728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for North Pole Express Train Set

North Pole Express Train Set

Invite this North Pole Express Train Set into your home for the holidays. Extensive, 35-piece set includes a locomotive, coal tender, car with elves, caboose, box car, 7 road signs, 12 curved tracks, 10 straight tracks and a radio-controlled transmitter. The train set plays festive Christmas carols and features operating train headlight for a realistic touch. Traditional O-gauge. Powered by 4 C batteries and 9-volt battery (not included). For ages 3 years and older.
Overall rating:
3.978 / 5
4
 / 
5
(91 reviews) 91
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product68 of 86reviews
Rating Breakdown 91 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(46)
4
(19)
3
(12)
2
(6)
1
(8)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product68 of 86reviews
Customer reviews for North Pole Express Train Set
Review 41 for North Pole Express Train Set

Great train set for the tree

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to assemble. Looks & works great. Comes with plenty of track to go around a large tree, and train stays on the track. The remote allows you to go forward & back, and you also can play the music & whistle or hit the mute. Saw it for almost double the price at other sites.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 42 for North Pole Express Train Set
from Texas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product for under the tree atmosphere. Grandkids love it!

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is simple to operate. Even our two year old grandson likes to grab the remote control and play with the train. Battery operated so no electrical connection. Safe for most ages.
They liked it so much that we had to send ours to them and purchase another for this year.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Functional
Cons: train derails easily
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for North Pole Express Train Set
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:25 to 34

Great for putting around the tree.

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My kids love trains and I found this on clearance. It was put under the tree to circle around the presents for Christmas morning and it was great. My kids played with it for about two weeks after Christmas because they loved it so much and then it was put away to be stored for the next Christmas. Would definitely recommend for anyone looking for a nice train to go around their tree. I questioned the quality of the plastic track pieces, but they turned out to be quite sturdy. Very happy with this product.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Functional, remote control included, decent quality sound
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 44 for North Pole Express Train Set
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Beautiful and fun train set.

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my first train set that I bought for my little son. I have to run to 3 difference stores to get this set. When I set it up, it's look nice and really easy to assembly. The train has light and Christmas music very nice and really traditional thing for the Christmas time. I love it so much. Compare the price between Walmart and Home Depot, I like Home Depot better, because the products at Home Depot are better quality.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Lots of Features, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for North Pole Express Train Set
from Montgomery Village, M
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product and fun

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great price for a great product and gives your christmas a more joyful feel!!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Vibrant Color, Rich Looking, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Well Made, Nice Design
Cons: Easily Damaged
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for North Pole Express Train Set
from Arkadelphia, AR, USA

Great Deal!

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We wanted to get our son a train to go around our Christmas tree. He absolutely loves it. It is a great deal. All the other trains we found were over $200. We were suprised at how big it was. We were expecting a smaller version because of the price. It is worth the money.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for North Pole Express Train Set
from LAKEWOOD OHIO

PostedDecember 5, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
IT IS A LOT BIGGER THAN I THOUGHT IT WOULD BE. WAS LOOKING FOR A SMALL TRAIN BUT STILL VERY NICE. SOMETHING THE CHILDREN WILL REALLY ENJOY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for North Pole Express Train Set
from Fontana, California

Good for the holidays

PostedDecember 6, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product is a nice addition to go under the tree while the 12 days of Christmas come up it brings joy to hear the xmas toons play and the sound of a little traine.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 49 for North Pole Express Train Set
from Orange County, CA

Really nice train for the price.

PostedDecember 5, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I paid $30 for this train from HomeDepot.com. We couldn't be happier! Runs smooth, nice music and sound effects. Motor is a little loud, but that is ok. And some of the plastic wheels squeak, but I'm sure it's nothing a little oil wouldn't fix.
Overall, we are very happy with this purchase. It looks great under our Christmas Tree! (Christmas Tree, not a Holiday Tree...)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for North Pole Express Train Set
from Houston, TX

Great value!

