728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Concrete, Basement & Garage Floor Paint or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1-gal. Anti-Slip Acrylic Latex Interior/Exterior Floor and Concrete Paint

1-gal. Anti-Slip Acrylic Latex Interior/Exterior Floor and Concrete Paint

The Sure Step 1-Gal. Acrylic Latex Interior/Exterior Floor and Concrete Paint provides a durable, skid-resistant finish for concrete and asphalt. It is suitable for application on tennis courts, patios, walkways, steps, ramps, pool decks and more. The finish has exceptional color retention, even when exposed to direct sunlight. It resists abrasion, foot traffic and ponding water.
Overall rating:
4.462 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product33 of 37reviews
Rating Breakdown 39 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(29)
4
(5)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product33 of 37reviews
Customer reviews for 1-gal. Anti-Slip Acrylic Latex Interior/Exterior Floor and Concrete Paint
Review 1 for 1-gal. Anti-Slip Acrylic Latex Interior/Exterior Floor and Concrete Paint
from Delray Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

3 1/2 gallons, 260 square foot slab, two coats

PostedApril 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Investigated various products on line reviews. Sure Step has the best ratings. Went to the manufacturer's web site to check details of application. Yes, it did take 3 1/2 gallons to cover the tatters of our previously painted concrete deck, which was power washed and treated before applying new paint. Had a scare when we had rain soon after applying the second coat, but our luck is in!
Deck looks wonderful. The color choice is a sure improvement over the former gray. The tactile surface is great to step on. Only time can answer the durability question. A month in -- no issues!
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+24points
27out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1-gal. Anti-Slip Acrylic Latex Interior/Exterior Floor and Concrete Paint
from Tampa, Florida

Pretty unhappy with Sure Step Anti-slip paint.

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought two gallons to apply on matte finish tile installed over concrete deck for a covered lanai. When wet the tile would become too slick to be safe. I pressure washed the deck, let it dry and applied the sure step according to can instructions, with a modification. The advice from a previous review to not pour the stuff on the deck, to use a paint tray is good advice. More on that later.
While applying the second coat, (after allowing the required time to dry) I noticed the paint had some small torn places from sliding the drop cloth. This told me the paint was still very soft. So I allowed 10 days before walking on it, and two full weeks, during August in Florida to dry and harden before we placed anything on it. Carefully rolling the aluminium ping-pong table resulted in the paint bunching up under the wheels when the table changed direction. A 2ft tall by 1ft wide trashcan also scraped up some soft paint. In both cases paint was still soft and could be smoothed back down flat. A fail for durability.
As this material deposits a double layer of sand anytime you pass over the same spot. Every place the roller passed over an edge from the previous area leaves a double dose. So once that occurs your deck will always show those over lapped lines. It's like you are painting with a light color paint that is covering a dark wall poorly, and each time your roller touches the previously rolled area next to the area you are working now it becomes a slightly different shade from the bigger areas because it is covered better. Eventually you will apply a second or third coat of paint and all those areas will have blended and matched up, making an even coating. Not so with this stuff, it leaves another layer of sand each time it passes over a previous, and just gets more course. The additional sand makes the surface reflect differently, and is easy to see unless looking down where you are painting. Every overlap shows, and never gets better because it added more sand. You could try adding a third coat to fill in, without touching any of those overlap lines. Good luck with that. Uniform finish is a fail.
BTW The yellowish/cream Sand color version darkens a bit toward beige when dry.
A good value ? It doesn't wear well, it doesn't look good, how much is that worth ?
Pros: Good Coverage, Dries Quickly
Cons: Scratches Easily, surface shows overlapping., will be a mess to remove.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1-gal. Anti-Slip Acrylic Latex Interior/Exterior Floor and Concrete Paint
from Tennessee
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sure Step Concrete Paint is excellent product

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After a long agonizing search for a paint to refurbish my swimming pool deck without enamel in the mix, I decided to bite the bullet and give Sure Step a go.May 10, 2012 was the big day. With my son's help we applied the paint to the deck. I waited the recommended 24 hours before cautiously taking the first steps on the deck. No problems! Yeah. I waited a week before setting the table, chairs and lounges on the deck to give time for the paint to dry thoroughly. The recommended time was 72 hours. No problems! Yeah. The paint goes on well with a long hair roller and I brushed the paint on the expansion joints. The only tip I have is to buy at least half again more paint than recommended for the area you want to cover. I was putting it over textured Cool Deck and that may have been the reason for more paint being used. But, I surely wouldn't take a chance on running out if you have a very large project. You can send any excess gallons back. The company sends a return shipment label and contact name with the product. We applied one coat and the coverage was fantastic. I will use this product again the next time my deck needs repainting. It is non-slip, which is what you need for a pool deck. The color is a bit lighter than the computer sample, but it is pretty and I really like it. I definitely would recommend this paint for a pool deck or porch.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+44points
44out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1-gal. Anti-Slip Acrylic Latex Interior/Exterior Floor and Concrete Paint
from Rockledge, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

so disappointed

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First the good. This paint went on very easily and covered old stained concrete well. The texture is definitely anti slip. It looks fantastic when first applied and has stood up to Florida's rainy season without flaking off at all. We first painted a very low traffic area which looks freshly painted after 8 months. Unfortunately, we also painted a high traffic area and this paint holds on to dirt (especially puppy's muddy paw prints) like nothing I have seen. I have been unable to remove the stains and using a brush made it worse. Our area now looks worse than before painting.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Scratches Easily
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1-gal. Anti-Slip Acrylic Latex Interior/Exterior Floor and Concrete Paint

