728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

The RINO-TUFF Pivotrim X4 replacement trimmer head allows for less stops to change line and works with most gas trimmers. The line pivots to prevent breaking when trimming against hard surfaces such as chain-link fence and concrete, saving you the downtime of reloading line.
Overall rating:
3.701 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(107 reviews) 107
Open Ratings Snapshot
71%of customersrecommend this product73 of 103reviews
Rating Breakdown 107 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(51)
4
(21)
3
(6)
2
(10)
1
(19)
Features 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
71%of customersrecommend this product73 of 103reviews
Customer reviews for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
Review 1 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Roswell, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent, Excellent, Ecxellent

PostedJune 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Gas Trimmer Bolens, 31cc, curved shaft, 2 stroke. Forget about every single negative review you've read here. I've read them all, too. If someone brakes line or does whatever he does to make this product not work is hid bad. Let me start with my review. Product was advertised for straight shafts, I mounted it on curved shaft, using only two of the pivots, not four. The recommended similar spool for curved shaft, that is not available at HD, is only with two pivots and when I called the hotline they advised me to use this spool with only two lines. I did. To the product. I have half of an acre, chain-link fence, wooden fence, driveway, curb, lots of stones, lots of object like staircases, patio stilts, HVAC unit, etc. etc. I have not, I repeat I have not broken a SINGLE line. Even with the one that are coming with the set that are .85 I made it through the whole front and back yard. I got me the .95 for future supply. I was so happy, I trimmed neighbors front curb side, with same lines not a single change. By the way I still have left over, about 2". It's hard to believe what such a simple product can make such a huge difference. I had to write this down so other folks can benefit from my experience. Product is worth every single penny.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Tacoma, WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent device especially for trimming around chain link fences and rocks.

PostedMay 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Best thing I have seen for trimming next to chain link fences. does not break the line, it just gets a little shorter as you go. can trim everything in my yard, about an acre including the chain link fence and use about 5' of line instead of 20' plus with a bump head that just keeps breaking off when near the chain link. Read the directions carefully to install and watch their you tube video to get it right.
Pros: Cuts Well, Accurate, Durable
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Charlotte, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great product. I'm on my second PIVOTRIM head. I actually have one that has only two lines, and I think Home Depot only offers the 4 line head, but no problem -- if you like the 4 lines, use them, but if you only want two lines, only load the head with two lines. I have used mine with the lowest Homelite curved-shaft trimmer for home trimming and edging, and it works SO MUCH BETTER than having to wind the lines, having the line get stuck in the spool and having to take it apart all the time to fix. When you're watching basketball, golf or whatever, precut a bunch of strips so that they're ready when you are. Put a nail or small hole punch in your pocket with some lines, start your trimmer and when the ones in the head wear down, use the nail or punch to pop out the used lines, put in the new ones and you're good to go again. Any problems, such as putting the head on for the first time -- just call the PIVOTRIM customer service line and ask for Monica.
Pros: Easy to Use
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It is not the greatest product...but it is ok.

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had to replace a whipping head on my Honda weed whip. I really like the one I had which was a a solid head with a button that you push and just slide the one string through. This one you have to fold and insert the holes on the each of 4 string holders are small and if you cut it, you have to reshape the line into a round shape otherwise it does not fit. It is kind of a pain...the quality seems to be ok (used it 5 times so far). The good part seems that the line last a lot longer but replacing it after use is a challenge because you have to pick it out with pliers.
Personally, I do not like it. But if you are one that whips along rocky retaining walls and fences and want the line to last it is a decent product.
Pros: Durable, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: Difficult to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from NH
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Waste of money

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After seeing a commercial and reading reviews for the Pivotrim, I decided to buy one at my local Home Depot. It's a good thing that the line is easy to change, because I had to stop and insert more line every 10 minutes! While it is easy to use, as advertise, the line broke often. I use a Stihl, which has plenty of power, and maybe a commercial grade trimmer is too much for this product.
I bought the model Pivotrim that came with plastic blades as well, and those all broke while cutting small trim and weeds.
In short, if there was a way to return it after using it, I would! Don't waste your time, learn how to reload the spools that came with your trimmer!
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Arlington, Tx
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not as good as I had hoped

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Essentially, with eight lines sticking out I didn't have to change the lines as often, but when I did have to change them, I had to put four loops (resulting in 8 lines) in instead of two individual lines on my old attachment. I couldn't tell that the swivels made any difference in the life of the strings.
After the strings break, it is difficult to get the stubs out of the attachment. It seemed that the best solution was to either use a sharp screw to pry them out, or a pair of needlenose pliers.
I was really hopeful this attachment would make the strings last much longer. It seemed to work on the video, but it didn't seem to carry through in my experience.
Cons: hard to get the broken strings out of attachment, lot of strings to replace each time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from San Antonio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent

PostedJune 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installation on my Weedeater straight shaft was a snap, easier than I feared considering all the extra parts that came along with the product. I was tired of consistently jammed lines. I have just used the product for the first time on a big job - I had let my backyard "go" because my Weedeater was impossible to work with its jamming problem. No problem now. I used up about 25% of each of the two lines, so I've easily got enough for a second go-around before changing lines. Considering how rediculously easy it is to replace them and the low cost, I wouldn't mind if I had to change them each time....I can finally use my trimmer again!
Pros: Cuts Well, Durable, it works as advertised
Cons: none
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Cooper City, Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

An excellent product

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The pivotrim was not all that easy to install on my Poulan-pro string trimmer. Once instaled, it performed very well - in my view surpassing the expectations.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Rosedale, Maryland
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well, needs some updating!

