728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Generators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 8,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine-DISCONTINUED

8,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine-DISCONTINUED

The Ridgid 8,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine is easy to transport on its Zero Gravity frame. Its 404 cc engine delivers 14-HP for up to 11 hours at 50-Percentaeg load. It features an electric starting mechanism, 25 ft. cord and load indicator. There are four 120-Volt receptacles rated for up to 20-Amps, plus an additional 120/240-Volt receptacle rated for up to 30-Amps.
Overall rating:
4.127 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(79 reviews) 79
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product59 of 72reviews
Rating Breakdown 79 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(48)
4
(13)
3
(6)
2
(4)
1
(8)
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product59 of 72reviews
Customer questions and answers:
26 Questions | 49 Answers
Customer reviews for 8,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 8,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine-DISCONTINUED
from Mahopac, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

highly recommended

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the generator was used on a job site for the first 30 hrs. Brought it home right before Sandy hit, i am 1 hour north of nyc so our area was hit pretty hard. we were without power for 6 days, but the Rigid made it feel like nothing happened.
i Changed oil to synthetic before the storm at the 30 hr mark and it performed flawlessly. i ran it over 100 hrs and was very happy with its performance. the lcd also tells you when service is due.i changed the oil again and spark plug at 100 hrs.
it is well built, gives out clean power as i run through the panel with an interlock kit. It was practically like power never went out.
i find it to be top quality, i am impressed with the subaru engine. the design makes it easy to move and it is not as loud as most gens it size.
in my opinion it is high quality and excellent value for a generator of its size.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 8,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine-DISCONTINUED
from Connecticut, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Better than Expected Performance

PostedNovember 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just used it for 5 1/2 days non stop. (bought it less a month ago!)
Did its Job Better than Expected.
As others have mentioned - it is bit loud, but out-performs many other GenSets in the price range.
PROS
1) Zero Gravity Handle works very well.
2) @ 50% load you can get 11+ hrs on a tank of gas.
3) Starts & runs like a champ
4) Excellent Suburu engine.
5) Nieghbors think it looks cool (no one complained about the noise)
6) Powered a 4,300 SQFT House no problem (did not use Electric Dryer and Stove at the same time)
Cons (little to no impact in an emergency situation)
1) No Gas Gauge
2) A bit loud (But many others GenSets are too)
3) No Remote Choke
Buy it - You WILL Like it!
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 8,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine-DISCONTINUED
from Hayes, VA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Definitely a good buy

PostedJune 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When my RIDGID 8000 watt generator arrived, I followed the quick set-up directions, pulled the cord through three times slowly to get fuel in the lines, hit the electric starter (battery came fully charged) and she started immediately.
I do not think it is too loud. It is definitely well constructed and OH SO easy to move around.
I called Subaru and it was suggested that I use "Ethanol Shield" in the gas. It is available at Home Depot.
Question...has anyone actually used this generator during a storm when it had to sit outside in the rain?
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 8,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine-DISCONTINUED

Solid heavy duty feel

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The generator looks and feels heavy duty unlike the other models sold in stores. The design beats my friends honda. I like the zero gravity feature for the easy moving around despite the heavy weight of the unit. The engine started up without any problems at the first trail. The battery start is a awesome feature. Make sure and charge the battery prior the install and maintain the charge during storage. The unit is tastefully finished and nicely painted. I contacted customer support regarding the Subaru engine oil changes and type. I was told not to use synthetic oils. Also, for the breaking period I was told to use straight 40 weight oil for the first 20 hrs with heavy load on the generator so the seals and rings set properly. The tech support said that most of the people don't use the generator to it's designed capacity. The engine is not your typical engine, it is a commercial duty motor so it has to be broken in with heavy oil. After 20 hrs change to regular 10w-30 oil for the remaining life of the engine. Remember, this is not in the users manual.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
19out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 8,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine-DISCONTINUED
from Seattle, WA

