728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

The RINO-TUFF Pivotrim X4 replacement trimmer head allows for less stops to change line and works with most gas trimmers. The line pivots to prevent breaking when trimming against hard surfaces such as chain-link fence and concrete, saving you the downtime of reloading line.
Overall rating:
3.739 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(111 reviews) 111
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product77 of 107reviews
Rating Breakdown 111 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(54)
4
(22)
3
(6)
2
(10)
1
(19)
Features 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product77 of 107reviews
Customer reviews for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
Review 1 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Up-state Utah

Great concept, could be better...

PostedMay 27, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I recently purchased this product PivoTrim String Trimmer Head. I had high hopes for it. Installation went well and initial trimming went well. The "string" seems to be the weakest link in the chain here. I have a fair sized yard with plenty to trim around. I usually use a full spool of trimmer line each time I trim. I was hoping to get through the yard with one set of strings on this device. Didn't happen, I was shaking my head while loading my fourth set of strings to finish up. Made me think that the strings and refill strings had a prior life as dehydrated gummy bears. Next week, I'm going to try a commercial grade .95 line cut to lengths to fit. Like I said the concept good I despise "the spool" design. I use a gas powered straight shaft trimmer.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Julian, CA.

Best Trimmer Head Ever

PostedJuly 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have tried every trimmer head there is and this "Pivotrim" is the best invention on the market. Just like the ads say we can trim around posts, walls, rocks and trees and the string just pivots around these and is not damaged. Here in the mountains the rocks are always cutting the string line on other trimmers, but the Pivotrim head just keeps on going without breaking the line. I told all the neighbors and my friends about this trimmer head because I was so impressed with it. I think that the guy who complains about the product in his review must be using the wrong weight line, .095" is the recommended size. You should try the product and you'ill agree with me about its quality. I bought three heads for my three trimmers at Home Depot and they will refund your money if you don't like it.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Spring Creek, NV

Wow!

PostedAugust 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a Ryobi stright shaft trimmer which i have been plagued with string line problems since I got it 2 years ago. My first attempt to fix the problem was to switch the head to a Ryobi Easy Reel head which initially worked fairly well. However, for the past 6-8months of use it has caused unending problems with the line not feeding and breakage of line. Last Saturday I spent 1 1/2 hours on a 20 minute job becuase I continually had to stop and take the haed apart to get more line. i then wtiched back to the original head which had the same problem. What luck to discover the Pivotrim head and thank God for the reviews. This head has solved my problem and has kept me from junking the trimmer. it works just like advertised. What a blessing! I 'm cutting alot of heavy weeds with this trimmer and the head functions flawlessly. You can't go wrong using it. As an aside, I had to call the company because I had problems with the installation and they were extremely helpful. Yes, you do talk to a real person, actually one of the developers. Buy this thing!
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

Better than the others

PostedAugust 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have tried several trimmer heads, this one is the best.
I don't know about the line lasting twenty times longer.
but the line dosen't break like it does on other trimmer heads.Good product, well worth the price.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Jacksonville,FL

You should Get One!!!!

PostedSeptember 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this....I bought it for my 69.99 homelite trimmer. It works so amazing!!
Heres a tip, if you have a trimmer that doesnt have alot of power, only load 2 strings in. It works great, sounds really cool, my neihbors stop and ask me about it.
You can even load better sharper string in it if you want.
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Idaho

High Expectations Dashed

PostedOctober 21, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the Pivotrim head today at HD and adapted it to my Ryobi electric trimmer. Due to lack of power I used only 2 of the 4 strings. I started to use the trimmer to edge my lawn along the drive and sidewalks. After about 20 minutes of use two sets of strings broke at the pivots and the two pivots the string was on got hot and melted to the head. No more pivoting!
Great concept but the design isn't rugged enough, especially considering it failed on an electric trimmer.
-27points
5out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Richmond, VA

Absolutetly Fantastic Performance

PostedApril 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I picked up one of these RinoTuff Pivotrim heads at my local home depot store. I thought the design looked interesting the way the lines can swing around. But , I never thought I would trim my whole yard with one set of lines! I've got a lot of fencing and I am constantly fighting with my trimmer head because the line breaks off all the time. With this PivoTrim head I can get right up next to my fence and the line doesn't break. It's really easy to load the lines on, but who cares if you don't have to change it much anyway!
Anyone whose got a gas trimmer needs one of these things!
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

