728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

You'll appreciate the performance of this trimmer head from Pivotrim, which works with most gas curved shaft and straight shaft trimmers. The line pivots to prevent line breakage when trimming against hard surfaces such as chain-link fence, trees and concrete, saving you the downtime of reloading line.
Overall rating:
3.785 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(130 reviews) 130
Open Ratings Snapshot
74%of customersrecommend this product92 of 125reviews
Rating Breakdown 130 reviews
3.8 out of 5
5
(64)
4
(27)
3
(6)
2
(13)
1
(20)
Features 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
74%of customersrecommend this product92 of 125reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
Review 1 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Richmond, VA

Absolutetly Fantastic Performance

PostedApril 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I picked up one of these RinoTuff Pivotrim heads at my local home depot store. I thought the design looked interesting the way the lines can swing around. But , I never thought I would trim my whole yard with one set of lines! I've got a lot of fencing and I am constantly fighting with my trimmer head because the line breaks off all the time. With this PivoTrim head I can get right up next to my fence and the line doesn't break. It's really easy to load the lines on, but who cares if you don't have to change it much anyway!
Anyone whose got a gas trimmer needs one of these things!
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

Better than the others

PostedAugust 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have tried several trimmer heads, this one is the best.
I don't know about the line lasting twenty times longer.
but the line dosen't break like it does on other trimmer heads.Good product, well worth the price.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

product did all it said it would do and more. I love it.

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I use this all the time in my business. I use it on at least four lawns per day. It is great. I havent had to change the line but once, and even then I just did it to see how easy it was going to be doing it. Its a great product. Saves me lots of time and headache.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

Very effectiv and trouble-free trimmer head.

PostedOctober 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I attached this head to my smaller Echo trimmer without any problems. It worked great around posts, concrete foundations and other obstacles with very little loss of string.The trimmer labored only when I was cutting tall heavy weeds.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Alabama
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pivotrim

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Use of any .105 line, nature of pivot heads does allow for increased line life. Easiest of any I've tried, to restring. 10 minute install on Ryobi weed eater attachment.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Jacksonville,FL

You should Get One!!!!

PostedSeptember 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love this....I bought it for my 69.99 homelite trimmer. It works so amazing!!
Heres a tip, if you have a trimmer that doesnt have alot of power, only load 2 strings in. It works great, sounds really cool, my neihbors stop and ask me about it.
You can even load better sharper string in it if you want.
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from KILLEEN, TEXAS

DON'T BUY THIS PRODUCT

PostedApril 8, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this product at the Home Depot in Killeen, Texas. I asked the store clerk about this product. They highly recommended it. I got it home and tested it out in a small area. I went to my first yard and this was a total bust. It bogged down the Echo Trimmer. I’m glad I had my old trimmer head with me. Don’t buy this product!
-17points
4out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Spring Creek, NV

Wow!

PostedAugust 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a Ryobi stright shaft trimmer which i have been plagued with string line problems since I got it 2 years ago. My first attempt to fix the problem was to switch the head to a Ryobi Easy Reel head which initially worked fairly well. However, for the past 6-8months of use it has caused unending problems with the line not feeding and breakage of line. Last Saturday I spent 1 1/2 hours on a 20 minute job becuase I continually had to stop and take the haed apart to get more line. i then wtiched back to the original head which had the same problem. What luck to discover the Pivotrim head and thank God for the reviews. This head has solved my problem and has kept me from junking the trimmer. it works just like advertised. What a blessing! I 'm cutting alot of heavy weeds with this trimmer and the head functions flawlessly. You can't go wrong using it. As an aside, I had to call the company because I had problems with the installation and they were extremely helpful. Yes, you do talk to a real person, actually one of the developers. Buy this thing!
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Julian, CA.

Best Trimmer Head Ever

PostedJuly 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have tried every trimmer head there is and this "Pivotrim" is the best invention on the market. Just like the ads say we can trim around posts, walls, rocks and trees and the string just pivots around these and is not damaged. Here in the mountains the rocks are always cutting the string line on other trimmers, but the Pivotrim head just keeps on going without breaking the line. I told all the neighbors and my friends about this trimmer head because I was so impressed with it. I think that the guy who complains about the product in his review must be using the wrong weight line, .095" is the recommended size. You should try the product and you'ill agree with me about its quality. I bought three heads for my three trimmers at Home Depot and they will refund your money if you don't like it.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Petoskey , MIchigan

As Advertised

PostedJune 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After seeing the commercial for this on TV ,I decided I would read the reviews .At H. D. and Amazon .
Much to my surprise most are favorable .
So I decided to pay the extra $1.50 and tax and bough it at H. D. ( I didn't feel like waiting for it to be shipped ) .
It took less than 5 minutes to uninstall the old head ( weed thrasher ) and install the Pivotrim .
I started my trimmer and it works great .My suggestion is that you buy replacement line in bulk and cut it your self . You can get over 250 feet for less than the cost of 12 precut .
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Texas

Awesome....

