728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Top Freezer Refrigerators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 14.4 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White

14.4 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White

Small spaces are no problem for this 14.4 cu. ft. top-freezer refrigerator that provides flexible food storage in the traditional form. Up-front temperature controls make it easy to keep it cool. Plus, with adjustable shelves it's easy to customize storage.
Overall rating:
4.395 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product34 of 37reviews
Rating Breakdown 38 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(23)
4
(11)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product34 of 37reviews
Customer reviews for 14.4 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
Review 1 for 14.4 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White

Great fridge, great price

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best fridge out there for a small apartment with a tight budget. I checked online and in stores for months before making my purchasing decision. Running for a month without issue. Good size. My only complaint is there are no adjustable shelves on the door.
For the electrically challenged, make sure the fridge is on it's own circuit, not one with other outlets or lights, or especially other appliances like a toaster oven. Otherwise you may trip the circuit breaker when you decide to make some toast and the fridge's compressor happens to kick on.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 14.4 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from Cambridge MA

it fits and it works

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a basic, inexpensive, reliable fridge. It holds enough for my family of 4, though we're not heavy users (we don't save leftovers, for example).
I bought it because it fits in the exact space that my old circa 1994 Whirlpool fridge fit in. In fact it has a lot in common with my old fridge. I think it is this year's version of the same exact model. Wikipedia confirms that Whirlpool makes Amana fridges. The old fridge was still going strong after 16 years (it just looked a little beat up), so that bodes well for this latest model in its lineage.
Two disappointments: There's no gallon storage in the door, and there's no full-width freezer shelf. I got around the freezer shelf issue by using the one from my old fridge, which fits perfectly. Most people won't have that option.
There is a very small freezer shelf. It's just wide enough to put two ice cube trays under it (trays not included). This means you can stack items over your ice, not in your ice.
I really did have a hard time finding a fridge that would fit into the exact space I had. Many are several inches too deep. Also, my space is exactly 28 1/2" wide and the fridge door opens up against a wall. On some fridges the thickness of the door means you need an extra inch of clearance or else the hinged end of the door will rub against the wall as it opens. On this Amana fridge the hinged end of the door sticks out maybe 1/8" at most, allowing it to fit.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 14.4 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from new jersey

happy camper

PostedFebruary 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
great size for 1 or 2 people, I deal for studio apt.
quiet, love the cisper drawers
would recommend this model
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 14.4 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from Northern, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64

On-line Amana 14.4 fridge purchase-a breeze!

PostedMarch 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We were looking for a smaller size refrigerator to put in our garage and use for overflow groceries. Based on HD's website product information/specifications and customer reviews, we chose this Amana model. Our on-line purchase experience was painless... all the info was available & with photos...no need to go to the store. (Note: the photo correctly shows a 1/3-size shelf in the freezer, which may have been overlooked by another reviewer.) After a quick-click purchase on a Sunday night, our scheduling call for delivery was made within 3 days of purchase-that's fast! Shipping was FREE and the price was the same as on another website. Since HD had a local brick & mortar store, we felt more comfortable purchasing from them, in case there were any issues with the product (& there haven't been any). We've had this fridge about a month and it perfectly fits our needs.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 14.4 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from Lansing, MI

Just what I needed

PostedJuly 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My old fridge died at the worst possible time for me financially but fortunately I came across this item!
Size is perfect for me as I'm single and live alone. This does not mean that it's small however as I'm able to fit a lot in this unit.
It is well made and priced right. Because of the free delivery and pickup of the old unit the value was greatly increased as well!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 14.4 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from 85085
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent little fridge!

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this fridge to enable us to have more room for holiday cooking. Our main fridge is counter-depth which doesn't give us much room. This little fridge is just right for an extra refridgerator and freezer. Very simple design but a great price and capacity for our extra holiday items.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 14.4 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from YORBA LINDA ,CA

WHERE ARE THE SHEVES?

PostedJanuary 26, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is their description of the freezer shelf(Wire freezer shelf allows ample storage for frozen foods) this shelf is a dinky little shelf that will hold (1) ice tray.
This is their description of the fresh food shelves(3 adjustable wire fresh food shelves maximize storage capacity) the refrigerator comes with 2 adjustable wire shelves.
A $400 disappointment.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 14.4 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from Southern Illinois

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the third appliance I have purchased from Home Depot and I couldn't be more pleased. Always smooth delivery. They install and set it up just like you want. This refrigerator is everything I wanted. It is used as an extra one in my laundry/storage room.. Just the right height..more room than you think inside..and quiet. Cooled down quickly and keeps food perfectly. You won't go wrong by buying this one!!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 14.4 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from Las Vegas

Worked satisfactorily after a serviceman connected a loose connection.

PostedJune 18, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This refrigerator was delivered, plugged in and was apparently working. The manual did not list what should be included with the unit .... such as how many shelves, ice cube trays, etc. It did tell how to set the thermostat but did not tell what the ideal temperature for the freezer and refrigerator should be. Never could get the refrigerator cold enough to prevent olive oil from remaining in liquid form. Contacted Amana with little success. Visited the Home Depot that did the delivery and was given a number to call for assistance. They arranged for a technician to check the unit. After this was done, Amana notified me that my problem had been solved. Thanks to Home Depot this purchase worked out satisfactorily.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 14.4 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from olean
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's the right size for 1 person and it's quiet

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No issues with the fridge. It's what I was hoping for
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 14.4 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from Pittsburgh
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good

PostedMay 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have had the refrigerator for 2 weeks now. It is very nice and quiet! I was worried about it being quiet because all the other brands this size were said to be noisy.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 14.4 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product is working fine for our needs.

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ths product is just the right size for the area and wll work well for our needs.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 14.4 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from Michigan

Good Experience

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Fridge was as advertised, good secondary refridgerator. Delivery was on schedule and the delivery men were all courteous and efficient.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 14.4 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from South Carolina

top freezer Amana fridge

PostedOctober 20, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This refrigerator was delivered right on time-very efficient crew.
It is being used as a garage fridge/freezer--it is the perfect size. Very pleased with the performance and appearance.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 14.4 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from New York City

Great purchase, great price

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great price, great item. I could not believe the price when I saw it. Delivery went without a hitch and fridge works like a charm.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 14.4 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from Soquel CA

the reivew

PostedDecember 25, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
this very helpful refrigerator has lasted me for 7 years it is the best gift i have ever gottin if i were you go out and buy one
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 14.4 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from L.I., NY

PostedAugust 3, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Perfect refrigerator for an apartment - have ordered this product several times. It fits, looks good and has plenty of space for one- three persons.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 14.4 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from Studio City, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I love everything about it.

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I couldn't have asked for a better product. It suits my needs perfectly for a refrigerator of its size.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Nice Design, everything works!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 14.4 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from atlantic city
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

will never buy Amana again

PostedSeptember 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased 8/2010
compressor went 9/2012
did not have hard use
was used by a single middle aged lady
who worked full time..days would go by when it was not even opened!
I foolishly did not add a service plan since this replaced a 15 year old fridge that still worked but was tired looking and not energy efficient
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 14.4 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from Western Mass

Good size but where's the freezer shelf?

PostedDecember 26, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The title says it all. I received my fridge 2 days before Christmas. It fits quite a bit which is great for holiday parties. It's very quiet and perfect as a secondary fridge.
The only problem I have is there is no 'real' shelf in the freezer. The shelf is about a 6 inches wide. It can fit a 1/2 gallon of ice cream on it and that's it. I was under the impression that the shelf would be full size, spanning the width of the freezer. I'm going to call Home Depot to inquire.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>