728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

You'll appreciate the performance of this trimmer head from Pivotrim, which works with most gas curved shaft and straight shaft trimmers. The line pivots to prevent line breakage when trimming against hard surfaces such as chain-link fence, trees and concrete, saving you the downtime of reloading line.
Overall rating:
3.778 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(135 reviews) 135
Open Ratings Snapshot
74%of customersrecommend this product96 of 130reviews
Rating Breakdown 135 reviews
3.8 out of 5
5
(66)
4
(28)
3
(7)
2
(13)
1
(21)
Features 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
74%of customersrecommend this product96 of 130reviews
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
Review 1 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A must for any trimmer

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought one of these to put on my new Echo trimmer because I'd seen it advertised and was enticed at $20. I must say, I am very happy I bought this. The line holds up better than it does in a standard "bump" head because it pivots (it will still go fast if you bump it into a lot of not-grass stuff, like fencing or sidewalk), but the real benefit is that it's much easier/quicker to replace the line. The branded replacement line is ridiculously expensive though...save yourself some money and just buy the 250ft rolls for like $12 and cut it to length when you need it (12.5").
Pros: Cuts Well, Durable, Long-Lasting
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Hawaii
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Trimmer Add-on Ever!

PostedNovember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I don't usually write product reviews, but after using the Pivot Trim on my Ryoby 10 Amp electric trimmer, I'm really impressed with the product. Prior to replacing the standard string trimmer that comes with the Ryobi, I had to constantly change the nylon string literally ever few minutes because it would break on the sidewalk slab or hollow tile walls. Now, I can trim my yard 3 to 4 times before I have to change the string on the Pivot Trim.
I would highly recommend this to anyone and actually would suggest that Ryobi replace their standard string head with a Pivot Trim as a standard part of their product.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

better than expected

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was skeptical at first but was able to do my whole lawn without changing twine and it looks like there's enough fresh twine to do it all over again. Easily cut through fresh root shoots as well as general weedeating and trimming. I suppose in this case eight is better than two! Installed on a standard Ryobi gas weedeater.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from CHESAPEAKE, VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

REPLACE A WORN OUT ONE

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
BOUGHT THIS ITEM A FEW YEARS AGO TO REPLACE THE BUMP HEAD ON MY STIHL TRIMMER. IT KEPT BREAKING STRING OR JAMBING. REPLACED IT WITH PIVOTRIM X4 TRIMMER HEAD AND LOVED IT. I CAN TRIM MY YARD AT LEAST 2 OR 3 TIMES WITHOUT REPLACING THE STRING. JUST BOUGHT A NEW ONE BECAUSE THE OLDER ONE WAS WEARING OUT.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable
Cons: none
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Oklahoma
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

JUNK

PostedJuly 24, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Look, you have a string that last a little longer that normal but still tears up, it takes longer to whack the weeds cause of the design. I bought it to use along the chain link fence, which worked great, till I use it the second time. The install is horrible and poorly illustrated. THE BOLT THEY PROVIDED TO INSTALL ON MY WEEDEATER BROKE AT THE HEAD, SO NOW I AM OUT $20 FOR THE PURCHASE AND HAVE TO REPLACE EITHER THE PART OR THE HEAD OF MY TRIMMER SO THIS JUNK CAUSED ME MORE THAN JUST THE PRODUCT. BE WARNED IT IS JUNK.
Pros: cuts
Cons: poor instruction
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Saylorsburg, PA. USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good replacement product for string trimmer

PostedJuly 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This product was easy to install onto my John Deere string trimmer that would have frequently line (double) breaks. The lines that came with this product (and with additional replacements purchased separately), looked stronger and more durable. Time will tell if this is indeed true (it's why I gave it only 4 instead of five stars to start off with), but the lines will be much easier to change than the old method of winding two replacement lines around the old spool.
Pros: Cuts Well, installs easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from austin
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

awesome time saver

PostedJuly 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've had trimmers of all types and brands and used trimmer heads of all varieties. The ability of the strings to pivot instead of break saves so much time and effort and makes weed wacking 3 times more effective. You can pre-cut your strings from a spool and stuff them in your pocket and even though it might take two minutes to change ( when required) , the string will last and cut effectively for my entire yard which has 200 ft of iron fence, tons of brick edging and patio, wood fencing and driveway.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

