728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

The RINO-TUFF Pivotrim X4 replacement trimmer head allows for less stops to change line and works with most gas trimmers. The line pivots to prevent breaking when trimming against hard surfaces such as chain-link fence and concrete, saving you the downtime of reloading line.
Overall rating:
3.773 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(66 reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
73%of customersrecommend this product46 of 63reviews
Rating Breakdown 66 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(36)
4
(9)
3
(2)
2
(8)
1
(11)
Features 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
73%of customersrecommend this product46 of 63reviews
Customer reviews for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
Review 1 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
Peanut
from Ballwin, MO, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Well made product

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product was very well described and was most definitely worth the money.
Pros: All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: cutting ability average
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
JVPhilly

Time Saver & Fits Ryobi Electric 10 AMP Power Head/Curved Trimmer

PostedMay 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The title sums it up. Finally, Ryobi makes a corded electric trimmer that can be fitted with the Pivotrim. I assume the reason the Pivotrim can't be used with most electric trimmers is because the motors are at the bottom of the electric trimmers and the spool heads are proprietary designed whilst the gas trimmer ends are more universal? Who knows. Anyway, I have about 150 feet of chain link fence and I've trimmed it about 2 times and so far, no broken strings. WOW! Previously with my other trimmer, I stopped about every 2 feet and spent over an hour just trying to feed the line correctly - no fun. Now it's a quick 5 minutes to trim and maybe another 10 to deal with the cord. I'm liking it so far and hopefully years of "trimmer's frustration" will melt away. Actually, this has totally changed my life, I used to dread trimming but now it's fun and almost too EZ! And what will I do with all these extra hours of freedom....
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
WoofgangMozart
from San Antonio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent

PostedJune 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installation on my Weedeater straight shaft was a snap, easier than I feared considering all the extra parts that came along with the product. I was tired of consistently jammed lines. I have just used the product for the first time on a big job - I had let my backyard "go" because my Weedeater was impossible to work with its jamming problem. No problem now. I used up about 25% of each of the two lines, so I've easily got enough for a second go-around before changing lines. Considering how rediculously easy it is to replace them and the low cost, I wouldn't mind if I had to change them each time....I can finally use my trimmer again!
Pros: Cuts Well, Durable, it works as advertised
Cons: none
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
JohnVA
from Richmond, VA

Absolutetly Fantastic Performance

PostedApril 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I picked up one of these RinoTuff Pivotrim heads at my local home depot store. I thought the design looked interesting the way the lines can swing around. But , I never thought I would trim my whole yard with one set of lines! I've got a lot of fencing and I am constantly fighting with my trimmer head because the line breaks off all the time. With this PivoTrim head I can get right up next to my fence and the line doesn't break. It's really easy to load the lines on, but who cares if you don't have to change it much anyway!
Anyone whose got a gas trimmer needs one of these things!
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
JimInSouthCharlotte
from Charlotte, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great product. I'm on my second PIVOTRIM head. I actually have one that has only two lines, and I think Home Depot only offers the 4 line head, but no problem -- if you like the 4 lines, use them, but if you only want two lines, only load the head with two lines. I have used mine with the lowest Homelite curved-shaft trimmer for home trimming and edging, and it works SO MUCH BETTER than having to wind the lines, having the line get stuck in the spool and having to take it apart all the time to fix. When you're watching basketball, golf or whatever, precut a bunch of strips so that they're ready when you are. Put a nail or small hole punch in your pocket with some lines, start your trimmer and when the ones in the head wear down, use the nail or punch to pop out the used lines, put in the new ones and you're good to go again. Any problems, such as putting the head on for the first time -- just call the PIVOTRIM customer service line and ask for Monica.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
jsfb6pts
from Petoskey , MIchigan

As Advertised

PostedJune 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After seeing the commercial for this on TV ,I decided I would read the reviews .At H. D. and Amazon .
Much to my surprise most are favorable .
So I decided to pay the extra $1.50 and tax and bough it at H. D. ( I didn't feel like waiting for it to be shipped ) .
It took less than 5 minutes to uninstall the old head ( weed thrasher ) and install the Pivotrim .
I started my trimmer and it works great .My suggestion is that you buy replacement line in bulk and cut it your self . You can get over 250 feet for less than the cost of 12 precut .
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
Graeden