Great product

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used this paint on my pool patio two years ago. It has held up very well. I recenty expanded the concrete patio and painted it also. Very minimal color difference between old and new, and that might be due partly to th the slightly different finishing the mason gave the new concrete.
As for painting, clean the surface well with bleach and or top job and rinse and sweep. Do not paint in hot sun. Paint dries very quickly. Other reviewers talk of mottled appearence. Don't know how to paint. Use a normal paint roller pan and heavy duty nap roller. Never mind pouring out a line and rolling from there. Ridiculous and results in some areas heavily saturated and others not so much. Roll out only about three square feet at a time. Paints dries fast so if you roll over what you have just painted, you are essentially giving that area two coats which will appear quite different from the parts you rolled only once - hence the mottled look. Work fast, roll only what you can blend and resist urge to touch up what you have rolled and dried.
I used two coats on old concrete since it had turned medium / dark grey in areas. The more coats, the lighter the color - with sand color paint - and on the new, nearly white concrete, I used once coat and they match quite well and I am fussy about that sort of thing.
Very nice grip underfoot for bare feet.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1-gal. Anti-Slip Acrylic Latex Interior/Exterior Floor and Concrete Paint
from WI
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedJuly 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Painted a large concrete patio. We were tired of how slippery it was with wet feet so bought this product for the look and non-slip promise. Day 1, power washed and patched, many hours later rolled on 1st coat. Next morning rolled on 2nd coat. A surprise thunderstorm with heavy rain came through about 4 hours later...too nervous to see what would happen...so we went to a movie! Next morning the patio looked great! Still does a week later. Love the non-slip and feels fine with bare feet. Live in the Midwest so hope it stands up to winters too, very satisfied thus far!
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1-gal. Anti-Slip Acrylic Latex Interior/Exterior Floor and Concrete Paint
from Little River, SC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Way Better Than Expected!

PostedApril 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We used this on our screened porch just off of the kitchen. Works great! Application was easy, I put two coats on 90 Sq. Ft. with just one can. No more slipping on the way to the grill when it's wet out! I purchased two gallons based on the coverage details, but I guess too much is better than not enough. Wife likes it so much she wants me to use the extra on the front porch now...
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1-gal. Anti-Slip Acrylic Latex Interior/Exterior Floor and Concrete Paint
from Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for patios & sidewalks

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Sure-Step concrete paint is THICK (like pancake batter). You don't even have to stir it. I used a thick-mat roller to apply it, but probably should have used a squeegee to spread it first because you can end up using too much if you don't spread it out first.
Sure-Step dries rather quickly if it's not too cold. The finish is uniform and the "grip" property really works without feeling "gritty". Even on a steeply inclined sidewalk I can walk in the rain without fear of slipping.
A couple points about the color: a) It dries much lighter than the sample swatches you see on display: b) you won't achieve a "sidewalk" color by mixing 1/2 sand and 1/2 gray - it's still gray. Mix a little gray to the sand at a time and paint a small swatch until it matches/compliments the surrounding concrete.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, Good Protection, grip without grit
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1-gal. Anti-Slip Acrylic Latex Interior/Exterior Floor and Concrete Paint
from Indiana, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had a deck that was extremely slick when wet.
This product has made the deck a safe place to walk, even in the rain.
The final test will be, how long it lasts.
Read the instructions at Insl-X website before purchase.
We needed prier and had to wait for it before we could proceed.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1-gal. Anti-Slip Acrylic Latex Interior/Exterior Floor and Concrete Paint
from Fort Lauderdale, FL

Sure Step Desert Sand paint

PostedMay 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband and I used this paint on our cool deck in our screen room. We put a sealant down first and let that set for a week. Cleaned the surface of dirt and applied two coats of Sure Step. The first coat had to be applied very carefully to fill in small imperfections from wear over the years. The second coat was merely a matter of cutting in and then rolling with a roller w/extension handle. This is FANTASTIC paint for cool decks. It dried true to color sample and we had no yellowing as another reviewer stated. We're getting more for the walkway around the house. Very impressed with this company's products. Their cabinet paint is fantastic as well. Shipping from Home Depot was in two days...also GREAT!
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1-gal. Anti-Slip Acrylic Latex Interior/Exterior Floor and Concrete Paint
from Zanesville
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I am so glad I got it right the first time

