728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Generators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 3,650-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine-DISCONTINUED

3,650-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine-DISCONTINUED

The Husky 3,650-Watt Generator with Subaru Engine features a 3,650-watt running power to suit your basic power needs. This generator has a commercial-grade Subaru engine with low-lubricant shut down to help keep your engine protected and running strong. The muffler helps ensure quiet operation, and the 4-gallon fuel tank helps provide steady power for up to 10 hours at 50% load.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product11 of 11reviews
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(7)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product11 of 11reviews
Customer reviews for 3,650-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 3,650-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine-DISCONTINUED
from Charlottesville VA

Nice product, very economical on gas, starts easily

PostedAugust 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am not normally one to contribute these reviews but I have to say I have been pleased enough with this unit to offer my experiences.
I have had this unit about a year and used it perhaps 3-4 times, so it is idle several months between uses (I do drain the gas between uses, but I would use a fuel stabilizer if you intend to leave it full). It starts right up on one easy pull every time. It is a smart design (e.g. exhaust vents opposite the plugs so you don't end up directing the exhaust back at the door). It runs consistently and I would say that the fuel consumption is accurate. It will run 9-10 hours on 4 gallons of gas. 3600 watts will run several lamps, a space heater, the television, and a refrigerator and perhaps a few other odds and ends Basically if you want to run the essentials this is about as small as you can go and do that (and I horse trade around in a pinch). I considered a higher wattage unit (e.g. 5000-7000W) but in retrospect am glad I didn't. You still won't be able to run everything (you'd need a whole house generator which is a completely different purchase). But I do notice that these larger units also burn twice as much gas, which makes sense but if you think it through this is a real gas consumption issue. Even this small requires me to go to fill 8 five gallon cans of gas to get through four days without power. Not a big problem (I throw the extra in the car). But I'm not sure how excited I would be to deal with filling 16 five gallon cans of gas to get through a storm. Remember you don't know how long the power will be out so more often than not you fill up 100%. The highly economical gas consumption of this unit really becomes a factor. In a pinch I can siphon gas out of the cars to double my supply. I worry about back-feed so I purchased 4 100 foot heavy (12) gauge extension cords and run it as a closed system. I can wheel this out of my garage, fill it, start it, and run the cords upstairs in about 10 minutes, so its very easy to get power back up and running. I can break it back down (including draining the gas) in about the same amount of time. Very efficient. It is a bit loud but not too bad. It becomes background noise quickly. I have heard Honda is quieter but you won't get a Honda unit for this price.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3,650-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine-DISCONTINUED
from Ohio, USA

Satisfied with my purchase.

PostedOctober 26, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First thing I notice is that it is a Homelite not a Husky. No biggie, matches the picture exactly - some re-badging going on.
Went together quickly with ratchet and wrench sets. They give you some terrible looking socket wrench tube thing with a metal pin to turn it with. It doesn't seem to fit over any of the nuts or bolts, but the ends are un-machined and ugly so it's hard to tell. I was confused for a minute thinking I had unaccounted for parts when it was just a tool. They tried.
Fired it up and it started on the first pull. It's pretty loud, but I'm only going to use it at home during an outage. During an emergency, I'm not going for style points. I'd love one of those Hondas, but the output is too small and $/W is like 4X higher than this one.
Checked the outputs with meter, fine. Turned it off after 10 minutes and then drained the gas tank and carb per the instructions. Put it away and now it just has to start when I need it. I'll fire it up every fall and spring to check it.
The power output is just right for me. It can run just about everything in my house that I care to have during an outage. Yet it's not a monster like a 5 or 6KW unit. That will make it easier getting it from the shed to the back of house thru 8 inches of snow with a 1/2 inch of ice on top.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3,650-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine-DISCONTINUED
from Show Low, AZ

HUSKY 3650 Portable Generator

PostedApril 26, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Before buying this generator, I ordered a similarly rated Lifan generator, due to lower price and features like electric start and 12 VDC output. The Lifan arrived with cracked housing on the electrical panel and missing a foot pad. I sent it back and ordered a replacement.
Both Lifans seemed underpowered, and construction was light weight, which made me skeptical about counting on it in an emergency. I took the second unit back.
In store I looked at the Husky 3650. It has fewer features, but much higher quality of construction. Checking for future service, many more factory authorized dealers & repair centers are available than for the Lifan.
The overall weight of the Husky is about 20# more than the Lifan. Much of that is the highly rated Subaru engine, which ran very well. I ran it 20 hours as a test period, and varied the load. The engine averaged 3 hours per gallon fuel consumption, and I could never bog it down. Add electric start and DC output at a fair price, and it would be an unbeatable combination.
I did have some carbon build up on the exhaust, probably because the generators are adjusted for sea level operation. To correct the problem, I've ordered a high altitude jet replacement (I live @ 6,500 ft level).
On balance the Husky still rates a 4+ with me.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3,650-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine-DISCONTINUED
from Weatherford, Tx