Excellent Trimmer Head

PostedJune 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this trimmer head for my Poulan Pro 31cc straight shaft trimmer last summer. Unfortunately, I hardly had the opportunity to use it due to carb issues on my trimmer's motor. This year that has not been the case. I have an acre lot that half of it is surrounded by chain link fence. After growing tired of having to stop every 30 seconds to replace trimmer line due to breakage from the fencing, I was off to my local H.D. to find a replacement head and I came across this product. Purchased this head and returned home, read the instructions, and it went on with no snags. Very easy to install. Started my trimmer up and began to do the trimming. After doing my entire yard, the lines were worn, but very little. Then the carb issue began. Fast forward to this year. With the original lines that came with the package (same ones initially installed), I began my trimming once again. This head is simply awesome! I was able to trim around my entire fence line and still have half of the original line left from the initial install. I did notice that in very tall weeds/grass (a foot + high), they tend to wrap around the trimmer base and bogged the motor down. But that occured with the original trimmer head also. It is to be expected when cutting a swath through thick weeds. But if I take them down a bit before I get to ground level, they just go flying everywhere. I had also purchased at the same time a 271' spool of .095" trimmer line (added to this review) to make sure I wouldn't run out since I was skeptical of the trimmer head claims. This package of line should last a very long time. Also, this line cuts through the tall thick stuff easier. This saves wear and tear on the trimmer and saves fuel. I would definitely recommend this product to any who wishes to learn about it, and if they catch me using it, they can give it a go for themselves. With the other line on it, it makes my trimmer a beast! And reloading couldn't be easier. If you are tired of traditional spools and heads, then give this a go. I doubt you will be disappointed.
 
Products related to my review
 
+24points
25out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
Zydeco
from Spring Creek, NV

Wow!

PostedAugust 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a Ryobi stright shaft trimmer which i have been plagued with string line problems since I got it 2 years ago. My first attempt to fix the problem was to switch the head to a Ryobi Easy Reel head which initially worked fairly well. However, for the past 6-8months of use it has caused unending problems with the line not feeding and breakage of line. Last Saturday I spent 1 1/2 hours on a 20 minute job becuase I continually had to stop and take the haed apart to get more line. i then wtiched back to the original head which had the same problem. What luck to discover the Pivotrim head and thank God for the reviews. This head has solved my problem and has kept me from junking the trimmer. it works just like advertised. What a blessing! I 'm cutting alot of heavy weeds with this trimmer and the head functions flawlessly. You can't go wrong using it. As an aside, I had to call the company because I had problems with the installation and they were extremely helpful. Yes, you do talk to a real person, actually one of the developers. Buy this thing!
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
caja
from livonia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

awesome product!

PostedJune 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this is the best string trimmer replacement head. held up to my whole 3/4 acre yard, where most times i quit after 1/4 of it because i am tired of broken trimmer lines.
lines are shorter now but still usable for another trim!
changing out the head on my ryobi was a 2 minute job!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Long-Lasting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
BillDL
from Julian, CA.

Best Trimmer Head Ever

PostedJuly 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have tried every trimmer head there is and this "Pivotrim" is the best invention on the market. Just like the ads say we can trim around posts, walls, rocks and trees and the string just pivots around these and is not damaged. Here in the mountains the rocks are always cutting the string line on other trimmers, but the Pivotrim head just keeps on going without breaking the line. I told all the neighbors and my friends about this trimmer head because I was so impressed with it. I think that the guy who complains about the product in his review must be using the wrong weight line, .095" is the recommended size. You should try the product and you'ill agree with me about its quality. I bought three heads for my three trimmers at Home Depot and they will refund your money if you don't like it.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
Trimmerless
from Boerne, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

supplied bolt striped the threads on my trimmer shaft

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
While loading it on Echo SRM-225SB (straight shaft, gas), I used the only bolt that would start to thread onto the shaft after trying all of them. After very little effort used to thread the bolt, I was aghast to find that the thread on my trimmer’s shaft was stripped.
Mike from Maine wrote in his review “You will NOT find a left handed bolt in the package. All the bolts are fine thread and right handed.” I guess that is the issue that ruined my trimmer. I feel stupid for believing what was written on the install instructions.
Please do not buy this product; between the install problems and poor performance noted by others, it is not worth your money.
Cons: not universal as advertised
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
youngfamily
from Jacksonville,FL

You should Get One!!!!

