728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Air Compressors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor

6-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor

The Porter Cable 6-Gallon Portable Electric Air Compressor features 2 regulated, factory-installed air couplers to easily support 2 users. Its body is made with steel for strength and has an upgraded shroud and console cover to protect its vital components. It is designed to operate at or below 150 psi and also features an oil-free pump, eliminating the need for maintenance. It comes with a cord wrap and a 13-piece accessory kit for versatility.
Overall rating:
2.947 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
47%of customersrecommend this product8 of 17reviews
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
2.9 out of 5.0
5
(5)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(6)
Quality 
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
47%of customersrecommend this product8 of 17reviews
Customer reviews for 6-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor
Review 1 for 6-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor
from Bastrop, TX

Bad compressor, great customer service

PostedMay 21, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Like several others on here I purchased this unit just to use around the house airing up tires and using the occasional brad/nail gun. I got this in Jan. of 2010 and as of today 5/21/11 the regulator malfunctioned. After reading other reviews complaining of the same problem I contacted my local store, told them what happened and that evidently this is a recurring problem with this unit...and they agreed to let me bring the unit back in and either get a store credit toward another compressor, or to get a new replacement of the same compressor. So I'm giving the compressor a 1 and the store a 3. I would not recommend this product to anyone, but I greatly appreciate this kind of customer service from my local Home Depot.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor
from Kitsap County, WA

Great compressor, bad regulator

PostedFebruary 16, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The compressor works great and builds air quickly. I performed the break in as instructed and got about a year's worth of use out of it. After about 2 months of down time I went to use it and no air was being supplied to the air connections. The tank had 120 PSI but nothing would come out. I found that the regulator is a fauly design and the cost of a new one from the company is more than the purchase price of a new compressor. The fix for all of you that don't want to throw away a perfectly good compressor or purchase a factory part for $130 is to purchase a Husky 1/4" regulator (SKU 401931) supplied at Home Depot in the tool department and purchase brass fittings to plumb the air how you want it. Make certain to pay attention if doing this to allow for a sensing port for the pressure switch or the compressor will not stop running and blow up. If you don't already own this compressor, don't buy it! The only reason I give it 2 stars is that the compressor portion really is great. I hope that Porter-Cable steps up and installs a better regulator as this seems to be a common problem with this compressor.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor
from Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worthless

PostedNovember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Why did I rate this a 1? ...Because zero is not an available choice. Like many others I purchased this unit for light duty use at my house. I followed break-in instructions and did everthing the manual stated like bleed out the tank after each use, etc. I have gone thru 4 units each lasting about 6 months. I keep exchanging this worthless compressor for a new one and each time for a different problem. The regulator failed once, the one-way valve that holds air in the tank after it is pumped in failed once, etc. I have had great success with all other Porter Cable tools including a cirular saw and a router so I can't understand why this is so bad!!! It broke again this weekend so I will now take it back, and like the one review posted prior, I will try to get a store credit and go with another brand. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME WITH THIS PRODUCT!!!
+7points
12out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor
from Chicago

Great small job compressor!

PostedFebruary 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great little compressor, for the money i don't feel bad bringing it back and forth from my truck! I purchased the three nailer combo with it. Also very solid nailers, good metal construction and extremely old-school rugged feel. I have used this thing non-stop since its purchase and it plows through job's.
It can handle large framing guns but you may find you'll be limited on the amount of nails you can throw in short periods of time due to fill-up time!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor
from Aulander, NC 27805, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I bought one for shop use, used it twice and the regulator jammed shut. I will try to return it.

PostedJune 9, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used it once. Let sit and the regulator won't send any pressure.appears to have frozen and nothing in troubleshooting manual helps. Will try to return for one that works
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor
from Fairfax, VA

Great compressor, great buy

PostedNovember 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the 3 nailer combo in 2006 and have never had a single problem with it. I bought a Porter Cable framing nailer in 2007 and have resided three houses with it (for myself and family). Still going strong. Bought a Porter Cable pin nailer for it this year.
Based on my experience, I'm skeptical about the complainers.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor
from NC

Died after 2-3 hours of use...

