728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Marine, Pond & Pool Paint or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1-gal. Semi-Gloss Water White Swimming Pool Paint

1-gal. Semi-Gloss Water White Swimming Pool Paint

The Insl-X 1-gal. Semi-Gloss Water White Swimming Pool Paint can be used on many indoor and outdoor pool coatings as well as plaster and concrete surfaces. Its mildew- and UV-resistant, waterproof water-based formula has low amounts of VOCs for environmental and human safety. The paint dries to the touch in 60 minutes and should be reapplied after 6 hours for best results. The 1-gal. can works well on areas up to 250 sq. ft.
Overall rating:
4.385 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product22 of 25reviews
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(18)
4
(5)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product22 of 25reviews
Customer reviews for 1-gal. Semi-Gloss Water White Swimming Pool Paint
Review 1 for 1-gal. Semi-Gloss Water White Swimming Pool Paint
from Palmetto, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great paint

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was very easy to use and clean up, great instructions and looks great!!
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1-gal. Semi-Gloss Water White Swimming Pool Paint
from Duncanville, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pool Paint

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We bought 2gal for our 10000gal pool and covered everything with one coat. If we could do it again I would recommend two coats. During this process we learned a ton about paint. If you're applying one coat make sure you wait 5 days for the paint to cure before refilling! Overall, this covered up the bad plaster very well and made most area's more smooth. I've also noticed that the pool algae that builds up on walls if 100 times less than before with plaster. One more thing to add, if your like me thinking of paying 5K+ for plaster is a waste of time! GO WITH THE PAINT it will save you time and money!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly, top paint dries quick but bottom takes 5 days!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1-gal. Semi-Gloss Water White Swimming Pool Paint
from Philadelphia
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good choice for wet surfaces

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I previously used this paint for our pool. I allowed it to dry for 7 days with a fan blowing into the pool the whole time between two coats and before filling. The results were great. I noticed the metal stirring stick I used was so well coated I could not peel or scrape the paint off. So I re-ordered the paint for my bare aluminum Hobby Greenhouse. The frame dates to 1976 and I power washed and dilute muriatic acid rinsed the clean metal. Applied two coats 5 days apart. Some bubbling resulted when pieces were left outside and became dew covered the same day it was painted. Pieces left indoors were fine. Since the inside of the greenhouse will always be damp and wet I think this was a good choice for it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1-gal. Semi-Gloss Water White Swimming Pool Paint
from Kingwood, Houston, TX, USA

Used to paint a fountain

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We did not want to add chemical to the fountain out of fair of harming wildlife. We disassembled the fountain and coated it completely with this product.
It was easy to apply but required two coats to cover properly over bare concrete. Dries within hours to a "rubbery" satin finish. Pleased with the results. The birds apreciateit as well.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1-gal. Semi-Gloss Water White Swimming Pool Paint
from Inman, SC 29349, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fast delivery

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ordered swimming pool paint that is hard to find at a good price, but got it off homegeot.com for 38.97 a gallon,plus no cost shipping. Great deal will buy paint there every spring.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1-gal. Semi-Gloss Water White Swimming Pool Paint
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good paint for the price

PostedMay 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have used this product before and will continue to. Paint lasted roughly 3 years. It's easy to apply and easy to clean up. Good value for your money.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1-gal. Semi-Gloss Water White Swimming Pool Paint

Excellent, easy to use.

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product was easy to use and easy to apply. Following the directions is critical for success. Use 2 coats as directed. My pool looks fantastic.The next test is to see how long it stays the way it looks now.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1-gal. Semi-Gloss Water White Swimming Pool Paint
from Missouri

Ins-X Waterborne Swimming Pool Paint

PostedMay 15, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This has been the best pool paint we've used. It does not peel, is easy to apply, holds up well, and clean-up is simple.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1-gal. Semi-Gloss Water White Swimming Pool Paint
from Florida

looks good going on

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this paint for my fountain. It is about 14 ft diameter with sides that are about 18 inches. I was able to get a full coat on the full interior and a second coat on the bottom with one gallon. It was easy to apply. It covered the surface uniformly and looks really solid after filling the fountain. Only time will tell if I have trouble with peeling as I periodically clean the base.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1-gal. Semi-Gloss Water White Swimming Pool Paint

Paint has lifted off the surface

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Would not use this product again. It does not hold up.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great
Cons: Scratches Easily, lifting off surface
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1-gal. Semi-Gloss Water White Swimming Pool Paint
from Blue Springs, MO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great so far, the real test will be how it lasts

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After looking at many options for paint on my pool, I decided to use the product from HD. It went down well and was easy to use. The biggest problem with painting a pool is knowing how much you will need. The best thing with ordering from HD is you can order extra and return any that is not needed to your local store.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Dries Quickly, Easy to Apply
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1-gal. Semi-Gloss Water White Swimming Pool Paint

rating pool paint

PostedMay 5, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have used this product before and that is why we looked for it again and to find that you were not caring it store anymore was a little frustrating. Thanks for having it available on line. This paint takes care of the job so well and with hardly no effort , and gives a full coverage finish,
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1-gal. Semi-Gloss Water White Swimming Pool Paint
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to apply, but peeled and bubbled during the Season

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Chlorinated pool in Georgia. I have used this paint two seasons in a row. First year, applied one coat. Paint bubbled in various locations. Following year applied two coats of the same paint. Paint bubbled and peeled in even more locations. I will be using an epoxy paint this seasons.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy to Use
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1-gal. Semi-Gloss Water White Swimming Pool Paint

Good product

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appears to have lasting qualities because it is rated for under water capabilities.
Pros: Looks Great, Easy to Apply
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1-gal. Semi-Gloss Water White Swimming Pool Paint

Great product. Easy application.

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Arrived UPS with no problems. Good packaging and protection. I took eight gallons to our local HD store and had them shake it. Easy,smooth application.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1-gal. Semi-Gloss Water White Swimming Pool Paint
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very Good !!!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very Happy !!! with the product,i recommend it. thank yiou.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1-gal. Semi-Gloss Water White Swimming Pool Paint

good coverage, easy application , low odor

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used it for painting inside 100 year old house basement (concrete) and it is adhering and covering the rough-ish surface very well.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Modern, Dries Quickly, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1-gal. Semi-Gloss Water White Swimming Pool Paint
from Plano, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Paint Review

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Coverage 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was very happy with the paint and the service associated with the sale. I put three coats on my pool surface and it looks great. After completing the project I returned 2 gallons to the local store. The return process was easy and simple.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1-gal. Semi-Gloss Water White Swimming Pool Paint

I love this paint!

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to work with, great coverage and Great value. If you are gong to paint your pool, don't be fooled -Epoxy is not the way to go. Use This product it is outstanding!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1-gal. Semi-Gloss Water White Swimming Pool Paint

Great pool paint!

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read all of the reviews on the website before deciding to purchase this paint. Original paint on my pool was epoxy. This paint is great b/c you do not need primer even on bare concrete surface(just make sure to power wash or scrub well w/ simple green HD-purple color). The gentlemen at INSL-X were very detailed and very helpful on how to proceed after patching. I Patched pool, waited 7-8 days to cure the concrete patch. Used Simple Green HD (heavy duty-purple color) w/ power wash. Waited 2 days, then painted. We used pool filter sand on surface for grip on the shallow end b/c this is a semi gloss paint and will be very slippery if wet. We used a total of
8 gallons (I think the sand soaked up a bunch of the paint also we have a deep end for diving) in my 25-30k gallon pool. The paint went on really easy as mentioned on other reviews. Just curious to see how it holds up to the elements in Chicago.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>