Great Generator, Fair Price, A Little Noisy

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did extensive research on line before deciding to by the 8000. The selling points were a real voltage regulator, adequate power, and electric start. The Subaru engine helped too.
This web site and the Ridgid web site don't have quite enough info so I called Ridgid for more. Among other things they told me that the generator has a Total Harmonic Distortion (THD) of 5%. THD is a measure of the "quality" of the power put out. Many/most generators won't mention their THD. I've called some, and even their tech support doesn't have this information. However, take it from me that 5% is very, very good for a portable generator. Some generators brands that pride themselves on good quality power have a THD of 7%.
I'm making a big deal about this because it is important to have good quality power for electronics. Bad power quality can fry electronics or shorten their life span significantly.
The web sites also don't mention the sound level put out by the generator. Again, by calling them I found out that the level is 76 (?) db at 70 feet. This is a little high. Some of the higher priced ($2500+) generators of this wattage measure that at about 21 feet. This is noticeable. The generator is a little noisy. Hondas for instance are noticeably quieter. However, if you want something quieter with good quality power be prepared to spend the 2 or 3K.
The electric start works very, very well. I started the generator several times, in weather that was 11 to 18 degrees. It started every time in less than 2 seconds.
The generator appears solid and well though out. The gas fill is near the edge of the top. This makes filling it much easier. The gas take holds 8 gallons. This should be enough to last 10+ hours at a reasonable load.
I have a whole house transfer switch on my house. The generator basically supplies every circuit in the entire house (BTW, don't buy a 6 or 8 circuit transfer switch).
With typical electrical load I got 118 volts throughout the house. With every light in the house it stayed there. With the 220 dryer on high I got about 116. The only time the generator sounded like it was working hard was when I turned the oven on. Even then the voltage stayed just fine (slightly over what the utility power gives me).
BTW, the generator comes with a 20 amp cord. However, don't be fooled. This is NOT a cord for connecting to a transfer switch. You need a 30 amp cord for that. This generator has (to me) a useless feature that allows you to detach the control panel and put it in a remote location using the supplied cord. This might be useful on a construction job site, but ...
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 8,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine-DISCONTINUED
from Pima Arizona

OK but could be better

PostedDecember 14, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I recently purchased this generator to replace one that was stolen. I did not want to pay out the money for a Honda again & only get 2000w. So I decided that I would like something with a little more punch behind it for a backup power supply for the house as well as small to large job's.
Thing's I like.
It is very easy to move around. The zero gravity is no joke.
It is very easy to start, even with the pull start this is not bad. No worries if you get caught with a dead battery.
I have not removed the panel yet but this was one of the deciding feature's that helped me with my decision. This is also a safety feature. Helps keep you away from the generator for small job's that you don't want to drag out a extension cord.
The fold up handle is great. Rigid is very innovative when making tool's for the guy that doesn't have a huge garage or shop to store their tool's in. I own most of rigid's portable tool's & this is one of the reason's that I see what rigid has to offer over other makes.
Quality is second to none. The generator over all doesn't look nor feel like a cheap generator.
Fuel gauge is a nice touch.
The control panel that count's the hr's & load at any given time is nice. I have not seen this feature in a machine of this size. Typically only larger commercial & industrial model's come with these option's. Help's you keep up on the engine maintenance for those who consider thing's like that to be important.
Dislikes
Adding motor oil is a joke. Location is very poor. Need's an extension tube & dip stick.
No auto engine idle option. It start's up & goes right to a pretty good rev. I don't like starting motor's that are cold without letting them idle a little to allow the engine temp to warm up before getting crazy. This will affect the life of any motor. In addition without the auto engine idle feature the generator is not as efficient as it could be. So when your running this generator you probably want to have a few thing's to power up because you will be paying for power that your not using. I miss my Honda that had this feature.
Only one key came with the machine. (come on $1299.00)
Fuel seems to leak out of the fill cap when tank is full & you tip back to move around.(I need to check for missing gasket)
Generator is pretty noisy. But it's not a small generator either.
Overall.
This is for the guy that need's a generator for all small to heavy duty application's. This really is a nice generator that in my humble opinion only need's a couple of thing's done to it to make it virtually perfect. For the most part I am extremely happy with the purchase & would buy it over again.
I hope this help's those of you who are pondering on purchasing this generator. Rigid is a trusted brand.
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 8,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine-DISCONTINUED
from Pensacola Fl

