728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel

28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel

Your GE refrigerator is the largest and most visible appliance in your kitchen, so it has to look great. As trends in kitchen décor change, so must refrigerators. Fortunately, GE is a leader in refrigerator style and design. And with GE, you never sacrifice substance for style. Our refrigerators lead the pack in food preservation and convenient features. GE French door bottom freezer refrigerators represent the latest trend in refrigerator design. The armoire-style design requires minimal space for door opening, making it ideal for small kitchens.
Overall rating:
4.227 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product18 of 22reviews
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(15)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(3)
82%of customersrecommend this product18 of 22reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel
Review 1 for 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel
CPK1
from California

Great Refrigerator!

PostedDecember 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We shopped extensively and were leaning toward buying a Samsung model versus LG or some of the others. In the process we discovered that this GE Profile model is actually made by Samsung and is essentially Samsung's highly rated RFG297AARS re-badged for GE. But at a much better price buying this GE model from Home Depot - especially during their recent pre-Black Friday sale. Great looking. Really spacious and well organized inside. Runs very quiet We feel we essentially got the Samsung we were looking for but at a great Home Depot price (plus a 4 year warranty from Home Depot for $79!). Highly recommend this.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel
ClarkD
from Burbank, CA

Comparison shopping

PostedOctober 30, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was looking at two brands, the Samsung and LG, the Home Depot "guy", recommended I also look at the GE Profile. After several months of research I settled on the GE Profile, I love it and I am very happy with the quality and features. I highly recommend it to anyone shopping. Great capacity storage and versitility. I like the dual collers, and fast ice maker. Also the water comes out of the door very quickly, so your not standing there forever waiting for your glass to fill. Water tastes great as well! I really love the product!!!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel
linze
from phl

bad water dispenser

PostedJanuary 17, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the GE as replacement for an LG. trio that went bad. The water and ice dispenser from this refrigerator is a very bad design. The water is hard to focus into containers and small or short glasses. The back of the dispenser is slanted and does not allow a glass or container to fit in the area perpendicular to the back of the door. Mostly it makes a mess when putting water in the dog bowl or a short glass. I am always wiping up water from the resivour or the door. Think twice before buying. Its annoying.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel
MattTX
from McKinney, TX

Happy with fridge!

PostedMarch 31, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Some background : we had a 10-year old tiny 19 cu ft generic model fridge w/ no ice maker, and basic plastic everything. Functional enough for the two of us, but we have a baby now! We researched other brands/models online & in several different stores. This one had almost all of the features that we wanted, and was also more economical (both price & energy use cost).
Pros :
-29 cu ft in the same space as many 25 cu ft fridges.
-Deep shelves on right side - love the butter shelf with flip lid!
-Icemaker @ top of fridge on left side, not taking up room in door.
-The water/ice dispenser in the door seems enormous. Easily fits 16-20 oz cups/mugs/glasses. Also like that it's lights are also LED.
-Cooled off both compartments very quickly after install.
-Has a winerack that is large enough to hold a 2-liter of soda
-Ice maker is quick to turn out ice
-2 Slide-out shelves ; one slide-hide shelf to make room for tall objects. one flip-up half-shelf next to icemaker to make room for tall objects.
-Pizza pass-thru in shelf @ front of freezer drawer
-LED lighting doesn't heat up fridge compartment!
-Wide deli-tray drawer w/ adjustable temp control
-Two LARGE crisper drawers with separate temp controls
Cons :
-We would have liked to have gotten it in a cleansteel finish rather than stainless (who knew stainless isn't magnetic?) but there is some room on side for our magnets.
-The store we bought this from is discontinuing carry the model.
A few other minor notes : the ice maker seems to be capable of hold a considerable amount of ice, but there's also a separate ice bucket for the freezer compartment. The ice maker is also not very loud (didn't wake the baby), & the compressors are almost inaudible, even when both are running. At first, I thought they weren't going!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel
Datwood
from Decatur, AL

Excellent Refrigerator

PostedJune 10, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife and I bought this refrigerator for our new home and we love it! There is a ton of room in the fridge. We love the sliding and folding shelves. It makes it so much easier to put things in the fridge. I was surprised with how much room the freezer has too. The sliding tray helps a lot. The dividers are nice, also.
I also love the LED lights. It gives it a ton of light and it doesn't take up as much energy as regular light bulbs and we won't have to replace them for a long time or at all!
We love this refrigerator!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel
chilemom
from Berlin, NJ