PostedNovember 27, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a fun-for-kids train set that meets expectations for the price. The track is easy to assemble and plenty long enough to go around the base of our 8' Christmas Tree with room to spare. The train doesn't like to go backwards (click, click, click, ...) but is fine forwards. The "music" isn't great and always restarts from the first song if you stop it. However, this is a cheap price for a remote control train and makes for a great value if seen that way. The only other reviewer so far must have had pieces missing from the box, as any one of the tracks can be made if the pieces are all there.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for North Pole Express Train Set
from KEY WEST, FL

LOVE IT!

PostedDecember 1, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
BOTH OF MY SONS LOVE THIS TRAIN! IT'S FUN AND VERY "CHRISTMASY" LOVE IT!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for North Pole Express Train Set
from NE Georgia

a good toy train for 5-10 yearolds

PostedFebruary 10, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is my 3rd set. woreout 1st set in three years of use with grandson. Kept the track and now own two engines and 3 sets of cars and tracks which can be used together. Tracks get loose after much use but can be held together with rubberbands. A good toy which allows child to be creative in track setup and use of other play sets to set up a town.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 53 for North Pole Express Train Set
from Indianapolis IN

Christmas Train

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The train is beautiful and easy to assemble. The only donw side is the battery life. I would recommend this train but not as a toy. It is more than large enough to go around a tree. I wish I could find an electric one. I love this train except for the battery life.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for North Pole Express Train Set
from Cape Coral Florida

North pole Train Set

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Nice little "toy" train set.The good: Large cars, animated, easy to assemble and inexpensive. The bad: Batteries wear easily, wheels squeak. For the money......its not a bad set.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for North Pole Express Train Set
from Gasport, NY 14067, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very good value

PostedJanuary 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I really love the train but the sound of the train drowns out the music and it falls off the track very easily. It was a little bigger than I expected, also. Little things that could be fixed by the designer. I did buy two more on black friday for presents. All in all an affordable train.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for North Pole Express Train Set
from South Carolina
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great train for the boy who loves trains

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My grandson (2 years old) absolutely loves trains! He saw this at a friend's house and wouldn't leave without the promise of finding one for him. Luckily, your product finder located one about 10 miles away (great feature BTW) and it was waiting for us when we got there. He was able to easily operate it and just loves it! Great product! (it does need batteries!)
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 57 for North Pole Express Train Set

kids love it!

PostedNovember 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
i got this on black friday so it was a great deal. the train looks cool. nice and big and chunky. it is plastic but no biggie. my only beef is it is SUPER, SUPER loud....annoying almost. other than that, looks great under the tree.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for North Pole Express Train Set
from Northeast United States
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The product has the ability to catch the attention of small children.

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
For the price this is a good train set. The tracks do not allow too much alteration for space allotment. The tracks are not permanently locked to maintain continuous travel. You need to check them after a short while of usage. I have this train set for Christmas because I enjoy the smiles it creates in my young grandchildren. In fact, I like it that much I ordered this one after I purchased one for my home in Florida when we celebrated Christmas there.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for North Pole Express Train Set
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth the money

PostedDecember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this train on Black Friday because my train crazed grandson wanted a “BIG” train. He is very rough with his toys and I really never expected this set to last through the first day. I mounted the track on a sheet of 4x4 particle board. It sticks out over the sides by a little, but screwing the track to the sheet keeps it very sturdy. This boy will get hours of enjoyment out of the $25 investment even if he does break it. He is 2 1/2 years old and even made up a song about the train he loves.
Home Depot song
Home Depot song
You can buy a train
Choo choo.....Choo choo
Buy a train
Woo woo....Woo woo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 60 for North Pole Express Train Set
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Kids Favorite

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was searching for a Christmas train for around my tree for awhile that would suit our needs and was not too expensive. I came across this one that not only plays music but has elves that go up and down and the price was right. I have two boys and they absolutely love it as do I. It is easy to put together and is adorable. The only complaint I had is that within a week the battery died and we really didn't have it on that much. Since we will only take out during the holidays it wasn't a big deal to me. Great buy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5 >>