Good Design but NO Oil Filter

PostedJuly 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this in July 2011 to replace an older and smaller generator. Set up was a breeze. Unit started up easily. Easy to move around. Why was no oil filter designed into the unit. The owners manual recommends oil change after 20 hrs the first time, then every 100 hours. That is only 4 days of continued use. Probably a higher frequency due to no oil filter. Rigid/Subaru should have included an oil filter. If you own this unit, be sure to change oil as recommended. Also let it cool down with no load before shutting down.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 8,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine-DISCONTINUED
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exceptional power for the price

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ridgid advertises its generators by listing its running watts first which means you get a solid 8000 watts with the surge capacity of 10000 watts which is the opposite of what most manufacturers do. The unit was ordered on line and delivered 6 days later by New England Motor Freight without a scratch.Easy to assemble. One person can easily do it if you have a couple pieces of wood to prop each end up while you install the wheels and legs.I'd use my own oil rather than the no name brand that it came with which also had no API ratings on the bottle. Pour in a whole quart before starting. pull the manual starter several times to fill the carb with fuel, then hit the choke and turn the key. Suburu engine fired immediately and only needs the choke for maybe 5 seconds.The model I got had a build date of almost a year ago and I'm glad because they've recently added a fuel vapor containment system on the newer ones and some owners have reported fuel starvation problems as the tank isn't vented and after several minutes or run time, opening the fuel cap results in a big wooosh created by the vacuum.This is also a problem on the 6800 watt model with Yamaha motor.However, this unit appears to be a beast, power-wise, somewhat noisy, but not terrible.I installed a Reliance 3140CRK transfer switch, which by the way DOES handle this 8000 watt unit, even though it says 7500 max in its on line specs. Its one of the FAQ's on Reliance's website and its box even says 8000.Running furnace motor, 2 refigerators, tons of lights and a washer, microwave, and everything I could turn on , the thing was putting out about 5000, so there's plenty in reserve to start other appliances, etc..At first I thought the digital display on the generator was defective because I plugged in a 500 watt work light and it read no output, but it turns out the light was such a small percentage of its output that it wasn't sensing the load, the threshold seems to be a little over 500-600 watts. the meter also displays hours of operation in whole hours, not tenths, so you need to run one full hour for it to advance.Newer models appear to have a new display which you can scroll through more info like % of output.The design and build quality, I think, is first rate.The "Zero -Gravity" handle is awesome and it rolls easily.Make sure and use the locking pin on left side of handle when moving the unit.This type of generator can not utilize an Eco-Throttle as they must run at full RPM to produce their power, so it does run flat out all the time but still has great run time with the 8 gal tank.It produced smooth steady current same as the power company . You could easily run your whole house, and hook up a couple neighbors to help them out.I haven't seen a unit of this output at anywhere near this price. I had to order on line due to shortages in the stores after a power outage and it cost $55 shipping surcharge, but if its in stock at the store or HD online runs one of its free shipping deals with no weight limitations , you'll save some cash.I'm done running extension cords from my small portable generator which has been retired to camping duty.Extended power outages are becoming more frequent, and now I can have the house up and running like normal in less than 5 minutes, for less than $2k total investment. Plus, still have the portability, if needed, for a worksite that you wouldn't have with a whole house automatic system.The only thing I did was add a length of fuel hose to the carb float bowl nipple so I can drain the carb for cleaning or storage without making a mess.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design, high value quotient, easy to move around, subaru motor as good as it gets
Cons: output meter a little sketchy
+24points
25out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 8,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine-DISCONTINUED
from Western Mass
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Generator!