Excellent Trimmer Head

PostedJune 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this trimmer head for my Poulan Pro 31cc straight shaft trimmer last summer. Unfortunately, I hardly had the opportunity to use it due to carb issues on my trimmer's motor. This year that has not been the case. I have an acre lot that half of it is surrounded by chain link fence. After growing tired of having to stop every 30 seconds to replace trimmer line due to breakage from the fencing, I was off to my local H.D. to find a replacement head and I came across this product. Purchased this head and returned home, read the instructions, and it went on with no snags. Very easy to install. Started my trimmer up and began to do the trimming. After doing my entire yard, the lines were worn, but very little. Then the carb issue began. Fast forward to this year. With the original lines that came with the package (same ones initially installed), I began my trimming once again. This head is simply awesome! I was able to trim around my entire fence line and still have half of the original line left from the initial install. I did notice that in very tall weeds/grass (a foot + high), they tend to wrap around the trimmer base and bogged the motor down. But that occured with the original trimmer head also. It is to be expected when cutting a swath through thick weeds. But if I take them down a bit before I get to ground level, they just go flying everywhere. I had also purchased at the same time a 271' spool of .095" trimmer line (added to this review) to make sure I wouldn't run out since I was skeptical of the trimmer head claims. This package of line should last a very long time. Also, this line cuts through the tall thick stuff easier. This saves wear and tear on the trimmer and saves fuel. I would definitely recommend this product to any who wishes to learn about it, and if they catch me using it, they can give it a go for themselves. With the other line on it, it makes my trimmer a beast! And reloading couldn't be easier. If you are tired of traditional spools and heads, then give this a go. I doubt you will be disappointed.
 
Products related to my review
 
+26points
28out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from KILLEEN, TEXAS

DON'T BUY THIS PRODUCT

PostedApril 8, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this product at the Home Depot in Killeen, Texas. I asked the store clerk about this product. They highly recommended it. I got it home and tested it out in a small area. I went to my first yard and this was a total bust. It bogged down the Echo Trimmer. I’m glad I had my old trimmer head with me. Don’t buy this product!
-17points
4out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very poor quality

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Does not perform as shown on the commercials of course I didnot really think that it would. But it performed way below what I think it should have, strings will not last pass 10-15 feet of trimming before having to replace them. Although they are easy to replace it could be preety expensive if you buy the precut lines. Would not recommend this to anyone. Very poor performance.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from North Carolina

ONE BUTT-KICKING TRIMMER HEAD!!!!!

PostedJuly 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After becoming completely fed up with the breaking and failure to feed out trimmer line on my Homelite BC 800 stringer trimmer, I finally decided to spend the $20 and purchase the Pivo Trim trimmer head. Now I'm wishing I would have done it long ago and saved myself a lot of aggravation. This product is AWESOME and combined with the Home Depot SUPER FAST SHIPPING as it arrived in 2 business day after ordering makes it even more of a great purchase.
The product is very well made and comes with very easy to read and follow installation instructions for about any make or model string trimmer. Installation took all of maybe 10 minutes and 5 of those were spent trying to figure out how to get the end shaft off my HomeLite trimmer. HINT: It has left-hand threads!!
I HIGHLY RECOMMEND the Pivo Trim to anyone that is as fed up with breaking line as I was. Money well spent!
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Petoskey , MIchigan

As Advertised

PostedJune 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After seeing the commercial for this on TV ,I decided I would read the reviews .At H. D. and Amazon .
Much to my surprise most are favorable .
So I decided to pay the extra $1.50 and tax and bough it at H. D. ( I didn't feel like waiting for it to be shipped ) .
It took less than 5 minutes to uninstall the old head ( weed thrasher ) and install the Pivotrim .
I started my trimmer and it works great .My suggestion is that you buy replacement line in bulk and cut it your self . You can get over 250 feet for less than the cost of 12 precut .
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Alabama
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pivotrim

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Use of any .105 line, nature of pivot heads does allow for increased line life. Easiest of any I've tried, to restring. 10 minute install on Ryobi weed eater attachment.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Alabama, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product was easy to install and does a good job trimming the yard. The string is easy to replace when needed.

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installation only took a few minutes and then loaded string into slots with ease. It does a good job and it appears to be very durable.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

Very effectiv and trouble-free trimmer head.

PostedOctober 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I attached this head to my smaller Echo trimmer without any problems. It worked great around posts, concrete foundations and other obstacles with very little loss of string.The trimmer labored only when I was cutting tall heavy weeds.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

Do not buy this!!

PostedApril 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I don't mean to sound so blunt, but this product is garbage. The string lasts less time than any other product I have tried. The say it pivots which saves the string. WRONG! after about 45 seconds of use I was replacing the string. The second batch lasted maybe 45 seconds. Yes I know how to properly use a trimmer and no I was not performing heavy duty work. Buyer beware, all I know is mine is getting returned.
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Superior to bump and feed

PostedMay 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works as advertised. I recommend buying a spool of the thickest line you can fit into it rather than their precut lines, it lasts longer. I have a fenced acre lot with many trees and it trims it 3-4 times before needing to replace the line.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do Not buy this!

PostedMay 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Simply put, it is the worst product I've ever purchased from HomeDepot! I would rather bump n feed than stop every 25 feet to to pick out remaining line that's stuck in the pivot holes and then waste another 5 minutes feeding the next 4 lines in. Complete waste of money. Lines easily break while cutting weeds and edging lawns.
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

It works

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Does the job but strings wear out faster than I was led to believe.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

product did all it said it would do and more. I love it.

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I use this all the time in my business. I use it on at least four lawns per day. It is great. I havent had to change the line but once, and even then I just did it to see how easy it was going to be doing it. Its a great product. Saves me lots of time and headache.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>