Rino tuff

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love this I don't have to change the line any more
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Raleigh, North Carolina
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A worthwhile purchase

PostedJune 22, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I've had this now for several months and used it multiple times, installed on a TORO curved shaft 25cc trimmer. Putting it on was pretty easy, taking me about 10-15 minutes at the most. It appears to work just as well as the regular spool head that came with the trimmer but the most important feature for me is the ability to easily change the line when necessary. It takes an 0.095 line but it looks like I could use the remainder of the 0,080 original line that came with the trimmer. Right now I'm using only two of the four slots based on some of the other reviews that said if you have a less powerful motor it might operate better that way. I do plan to try using all four of them shortly. As of now I'm very satisfied with this this type of trimmer head.
Pros: Easy to Use, easy line changes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from San Antonio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent

PostedJune 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installation on my Weedeater straight shaft was a snap, easier than I feared considering all the extra parts that came along with the product. I was tired of consistently jammed lines. I have just used the product for the first time on a big job - I had let my backyard "go" because my Weedeater was impossible to work with its jamming problem. No problem now. I used up about 25% of each of the two lines, so I've easily got enough for a second go-around before changing lines. Considering how rediculously easy it is to replace them and the low cost, I wouldn't mind if I had to change them each time....I can finally use my trimmer again!
Pros: Cuts Well, Durable, it works as advertised
Cons: none
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Roswell, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent, Excellent, Ecxellent

PostedJune 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Gas Trimmer Bolens, 31cc, curved shaft, 2 stroke. Forget about every single negative review you've read here. I've read them all, too. If someone brakes line or does whatever he does to make this product not work is hid bad. Let me start with my review. Product was advertised for straight shafts, I mounted it on curved shaft, using only two of the pivots, not four. The recommended similar spool for curved shaft, that is not available at HD, is only with two pivots and when I called the hotline they advised me to use this spool with only two lines. I did. To the product. I have half of an acre, chain-link fence, wooden fence, driveway, curb, lots of stones, lots of object like staircases, patio stilts, HVAC unit, etc. etc. I have not, I repeat I have not broken a SINGLE line. Even with the one that are coming with the set that are .85 I made it through the whole front and back yard. I got me the .95 for future supply. I was so happy, I trimmed neighbors front curb side, with same lines not a single change. By the way I still have left over, about 2". It's hard to believe what such a simple product can make such a huge difference. I had to write this down so other folks can benefit from my experience. Product is worth every single penny.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from DALLAS TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

NOT THE BEST PURCHASE EVER

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
THE LINE GETS WRAPPED AROUND THE HEAD, AND WONT SPIN OUT TO CUT THE GRASS.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good but not great

PostedJuly 12, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this head to replace the bump head on my Troy-Bilt TB675EC 4-cycle trimmer/edger because I was tired of having to open up the OEM head and free the line that welded to the spool. I read a lot of the reviews about the Pivotrim X4, and because of the price I decided to try it despite a lot of people saying that it goes through a lot of line.
Normally, it takes me about 45 minutes to trim & edge my lawn (not counting the time I spend clearing line jams). I started by loading 4 lines in the Pivotrim to do the trimming and I immediately noticed the extra strain on the engine, so I found myself using full throttle a little more than usual. I was almost able to finish all of my trimming with the first set of 4 lines. Once those broke off, I tried using just 2 lines to finish the trimming and begin the edging. Not long into the edging, those 2 lines broke off and I replaced them again with 2 lines, and I did this one final time before finishing up.
I don't know if it's the way I do my edging, if there's an issue with using the Pivotrim in edger mode, or if cutting/breakage performance is better with 4 strings than with 2, but I found it significantly better on line-usage in trimmer mode than in edger mode. I used a total of 10 lines to complete my lawn. I cut each line to 12", so that's 10' of line (I used a high-quality Echo line which is the same line I used in the OEM head, not the strips that came packaged with the Pivotrim X4). I know I don't have to refill the 20' capacity OEM head every other time I use the timmer, so I have to conclude that the Pivotrim X4 uses more line, not less. As others have noted, the saving grace is that it only takes a matter of seconds to add new line. I found it useful to carry a small screwdriver (to free the broken line from the pivot heads) & a pocket-full of cut line.
I'll give it another chance the next time I cut my lawn, but I'm left feeling a little underwhelmed.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Scio, Oregon
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pivotrim