Good generator for smaller poer applications

PostedMay 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this unit when my larger generator went down and we had to have power asap.
I used this unit to power numerous power tools and act as sole power supply for some property we own. Primarily was used during construction of metal building. Unit started easily and ran relatively quiet every time we used it. Unit was exposed to rain ,heat and weather for a good 4-5 months while using it frequently . This didn't seem to bother unit except for the cosmetics (Paint turned to a lighter faded red). Overall this is a good generator w/ a small footprint and manageable size allowing it to easily be manuevered. Size lends itself to be thrown in the back of a pickup easily, but it does have a tendency to tip overy if not strapped down. I was skeptical on the size rating of unit but I have been able to run numerous drills, compressor, grinders, saws and other equipment w/ no real complaints.
Subaru engine runs well and may be quieter than many briggs engines I have used in the past. Unit is not as quiet as a honda. Does start easily and reliably.
I have owned the unit for over a year now and went to start it the other day w/ no problems.
I would purchase this unit again if I had a need for a small generator.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3,650-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine-DISCONTINUED
from Berkeley CA

good product 2nd time around

PostedFebruary 2, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I needed a generator on short notice because my utility company had an outage and I needed to run my sump pumps during a downpour. My local HD had this in stock. I was able to assemble and get it running in about 20 minutes. As soon as I poured gas in the tank it was leaking from the petcock - about one drop every 20 seconds. However, it ran great and since I was outdoors on a windy day I figured I could risk the gas leak. The next day I talked to the manager at HD who agreed to exchange for a new unit. The new unit works great, no gas leak. If I hadn't had the gas leak I'd have given this 4 stars. Generator starts very easily, runs two of my 1/2 hp pumps simultaneously and generally seems to work well.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3,650-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine-DISCONTINUED
from Newport News, VA

Excellent generator

PostedAugust 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product will do everything you ask of it, and then some. I originally bought it last winter in OH to power household items during a very severe winter storm lots of ice and snow (level III snow emergency) and worked great to provide power while waiting for normal power to be restored. Right now it is providing emergency backup power to my house in VA, to which I am very greatful due to the fact that I am an active duty servicemen stationed in WA state and it is working worry free for my wife in VA. Thank you very much Husky and Home Depot.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3,650-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine-DISCONTINUED
from Orange County, New York

So Far, So Good

PostedAugust 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this generator primarily to provide power for my art studio and for back up when we lose power for our house. It was not difficult to put together, although the directions/photos were not great. I have used it for two days without problems for lights and fans. It starts right up every time, and is easy to use. The real test however, will be when I install a window air conditioner in my studio.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3,650-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine-DISCONTINUED
from Berwyn, Pa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product - reasonablle price

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Received the generator the day after it was shipped - no problem with the shipping even though it weighs 150 lbs. Assembly was no problem. Started on first pull and ran beautifully! Subaru makes a nice small engine. This why I purchased this product. Tested circuits - all seemed to work perfectly. Waiting for the next power outage. This generator should perform as expected.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3,650-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine-DISCONTINUED
from Alabama

Right out of the Box!

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very easy to assemble (wheels and rest bracket). Filled it up. No leaks. Followed the instructions printed on the airfilter. Gave it ONE pull and it came to life! Reached down and opened the choke - smoothed right out. It is a bit louder than I expected. (PS: It's the only Subaru I'll ever own... I'm politcally conservative)
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3,650-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine-DISCONTINUED

Excellent Choice, Started first try!

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Un-Crated and assembled the generator within 15 min. Filled with fluids and started on the first pull of the cord. Output power is well rated with capabilities to feed all the homes necessary requirements. Great Value!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3,650-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine-DISCONTINUED
from Venice Fl

It runs good

PostedJuly 24, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
There is a conflict between Subaru diagram and
the starting and stopping of engine, Diagram does not
come close to what is actually on engine. Finally got it
started. It runs great and noise is expected.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3,650-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine-DISCONTINUED

perfect

PostedJuly 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
worked perfect was out of power for 5 days worked perfect the best for your money.had no problem with set up and start up
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.