728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

The RINO-TUFF Pivotrim X4 replacement trimmer head allows for less stops to change line and works with most gas trimmers. The line pivots to prevent breaking when trimming against hard surfaces such as chain-link fence and concrete, saving you the downtime of reloading line.
Overall rating:
3.68 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(100 reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
70%of customersrecommend this product68 of 97reviews
Rating Breakdown 100 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(48)
4
(18)
3
(6)
2
(10)
1
(18)
Features 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
70%of customersrecommend this product68 of 97reviews
Customer reviews for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
Review 1 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from KILLEEN, TEXAS

DON'T BUY THIS PRODUCT

PostedApril 8, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this product at the Home Depot in Killeen, Texas. I asked the store clerk about this product. They highly recommended it. I got it home and tested it out in a small area. I went to my first yard and this was a total bust. It bogged down the Echo Trimmer. I’m glad I had my old trimmer head with me. Don’t buy this product!
-17points
4out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very poor quality

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Does not perform as shown on the commercials of course I didnot really think that it would. But it performed way below what I think it should have, strings will not last pass 10-15 feet of trimming before having to replace them. Although they are easy to replace it could be preety expensive if you buy the precut lines. Would not recommend this to anyone. Very poor performance.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Batavia, OH 45103, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not As Advertised

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I saw the commercial like most everyone else and was like great finally something I don't have to keep re-stringing. Unfortunately that was NOT the case. I used it for the first time edging my driveway, sidewalks, and flower beds and ended up burning through the first strings and 1/2 way through the 2nd set that it came with. I was pretty disappointed since the commercial showed it cutting through the thin plywood with ease and all I did was a normal edge job around my house. If I knew this was the case I would of stuck to the cheap re-stringing method. Plan to talk to my local HD store see what they will do for me, but definitely disappointed.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable, short life
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This is not worth the money

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is not worth the money spent. It is plastic so if you hit it on any thing hard, i.e. driveway or a rock, it brakes the little plastic hoops that hold the plastic blade replacements in. Then rendering that one of only 3 loops unusable.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features, Not Durable, plastic
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from San Antonio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent

PostedJune 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installation on my Weedeater straight shaft was a snap, easier than I feared considering all the extra parts that came along with the product. I was tired of consistently jammed lines. I have just used the product for the first time on a big job - I had let my backyard "go" because my Weedeater was impossible to work with its jamming problem. No problem now. I used up about 25% of each of the two lines, so I've easily got enough for a second go-around before changing lines. Considering how rediculously easy it is to replace them and the low cost, I wouldn't mind if I had to change them each time....I can finally use my trimmer again!
Pros: Cuts Well, Durable, it works as advertised
Cons: none
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Hempstead, TX 77445, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Everyone should own this....

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Retired 3 yrs. ago and have fought my weed trimmer ever since... This product has made it possible for me to weed eat more than 5 min. without having to tap the weed eater on the ground, or replace my line... Wish I had had this item for the past 3 yrs...
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Birmingham, AL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does fit all gas trimmers

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Although there was an assortment of bolts included, none fit my trimmer. The design does not allow me to use the retaining bolt that was on my trimmer and, because it is a reverse thread bolt, I have difficulty locating one that will fit. There was no instructions or contact information in the package for assistance.
Cons: No Instructions, does not fit all trimmers
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Round Rock, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Expected better

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this cause I was tired of having to stop every few feet to re-feed the line. Now I don't have to stop as much anymore, but I expected better.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

Not the miracle solution to weed eating

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had high expectations for this device. Especially since it has 8 strings compared to my current two strings. However, in a single round of weed eating, I had to add new string three times. I like the process for adding new string, but if you have to do it four times, it suddenly loses it's convenience. I am OK with the device, but not ecstatic.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: must change too often
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Richmond, VA

Absolutetly Fantastic Performance

PostedApril 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I picked up one of these RinoTuff Pivotrim heads at my local home depot store. I thought the design looked interesting the way the lines can swing around. But , I never thought I would trim my whole yard with one set of lines! I've got a lot of fencing and I am constantly fighting with my trimmer head because the line breaks off all the time. With this PivoTrim head I can get right up next to my fence and the line doesn't break. It's really easy to load the lines on, but who cares if you don't have to change it much anyway!
Anyone whose got a gas trimmer needs one of these things!
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Up-state Utah

Great concept, could be better...

PostedMay 27, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I recently purchased this product PivoTrim String Trimmer Head. I had high hopes for it. Installation went well and initial trimming went well. The "string" seems to be the weakest link in the chain here. I have a fair sized yard with plenty to trim around. I usually use a full spool of trimmer line each time I trim. I was hoping to get through the yard with one set of strings on this device. Didn't happen, I was shaking my head while loading my fourth set of strings to finish up. Made me think that the strings and refill strings had a prior life as dehydrated gummy bears. Next week, I'm going to try a commercial grade .95 line cut to lengths to fit. Like I said the concept good I despise "the spool" design. I use a gas powered straight shaft trimmer.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from North Carolina

ONE BUTT-KICKING TRIMMER HEAD!!!!!

