728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

The Rino-Tuff Pivotrim X4 replacement trimmer head allows for less stops to change line and works with most gas trimmers. The line pivots to prevent breaking when trimming against hard surfaces such as chain-link fence and concrete, saving you the downtime of reloading line.
Overall rating:
3.761 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(113 reviews) 113
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product79 of 109reviews
Rating Breakdown 113 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(56)
4
(22)
3
(6)
2
(10)
1
(19)
Features 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product79 of 109reviews
Customer reviews for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
Review 1 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Spring Creek, NV

Wow!

PostedAugust 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a Ryobi stright shaft trimmer which i have been plagued with string line problems since I got it 2 years ago. My first attempt to fix the problem was to switch the head to a Ryobi Easy Reel head which initially worked fairly well. However, for the past 6-8months of use it has caused unending problems with the line not feeding and breakage of line. Last Saturday I spent 1 1/2 hours on a 20 minute job becuase I continually had to stop and take the haed apart to get more line. i then wtiched back to the original head which had the same problem. What luck to discover the Pivotrim head and thank God for the reviews. This head has solved my problem and has kept me from junking the trimmer. it works just like advertised. What a blessing! I 'm cutting alot of heavy weeds with this trimmer and the head functions flawlessly. You can't go wrong using it. As an aside, I had to call the company because I had problems with the installation and they were extremely helpful. Yes, you do talk to a real person, actually one of the developers. Buy this thing!
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from KILLEEN, TEXAS

DON'T BUY THIS PRODUCT

PostedApril 8, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this product at the Home Depot in Killeen, Texas. I asked the store clerk about this product. They highly recommended it. I got it home and tested it out in a small area. I went to my first yard and this was a total bust. It bogged down the Echo Trimmer. I’m glad I had my old trimmer head with me. Don’t buy this product!
-17points
4out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

Excellent Trimmer Head

PostedJune 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this trimmer head for my Poulan Pro 31cc straight shaft trimmer last summer. Unfortunately, I hardly had the opportunity to use it due to carb issues on my trimmer's motor. This year that has not been the case. I have an acre lot that half of it is surrounded by chain link fence. After growing tired of having to stop every 30 seconds to replace trimmer line due to breakage from the fencing, I was off to my local H.D. to find a replacement head and I came across this product. Purchased this head and returned home, read the instructions, and it went on with no snags. Very easy to install. Started my trimmer up and began to do the trimming. After doing my entire yard, the lines were worn, but very little. Then the carb issue began. Fast forward to this year. With the original lines that came with the package (same ones initially installed), I began my trimming once again. This head is simply awesome! I was able to trim around my entire fence line and still have half of the original line left from the initial install. I did notice that in very tall weeds/grass (a foot + high), they tend to wrap around the trimmer base and bogged the motor down. But that occured with the original trimmer head also. It is to be expected when cutting a swath through thick weeds. But if I take them down a bit before I get to ground level, they just go flying everywhere. I had also purchased at the same time a 271' spool of .095" trimmer line (added to this review) to make sure I wouldn't run out since I was skeptical of the trimmer head claims. This package of line should last a very long time. Also, this line cuts through the tall thick stuff easier. This saves wear and tear on the trimmer and saves fuel. I would definitely recommend this product to any who wishes to learn about it, and if they catch me using it, they can give it a go for themselves. With the other line on it, it makes my trimmer a beast! And reloading couldn't be easier. If you are tired of traditional spools and heads, then give this a go. I doubt you will be disappointed.
 
Products related to my review
 
+26points
28out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very poor quality

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Does not perform as shown on the commercials of course I didnot really think that it would. But it performed way below what I think it should have, strings will not last pass 10-15 feet of trimming before having to replace them. Although they are easy to replace it could be preety expensive if you buy the precut lines. Would not recommend this to anyone. Very poor performance.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Alabama, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product was easy to install and does a good job trimming the yard. The string is easy to replace when needed.

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installation only took a few minutes and then loaded string into slots with ease. It does a good job and it appears to be very durable.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Fort Worth, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great for me

PostedApril 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installation was easy. I can actually weed eat now instead of wasting time replacing line. I used to spend a lot of time fixing spools or replacing line that would pull out. (very frustrating) I love this product and would highly recommend it.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

Do not buy this!!

PostedApril 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I don't mean to sound so blunt, but this product is garbage. The string lasts less time than any other product I have tried. The say it pivots which saves the string. WRONG! after about 45 seconds of use I was replacing the string. The second batch lasted maybe 45 seconds. Yes I know how to properly use a trimmer and no I was not performing heavy duty work. Buyer beware, all I know is mine is getting returned.
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Superior to bump and feed

PostedMay 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works as advertised. I recommend buying a spool of the thickest line you can fit into it rather than their precut lines, it lasts longer. I have a fenced acre lot with many trees and it trims it 3-4 times before needing to replace the line.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do Not buy this!