PostedNovember 18, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Just like so many others, I lost power during the Halloween Weekend blizzard of 2011. Unfortunately, my 18 year old generator's carb quit on me. The repair guy said it was a minimum of $250 to get it running again. Luckily my brother let me borrow his for a few hours each day, so we were in pretty good shape. But, I decided I wasn't going to go through this again.
Being the techie, research hound that I am, I started researching every generator in the world in earnest. I kept going back and forth between a whole house propane system (i.e. I don't have propane or natural gas currently) to another portable. I actually had decided to go with a smaller portable (i.e. 5000-6000 watts) but there were none to be had, other than "quiet" Honda's, which I was not willing to pay for, or B&S "Storm Responders", which didn't have many good reviews. I finally decided to "bite the bullet" and purchase this fine, 8000 watt, Subaru powered (owned Subarus for years and loved them) generator.
I couldn't be happier. The thing went together in a snap, it's built like a tank, and it started within 3 seconds using the electic start with it's partially charged battery. It is a bit loud, but not as loud as I expected. I suppose if I wanted to spend another few thousand, I could have gotten the Honda, but I just couldn't justify that kind of money for the difference in volume.
I haven't had a chance to do a "real world" test, but I did plug in two 1500 watt heaters. I turned on the first and the engine didn't even stutter. I turned on the second and it stuttered ever so slightly. But, the Subaru engine runs like a dream. Everything about this gen reeks of quality. The Zero Gravity Handle turns it into a hand truck. Very easy to move it over the lawn.
My original plan was to backfeed through the dryer outlet. But, after reading many negative posts online from utility workers, as well as the fact that it could nullify your house insurance in the event of a fire, I decided to go with a transfer switch. Of course, they are on back order till at least the middle of December. In the meantime, I will use extension cords if needed. I also decided that I want to keep it quiet and make it more "permanent", so I am going to build a sound deadening, weatherproof enclosure. That way I can keep it sitting right next to house and won't have to move it. I will make sure to drain the carb and tank whenever it's not in use and will always use Stabil in the gas. That should ensure another 18 years of service like I had with my last one (a cheap Homelite).
Bottom line, buy it. It seems to be built very well, and I have seen mostly great reviews on it. Plus, with this amount of power, I expect I will be able to run my electic water heater in addition to my fridge, chest freezer, pellet stove, microwave, coffeer maker, tv's, computers, and house lights. Of course I will take care not to use high wattage things together.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 8,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine-DISCONTINUED
from Houston

Very good product.

PostedJuly 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It's a very nice product and has many features which can be used to compare with others generator out there. It starts every time when pull or crank the key. Its sine wave power output is very clean, tested it on the HP oscilloscope. Its Db was measured @76-77db, from back yard which was surrounded by 8ft wooden fence and the distance was 21 feet away, not bad for 8KW rated watt. Maintenance of this gen is very Easy. The engineers of Subaru/Robin engine+Ridgid are very wise. First, they place the spark plug in a very easy position to replace if needed. Second, carburetor's draining screw, gas tank draining valve and oil draining bolt, these locations are easy to access as well. Third, the Zero gravity. (Very nice design)
There is One negative point for this Gen is; it only has "One (1) ignition key". C'mon Ridgid, it price tag is $1300.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 8,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine-DISCONTINUED
from Massachusetts
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic generator, highly recommend