PostedMarch 24, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Over the last 2 years, I've used this a total of maybe 2.5 hours doing mostly tire inflation and some light brad nailing. I've kept it in great shape. The motor died last night after surging a few times. This is the last Porter Cable tool I purchase.
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor
from Pittsburgh, PA

Porter-Cable 6 Gallon Pancake Compressor

PostedOctober 6, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What an outstanding product! Right out of the box and into a basement finishing job. I used to do my framing with a 22 oz framing hammer, but developed tendinitis in elbow. This tool is phenomenal! Easily handled everything from framing to finishing to small stapling with ease. Simple to learn to use for the first time.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor

Mine died too

PostedOctober 21, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
After less than a year it just stopped working. It seems to be a common problem with this compressor.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor
from Willow Park TX

not worth buying

PostedOctober 20, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
this compressor sure didn't last long, maybe one summer. Used it to just air up tires and clean off the riding lawnmower and it couldn't handle that!!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor
from Tradesman/ building inspector

This is not the choice

PostedJanuary 23, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this compresser about a year ago and now it has failed. About six months ago it stopped producing any air to the tools and heated up the tank supply tube. It regiesters the air pressure to the tank as 120 psi but gives no pressure at the supply line to the tools. I just threw it out the back door and will not buy this brand of compresser again. Maybe I will try the better brands. I knew that it was the econo brand and now found out why it was so cheap. DO NOT BUY this peice of trash.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor

Pressure valve failed after 2 years

PostedSeptember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am a weekend warrior for the most part, so I don't use this compressor every day or even every week.
I have to say though, it's been a pretty tough little machine. I've ripped out thick cement walls using an air hammer with this compressor, and while I had to wait now and then (the compressor isn't really made for this load), the machine worked through days of running 8 hours and more under rather strong load.
It's also driven a framing nailer very well, for my usage anyway.
It is very versatile overall, and easy to transport.
Now, after two years the valve at the bottom failed, the drain valve. It leaks air. I am not too happy about that, however, it is apparently replaceable with some elbow grease. The part costs about $2 online, so I ordered 3 of them and will give this a try.
If I can give a few good tips for this unit, it would be: After using it, before screwing the drain valve back in, clean the thread off to avoid dirt jamming it up.
Also follow the instructions and tilt the tank after work so it can completely drain.
Another word of caution, there are TONS of different models of this compressor. Mine is a C2002 Type 3, so my review applies to that.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: valves seem to be on the cheap side.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor
from Chicago

Great small job compressor!

PostedFebruary 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great little compressor, for the money i don't feel bad bringing it back and forth from my truck! I purchased the three nailer combo with it. Also very solid nailers, good metal construction and extremely old-school rugged feel. I have used this thing non-stop since its purchase and it plows through job's.
It can handle large framing guns but you may find you'll be limited on the amount of nails you can throw in short periods of time due to fill-up time!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor
from Houston, Tx

Didn't last long

PostedOctober 1, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this product for one year and it quit working. When it worked it was great, just didn't last long.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor

Just Fine For Now

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Hasn't had a lot of use, but sure seems to work fine for light duty work. Very Good value.
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor
from Blanchard, Michigan

Trim compressor

PostedFebruary 7, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This compressor would be good if all you wanted to do was to put up TRIM , but if you plan on using anything bigger than a finish nailer(16 gage) I WOULD NOT buy this one. It is made to run @ lease one framer but this comperssor would run no stop...and the hose filling up the tank gets so extreamly hot just after 2 or 3 minutes of run time...I dont think this would be a good buy in my book.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Air Compressor

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
USed once to inflate tires and did a good job. Hopefully will be able to use to get lug nuts of tires too. Good value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 6-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor

Stiff air hose

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Compresser workd great. However the hose is a quite stiff
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 6-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor

1 year and working fine

PostedOctober 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Had it over a year and working fine. I did, however, have to replace one of those tiny rubber gaskets in the air release valve.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.