PostedMarch 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This paint is just what was advertized and does what it says it will do. It went on thick and covered well ( I recommend to allow for two coats ) You won't be disappointed as I noticed it filling the smaller cracks when applying the second coat I have had it on my patio wich is fairly hight traffic for a year now with no noticeable wear and that is why I waited a year to write my review. Don't want to brag to soon.I am handycap so buying an antiskid paint was imperative for my saftey, it's perfect...BUY IT !!!
+28points
29out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1-gal. Anti-Slip Acrylic Latex Interior/Exterior Floor and Concrete Paint

Worth every penny, easy to apply, adds safety to slick cement

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is very, very, easy to apply, cleans up with soap and water and our steps are so much safer now. Our cement steps are not new and for years we have put up with steps that were extremely slick when wet. We finally found this product and applied it. Three days later it was a rainy day and I was able to walk on the steps and actually feel my foot was not going to slip around. There are enough colors to choose from that would fit any home.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1-gal. Anti-Slip Acrylic Latex Interior/Exterior Floor and Concrete Paint
from St. Petersburg, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Worked as adv

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I painted my back porch. It took three coats but it looks great and will not slip. Doing the front next. Great product
Pros: Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1-gal. Anti-Slip Acrylic Latex Interior/Exterior Floor and Concrete Paint

This product does pretty much what it claims

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I painted over an old, previously painted laundry room floor. It took 3 coats to hide the difference between the old paint and the cement floor, but the paint went on easily with both brush and roller. I also used it on an outdoor stairwell, previously painted, both cinderblock walls and steps. Again, a couple of coats covered well and it went on nicely.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great
Cons: perhaps a little rough on bare feet
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1-gal. Anti-Slip Acrylic Latex Interior/Exterior Floor and Concrete Paint
from Lakeland, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

i would not purchase this again

PostedSeptember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The coverage was fair to good, but it's awful for an outdoor paint, as it is nearly impossible to clean muddy paw prints off, even with a high powered hose. The texture of the paint holds onto any mote of dirt and will not easily give it up. Very disappointing.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1-gal. Anti-Slip Acrylic Latex Interior/Exterior Floor and Concrete Paint
from Florida

SureStep paint

PostedNovember 16, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Painted our driveway with exterior paint & it was very slippery.
Got SureStep paint & it is great--driveway no longer slippery.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1-gal. Anti-Slip Acrylic Latex Interior/Exterior Floor and Concrete Paint
from Tesas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good product

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
great cover and easy to put down. Just wonder about the wear with table and chairs to been moved on it, Will soon find out. Price a bit high but what isn't.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Cons: Scratches Easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1-gal. Anti-Slip Acrylic Latex Interior/Exterior Floor and Concrete Paint

great paint

PostedSeptember 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used the Sure Step around my pool. I am having new concrete walkways put next to the old pool deck and I wanted the old concrete to be freshened up so the contrast is not so great. The color is sand - milk with a dash of coffee. The paint has the consistency of thick pancake batter. It handles like water-vapor paint. It has a little grit to it and dries fairly quickly. I taped off the pool while hanging out in the pool and then painted the perimeter while in the pool too. I cut in the expansion joints then rolled of the rest with a roller with broom handle. The rolling goes fast. I put a second coat, which used about half the amount of the first coat. The rolling takes about 25% of the job time. Looks great, like a resort now instead of old concrete. Hate to walk on it. :) I scrubbed the old concrete with comet and then a rinse of diluted bleach. I blew and swept the concrete just before painting. If you work the paint around, you can incorporate any remianing loose pieces of grit into the paint, just like the vapor barrier paint. It filled in the cracks well and has a comfortable amount of sandy grit under foot. Make sure to goober it on - don't spread for coverage. I used two coats since the first coat looked a little uneven where I cut in and where the roller application was not uniform. We'll see how long this lasts before a new coat is needed.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1-gal. Anti-Slip Acrylic Latex Interior/Exterior Floor and Concrete Paint
from Florida, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Non Skid - Easy to Apply

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This paint performed great. It took 2 coats because the under-surface was blotchy. It applies very easy with brush or roller. It stays mixed , something I was worried about. The non-skid is really effective but comfortable on bare feet.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1-gal. Anti-Slip Acrylic Latex Interior/Exterior Floor and Concrete Paint

Great product but it doesn't go far

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I really like the coating but to get the thickness I need I needed more product that I calculated. I am using to coat treated plywood deck but I want it to fill the voids of the wood grain. I planned on two coats. I used a 3/8" nap roller and it spread very well with very little texture. TO get a thicker coating I had to pour on the coating, smooth out with a squeegee and then roll with a open cell sponge roller. The texture was more than I desired but the coating was super thick and gave a monolithic appearance. I really like the color and it seems durable. TIme will tell.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 >>