PostedNovember 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The specs say you get 11 hours @ 50% load, I am running 13 hours consistently @ between 55 and 65% load with spikes up to 90% for a few minutes (running a microwave) with fuel remaining. I would expect I can run to 14 hours if I run it dry. The zero gravity roll cage is no joke, I was amazed at how easily I could move mine around. The control unit at the front is detachable as well which gives me some piece of mind about theft deterrence as we have the control module inside the house at present, and the key start with a battery is great. I really really like this thing. The Subaru motor is a sweetheart it fires right up instantly and levels out to its running speed near instantly. Only real drawbacks I see are the noise (~80 db) if you are in tight quarters, and as another reviewer mentioned the choke control is still on the generator so remote starting it from the command module requires 2 people if you are starting it cold - one at the key and one to operate the choke. A little inconvenient but this unit has been a godsend and performed flawless after the recent Nor'easter in MA where I have not had power for 5 days now and have had this unit running non stop since with zero problems and perfect power delivery running everything from refrigerators and sensitive electronics, tvs, dvd players, etc...
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 8,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine-DISCONTINUED
from poulsbo, wa

First Generator

PostedNovember 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Set up, wired up, and fired up. It is a little louder than I expected but prior reviews noted this factor. It runs much better on high octane fuel, just like it says in the manual. I was a little worried about weight and portability. I am well over 70 and somewhat slight; the machine can be moved about without strain. The Ridgid 8000 is indeed portable. It is easy to get it up on its two wheels, it balances nicely, and the width of the wheels allows me to move it comfortably over a gravel pathway. We have outages most years, usually for shorter periods of time. I can hardly wait.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 8,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine-DISCONTINUED
from Maryland

Still a good performer with over 100 hours

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this during the blizzards of 09-10. Now writing this on generator power during the fourth day post-Irene. Was a little pricey but it has proved to be a solid performer. I thought the extra cost worth it due to the 8000 watt output, easy portability - really is zero-gravity, and multiple hook-ups (30 amp and 20 amp). After 120 hours of service I have not been disappointed.
First - you do have to invest in an electrician to get a proper hook up. I chose the lockout device option on my original panel rather than going with an entirely separate panel.
The size of the generator carries most everything except AC. I can even power my hot water heater if I shut other things off.
Fuel efficiency has been good. Averaging about a half gallon an hour over four days continuous use right now. I'd say most times I am under 50% load.
Zero -gravity really makes a difference. My wife can roll this out and set it up with no problem (after showing her how several times).
Starts every time - hot and cold weather.
Cons: As others have said - it is loud. The service schedule needs to be followed - the suggestions to do so on the use readout is great! As others have said the oil drain is in a horrible location. I had to prop the whole thing up on blocks to get a pan under it and easily access the bolt.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 8,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine-DISCONTINUED

was happy now not so

PostedApril 24, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I use the generator daily. I was very happy with it. Powers my tools effortlessly. Have done all the maintenance recommended in the manual. Now the generator has 350 hours. It blows a ton of smoke on start hot or cold. Its burning a half a qt of oil per day. The Subaru engine is supposed to be top, but Im not so sure. I can't find the receipt and no one will help me. The engine has a 3 year warrenty. This generator hasn't even been maufactured three years yet. Thanks Rigid and Subaru. I have always bought Dewalt tools. I have had a few serviced. Never needed a receipt, always taken care of. I can assure u. I won't be making a switch to Rigid if this is the customer service I get.
+12points
20out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 8,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine-DISCONTINUED

Life saver!

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We live in Oklahoma and this has saved our lives. Numerous times. The electricity goes out our generators always on always dependable!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 8,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine-DISCONTINUED
from NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great value for the money

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Did tons of research and besides going with a Honda or a Yamaha generator which are awesome but 2 to 3 times the price, this was best value for my money. This unit powered my 1/2 HP well pump, TV, oil burner, all my lights and microwave without any signs of overload. Love the Subaru made engine. Yes the unit has a chinese made generator head but from TTI who makes parts for many other units. Unless you go with a Honda just about all models out there are made in China. The big complaint I have read is the remote start panel not having a way to turn the choke on and off. This makes the remote panel kind of useless if the engine is cold. There's a YouTube video of an owner that made a remote cable activated choke that worked excellent. Look for the title "installing a generator for easy activation". Brilliant idea!
I drove myself crazy going back and forth between different brands and models....I wanted a Honda EM6500 but could not see spending over 3K. True you get what you pay for but for the amount of use this will have I should be fine for a long time. I have read reviews of owners going over 500 hours with no issues. No this is not a Honda but at least it has a decent 3 year warranty, service center near by and for the most part very good reviews. Good luck!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 8,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine-DISCONTINUED
from South Attleboro, MA.

