loved it and could manage the remote and train by herself.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for North Pole Express Train Set
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

looks great

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
we put it under the christmas tree. has more than enough track.fun to watch and listen to.my wife plays with it all the time
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for North Pole Express Train Set
from Stratford, CT, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Deal!

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Picked it up on Black Friday for $25. It was easy to put together; we set it up under the Christmas tree. The remote makes it easy for the kids to operate and it kept them busy while my husband and I decorated the tree. The music is a bit repeatative and quality is a bit off but other than that, it was a perfect add on to the decor.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for North Pole Express Train Set
from Englewood, NJ, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product But Not Perfect

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The overall look of the set is nice. It has a rich, pricy appearance. Set up was quick and straight-forward. Didn't really need instructions. The remote works well and from a reasonable distance. Remote functionality is adequate, controls forward and backward motion, stop and sound. The kids love it. The problems I have with it are the motor noise is quite loud, the individual cars does not have lights (only the train), the train gets derailed too easily and the sound volume is not adjustable. But overall I am pleased with the purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for North Pole Express Train Set
from Houston, TX

Great value!

PostedNovember 27, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a fun-for-kids train set that meets expectations for the price. The track is easy to assemble and plenty long enough to go around the base of our 8' Christmas Tree with room to spare. The train doesn't like to go backwards (click, click, click, ...) but is fine forwards. The "music" isn't great and always restarts from the first song if you stop it. However, this is a cheap price for a remote control train and makes for a great value if seen that way. The only other reviewer so far must have had pieces missing from the box, as any one of the tracks can be made if the pieces are all there.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for North Pole Express Train Set
from South Carolina
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great train for the boy who loves trains

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My grandson (2 years old) absolutely loves trains! He saw this at a friend's house and wouldn't leave without the promise of finding one for him. Luckily, your product finder located one about 10 miles away (great feature BTW) and it was waiting for us when we got there. He was able to easily operate it and just loves it! Great product! (it does need batteries!)
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 51 for North Pole Express Train Set

nice train set. short battery life

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Nice train set, easy assembly. ShoRt battery life.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Functional
Cons: short battery life .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for North Pole Express Train Set
from Fontana, California

Good for the holidays

PostedDecember 6, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product is a nice addition to go under the tree while the 12 days of Christmas come up it brings joy to hear the xmas toons play and the sound of a little traine.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 53 for North Pole Express Train Set
from Cape Coral Florida

North pole Train Set

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Nice little "toy" train set.The good: Large cars, animated, easy to assemble and inexpensive. The bad: Batteries wear easily, wheels squeak. For the money......its not a bad set.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for North Pole Express Train Set
from Orange County, CA

Really nice train for the price.

PostedDecember 5, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I paid $30 for this train from HomeDepot.com. We couldn't be happier! Runs smooth, nice music and sound effects. Motor is a little loud, but that is ok. And some of the plastic wheels squeak, but I'm sure it's nothing a little oil wouldn't fix.
Overall, we are very happy with this purchase. It looks great under our Christmas Tree! (Christmas Tree, not a Holiday Tree...)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for North Pole Express Train Set
from NE Georgia

a good toy train for 5-10 yearolds

PostedFebruary 10, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is my 3rd set. woreout 1st set in three years of use with grandson. Kept the track and now own two engines and 3 sets of cars and tracks which can be used together. Tracks get loose after much use but can be held together with rubberbands. A good toy which allows child to be creative in track setup and use of other play sets to set up a town.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 56 for North Pole Express Train Set

kids love it!

PostedNovember 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
i got this on black friday so it was a great deal. the train looks cool. nice and big and chunky. it is plastic but no biggie. my only beef is it is SUPER, SUPER loud....annoying almost. other than that, looks great under the tree.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for North Pole Express Train Set
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth the money

PostedDecember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this train on Black Friday because my train crazed grandson wanted a “BIG” train. He is very rough with his toys and I really never expected this set to last through the first day. I mounted the track on a sheet of 4x4 particle board. It sticks out over the sides by a little, but screwing the track to the sheet keeps it very sturdy. This boy will get hours of enjoyment out of the $25 investment even if he does break it. He is 2 1/2 years old and even made up a song about the train he loves.
Home Depot song
Home Depot song
You can buy a train
Choo choo.....Choo choo
Buy a train
Woo woo....Woo woo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 58 for North Pole Express Train Set
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Kids Favorite

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was searching for a Christmas train for around my tree for awhile that would suit our needs and was not too expensive. I came across this one that not only plays music but has elves that go up and down and the price was right. I have two boys and they absolutely love it as do I. It is easy to put together and is adorable. The only complaint I had is that within a week the battery died and we really didn't have it on that much. Since we will only take out during the holidays it wasn't a big deal to me. Great buy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for North Pole Express Train Set

Amazing!

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This train is awesome. Having a remote for it is the icing on the cake! It is large enough to be seen but not to large to take away from the tree. Only downfall is it is very loud.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for North Pole Express Train Set
from Indianapolis IN

Christmas Train

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The train is beautiful and easy to assemble. The only donw side is the battery life. I would recommend this train but not as a toy. It is more than large enough to go around a tree. I wish I could find an electric one. I love this train except for the battery life.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5 >>