728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Sanders or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5 in. Orbital Sander

5 in. Orbital Sander

The DEWALT 5 in. Orbital Sander features a 3-Amp electronic variable-speed motor which adjusts from 7,000 - 12,000 orbits per minute (OPM) for ideal sanding speed and a smooth finish. Its Controlled Finishing System maintains controllable pad speed while minimizing gouging during startup. This sander features a lock-on switch for continuous operation, a dust-sealed switch to help prevent contamination and a high-capacity dust bag with built-in vacuum adapter.
Overall rating:
4.403 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(62 reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product55 of 61reviews
Rating Breakdown 62 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(44)
4
(11)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(5)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product55 of 61reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for 5 in. Orbital Sander
Review 1 for 5 in. Orbital Sander

Fantastic Sander

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The sander worked fantastic and never broke. I tried other sanders, but this one was the best.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5 in. Orbital Sander

Dewalt sander

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use this sander everyday for hours. Great sander
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5 in. Orbital Sander
from Montana, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

best sander around

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this is my 2nd one, last one went for 7 years of hard use. I like the adjustable speed for varying surfaces. I use this sander about 95 percent of the time, usually several times a week. I love dewalt tools.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Long-Lasting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5 in. Orbital Sander

Reliable

PostedNovember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have the older model with a toggle on/off switch, where this one looks to be push button. Anyway mine is about 4-5 years old and I use it on occasion for anything from hardwood floor finishing/edging to cabinets. It's to the point where my toggle switch is starting to wear out and I probably should be replacing the hook
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5 in. Orbital Sander
from Fanwood, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dust buster

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Worked as advertised. Kept dust to a minimum. Excellent results.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5 in. Orbital Sander
from lake orion , michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Sander

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
sanded a 9x13 hardwood floor in about 2 hours....worked great!!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5 in. Orbital Sander
from Logan, UT
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sandtastic!

PostedApril 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The 5 inch Orbital Sander by Dewalt is an exceptional piece of equipment. I’ve used it on everything from smoothing out rough cut cedar to doing fine finish work on oak.
The sander is very comfortable to use. The rounded edges provide a comfortable grip and the minimal vibration allows you to use the sander for longer periods of time before your arms gets numb. I’ve read reviews about the sander being hard to control but I have not had this issue. In fact, I’ve been able to “drive” the sander by raising the front edge slightly to go one direction and slightly raising the back edge to go the other direction.
I really appreciate the hook and loop sanding pad and discs. Disc change-out is so quick and easy. Pull off the old sanding disc, line up the dust collection ports with the new sanding disc and stick it on. One downfall with this design is I’ve bumped the edge of the disc a few times which threw the paper out of alignment, at which point I've had to stop the sander and reapply the same sanding disc. This is a small price to pay for the convenience of the change-out. My old palm sander took the rectangular paper that had to be clamped on the ends. Changing the paper was a frustrating, 2-hand, tedious process.
The performance of the Dewalt orbital sander far exceeds my old sanders performance. Sanding time has been dramatically reduced and as I mentioned before, I am able to sand for longer periods of time thanks to the reduced vibration.
This is the one tool I own that has a dust bag that works very well. Sure it leaves a little dust on your project, but I would estimate that it collects 85%-90% of the dust it creates.
The bag is nothing more than a bonus. It is decent quality but it is a soft bag which provides minimal protection. Maybe it is intended to protect the sander from dust, well it is a sander so maybe the bag portects your other tools from a dusty sander. My point is don’t base your buying decision on the free bag. Buy the sander that best suits your needs and if you determine that this is the model for you, you get a bag as a bonus.
I am pleased with the 5 inch Orbital Sander by Dewalt. It is durable, comfortable, cleaner and easy to use.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Light Weight
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5 in. Orbital Sander
from Rio Linda Ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worst Dewalt, I ever purchased

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased for one project, took it home very excited on my new Dewalt. placed a 60 grit pad on the sander and as soon as it touched the wood the rotation of the disc stopped. very disappointing. Took it back to HD the next day and picked up a Makita 5" to try. using the same 60 grit papper I was unable to stop the rotation.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: no power
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5 in. Orbital Sander
from California

Get what you pay for.

PostedJuly 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this after the wife and I had got 2 Skil orbital sanders like this one(she wanted to help out). I thought those did a decent job, until I burned both of them out after about a week of medium sanding. I went with DeWalt because I had always heard good things about them. After using this sander for about a month now, I can say it is by far the best sander that I have used! Its tough, and gets the job done very well. The hook & loop system on this is ALOT better then the skil ones. They are smaller, and there is more of them(I would say about twice as many). I have yet to have one of the sanding pads fly off like they did on the other cheap sanders I used before. When it comes to sanders....you get what you pay for. Dont be cheap like I was, get a DeWalt!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5 in. Orbital Sander
from Queens, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Perfect Sander