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Awesome product.... Turned my average trimmer into a beast. Easy to install & cut my trimming time in half.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very poor quality

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Does not perform as shown on the commercials of course I didnot really think that it would. But it performed way below what I think it should have, strings will not last pass 10-15 feet of trimming before having to replace them. Although they are easy to replace it could be preety expensive if you buy the precut lines. Would not recommend this to anyone. Very poor performance.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Up-state Utah

Great concept, could be better...

PostedMay 27, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I recently purchased this product PivoTrim String Trimmer Head. I had high hopes for it. Installation went well and initial trimming went well. The "string" seems to be the weakest link in the chain here. I have a fair sized yard with plenty to trim around. I usually use a full spool of trimmer line each time I trim. I was hoping to get through the yard with one set of strings on this device. Didn't happen, I was shaking my head while loading my fourth set of strings to finish up. Made me think that the strings and refill strings had a prior life as dehydrated gummy bears. Next week, I'm going to try a commercial grade .95 line cut to lengths to fit. Like I said the concept good I despise "the spool" design. I use a gas powered straight shaft trimmer.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This is not worth the money

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is not worth the money spent. It is plastic so if you hit it on any thing hard, i.e. driveway or a rock, it brakes the little plastic hoops that hold the plastic blade replacements in. Then rendering that one of only 3 loops unusable.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features, Not Durable, plastic
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Long Island, New York, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Quaity

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is nothing more that a marketing ploy. Once dirt gets around the pivots it is difficult to replace the line.My hand don't work as well as they use to so itbecomes hard to reload the line. I find it does work around chain link fence but is not woth a dam when you are trying to edge.. I use a product called areo flex which has worked better than any trimmer head I have ever used. The line is shaped like an airaplain wing which gives my weed eater more power. The line lasts longer than any I have ever used!!! Works great around chain link and other fence posts. This trimmer head edges the best i have ever seen , make me look loke a pro. i would recommend this trimmer head over any I have ever used.
-6points
2out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Alabama, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product was easy to install and does a good job trimming the yard. The string is easy to replace when needed.

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installation only took a few minutes and then loaded string into slots with ease. It does a good job and it appears to be very durable.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from columbia SC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works much better than the original head

PostedJuly 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a Poulan Pro weed trimmer. I need to manually feed line every few minutes, because the bumper rarely works. The line breaks off, and sometimes I have to stop and take the head apart to re-feed line.
I installed the Pivotrim. WOW. I wish I had installed this 2 years ago.
Installation:
This took a couple tries. I couldn't figure out how to get the old head off. (you have to lock it in place with a screwdriver in a slot, then remove the head by turning it.)
Once I got the old head off, putting the pivotrim on only took about 5-10 minutes, and most of that time was figuring out which of the nuts fit the trimmer.
Adding line takes seconds. Really easy.
Using It
I only installed 2 lines (there are 4 slots). It worked great. Cuts better than my old trimmer and line. Way better.
Does The Line Last?
Yes! I whacked my front yard, including edging. With the old line, edging (against the street and/or sidewalk) would cause the line to break really fast. I would typically need to re-extend the line about a dozen times.
Using the Pivotrim, the line was maybe 1/2 inch shorter after doing the entire front yard, plus edging my driveway and along the street I expect that I can do my front and back 4 times before I have to replace any line.
This is a great deal at what I paid. The time it will save alone is worth that and more. I'm sold.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Austin, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Does not work with newer craftsman models

PostedJuly 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Product does not work with newer craftsman models. I called their customer service, YouTube, etc. and there is no solution. Seems like okay product, but requires a threaded shaft. (packaging includes craftsman in list of brands. I discovered other models do not include the brand.)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head
from Dacula, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

love it

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was sick of bump head trimmer heads. This head does the trick, I have done my lawn twice with first set of line. This includes 120' fence line house and shed. My trimmer is run of the mill ryobi straight shaft, I can see line being worn fast with the high end trimmers.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head

It Works

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I like the ease of use but the string does not last very long, I can bately get my yard trimmed before I need to replace the strings. You need a powerful trimmer to be able to use all 4 strings, my trimmer can not turn all 4 but it does 2 pretty well. Also I have to use the type of string that it comes with because the normal string you cut yourself does not last as long as theirs. I love not having to wind string but this deffinetly does not last as long as stated.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable, too heavy with all 4 strings
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>