Outstanding Generator .. Worth it's weight in gold!

PostedSeptember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just finished 3 days of running this generator after Tropical storm Irene knocked Eastern MA. on our behinds. For years I wondered if I should install a permanent unit outside with an automatic switch but when losing power is rare and for short durations, this unit has me covered. This generator had NO problem running a refrigerator, hot water heater, TV, DVD player, several lights, Electric garage door opener, two medical devices, CPAP and an Oxygen pump. I could have easily connected more devices but I ran out of extension cords. Right out of the box this unit started right up after 45 minutes of assembling the wheels and filling the oil. The removable panel is a great idea if you are a contractor and you need to start and stop the generator if you were on a roof or up off the ground working on an elevated deck. As for a backup generator the load meter on the removable panel is outstanding allowing you judge if more devices could be added and to judge how much fuel you are going to be burning since this unit will run about 10 hours at 50% load. Even being 74 years old I was able to move this generator to the edge of the garage with a small amount of effort. The only two items I would improve would be for Rigid to have manufactured an extension fill tube with a longer dip stick to fill and check the oil. The oil fill cap is located at the very bottom of the engine and is somewhat difficult to add oil and check the level. The other issue would be is for Subaru to have a spin on oil filter with a larger sump allowing this unit to run longer and cleaner between oil changes. Overall I am very happy with my purchase. I just ran it with fuel stabilizer and changed the oil after our power was restored. We rarely lose power but I am ready for the next time.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 8,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine-DISCONTINUED
from Windham,Ct.

Well constructed unit at a fair price

PostedSeptember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this unit in the early aftermath of Irene. The folks at Nashua, NH. Home Depot where great. Within minutes of completing the assembly I filled the crankcase with oil and fuel then turned the key. The unit fired off quickly and ran for days with no problems. Great features and would only have liked to see an oil filter on the engine as I plan on keeping this unit for a long time. I believe this was mentioned on other reviews but all and all it's a great product that I do not regret buying.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 8,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine-DISCONTINUED
from GRAND RAPIDS, MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Unreliable Generator And Customer service

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this because of the 3 yr commercial warranty. I need a generator that will run 8-12 hours a day, every day for years. Within a month the throttle linkage (tiny ceramic bushing) broke. Then the electric starter quit. Then it started guzzling oil (stuck ring). Then the throttle linkage broke again,this time it was the spring that holds the throttle linkage together. This spring is not much thicker than a human hair??? Then the little arm out of the carburetor that the linkage attaches to broke. Then it quit guzzling oil (ring became unstuck). Then it threw a rod...no warning, plenty of oil (Mobil1). When I bought this I was told that "if it ever needs service, you get a loaner for free". That is not the case. I had to buy another one to get me through the TWO MONTHS that it took for them to fix this one. I love the little one that I bought (3600W Ridgid) it's quiet,never breaks,and sips gas compared to this LOUD one. They charged me $832 to fix. Technician said "throttle return spring" was broke, so warranty doesn't cover it. The "throttle return spring" is the governor, which was not broke. I paid $1299 for mine, now they sell the whole generator for $50 less than I paid to get mine repaired????
Cons: Not Durable, Too Heavy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 8,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Subaru Engine-DISCONTINUED
from Wheeling, WV, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent quality

PostedFebruary 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased back in August 2011. I ran the remote start through the basement wall ordered the natural gas hook up and starter relay and made an outdoor shelter with breathing vents and a commercial fan to the keep the unit cool.Along with a 8KW transfer box no more gasoline concerns my wife turns the starter key and flips a few switches on the transfer box and presto, no longer have to go outside when the grid goes down. Happy wife happy life.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>