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We also have an older weed wacker that our renter uses. We needed to get a new head for it. Your heads weren't the right hole size but you had the part the make it fit. Now we have a weed wacked for them and a new one for us. Thanks.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Arizona
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Outlasts your standard trim string

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I trim along side walks, a basketball court, brick borders, and posts. The string I was using before, just your standard trim line, would break easily and I would have to change it out often enough to slow me down and become annoying, slowing down productivity. The PIVO Trim line lasts all the way till I'm done and can use it a second time before needing to be changed. The Trimmer Head comes with various attachments for different models and types of trimmers. Changing the trimmer heads was very easy as is changing out the line.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

Better Than Expected

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The box said that it did NOT require any tools to assemble, but of course the first thing I had to dig out were two pliers. Other than that the tool has worked amazingly well. I've trimmed around my house, trees and the kids playground area three times without having a single string spontaneously jettison from the head, nor have I needed to even replace the original set that I installed. They are getting worn down, but will probably last at least one or two more trimmings.
Pros: Cuts Well, Durable, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from North East Georgia
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

work great

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
while not simple this was the easiest conversion I have done. It works great and doe3s jsut what a trimmer needs to do, cut easily and not constantly have string breaks
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Charlotte, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great product. I'm on my second PIVOTRIM head. I actually have one that has only two lines, and I think Home Depot only offers the 4 line head, but no problem -- if you like the 4 lines, use them, but if you only want two lines, only load the head with two lines. I have used mine with the lowest Homelite curved-shaft trimmer for home trimming and edging, and it works SO MUCH BETTER than having to wind the lines, having the line get stuck in the spool and having to take it apart all the time to fix. When you're watching basketball, golf or whatever, precut a bunch of strips so that they're ready when you are. Put a nail or small hole punch in your pocket with some lines, start your trimmer and when the ones in the head wear down, use the nail or punch to pop out the used lines, put in the new ones and you're good to go again. Any problems, such as putting the head on for the first time -- just call the PIVOTRIM customer service line and ask for Monica.
Pros: Easy to Use
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Port Saint Lucie FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works good, easy to change lines

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This style trimmer head is much easier and faster to change the line on then the conventional heads sold with Ryobi weedeaters . The down side is when you buy new weedeaters or shafts these are not the type you get so it cost and extra $20 its just another way for them to nickel and dime consumers. Overall the actual product works good and is easier to use
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful
Cons: add cost after you buy new weedeater :(
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

Time Saver & Fits Ryobi Electric 10 AMP Power Head/Curved Trimmer

PostedMay 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The title sums it up. Finally, Ryobi makes a corded electric trimmer that can be fitted with the Pivotrim. I assume the reason the Pivotrim can't be used with most electric trimmers is because the motors are at the bottom of the electric trimmers and the spool heads are proprietary designed whilst the gas trimmer ends are more universal? Who knows. Anyway, I have about 150 feet of chain link fence and I've trimmed it about 2 times and so far, no broken strings. WOW! Previously with my other trimmer, I stopped about every 2 feet and spent over an hour just trying to feed the line correctly - no fun. Now it's a quick 5 minutes to trim and maybe another 10 to deal with the cord. I'm liking it so far and hopefully years of "trimmer's frustration" will melt away. Actually, this has totally changed my life, I used to dread trimming but now it's fun and almost too EZ! And what will I do with all these extra hours of freedom....
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>