PostedSeptember 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this....I bought it for my 69.99 homelite trimmer. It works so amazing!!
Heres a tip, if you have a trimmer that doesnt have alot of power, only load 2 strings in. It works great, sounds really cool, my neihbors stop and ask me about it.
You can even load better sharper string in it if you want.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
Mike
from Maine, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This is NOT a Universal Trimmer.

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have a Ryobi straight shaft trimmer {gas.} The problem is that my Ryobi trimmer accepts only a left handed 5/16" coarse bolt. You will NOT find a left handed bolt in the package. All the bolts are fine thread and right handed. This defeats the purpose of keeping the trimmer head tight during the high revolution and performance speeds. Do Not Buy This. Save your time & money!!!
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
Rmonty

Ok string trimmer--needed to modify to accept standard .095 and .105 strings

PostedAugust 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works as advertised with supplied strings. Strings last a long time. However, could not replace strings with pro-grade .095 or .105 widths. I ended up drilling out each of the holes to slightly widen. Now accepts standard .95 and .105 widths. So, recommended with modification.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Long-Lasting
Cons: Limited Features, does not accept standard pro-grade string widths
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
santadenny

product did all it said it would do and more. I love it.

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I use this all the time in my business. I use it on at least four lawns per day. It is great. I havent had to change the line but once, and even then I just did it to see how easy it was going to be doing it. Its a great product. Saves me lots of time and headache.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
bwdakrt
from North Carolina

ONE BUTT-KICKING TRIMMER HEAD!!!!!

PostedJuly 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After becoming completely fed up with the breaking and failure to feed out trimmer line on my Homelite BC 800 stringer trimmer, I finally decided to spend the $20 and purchase the Pivo Trim trimmer head. Now I'm wishing I would have done it long ago and saved myself a lot of aggravation. This product is AWESOME and combined with the Home Depot SUPER FAST SHIPPING as it arrived in 2 business day after ordering makes it even more of a great purchase.
The product is very well made and comes with very easy to read and follow installation instructions for about any make or model string trimmer. Installation took all of maybe 10 minutes and 5 of those were spent trying to figure out how to get the end shaft off my HomeLite trimmer. HINT: It has left-hand threads!!
I HIGHLY RECOMMEND the Pivo Trim to anyone that is as fed up with breaking line as I was. Money well spent!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
Franc
from Round Rock, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Expected better

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this cause I was tired of having to stop every few feet to re-feed the line. Now I don't have to stop as much anymore, but I expected better.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
NayburXstreet
from Up-state Utah

Great concept, could be better...

PostedMay 27, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I recently purchased this product PivoTrim String Trimmer Head. I had high hopes for it. Installation went well and initial trimming went well. The "string" seems to be the weakest link in the chain here. I have a fair sized yard with plenty to trim around. I usually use a full spool of trimmer line each time I trim. I was hoping to get through the yard with one set of strings on this device. Didn't happen, I was shaking my head while loading my fourth set of strings to finish up. Made me think that the strings and refill strings had a prior life as dehydrated gummy bears. Next week, I'm going to try a commercial grade .95 line cut to lengths to fit. Like I said the concept good I despise "the spool" design. I use a gas powered straight shaft trimmer.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
370nomo
from perris, ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love this thing!

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Having a low horsepower weed eater is the only downfall for me. As bad as it might sound, I actually look forward to doing the lawn now because of this thing. My unit would not advance the line with the original parts, so I was constantly having to stop and manually advance the line. This attachment, with the 4 lines has made that a thing of the past. Other than the lines getting shorter through use, I've not had to stop once in the 4 times since installing this product. I'm very please with it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
backscatter

Better than the others

PostedAugust 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have tried several trimmer heads, this one is the best.
I don't know about the line lasting twenty times longer.
but the line dosen't break like it does on other trimmer heads.Good product, well worth the price.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>