PostedMay 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Simply put, it is the worst product I've ever purchased from HomeDepot! I would rather bump n feed than stop every 25 feet to to pick out remaining line that's stuck in the pivot holes and then waste another 5 minutes feeding the next 4 lines in. Complete waste of money. Lines easily break while cutting weeds and edging lawns.
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from San Antonio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product

PostedMay 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use and change string. You have to use the correct size (.95) string. I would like to put this product against the other guy’s string trimmer heads, in durability and ease/speed of replacing the string. You have to know what you are doing.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Austin, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Does not work with newer craftsman models

PostedJuly 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Product does not work with newer craftsman models. I called their customer service, YouTube, etc. and there is no solution. Seems like okay product, but requires a threaded shaft. (packaging includes craftsman in list of brands. I discovered other models do not include the brand.)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Sterling, VA, USA

160FT Concrete Curb edging and 120FT Concrete sidewalk edging, 4 strings

PostedAugust 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a Bolens MTX bl150 gas string trimmer. Edging the sidewalk and the curb on the front side of my house usually meant 120 to 180 inches (5-7 refills) of string from the standard trimmer head and a lot of frustration. I saw an infomercial for one of these and decided to give it a try. Taking the head off the Bolens was a little difficult as they use a locking washer to hold the string carriage on and it took about 5 minutes of fighting with it to get it off.
But the kit came with all the parts necessary to bolt the new head on with ease.
For the entire front of the house I used four of the eight strings provided that was all! I then cut up some of the old .080 line I had from the old head, into 10 inch lengths and proceeded to do my back concrete patio, the barbecue pit, the side curb, around the house and along the fence line in the back and put my trimmer away only after I ran out of gas! Wow, so worth the $20. I will save that much in string!
The only thing I notice is when I cut into the switch grass by the fence line, the trimmer slows a little but still cuts right through it.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, easy to attach, includes hardware for many string trimmers
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Batavia, OH 45103, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not As Advertised

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I saw the commercial like most everyone else and was like great finally something I don't have to keep re-stringing. Unfortunately that was NOT the case. I used it for the first time edging my driveway, sidewalks, and flower beds and ended up burning through the first strings and 1/2 way through the 2nd set that it came with. I was pretty disappointed since the commercial showed it cutting through the thin plywood with ease and all I did was a normal edge job around my house. If I knew this was the case I would of stuck to the cheap re-stringing method. Plan to talk to my local HD store see what they will do for me, but definitely disappointed.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable, short life
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This is not worth the money

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is not worth the money spent. It is plastic so if you hit it on any thing hard, i.e. driveway or a rock, it brakes the little plastic hoops that hold the plastic blade replacements in. Then rendering that one of only 3 loops unusable.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features, Not Durable, plastic
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Somerset, MA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great alll the way around!!!!

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have waited a while to purchase something like this for my trimmer thinking it woundn't work that great but boy was I wrong. This product is the best thing I have purchased from home depot and for my yard work. Its easy to install and works as good as the product says it does. So glad I purchased it and hope home depot puts other items on their shelf that work as good! Its the best thing I seen or used that say "Seen on TV"!!!!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Tampa, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Should have bought sooner

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Much easier than fighting with the factory spool which always got jammed. Its amazing how long the string lasts on this before it needs replaced, which is very easy to do.
Pros: Easy to Use, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

best 20 bucks ever spent

PostedMay 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
thing works great. did entire wire fence 300'+ (both sides) with zero breaks.. outstanding value
Pros: Cuts Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from San Antonio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent

PostedJune 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installation on my Weedeater straight shaft was a snap, easier than I feared considering all the extra parts that came along with the product. I was tired of consistently jammed lines. I have just used the product for the first time on a big job - I had let my backyard "go" because my Weedeater was impossible to work with its jamming problem. No problem now. I used up about 25% of each of the two lines, so I've easily got enough for a second go-around before changing lines. Considering how rediculously easy it is to replace them and the low cost, I wouldn't mind if I had to change them each time....I can finally use my trimmer again!
Pros: Cuts Well, Durable, it works as advertised
Cons: none
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from San Antonio, TX

Sturdy and looks great

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Just installed and very easy. Hope it keeps the grass out of area around trees.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from livonia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

awesome product!

PostedJune 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this is the best string trimmer replacement head. held up to my whole 3/4 acre yard, where most times i quit after 1/4 of it because i am tired of broken trimmer lines.
lines are shorter now but still usable for another trim!
changing out the head on my ryobi was a 2 minute job!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Long-Lasting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>