728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

The Pivotrim X4 replacement trimmer head allows for less stops to change line and works with most gas curved shaft and straight shaft trimmers. The line pivots to prevent line breakage when trimming against hard surfaces such as chain-link fence, trees and concrete, saving you the downtime of reloading line.
Overall rating:
3.75 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(120 reviews) 120
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product83 of 115reviews
Rating Breakdown 120 reviews
3.8 out of 5
5
(60)
4
(22)
3
(6)
2
(12)
1
(20)
Features 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product83 of 115reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
Review 1 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Spring Creek, NV

Wow!

PostedAugust 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a Ryobi stright shaft trimmer which i have been plagued with string line problems since I got it 2 years ago. My first attempt to fix the problem was to switch the head to a Ryobi Easy Reel head which initially worked fairly well. However, for the past 6-8months of use it has caused unending problems with the line not feeding and breakage of line. Last Saturday I spent 1 1/2 hours on a 20 minute job becuase I continually had to stop and take the haed apart to get more line. i then wtiched back to the original head which had the same problem. What luck to discover the Pivotrim head and thank God for the reviews. This head has solved my problem and has kept me from junking the trimmer. it works just like advertised. What a blessing! I 'm cutting alot of heavy weeds with this trimmer and the head functions flawlessly. You can't go wrong using it. As an aside, I had to call the company because I had problems with the installation and they were extremely helpful. Yes, you do talk to a real person, actually one of the developers. Buy this thing!
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

Excellent Trimmer Head

PostedJune 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this trimmer head for my Poulan Pro 31cc straight shaft trimmer last summer. Unfortunately, I hardly had the opportunity to use it due to carb issues on my trimmer's motor. This year that has not been the case. I have an acre lot that half of it is surrounded by chain link fence. After growing tired of having to stop every 30 seconds to replace trimmer line due to breakage from the fencing, I was off to my local H.D. to find a replacement head and I came across this product. Purchased this head and returned home, read the instructions, and it went on with no snags. Very easy to install. Started my trimmer up and began to do the trimming. After doing my entire yard, the lines were worn, but very little. Then the carb issue began. Fast forward to this year. With the original lines that came with the package (same ones initially installed), I began my trimming once again. This head is simply awesome! I was able to trim around my entire fence line and still have half of the original line left from the initial install. I did notice that in very tall weeds/grass (a foot + high), they tend to wrap around the trimmer base and bogged the motor down. But that occured with the original trimmer head also. It is to be expected when cutting a swath through thick weeds. But if I take them down a bit before I get to ground level, they just go flying everywhere. I had also purchased at the same time a 271' spool of .095" trimmer line (added to this review) to make sure I wouldn't run out since I was skeptical of the trimmer head claims. This package of line should last a very long time. Also, this line cuts through the tall thick stuff easier. This saves wear and tear on the trimmer and saves fuel. I would definitely recommend this product to any who wishes to learn about it, and if they catch me using it, they can give it a go for themselves. With the other line on it, it makes my trimmer a beast! And reloading couldn't be easier. If you are tired of traditional spools and heads, then give this a go. I doubt you will be disappointed.
 
Products related to my review
 
+26points
28out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Fort Worth, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great for me

PostedApril 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installation was easy. I can actually weed eat now instead of wasting time replacing line. I used to spend a lot of time fixing spools or replacing line that would pull out. (very frustrating) I love this product and would highly recommend it.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from San Antonio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product

PostedMay 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to use and change string. You have to use the correct size (.95) string. I would like to put this product against the other guy’s string trimmer heads, in durability and ease/speed of replacing the string. You have to know what you are doing.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Austin, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Does not work with newer craftsman models

PostedJuly 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Product does not work with newer craftsman models. I called their customer service, YouTube, etc. and there is no solution. Seems like okay product, but requires a threaded shaft. (packaging includes craftsman in list of brands. I discovered other models do not include the brand.)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Guam
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product is of quality

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is an excellent product and will recommed to my family and friends!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Round Rock, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Expected better

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this cause I was tired of having to stop every few feet to re-feed the line. Now I don't have to stop as much anymore, but I expected better.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from cedarttown,Ga.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
very easy to install work's really good cuts great
Pros: Cuts Well, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Thomasville
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

The package states that this trimmer head will fit all gas trimmers. WRONG!!. It won't fit Cub Cadet.

