728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1 in. x 23-Gauge Pin Nailer

1 in. x 23-Gauge Pin Nailer

The Porter cable 1 in. x 23-Gauge Pin Nailer is a strip-loading type tool and features a 170-pin bottom-load magazine. It indicates when it's time to reload and automatically recognizes the length of the nail for accurate driving and power. It is suitable for most finishing projects, such as installing moulding, and offers a compact silver-metallic housing with a rubber comfort grip to reduce user fatigue.
Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product8 of 8reviews
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product8 of 8reviews
Customer reviews for 1 in. x 23-Gauge Pin Nailer
Review 1 for 1 in. x 23-Gauge Pin Nailer
from Swartz Creek, Michigan

You Will Love This Tool

PostedOctober 9, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My niegbor bought a pin nailer after borrowing one from his niegbor who is a carpenter by profession. He was so impressed he wanted me to try it out. I did some work with it and was failrly impressed. I purchased the Porter Cable band and am beyond impressed with this tool. I just framed some windows and needed to add the apron. I actually could hold the nailer at an 45 degree angle not touching the wood and at 80 pounds of pressure the gun was shooting the pin like a bullet and fastening the wood! The input hole is so small you hardly can tell the pin entered the wood. I really love this tool. Also very lightweight which is always a plus.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1 in. x 23-Gauge Pin Nailer
from Chicago, IL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Small but mighty!

PostedJune 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This is a great nailer from Porter Cable. It's powerful, very easy to loan pins & operate (just point & shoot). The pins go in & almost disappear... like magic! I also have an 18 gauge Porter Cable brad nailer for slightly bigger projects that I love to use. The brad nailer (which is bigger & more powerful than the pin nailer) was less expensive, which was odd to me. Because of that, it's hard for me to say the pin nailer is a great value, but if you're a hobbyist or trying to do minor upgrades with trim around the house, this would be a great tool for you.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1 in. x 23-Gauge Pin Nailer
from Harrisburg, PA

Yes, this tool works

PostedJanuary 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Porter Cable still makes very good air nailers. I am not a fan of most of Porter Cable's new products but the air nailers are still the same as they were before. All of my nailers are Porter Cable, all of my powertools are Milwaukee with a few Bosch thrown in, and I am a contractor.
The pin nailer works very well. I use it mostly on beadboard projects because I do not have to puddy much at all which saves time and money. Most good pin nailers cost around $400 (Max) and I took a gamble on this inexpensive pin nailer from PC because their nailers do work, never jam, and shoot powerful. I am very pleased and am very pleased that Home Depot actually stocks this pin nailer. Another big plus for Porter Cable and Home Depot is that the pins for this gun are in stock and you can buy them in very small quantities. A small pack of 1,000 pins is like around $7. Everyone else makes you have to buy a big box of nails, or in this case pins, but PC does not and I like that because keeping alot of inventory is stupid and it gets lost. Plus old boxes of nails always seem to break open and get stuck into something with a tire. This pin nailer always shot in deep, none stuck out, and it was even actually quite.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1 in. x 23-Gauge Pin Nailer

Great little nail gun!

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have used this gun for everything from small mouldings to using it to put up wainscotting over dry wall. You put glue on the wall and fire the nails in at an angle into the wainscott grooves to secure the planks to the wall board. I have never had to putty any nail holes with this gun, the paint fills the holes. I own two of these guns.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1 in. x 23-Gauge Pin Nailer
from Houston, TX

My husband loves this!

PostedJuly 10, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My husband is a furniture maker but due to health issues has had to work on much smaller projects in the last few years. He has been building dollhouses and birdhouses. This pin nailer works perfect for his smaller projects! The price is good for a good product!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1 in. x 23-Gauge Pin Nailer
from Howell, Mi.

made me look good

PostedNovember 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife wanted me to put up crown moulding on top of the kitchen cabinets, so I did a search on small air nailers and found that you would be better to use a 23ga. pin nailer. I was going to use my 18ga.brad nailer but was told it might split the solid cherrywood moulding. I bought the Porter Cable pin nailer after looking at all the reveiws and I'm glad I did. The crown moulding came out beautiful and the small pin nails are very hard to see. The P/C pin nailer is easy to use and works great and I would highly recommend that you read the manual first like I did because the job came out really nice. I'm glad I bought it.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1 in. x 23-Gauge Pin Nailer

This product is great

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very quite, adjustable nail lengths, work great I used it to build a stair railing, it did not split and wood. Would highly recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
Cons: pin nails could be color coded on one end
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1 in. x 23-Gauge Pin Nailer
from Tallahassee, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good product, easy to use

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Light weight, easy to use. Durable and makes the job easier to do.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.