728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

The Rino-Tuff Pivotrim X4 replacement trimmer head allows for less stops to change line and works with most gas trimmers. The line pivots to prevent breaking when trimming against hard surfaces such as chain-link fence and concrete, saving you the downtime of reloading line.
Overall rating:
3.761 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(113 reviews) 113
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product79 of 109reviews
Rating Breakdown 113 reviews
3.8 out of 5
5
(56)
4
(22)
3
(6)
2
(10)
1
(19)
Features 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product79 of 109reviews
Customer reviews for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
Review 1 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Hawaii
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Trimmer Add-on Ever!

PostedNovember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I don't usually write product reviews, but after using the Pivot Trim on my Ryoby 10 Amp electric trimmer, I'm really impressed with the product. Prior to replacing the standard string trimmer that comes with the Ryobi, I had to constantly change the nylon string literally ever few minutes because it would break on the sidewalk slab or hollow tile walls. Now, I can trim my yard 3 to 4 times before I have to change the string on the Pivot Trim.
I would highly recommend this to anyone and actually would suggest that Ryobi replace their standard string head with a Pivot Trim as a standard part of their product.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Roswell, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent, Excellent, Ecxellent

PostedJune 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Gas Trimmer Bolens, 31cc, curved shaft, 2 stroke. Forget about every single negative review you've read here. I've read them all, too. If someone brakes line or does whatever he does to make this product not work is hid bad. Let me start with my review. Product was advertised for straight shafts, I mounted it on curved shaft, using only two of the pivots, not four. The recommended similar spool for curved shaft, that is not available at HD, is only with two pivots and when I called the hotline they advised me to use this spool with only two lines. I did. To the product. I have half of an acre, chain-link fence, wooden fence, driveway, curb, lots of stones, lots of object like staircases, patio stilts, HVAC unit, etc. etc. I have not, I repeat I have not broken a SINGLE line. Even with the one that are coming with the set that are .85 I made it through the whole front and back yard. I got me the .95 for future supply. I was so happy, I trimmed neighbors front curb side, with same lines not a single change. By the way I still have left over, about 2". It's hard to believe what such a simple product can make such a huge difference. I had to write this down so other folks can benefit from my experience. Product is worth every single penny.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Tacoma, WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent device especially for trimming around chain link fences and rocks.

PostedMay 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Best thing I have seen for trimming next to chain link fences. does not break the line, it just gets a little shorter as you go. can trim everything in my yard, about an acre including the chain link fence and use about 5' of line instead of 20' plus with a bump head that just keeps breaking off when near the chain link. Read the directions carefully to install and watch their you tube video to get it right.
Pros: Cuts Well, Accurate, Durable
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Charlotte, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great product. I'm on my second PIVOTRIM head. I actually have one that has only two lines, and I think Home Depot only offers the 4 line head, but no problem -- if you like the 4 lines, use them, but if you only want two lines, only load the head with two lines. I have used mine with the lowest Homelite curved-shaft trimmer for home trimming and edging, and it works SO MUCH BETTER than having to wind the lines, having the line get stuck in the spool and having to take it apart all the time to fix. When you're watching basketball, golf or whatever, precut a bunch of strips so that they're ready when you are. Put a nail or small hole punch in your pocket with some lines, start your trimmer and when the ones in the head wear down, use the nail or punch to pop out the used lines, put in the new ones and you're good to go again. Any problems, such as putting the head on for the first time -- just call the PIVOTRIM customer service line and ask for Monica.
Pros: Easy to Use
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from San Antonio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent

PostedJune 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installation on my Weedeater straight shaft was a snap, easier than I feared considering all the extra parts that came along with the product. I was tired of consistently jammed lines. I have just used the product for the first time on a big job - I had let my backyard "go" because my Weedeater was impossible to work with its jamming problem. No problem now. I used up about 25% of each of the two lines, so I've easily got enough for a second go-around before changing lines. Considering how rediculously easy it is to replace them and the low cost, I wouldn't mind if I had to change them each time....I can finally use my trimmer again!
Pros: Cuts Well, Durable, it works as advertised
Cons: none
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

Time Saver & Fits Ryobi Electric 10 AMP Power Head/Curved Trimmer

PostedMay 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The title sums it up. Finally, Ryobi makes a corded electric trimmer that can be fitted with the Pivotrim. I assume the reason the Pivotrim can't be used with most electric trimmers is because the motors are at the bottom of the electric trimmers and the spool heads are proprietary designed whilst the gas trimmer ends are more universal? Who knows. Anyway, I have about 150 feet of chain link fence and I've trimmed it about 2 times and so far, no broken strings. WOW! Previously with my other trimmer, I stopped about every 2 feet and spent over an hour just trying to feed the line correctly - no fun. Now it's a quick 5 minutes to trim and maybe another 10 to deal with the cord. I'm liking it so far and hopefully years of "trimmer's frustration" will melt away. Actually, this has totally changed my life, I used to dread trimming but now it's fun and almost too EZ! And what will I do with all these extra hours of freedom....
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It is not the greatest product...but it is ok.