PostedJuly 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After becoming completely fed up with the breaking and failure to feed out trimmer line on my Homelite BC 800 stringer trimmer, I finally decided to spend the $20 and purchase the Pivo Trim trimmer head. Now I'm wishing I would have done it long ago and saved myself a lot of aggravation. This product is AWESOME and combined with the Home Depot SUPER FAST SHIPPING as it arrived in 2 business day after ordering makes it even more of a great purchase.
The product is very well made and comes with very easy to read and follow installation instructions for about any make or model string trimmer. Installation took all of maybe 10 minutes and 5 of those were spent trying to figure out how to get the end shaft off my HomeLite trimmer. HINT: It has left-hand threads!!
I HIGHLY RECOMMEND the Pivo Trim to anyone that is as fed up with breaking line as I was. Money well spent!
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

product did all it said it would do and more. I love it.

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I use this all the time in my business. I use it on at least four lawns per day. It is great. I havent had to change the line but once, and even then I just did it to see how easy it was going to be doing it. Its a great product. Saves me lots of time and headache.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

Very effectiv and trouble-free trimmer head.

PostedOctober 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I attached this head to my smaller Echo trimmer without any problems. It worked great around posts, concrete foundations and other obstacles with very little loss of string.The trimmer labored only when I was cutting tall heavy weeds.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Texas

Awesome....

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Awesome product.... Turned my average trimmer into a beast. Easy to install & cut my trimming time in half.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

Ok string trimmer--needed to modify to accept standard .095 and .105 strings

PostedAugust 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works as advertised with supplied strings. Strings last a long time. However, could not replace strings with pro-grade .095 or .105 widths. I ended up drilling out each of the holes to slightly widen. Now accepts standard .95 and .105 widths. So, recommended with modification.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Long-Lasting
Cons: Limited Features, does not accept standard pro-grade string widths
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Newbury, NH, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works fine.

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works fine but does wear out about once a season. Cord gets loose in the holder.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Bridgeport, CT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes loading trimmer string a breeze!

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
OK, so i finally caved in and bought one of these from the local Big Hardware Giant. I wanted to replace a bump, and a slide-load head which both came with my Ryobi CS26. The bump head never quite worked as expected, so I made use of the slide-load for the last 2 yrs. The annoying part of the slide-load was when the trimmer string broke inside the unit, which happened a lot, and then you needed to take it apart in order to remove the stuck piece.
So this NEW Rhino-Tuff Pivot Trim came with plenty of; Nuts, Bolts and (2) adapters to secure the rotating head onto you weed trimmer (curve or straight shaft) Installation was easy enough, and didn't require but a wrench or pliers to tighten down the head screw. They claim that the pivot action will allow your line to last 20x longer than normal...but I beg to differ with that claim. Not only are you using twice the length of line by folding it in half, you are also loading 4 sets of line. Now, from my experience today, I only loaded (2) lines as recommended for curved shaft trimmer. The trimmer lines did not last 20x, not even 2x longer than my slide-load head, but it was EASIER to reload, and for that I would give it 5stars! Would I recommend it, that is a YES. Do i think its saves you trimmer line, NO, you will be using twice as much due to the design of this product...and that is why I gave it only 3 stars!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable
Cons: Limited Features, uses more line
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Waldorf, MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good deal for the money

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this for a year now and only changed the string once. I am not easily impressed, but this one impressed me.
As for those whose trimmers it won't fit: The package say it will fit MOST trimmers. So it doesn't fit yours, why are you complaining, yours is just not one of the MOST!
As for it overloading a trimmer, I'm not sure but I think the instructions even say, if your trimmer is struggling, only use two of the stings.
Overall I think it was money well spent.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Charlotte, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great product. I'm on my second PIVOTRIM head. I actually have one that has only two lines, and I think Home Depot only offers the 4 line head, but no problem -- if you like the 4 lines, use them, but if you only want two lines, only load the head with two lines. I have used mine with the lowest Homelite curved-shaft trimmer for home trimming and edging, and it works SO MUCH BETTER than having to wind the lines, having the line get stuck in the spool and having to take it apart all the time to fix. When you're watching basketball, golf or whatever, precut a bunch of strips so that they're ready when you are. Put a nail or small hole punch in your pocket with some lines, start your trimmer and when the ones in the head wear down, use the nail or punch to pop out the used lines, put in the new ones and you're good to go again. Any problems, such as putting the head on for the first time -- just call the PIVOTRIM customer service line and ask for Monica.
Pros: Easy to Use
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>