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The shaft of the Cub Cadet is too large for the trimmer to fit over. There was one part that would fit over the shaft, but the washer, which was supposed to slide onto the part that did fit, would not go onto the shaft. What a bummer!
Cons: won't fit as advertised
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Arlington, Tx
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not as good as I had hoped

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Essentially, with eight lines sticking out I didn't have to change the lines as often, but when I did have to change them, I had to put four loops (resulting in 8 lines) in instead of two individual lines on my old attachment. I couldn't tell that the swivels made any difference in the life of the strings.
After the strings break, it is difficult to get the stubs out of the attachment. It seemed that the best solution was to either use a sharp screw to pry them out, or a pair of needlenose pliers.
I was really hopeful this attachment would make the strings last much longer. It seemed to work on the video, but it didn't seem to carry through in my experience.
Cons: hard to get the broken strings out of attachment, lot of strings to replace each time.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Greensboro, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was a bit disappointed in how long the "string" last.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Cooper City, Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

An excellent product

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The pivotrim was not all that easy to install on my Poulan-pro string trimmer. Once instaled, it performed very well - in my view surpassing the expectations.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

Better than the others

PostedAugust 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have tried several trimmer heads, this one is the best.
I don't know about the line lasting twenty times longer.
but the line dosen't break like it does on other trimmer heads.Good product, well worth the price.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Dacula, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

love it

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was sick of bump head trimmer heads. This head does the trick, I have done my lawn twice with first set of line. This includes 120' fence line house and shed. My trimmer is run of the mill ryobi straight shaft, I can see line being worn fast with the high end trimmers.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

Time Saver & Fits Ryobi Electric 10 AMP Power Head/Curved Trimmer

PostedMay 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The title sums it up. Finally, Ryobi makes a corded electric trimmer that can be fitted with the Pivotrim. I assume the reason the Pivotrim can't be used with most electric trimmers is because the motors are at the bottom of the electric trimmers and the spool heads are proprietary designed whilst the gas trimmer ends are more universal? Who knows. Anyway, I have about 150 feet of chain link fence and I've trimmed it about 2 times and so far, no broken strings. WOW! Previously with my other trimmer, I stopped about every 2 feet and spent over an hour just trying to feed the line correctly - no fun. Now it's a quick 5 minutes to trim and maybe another 10 to deal with the cord. I'm liking it so far and hopefully years of "trimmer's frustration" will melt away. Actually, this has totally changed my life, I used to dread trimming but now it's fun and almost too EZ! And what will I do with all these extra hours of freedom....
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Crowley, LA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Time and hassle saver

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quick and easy string replacment.
I can do two entire yards before needing a refill.
Really convient and powerful.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

why did I not get this sooner?!

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The BIGGEST pain for weed wacking for me has always been by the fence. So I decided to give this a shot thinking it was just another gimicky thing that wouldn't actually work, and BOY WAS I WRONG! Not once did I have to change the string during the first use! I'm usually changing the string 4 or 5 times before I'm finished with the yard! This is an amazing product and I am very glad I bought it.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Durable, Long-Lasting
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Waldorf, MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good deal for the money

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have used this for a year now and only changed the string once. I am not easily impressed, but this one impressed me.
As for those whose trimmers it won't fit: The package say it will fit MOST trimmers. So it doesn't fit yours, why are you complaining, yours is just not one of the MOST!
As for it overloading a trimmer, I'm not sure but I think the instructions even say, if your trimmer is struggling, only use two of the stings.
Overall I think it was money well spent.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from The Colony, Texas
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works alright

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
This product is just OK. It's not bad, but it's not great either. As an in-store purchase, it was what I settled on because the Aero-Flex wasn't available. After two uses, the line seems to fray a little too easily. The packaging also is a bit misleading. When you see it in stores, there is already one attached, and the line is very straight and neat. But when you have to put the other three pieces of line on, they shoot out at different directions.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

Pivotrim trimmer head

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have a Ryobi straight trimmer, and I bought the pivotrim (Rino)) from Home Depot . I tried to fit the Pivotrim to my Ryobi shaft for 1/2 an hour. I tried all combinations with the materials provided, it would not fit. I hope that this review will safe someone lots of time and faustration.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>