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had to replace a whipping head on my Honda weed whip. I really like the one I had which was a a solid head with a button that you push and just slide the one string through. This one you have to fold and insert the holes on the each of 4 string holders are small and if you cut it, you have to reshape the line into a round shape otherwise it does not fit. It is kind of a pain...the quality seems to be ok (used it 5 times so far). The good part seems that the line last a lot longer but replacing it after use is a challenge because you have to pick it out with pliers.
Personally, I do not like it. But if you are one that whips along rocky retaining walls and fences and want the line to last it is a decent product.
Pros: Durable, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: Difficult to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Richmond, VA

Absolutetly Fantastic Performance

PostedApril 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I picked up one of these RinoTuff Pivotrim heads at my local home depot store. I thought the design looked interesting the way the lines can swing around. But , I never thought I would trim my whole yard with one set of lines! I've got a lot of fencing and I am constantly fighting with my trimmer head because the line breaks off all the time. With this PivoTrim head I can get right up next to my fence and the line doesn't break. It's really easy to load the lines on, but who cares if you don't have to change it much anyway!
Anyone whose got a gas trimmer needs one of these things!
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

Pivotrim trimmer head

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have a Ryobi straight trimmer, and I bought the pivotrim (Rino)) from Home Depot . I tried to fit the Pivotrim to my Ryobi shaft for 1/2 an hour. I tried all combinations with the materials provided, it would not fit. I hope that this review will safe someone lots of time and faustration.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from NH
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Waste of money

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After seeing a commercial and reading reviews for the Pivotrim, I decided to buy one at my local Home Depot. It's a good thing that the line is easy to change, because I had to stop and insert more line every 10 minutes! While it is easy to use, as advertise, the line broke often. I use a Stihl, which has plenty of power, and maybe a commercial grade trimmer is too much for this product.
I bought the model Pivotrim that came with plastic blades as well, and those all broke while cutting small trim and weeds.
In short, if there was a way to return it after using it, I would! Don't waste your time, learn how to reload the spools that came with your trimmer!
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Greater Cincinnati
Age Range:35 to 44
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install and better than the stock trimmer head

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Pretty easy to install on my Stihl straight shaft trimmer, even though the directions said to call. Basically, my trimmer has a little hole on top of where the head attaches. I stuck a long screw in that hole to keep the shaft from spinning, unscrewed the old head, and screwed the new one on. Installation was done in under 5 minutes.
The original head was some sort of auto-feed gizmo that always threw out too much string. Not only that, it would get tangled up when you tried to edge and always had to be popped apart and rewound. This new head solves that problem and I was able to edge my entire property with the first set of included string. I would definitely recommend this product.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Petoskey , MIchigan

As Advertised

PostedJune 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After seeing the commercial for this on TV ,I decided I would read the reviews .At H. D. and Amazon .
Much to my surprise most are favorable .
So I decided to pay the extra $1.50 and tax and bough it at H. D. ( I didn't feel like waiting for it to be shipped ) .
It took less than 5 minutes to uninstall the old head ( weed thrasher ) and install the Pivotrim .
I started my trimmer and it works great .My suggestion is that you buy replacement line in bulk and cut it your self . You can get over 250 feet for less than the cost of 12 precut .
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

