728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

The RINO-TUFF Pivotrim X4 replacement trimmer head allows for less stops to change line and works with most gas trimmers. The line pivots to prevent breaking when trimming against hard surfaces such as chain-link fence and concrete, saving you the downtime of reloading line.
Overall rating:
3.773 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(66 reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
73%of customersrecommend this product46 of 63reviews
Rating Breakdown 66 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(36)
4
(9)
3
(2)
2
(8)
1
(11)
Features 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
73%of customersrecommend this product46 of 63reviews
Customer reviews for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
Review 1 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
Graeden

Excellent Trimmer Head

PostedJune 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this trimmer head for my Poulan Pro 31cc straight shaft trimmer last summer. Unfortunately, I hardly had the opportunity to use it due to carb issues on my trimmer's motor. This year that has not been the case. I have an acre lot that half of it is surrounded by chain link fence. After growing tired of having to stop every 30 seconds to replace trimmer line due to breakage from the fencing, I was off to my local H.D. to find a replacement head and I came across this product. Purchased this head and returned home, read the instructions, and it went on with no snags. Very easy to install. Started my trimmer up and began to do the trimming. After doing my entire yard, the lines were worn, but very little. Then the carb issue began. Fast forward to this year. With the original lines that came with the package (same ones initially installed), I began my trimming once again. This head is simply awesome! I was able to trim around my entire fence line and still have half of the original line left from the initial install. I did notice that in very tall weeds/grass (a foot + high), they tend to wrap around the trimmer base and bogged the motor down. But that occured with the original trimmer head also. It is to be expected when cutting a swath through thick weeds. But if I take them down a bit before I get to ground level, they just go flying everywhere. I had also purchased at the same time a 271' spool of .095" trimmer line (added to this review) to make sure I wouldn't run out since I was skeptical of the trimmer head claims. This package of line should last a very long time. Also, this line cuts through the tall thick stuff easier. This saves wear and tear on the trimmer and saves fuel. I would definitely recommend this product to any who wishes to learn about it, and if they catch me using it, they can give it a go for themselves. With the other line on it, it makes my trimmer a beast! And reloading couldn't be easier. If you are tired of traditional spools and heads, then give this a go. I doubt you will be disappointed.
 
Products related to my review
 
+24points
25out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
wildman
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very poor quality

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Does not perform as shown on the commercials of course I didnot really think that it would. But it performed way below what I think it should have, strings will not last pass 10-15 feet of trimming before having to replace them. Although they are easy to replace it could be preety expensive if you buy the precut lines. Would not recommend this to anyone. Very poor performance.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
HugeEug
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Superior to bump and feed

PostedMay 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works as advertised. I recommend buying a spool of the thickest line you can fit into it rather than their precut lines, it lasts longer. I have a fenced acre lot with many trees and it trims it 3-4 times before needing to replace the line.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
yardworker
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do Not buy this!

PostedMay 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Simply put, it is the worst product I've ever purchased from HomeDepot! I would rather bump n feed than stop every 25 feet to to pick out remaining line that's stuck in the pivot holes and then waste another 5 minutes feeding the next 4 lines in. Complete waste of money. Lines easily break while cutting weeds and edging lawns.
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
semipro
from Austin, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Does not work with newer craftsman models

PostedJuly 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Product does not work with newer craftsman models. I called their customer service, YouTube, etc. and there is no solution. Seems like okay product, but requires a threaded shaft. (packaging includes craftsman in list of brands. I discovered other models do not include the brand.)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
Danny
from Batavia, OH 45103, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not As Advertised

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I saw the commercial like most everyone else and was like great finally something I don't have to keep re-stringing. Unfortunately that was NOT the case. I used it for the first time edging my driveway, sidewalks, and flower beds and ended up burning through the first strings and 1/2 way through the 2nd set that it came with. I was pretty disappointed since the commercial showed it cutting through the thin plywood with ease and all I did was a normal edge job around my house. If I knew this was the case I would of stuck to the cheap re-stringing method. Plan to talk to my local HD store see what they will do for me, but definitely disappointed.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable, short life
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
JR1106
from Somerset, MA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great alll the way around!!!!