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This sander is excellent, solid construction, good fit in your hands, one hand or with both. The smooth start up is a great feature and the variable speed is a must for me. Handles great, not too much vibration and the dust collector attaches firmly and works well. As far as the machine goes in my opinion it's perfect, the only negative is it doesn't come with a hard case. It comes with a useless nylon bag, I'm saying it's useless because when you put the sander inside it the weight is so unevenly distributed you can't even carry it, not to mention you can't stack it with the rest of your tools. I fault Stanley/Black & Decker for cutting costs here, a hard case for you tools is necessary. I've looked for a replacement case online and they are around $50.00 new, crazy.
Pros: Durable, Strong Suction, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: bad case
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5 in. Orbital Sander
from Grand Chute, WI, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Sander

PostedJuly 1, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Being my first sander, I'm satisfied with the choice I made. The included vacuum adapter doesn't work, it's the same diameter as the vacuum pipe on my 4 month old Ridgid Vacuum.
The only issue I had is the sanding discs I used. I bought the ones that HD has for sale, for use with 8 & 12 hole sanders. If you have an option buy the ones with just 8 holes. The dust is cut down drastically between the 2 styles.
The vibration does take some getting used to, but you do not always have to use it on the highest speed setting.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5 in. Orbital Sander
from Palmdale, CA

Best sander ever

PostedJune 26, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am remodeling our office at work - building new desks and storage cabinets.
My old sander died an untimely death so I was looking around for a new sander.
I have always had good luck with DeWALT tools so thought I would give this one a shot.
So far I have completed one of the desks and two of the cabinets and this sander is 5 stars all the way!!!!
To date I have gone through roughly 75 to 100 sanding discs - everything from 60 to 220 grit with no problems - this thing is a work horse!
I have it connected to my dust collection system and there is virtually no dust left behind.
I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a random orbital sander!!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5 in. Orbital Sander
from Michigan

Great Sander

PostedJuly 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this sander after returning my Milwaukee because no one had a replacement backing pad for it. This sander is way better than the Milwaukee ever thought of being. It has a lot of power, removes material quickly, does a nice job finish sanding, and dust collection works great. The only thing is it's kind of noisy. Not as bad as the Milwaukee though. If you need a new sander I would highly recommend you take a look at this one.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5 in. Orbital Sander

Deftective Switch Design

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Like others, my unit turned itself on. This appears to be caused by a rubber seal over the switch which is too stiff, and does not provide enough room for the switch to move freely. It is difficult to get the switch to move to the on or off positions. And sometimes you get it just barely on, or off. In which case the stiff rubber dust seal will sometimes move it back to the on or off position without user input.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5 in. Orbital Sander
from Hilliard, OH, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Outstanding Sander!

PostedJune 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After thoroughly researching and weighing in the pros and cons of each brands random orbital sander, I chose Dewalt and I'm extremely satisfied with my purchase. The sander is easy to control, smooth startup, hook & loop feature makes it easy to attach/detach sand paper, perforated holes on the sander pad create sufficient dust removal, and as always I love the heavy duty cord that's iconic of DeWalt. I would've like to have a kit box instead of the nylon bag that is provided (It looks like most of the brands are reverting back to the kit boxes though) and the dust bag can be stubborn to reattach.
There were several reason's why I chose DeWalt over the competition: I found the Makita easy to handle, but the dust bag detached way too easily (Which aroused concerns that it could easily be knocked off during sanding and that would not be fun to clean up!), I found the Bosch grip to be too bulky for my liking, and I don't like the placement of the switch on the Ridgid (I gave away my Ridgid finishing sander because the switch was located right below the grip and I would often bump it during sanding)
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5 in. Orbital Sander

Very good ROS for the price

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had a older single speed Dewalt ROS that wore out and needed a new one to sand our deck. I like the Dewalt brand so bought this. I'm not convinced we needed the variable speed for this first job, but perhaps the extra cost will be worth it on future project. So far, this sander is exactly what I'd expect from Dewalt - great!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5 in. Orbital Sander

Best Sander, Bag not so good

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This sander is very cool and works very well. But I hate the fact you pay so much and only get a bag that rips real easy. Don't ever try to pick it up with one strap. Dewalt needs to sale the hard cases on there site for the people who like to protect there tool we spend so much money on.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5 in. Orbital Sander
from North Carolina coast
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works like charm

PostedJune 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I build small wooden boats and restore furniture and the Dewalt sander is a must have tool. The speed control allows one to adjust the sander to the task, wide open with #40 grit for fast removal and shaping, to slow and easy with finer grits for finish prep. I hooked up a small shop vacuum to the sander and that greatly reduces airborne dust. The clip on bag works okay but requires frequent emptying.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5 in. Orbital Sander
from Raleigh, NC, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Sander

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This is my first ROS and I bought it based on the reviews I read on this page. It performs well and is light and easy to maneuver. i didn't experience much vibration, however I did have a "phantom on" phenomena, when the sander simply started on its own, the solution, I guess, is to unplug it when not in use.
My only beef is that it does not hook up to my Craftsman Shop vac, must buy an adapter.
Would have rated higher if that wasn't the case.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: does not hook up to shop vac diameter the same.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5 in. Orbital Sander
from Arizona
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product, but...

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have had this sander for several years and have used it a lot. It does a good job without difficulty in handling it as some have mentioned. I work with hardwoods; mostly oak. The sander with a rough pad quickly brings the surface down to uniform level that is easy to finish with finer paper. The only objection I have is that the hook and loop pad doesn't last very long. I am on my third in less than three years.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>