728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

The RINO-TUFF Pivotrim X4 replacement trimmer head allows for less stops to change line and works with most gas trimmers. The line pivots to prevent breaking when trimming against hard surfaces such as chain-link fence and concrete, saving you the downtime of reloading line.
Overall rating:
3.713 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(94 reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
71%of customersrecommend this product65 of 91reviews
Rating Breakdown 94 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(46)
4
(17)
3
(5)
2
(10)
1
(16)
Features 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
71%of customersrecommend this product65 of 91reviews
Customer reviews for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
Review 1 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Tacoma, WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent device especially for trimming around chain link fences and rocks.

PostedMay 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Best thing I have seen for trimming next to chain link fences. does not break the line, it just gets a little shorter as you go. can trim everything in my yard, about an acre including the chain link fence and use about 5' of line instead of 20' plus with a bump head that just keeps breaking off when near the chain link. Read the directions carefully to install and watch their you tube video to get it right.
Pros: Cuts Well, Accurate, Durable
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Roswell, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent, Excellent, Ecxellent

PostedJune 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Gas Trimmer Bolens, 31cc, curved shaft, 2 stroke. Forget about every single negative review you've read here. I've read them all, too. If someone brakes line or does whatever he does to make this product not work is hid bad. Let me start with my review. Product was advertised for straight shafts, I mounted it on curved shaft, using only two of the pivots, not four. The recommended similar spool for curved shaft, that is not available at HD, is only with two pivots and when I called the hotline they advised me to use this spool with only two lines. I did. To the product. I have half of an acre, chain-link fence, wooden fence, driveway, curb, lots of stones, lots of object like staircases, patio stilts, HVAC unit, etc. etc. I have not, I repeat I have not broken a SINGLE line. Even with the one that are coming with the set that are .85 I made it through the whole front and back yard. I got me the .95 for future supply. I was so happy, I trimmed neighbors front curb side, with same lines not a single change. By the way I still have left over, about 2". It's hard to believe what such a simple product can make such a huge difference. I had to write this down so other folks can benefit from my experience. Product is worth every single penny.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It is not the greatest product...but it is ok.

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had to replace a whipping head on my Honda weed whip. I really like the one I had which was a a solid head with a button that you push and just slide the one string through. This one you have to fold and insert the holes on the each of 4 string holders are small and if you cut it, you have to reshape the line into a round shape otherwise it does not fit. It is kind of a pain...the quality seems to be ok (used it 5 times so far). The good part seems that the line last a lot longer but replacing it after use is a challenge because you have to pick it out with pliers.
Personally, I do not like it. But if you are one that whips along rocky retaining walls and fences and want the line to last it is a decent product.
Pros: Durable, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: Difficult to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Charlotte, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great product. I'm on my second PIVOTRIM head. I actually have one that has only two lines, and I think Home Depot only offers the 4 line head, but no problem -- if you like the 4 lines, use them, but if you only want two lines, only load the head with two lines. I have used mine with the lowest Homelite curved-shaft trimmer for home trimming and edging, and it works SO MUCH BETTER than having to wind the lines, having the line get stuck in the spool and having to take it apart all the time to fix. When you're watching basketball, golf or whatever, precut a bunch of strips so that they're ready when you are. Put a nail or small hole punch in your pocket with some lines, start your trimmer and when the ones in the head wear down, use the nail or punch to pop out the used lines, put in the new ones and you're good to go again. Any problems, such as putting the head on for the first time -- just call the PIVOTRIM customer service line and ask for Monica.
Pros: Easy to Use
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from NH
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Waste of money

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After seeing a commercial and reading reviews for the Pivotrim, I decided to buy one at my local Home Depot. It's a good thing that the line is easy to change, because I had to stop and insert more line every 10 minutes! While it is easy to use, as advertise, the line broke often. I use a Stihl, which has plenty of power, and maybe a commercial grade trimmer is too much for this product.
I bought the model Pivotrim that came with plastic blades as well, and those all broke while cutting small trim and weeds.
In short, if there was a way to return it after using it, I would! Don't waste your time, learn how to reload the spools that came with your trimmer!
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

Pivotrim trimmer head

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have a Ryobi straight trimmer, and I bought the pivotrim (Rino)) from Home Depot . I tried to fit the Pivotrim to my Ryobi shaft for 1/2 an hour. I tried all combinations with the materials provided, it would not fit. I hope that this review will safe someone lots of time and faustration.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Central NH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

And another thing.....

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I noticed one reviewer was not happy with the fact the line is not straight so it goes in all different directions when you install it on the Pivotrim. That's true, but I found that if I soak the line in very hot tap water, it helped to straighten out the bends from being shipped in tight quarters.
Hope this helps others that are confounded by the line. Once the line is softened, it's easily straightened out.
Sorry I forgot to put this tidbit in my original review.
Pros: Durable, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, no tools required
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Brunswick, Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works for me....