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have waited a while to purchase something like this for my trimmer thinking it woundn't work that great but boy was I wrong. This product is the best thing I have purchased from home depot and for my yard work. Its easy to install and works as good as the product says it does. So glad I purchased it and hope home depot puts other items on their shelf that work as good! Its the best thing I seen or used that say "Seen on TV"!!!!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
WoofgangMozart
from San Antonio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent

PostedJune 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installation on my Weedeater straight shaft was a snap, easier than I feared considering all the extra parts that came along with the product. I was tired of consistently jammed lines. I have just used the product for the first time on a big job - I had let my backyard "go" because my Weedeater was impossible to work with its jamming problem. No problem now. I used up about 25% of each of the two lines, so I've easily got enough for a second go-around before changing lines. Considering how rediculously easy it is to replace them and the low cost, I wouldn't mind if I had to change them each time....I can finally use my trimmer again!
Pros: Cuts Well, Durable, it works as advertised
Cons: none
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
Mike
from Connecticut
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not good for low-average power trimmers

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
You need a very powerful engine as the head and 2-string configuration are quite a load. I had to use a very high throttle setting and could feel the engine struggling at times. Hard to judge string end, consequently stripped paint and wood off fence, and quickly wore out the string. I'd only recommend this for higher power, commercial grade trimmers.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Durable
Cons: Difficult to Use, not good for low to average power trimmers
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
jknorton73
from Denison, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outstanding

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've tried all sorts of those "as seen on tv" products. None of them ever work as advertised. I took another shot with the pivot trim. Best $20 i've ever spent. It works exactly as advertised. I was using the two string heads that the line just slides in and locks. I would use up about 5 or 6 strings every time I edged. I have a regular residential lot with a wrought iron fence around my front yard. I've gone over my yard twice so far with the pivot trim head, weedeating and edging and havent changed the lines yet. I love this product.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Durable, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
mibejoe

Works great on my curved homelite

PostedAugust 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great! Now I have to stop to refuel before I have to replace or untangle line. Never had to do that before. Changed my line when I refueled even though I didn't need to.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
JoeSchmo
from Birmingham, AL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does fit all gas trimmers

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Although there was an assortment of bolts included, none fit my trimmer. The design does not allow me to use the retaining bolt that was on my trimmer and, because it is a reverse thread bolt, I have difficulty locating one that will fit. There was no instructions or contact information in the package for assistance.
Cons: No Instructions, does not fit all trimmers
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
Dick
from Deltona, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good overall product

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Seems to do what I need it to do. Do not experience string binding.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
Franc
from Round Rock, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Expected better

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this cause I was tired of having to stop every few feet to re-feed the line. Now I don't have to stop as much anymore, but I expected better.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
NayburXstreet
from Up-state Utah

Great concept, could be better...

PostedMay 27, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I recently purchased this product PivoTrim String Trimmer Head. I had high hopes for it. Installation went well and initial trimming went well. The "string" seems to be the weakest link in the chain here. I have a fair sized yard with plenty to trim around. I usually use a full spool of trimmer line each time I trim. I was hoping to get through the yard with one set of strings on this device. Didn't happen, I was shaking my head while loading my fourth set of strings to finish up. Made me think that the strings and refill strings had a prior life as dehydrated gummy bears. Next week, I'm going to try a commercial grade .95 line cut to lengths to fit. Like I said the concept good I despise "the spool" design. I use a gas powered straight shaft trimmer.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
BillDL
from Julian, CA.

Best Trimmer Head Ever

PostedJuly 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have tried every trimmer head there is and this "Pivotrim" is the best invention on the market. Just like the ads say we can trim around posts, walls, rocks and trees and the string just pivots around these and is not damaged. Here in the mountains the rocks are always cutting the string line on other trimmers, but the Pivotrim head just keeps on going without breaking the line. I told all the neighbors and my friends about this trimmer head because I was so impressed with it. I think that the guy who complains about the product in his review must be using the wrong weight line, .095" is the recommended size. You should try the product and you'ill agree with me about its quality. I bought three heads for my three trimmers at Home Depot and they will refund your money if you don't like it.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
PatH

Very effectiv and trouble-free trimmer head.

PostedOctober 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I attached this head to my smaller Echo trimmer without any problems. It worked great around posts, concrete foundations and other obstacles with very little loss of string.The trimmer labored only when I was cutting tall heavy weeds.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
wombat
from Alabama
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pivotrim

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Use of any .105 line, nature of pivot heads does allow for increased line life. Easiest of any I've tried, to restring. 10 minute install on Ryobi weed eater attachment.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
BigO
from Texas

Awesome....

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Awesome product.... Turned my average trimmer into a beast. Easy to install & cut my trimming time in half.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
GEORGE
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

It works

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Does the job but strings wear out faster than I was led to believe.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>