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The overall product works very well. The only drawback is the fact that I overworked it so much that the plastic line holders wore out and broke. The pivot heads should be made of a more durable material such as stainless or titanium....not plastic. The line holders would outlast the trimmer! Other than that the pivot trim is a great product. I do use way less line because of the pivot heads.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Richmond, KY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this thing

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The commercial really says it all for this thing. It works just like they say. I can cut my entire property and not have to change the sting. It really last a long time. And it will eat up the brush and weeds. I just purchased a new Stihl weed eater; I never even started it until I put this new head on. Love it.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My dad LOVES this trimmer head

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My dad is 87 and still does his own yard work. He used to spend a lot of time stopping to replace the broken string in his trimmer, then he saw a TV commercial for the Pivotrim. I found it on the shelf at Home Depot so no shipping fees & easy to return IF it didn't work. Bottom line is it works exactly like it does on the commercial. He does the entire yard - front and back - without the string breaking so it cuts his work time to zippidy-doo-da. He couldn't be happier. I got him a package of the extra string also but it looks like that might turn out be a lifetime supply.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

Time Saver & Fits Ryobi Electric 10 AMP Power Head/Curved Trimmer

PostedMay 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The title sums it up. Finally, Ryobi makes a corded electric trimmer that can be fitted with the Pivotrim. I assume the reason the Pivotrim can't be used with most electric trimmers is because the motors are at the bottom of the electric trimmers and the spool heads are proprietary designed whilst the gas trimmer ends are more universal? Who knows. Anyway, I have about 150 feet of chain link fence and I've trimmed it about 2 times and so far, no broken strings. WOW! Previously with my other trimmer, I stopped about every 2 feet and spent over an hour just trying to feed the line correctly - no fun. Now it's a quick 5 minutes to trim and maybe another 10 to deal with the cord. I'm liking it so far and hopefully years of "trimmer's frustration" will melt away. Actually, this has totally changed my life, I used to dread trimming but now it's fun and almost too EZ! And what will I do with all these extra hours of freedom....
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Gainesville, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Big Joke

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Would not fit my Stihl line trimmer. I had to modify this thing to make it work.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Greensboro, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was a bit disappointed in how long the "string" last.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Took delivery at HD, Oak Ridge Tenn
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Rhino Trimmer Head (an OEM Product)

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought a second weed eater for our Tennessee home, and replaced with this trimmer head due to the experience I've had with it over the past 5 years at our home in Georgia Mountains. These gadgets are outstanding in ever sense of the word, or should I say work?
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Central NH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

And another thing.....

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I noticed one reviewer was not happy with the fact the line is not straight so it goes in all different directions when you install it on the Pivotrim. That's true, but I found that if I soak the line in very hot tap water, it helped to straighten out the bends from being shipped in tight quarters.
Hope this helps others that are confounded by the line. Once the line is softened, it's easily straightened out.
Sorry I forgot to put this tidbit in my original review.
Pros: Durable, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, no tools required
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

Pivotrim trimmer head

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have a Ryobi straight trimmer, and I bought the pivotrim (Rino)) from Home Depot . I tried to fit the Pivotrim to my Ryobi shaft for 1/2 an hour. I tried all combinations with the materials provided, it would not fit. I hope that this review will safe someone lots of time and faustration.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

The Good The Bad & The Ugly

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The only thing good I found was the look. It looks good! The bad thing is that it takes to long to load and unload. The ugly part of this product is that as soon as you load it and begin to work, you soon must go back to the bad part! Reloading!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from San Antonio, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well, wish there was more detail on installation

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This trimmer head works very well and preserves the line. The only issue that I had was finding the correct installation diagram for my trimmer. Perhaps an online manual that directs you to the appropriate specific trimmer model numbers would help?
Pros: Cuts Well, Durable
Cons: installation not easy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Brunswick, Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works for me....

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This head was purchased to replace the original "Bump Feed" head that came with the trimmer. The "direction to wind" lettering and the feed mechanism had worn out and the trimmer was still operational so I bought this head to replace it. It works pretty good with the exception of occasionally entangling the individual strings, with each other.... I was using up my leftover .095" monofilament line, so new, stiffer line may work better. Also, the "used up" strings are difficult to pull out so take a pair of needle nose pliers with you to trim the yard. I'm sure more of the issues I'll find cures for, the more I use it.
Pros: Durable, Cuts Well, Sturdy, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, string lasts longer
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>