Beautiful Refrigerator

PostedNovember 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our new refrigerator was just delivered today and we are thrilled. We looked at many refrigerators before deciding on the GE Profile and felt this was the best value and quality. It is so spacious and well laid out. It is the same width as the 25.9 cu. ft. refrigerator, but the walls are much thinner freeing up the extra interior space. The interior light brightens gradually as the doors are opened. We have transferred all the food from our old refrigerator and have plenty of room to spare. We are remodeling our kitchen and have been shopping at several different stores and have found that Home Depot has the best price, especially with the sale going on along with the NJ state rebate. We have received excellent advice and guidance from our salesman, Ed, at the Berlin Home Depot. He really knows his stuff.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel
EdfromMaine
from Maine

The right one!

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Compared the Bosch, Samsung, Lg, and this GE (all very quiet and reported good quality). Found out from another store that this GE is made by Samsung. All are great but got this one because:
1. On sale at Home Depot at a great pre-Black Friday price
2. Samsung has been reported as having issues with getting prompt service, GE not as much
3. Doors matched my kitchen better
4. 28.5 cu.ft. in a 25 cu. ft. footprint with very good energy ratings and very good humidity control
Have had it less than one month, no issues or problems, Did buy the Home Depot extended coverage (4yr-$79), lot of things could go wrong in today's high tech appliances, especially the electronics.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel
AlwaysReadReviews
from Georgia

No Complaints

PostedMay 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This Fridge is Fantastic. There's no noise, the LED lights are great and it's very roomy. I have been nothing but satisfied with this purchase.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel
partyoffive
from pembroke pines, florida

Nice Fridge

PostedOctober 13, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Out of all the new appliances we purchased for our new kitchen, the fridge is the nices addition. This fridge is so big inside that I emptied out my old fridge which was full and put everything inside this one. It only took half the space of this new fridge. Features are nice and looks great ! ! Only down side is small ICE container. So if your family is big on ice, you may have to have an ice bag on standby on your bottm freezer. But this is not an every day thing and not really an inconvinience for us. Other than that,..Beast buy over all ! !
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel
1soccermom
from Richmond, VA

It works well

PostedJanuary 29, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchased 10/09 and it is now 1/11. Was concerned about ice qty but has not been an issue. Will never get another stainless app again!!! Sticking with all black from here on out. It always looks dirty...Even after cleaning. It is huge and easy to store lots of food. LED is wonderful. Water/ice dispenser work great. But the wide open doors let the cold out fast and found out things go bad quickly like dairy etc if you have a someone who likes to keep both open while they unload food to cook- Which my husband does. Also, the seal around the freezer is not so great. Unless you really push it to make sure, it will be slightly unsealed and you will find frost and inconsistent freezing. I prefer GE because they have amazing customer service. Haven't needed any repairs, but other appliances have and they were great.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel
revpecoraro
from Henderson, NV

G.E. Profile 28.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refridge.

PostedJanuary 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Fits in standard refridgerator space, excellent looks. Espcially like the in-the-door water/ice despenser. Very efficient keeping refridge & bottom freezer at correct temps. Motor a little nosier than previous but not objectionable. Delivery and setup by store-contracted people well done, cleaned area and fast. Stainless steel front not too difficult to keep clean; practice with different cleaning products defines best to use. Overall a great piece of equipment.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel
Magiee
from Texas

Great

PostedJuly 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had the GE Profile since last Aug. I read many good things about it and it is all true. I got mine at a great price. My neice is buying the same one. It has lots of room and it makes alot of ice. I have been really pleased. And home depot is the best place to buy it
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel
pattyrdh
from Green Valley,AZ

NEW REFRIGERATOR

PostedDecember 15, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband thought it was expensive but it is worh it! Love the freezer on the bottom. Had trouble with the icemaker at first because of the ice freezing together but it has worked itself out. I do use the ice everday and the water with the filter! Ihave ice in the freezer but may need to adjust it. Am very happy how it fit in the space and looks so nice!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel
Rfswd
from Houston, Texas

PostedFebruary 23, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We only have had it for 2 days. It looks real nice. this is our first stainless steel product. Nice and big. Love the Bottom freezer. Lots of room inside the refridgerator. The only drawback keeping it a 5 star is that it's a little slow on delivering crushed ice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel
Based on the average of (8) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
5 out of 8 recommend this product