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This head was purchased to replace the original "Bump Feed" head that came with the trimmer. The "direction to wind" lettering and the feed mechanism had worn out and the trimmer was still operational so I bought this head to replace it. It works pretty good with the exception of occasionally entangling the individual strings, with each other.... I was using up my leftover .095" monofilament line, so new, stiffer line may work better. Also, the "used up" strings are difficult to pull out so take a pair of needle nose pliers with you to trim the yard. I'm sure more of the issues I'll find cures for, the more I use it.
Pros: Durable, Cuts Well, Sturdy, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, string lasts longer
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from San Antonio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent

PostedJune 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installation on my Weedeater straight shaft was a snap, easier than I feared considering all the extra parts that came along with the product. I was tired of consistently jammed lines. I have just used the product for the first time on a big job - I had let my backyard "go" because my Weedeater was impossible to work with its jamming problem. No problem now. I used up about 25% of each of the two lines, so I've easily got enough for a second go-around before changing lines. Considering how rediculously easy it is to replace them and the low cost, I wouldn't mind if I had to change them each time....I can finally use my trimmer again!
Pros: Cuts Well, Durable, it works as advertised
Cons: none
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

Time Saver & Fits Ryobi Electric 10 AMP Power Head/Curved Trimmer

PostedMay 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The title sums it up. Finally, Ryobi makes a corded electric trimmer that can be fitted with the Pivotrim. I assume the reason the Pivotrim can't be used with most electric trimmers is because the motors are at the bottom of the electric trimmers and the spool heads are proprietary designed whilst the gas trimmer ends are more universal? Who knows. Anyway, I have about 150 feet of chain link fence and I've trimmed it about 2 times and so far, no broken strings. WOW! Previously with my other trimmer, I stopped about every 2 feet and spent over an hour just trying to feed the line correctly - no fun. Now it's a quick 5 minutes to trim and maybe another 10 to deal with the cord. I'm liking it so far and hopefully years of "trimmer's frustration" will melt away. Actually, this has totally changed my life, I used to dread trimming but now it's fun and almost too EZ! And what will I do with all these extra hours of freedom....
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Countryside, IL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better then replacement spools.

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The strips last a lot longer then the replacement spool. Spools are always breaking and you are constantly banging the weed wacker against the ground. The pivot trim has a way that makes the strips last and still be able to take down so heavy brush in the process. I have used it heavily and still have the original strips that it came with. Great product.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

Good Product

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works well in our wood fenced back yard. Haven't tested on chain link.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Weed Wacker Trimmer Head

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Makes changing out cutter line extremely easy. Easy to install on existing equipment.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Houston Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Please do not Buy this

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this item because of the TV infomercial. I had a lot of hope for this Item to work. It does not. I tried to edge my small yard and tore up the lines to include the back up lines. Take it back you say? there's nothing left to take back.
Cons: Not Durable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from cleveland heights, ohio
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

decent but needs improvment

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
the pivot trim seemed like the best option because i'm a heavy landscaper. it was a little difficult to put together. after putting it together i started having trouble with my trimmer head vibrating violently much like i had something stuck in the head. recently i was using it and the friction between the washer provided and the trimmer head became so great that the heat cracked the pivot trim head and now its broken..... it worked decently well for 2 months i just wish it was better built and would stop vibrating my trimmer shaft/head.
ill probably get an ugly head from lowes next time
Pros: edges well
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable, No Instructions, cheaply built
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Ballwin, MO, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Well made product

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product was very well described and was most definitely worth the money.
Pros: All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: cutting ability average
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Dugway Utah
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Awesome Trimmer Head

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
the trimmer head was real easy to install. Only needed two wrenches and elbow grease. Very happy. This is the second Pivotrim I have owned.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Accurate, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Fort Worth, Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did the job!

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I struggled a little to attach it to my trimmer but finally got it on. Works like it's supposed to, good value.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Richmond, VA

Absolutetly Fantastic Performance

PostedApril 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I picked up one of these RinoTuff Pivotrim heads at my local home depot store. I thought the design looked interesting the way the lines can swing around. But , I never thought I would trim my whole yard with one set of lines! I've got a lot of fencing and I am constantly fighting with my trimmer head because the line breaks off all the time. With this PivoTrim head I can get right up next to my fence and the line doesn't break. It's really easy to load the lines on, but who cares if you don't have to change it much anyway!
Anyone whose got a gas trimmer needs one of these things!
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Maryland
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy Peasy

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product is very easy to use. It takes less than 2 min to change out the line. Previously, I had a hard time changing out the lines due to wrapping the line, etc. This is a piece of cake. Nothing easier than this (unless you hire someone to do your weedwacking!!)
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>