Excellent Trimmer Head

PostedJune 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this trimmer head for my Poulan Pro 31cc straight shaft trimmer last summer. Unfortunately, I hardly had the opportunity to use it due to carb issues on my trimmer's motor. This year that has not been the case. I have an acre lot that half of it is surrounded by chain link fence. After growing tired of having to stop every 30 seconds to replace trimmer line due to breakage from the fencing, I was off to my local H.D. to find a replacement head and I came across this product. Purchased this head and returned home, read the instructions, and it went on with no snags. Very easy to install. Started my trimmer up and began to do the trimming. After doing my entire yard, the lines were worn, but very little. Then the carb issue began. Fast forward to this year. With the original lines that came with the package (same ones initially installed), I began my trimming once again. This head is simply awesome! I was able to trim around my entire fence line and still have half of the original line left from the initial install. I did notice that in very tall weeds/grass (a foot + high), they tend to wrap around the trimmer base and bogged the motor down. But that occured with the original trimmer head also. It is to be expected when cutting a swath through thick weeds. But if I take them down a bit before I get to ground level, they just go flying everywhere. I had also purchased at the same time a 271' spool of .095" trimmer line (added to this review) to make sure I wouldn't run out since I was skeptical of the trimmer head claims. This package of line should last a very long time. Also, this line cuts through the tall thick stuff easier. This saves wear and tear on the trimmer and saves fuel. I would definitely recommend this product to any who wishes to learn about it, and if they catch me using it, they can give it a go for themselves. With the other line on it, it makes my trimmer a beast! And reloading couldn't be easier. If you are tired of traditional spools and heads, then give this a go. I doubt you will be disappointed.
 
Products related to my review
 
+26points
28out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Gainesville, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Big Joke

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Would not fit my Stihl line trimmer. I had to modify this thing to make it work.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Arlington, Tx
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not as good as I had hoped

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Essentially, with eight lines sticking out I didn't have to change the lines as often, but when I did have to change them, I had to put four loops (resulting in 8 lines) in instead of two individual lines on my old attachment. I couldn't tell that the swivels made any difference in the life of the strings.
After the strings break, it is difficult to get the stubs out of the attachment. It seemed that the best solution was to either use a sharp screw to pry them out, or a pair of needlenose pliers.
I was really hopeful this attachment would make the strings last much longer. It seemed to work on the video, but it didn't seem to carry through in my experience.
Cons: hard to get the broken strings out of attachment, lot of strings to replace each time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Ballwin, MO, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Well made product

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The product was very well described and was most definitely worth the money.
Pros: All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: cutting ability average
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Julian, CA.

Best Trimmer Head Ever

PostedJuly 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have tried every trimmer head there is and this "Pivotrim" is the best invention on the market. Just like the ads say we can trim around posts, walls, rocks and trees and the string just pivots around these and is not damaged. Here in the mountains the rocks are always cutting the string line on other trimmers, but the Pivotrim head just keeps on going without breaking the line. I told all the neighbors and my friends about this trimmer head because I was so impressed with it. I think that the guy who complains about the product in his review must be using the wrong weight line, .095" is the recommended size. You should try the product and you'ill agree with me about its quality. I bought three heads for my three trimmers at Home Depot and they will refund your money if you don't like it.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Spring Creek, NV

Wow!

PostedAugust 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a Ryobi stright shaft trimmer which i have been plagued with string line problems since I got it 2 years ago. My first attempt to fix the problem was to switch the head to a Ryobi Easy Reel head which initially worked fairly well. However, for the past 6-8months of use it has caused unending problems with the line not feeding and breakage of line. Last Saturday I spent 1 1/2 hours on a 20 minute job becuase I continually had to stop and take the haed apart to get more line. i then wtiched back to the original head which had the same problem. What luck to discover the Pivotrim head and thank God for the reviews. This head has solved my problem and has kept me from junking the trimmer. it works just like advertised. What a blessing! I 'm cutting alot of heavy weeds with this trimmer and the head functions flawlessly. You can't go wrong using it. As an aside, I had to call the company because I had problems with the installation and they were extremely helpful. Yes, you do talk to a real person, actually one of the developers. Buy this thing!
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Central NH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

And another thing.....

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I noticed one reviewer was not happy with the fact the line is not straight so it goes in all different directions when you install it on the Pivotrim. That's true, but I found that if I soak the line in very hot tap water, it helped to straighten out the bends from being shipped in tight quarters.
Hope this helps others that are confounded by the line. Once the line is softened, it's easily straightened out.
Sorry I forgot to put this tidbit in my original review.
Pros: Durable, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, no tools required
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Woodstock, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Alternative to the OEM Trimmer Head

PostedOctober 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I mounted this to my Husqvarna trimmer head, which required a visit to the website for a how-to video. This attachment works great and the string seems to last much longer than it did on the OEM head. Also, you don't need to buy the Pivotrim pre-cut replacement string. Just buy a spool of similar diameter string and cut the pieces to the correct length.
Pros: Cuts Well, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>