728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

The RINO-TUFF Pivotrim X4 replacement trimmer head allows for less stops to change line and works with most gas trimmers. The line pivots to prevent breaking when trimming against hard surfaces such as chain-link fence and concrete, saving you the downtime of reloading line.
Overall rating:
3.765 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(85 reviews) 85
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product59 of 82reviews
Rating Breakdown 85 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(44)
4
(13)
3
(5)
2
(10)
1
(13)
Features 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product59 of 82reviews
Customer reviews for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
Review 1 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This is not worth the money

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is not worth the money spent. It is plastic so if you hit it on any thing hard, i.e. driveway or a rock, it brakes the little plastic hoops that hold the plastic blade replacements in. Then rendering that one of only 3 loops unusable.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features, Not Durable, plastic
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Hempstead, TX 77445, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Everyone should own this....

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Retired 3 yrs. ago and have fought my weed trimmer ever since... This product has made it possible for me to weed eat more than 5 min. without having to tap the weed eater on the ground, or replace my line... Wish I had had this item for the past 3 yrs...
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Birmingham, AL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does fit all gas trimmers

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Although there was an assortment of bolts included, none fit my trimmer. The design does not allow me to use the retaining bolt that was on my trimmer and, because it is a reverse thread bolt, I have difficulty locating one that will fit. There was no instructions or contact information in the package for assistance.
Cons: No Instructions, does not fit all trimmers
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Round Rock, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Expected better

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this cause I was tired of having to stop every few feet to re-feed the line. Now I don't have to stop as much anymore, but I expected better.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Texas

Awesome....

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Awesome product.... Turned my average trimmer into a beast. Easy to install & cut my trimming time in half.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

Ok string trimmer--needed to modify to accept standard .095 and .105 strings

PostedAugust 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works as advertised with supplied strings. Strings last a long time. However, could not replace strings with pro-grade .095 or .105 widths. I ended up drilling out each of the holes to slightly widen. Now accepts standard .95 and .105 widths. So, recommended with modification.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Long-Lasting
Cons: Limited Features, does not accept standard pro-grade string widths
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Newbury, NH, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works fine.

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works fine but does wear out about once a season. Cord gets loose in the holder.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Coventry, RI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Junk

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The only good thing about this is it was fairly easy to install on my John Deer string trimmer. With the four strings in the head the motor on my trimmer was not able to run at full speed. I started using just two strings and the motor ran better. I had a lot of weeds to cut along my walkway and along the sidewalk along the road. The strings lasted less than a minute before having to be replaced. I spent more time replacing string than I did actually working. I bought it to avoid having to replace string so often but that isn't the case with this product.
Cons: Not Durable, Too Heavy
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Bridgeport, CT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes loading trimmer string a breeze!

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
OK, so i finally caved in and bought one of these from the local Big Hardware Giant. I wanted to replace a bump, and a slide-load head which both came with my Ryobi CS26. The bump head never quite worked as expected, so I made use of the slide-load for the last 2 yrs. The annoying part of the slide-load was when the trimmer string broke inside the unit, which happened a lot, and then you needed to take it apart in order to remove the stuck piece.
So this NEW Rhino-Tuff Pivot Trim came with plenty of; Nuts, Bolts and (2) adapters to secure the rotating head onto you weed trimmer (curve or straight shaft) Installation was easy enough, and didn't require but a wrench or pliers to tighten down the head screw. They claim that the pivot action will allow your line to last 20x longer than normal...but I beg to differ with that claim. Not only are you using twice the length of line by folding it in half, you are also loading 4 sets of line. Now, from my experience today, I only loaded (2) lines as recommended for curved shaft trimmer. The trimmer lines did not last 20x, not even 2x longer than my slide-load head, but it was EASIER to reload, and for that I would give it 5stars! Would I recommend it, that is a YES. Do i think its saves you trimmer line, NO, you will be using twice as much due to the design of this product...and that is why I gave it only 3 stars!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable
Cons: Limited Features, uses more line
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Waldorf, MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good deal for the money

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this for a year now and only changed the string once. I am not easily impressed, but this one impressed me.
As for those whose trimmers it won't fit: The package say it will fit MOST trimmers. So it doesn't fit yours, why are you complaining, yours is just not one of the MOST!
As for it overloading a trimmer, I'm not sure but I think the instructions even say, if your trimmer is struggling, only use two of the stings.
Overall I think it was money well spent.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Vero Beach Florida
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Average product for grass..

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installed on a Troy Built 4-Cycle Weed Eater:
I didn't buy this because I was looking for a beefy weed eater head.. I needed something cheap that would allow me to trim grass over growing my garden border, around trees and mail boxes.. without having to pull out more line every 5 feet..
This does that job nicely. In thicker growth it lacks the bite, due to the pivot action, that a traditional feed line trimmer head would have but with patience it works through that as well.
I took it to the Holly / Oak shoots that vigorously sprout around my Oak tree that stand, woody, about 5" off the ground and as thick as a pencil lead.. it chewed the tips of them up and they still needed pruning with my hand sheers (Expected this) but the line didn't break.
The installation instructions were straight forward and clearly drawn out for multiple styles of trimmers.
I recommend this product for light home use.
All in all, I have no complaints.. it is just as I expected for $20
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Alabama, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product was easy to install and does a good job trimming the yard. The string is easy to replace when needed.

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installation only took a few minutes and then loaded string into slots with ease. It does a good job and it appears to be very durable.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Superior to bump and feed

PostedMay 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works as advertised. I recommend buying a spool of the thickest line you can fit into it rather than their precut lines, it lasts longer. I have a fenced acre lot with many trees and it trims it 3-4 times before needing to replace the line.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Austin, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Does not work with newer craftsman models

PostedJuly 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Product does not work with newer craftsman models. I called their customer service, YouTube, etc. and there is no solution. Seems like okay product, but requires a threaded shaft. (packaging includes craftsman in list of brands. I discovered other models do not include the brand.)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Somerset, MA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great alll the way around!!!!

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have waited a while to purchase something like this for my trimmer thinking it woundn't work that great but boy was I wrong. This product is the best thing I have purchased from home depot and for my yard work. Its easy to install and works as good as the product says it does. So glad I purchased it and hope home depot puts other items on their shelf that work as good! Its the best thing I seen or used that say "Seen on TV"!!!!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Tampa, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Should have bought sooner

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Much easier than fighting with the factory spool which always got jammed. Its amazing how long the string lasts on this before it needs replaced, which is very easy to do.
Pros: Easy to Use, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

best 20 bucks ever spent

PostedMay 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
thing works great. did entire wire fence 300'+ (both sides) with zero breaks.. outstanding value
Pros: Cuts Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from San Antonio, TX

Sturdy and looks great

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Just installed and very easy. Hope it keeps the grass out of area around trees.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Connecticut
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not good for low-average power trimmers

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
You need a very powerful engine as the head and 2-string configuration are quite a load. I had to use a very high throttle setting and could feel the engine struggling at times. Hard to judge string end, consequently stripped paint and wood off fence, and quickly wore out the string. I'd only recommend this for higher power, commercial grade trimmers.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Durable
Cons: Difficult to Use, not good for low to average power trimmers
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Taft, TN 38488, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Beats the tap & go heads by a long sight. Have ordered a second one.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>