728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chipper Shredders or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 3 in. 11 HP 270 cc Commercial-Duty Chipper Shredder

3 in. 11 HP 270 cc Commercial-Duty Chipper Shredder

This powerful brush master chipper shredder has a 11 HP commercial-duty engine. Features a 2-way feed including over-sized funnel for leaves, an ATV or lawn and garden trailer hitch, and a chip collection bag. Self feeds and chips up to 3 in. diameter branches, turning yard waste into useful 1/4 in. mulch. This chipper is belt driven and equipped with a centrifugal clutch to protect the engine. Transforms 12 bags of yard waste into 1 bag of chips. Ideal for landscapers, large lot owners, rental, and yard clean up. This environmentally responsible product keeps yard waste out of landfills.
Overall rating:
4.014 / 5
4
 / 
5
(71 reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product60 of 69reviews
Rating Breakdown 71 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(32)
4
(22)
3
(8)
2
(4)
1
(5)
Features 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product60 of 69reviews
Customer reviews for 3 in. 11 HP 270 cc Commercial-Duty Chipper Shredder
Review 1 for 3 in. 11 HP 270 cc Commercial-Duty Chipper Shredder
txrose
from Austin, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

used it twice then it wouldn't start again

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We used it twice for 1/2 day. Chopped stuff up pretty good. Starting (pulling cord) was difficult but not impossible. After use, emptied the gas, so it wouldn't get old and left it in the garage until spring. New gas, new oil. Wouldn't start. Could NOT pull the starter cord. Too hard to pull. Out of warranty by now. $250 repair to adjust the valves it works again. It should not have needed valve adjustment after 2 uses. I had read this on other reviews but gave it a chance. Wish I hadn't.
Pros: Cuts Well, Powerful
Cons: Not Durable, needed a valve job after 6 hours of use!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3 in. 11 HP 270 cc Commercial-Duty Chipper Shredder
paulfrompa
from Pennsylvania
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

if it fits, it chips

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got this to mulch 5, 30 foot blue spruces taken down by Sandy, so we're talking about softwood trees. Have been using it almost daily since Nov. 15. First my choke decal was correctly oriented. Machine started on 2nd pull at most, usually started on first pull regardless whether starting up for the first time that day or restarting after refueling or taking a work break. Top hopper says "for leaves only". If I were to to try and trim down all of the branches to get into the side chute, I'd never get done. I'm sure the manufacturer does want to see this but I was able to put evergreen type limbs up to about 1.25 inches in diameter in the vertical hopper and machine took them, Any branch that fit in the side chute the machine took it in and spit it out (keep in mind I'm talking soft spruce). The bigger the diameter branch, the better the self feed. Branches too big( in my usage world, not mfg.'s) for vertical hopper but much less than 3 inches did bounce around a while once totally inside the chute, so I made sure that final limb was a fat one and problem solved. Did not use bag as chippings were being left in place. Chippings did have to be cleared away on a regular basis. To reduce frequency of clearing I placed the chipped tires and support stands on 4 x 4 s, extra height made raking the chippings pile a little easier. Machine is now in my shed for storage. It could never work again but I would still feel it was worth it.
Pros: Cuts Well, Durable, Powerful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3 in. 11 HP 270 cc Commercial-Duty Chipper Shredder
mikel2

PostedMay 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The assembly is easy and quick I just added oil and gas one pull and it started very stastified
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3 in. 11 HP 270 cc Commercial-Duty Chipper Shredder
Darren311
from Onalaska, Wisconsin

Hard workin' machine!

PostedMay 11, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I ordered the Brush Master 11hp chipper because of it's 3" capacity. I have a lot of wooded acerage and needed something that could handle the job. Like I said... 11HP! The unit I received came with a 14hp engine. (that's the same size that comes on the bigger model with a 4" capacity) After some easy assembely I put oil and gas in it and it started on the first pull and ran very smooth.
This machine handled everything i could feed it (as long as it fit in the 3" hole. Makes nice clean 1/4" wood chips. My only real complaints on the Brush Master are 1) The discharge chute is on bottom front and hard to fill the bag. and 2) When attached to ATV for towing the feet on back only clear ground by about 3/8".
Happy with it so far!!!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3 in. 11 HP 270 cc Commercial-Duty Chipper Shredder
nyvw
from Rochester, NY

Chips well, but has quality issues

PostedJuly 14, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Unit arrived ok - one wheel was flat (not big deal once someone explained how to fix it - i.e. clap the tire to the rim and then inflate) and the leaf shute was a little damaged.
During use, it chipped everything without any trouble. The exit shute isn't the best design - it is hard to position the bag to catch all of the material. Spend too much time picking up after the machine.
Sadly, after one use, the side shute is splitting at the bottom weld. After contacting the manufacturer, they are sending a new shute. Very responsive and easy in that regard. Will have to wait and see if this will be a reoccuring problem.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3 in. 11 HP 270 cc Commercial-Duty Chipper Shredder
JerseyBoyz
from Jersey

Powerful

PostedJuly 19, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This 11hp chipper is MUCH more powerful than my last chipper. Outperforms in every way. I used it all weekend after receiving it and didn't have any problems. I had questions and called customer service. they were professional and able to asnwer all my questions.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3 in. 11 HP 270 cc Commercial-Duty Chipper Shredder
ProductTester
from Salmon, Idaho

Does Not Meet Specification Listed

PostedApril 23, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The specifications say: Transforms 3 in. diameter branches to 1/4 in. wood chips
Neither the length nor the thickness of the wood chips is 1/4 inch. I talked with the company: They said that the chipper shredder cannot produce 1/4 inch wood chips.
My requirement was wood chips 1/2 inch or shorter. I bought the chipper shredder because it said 1/4 inch wood chips came from the chipper shredder.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3 in. 11 HP 270 cc Commercial-Duty Chipper Shredder
waynesal
from white plains, md

cleared brush very easily.

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Use it to clear branches from 1/2" to 3" with no problems. Easy to operate only problem must buy oil for it , does not come with unit.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3 in. 11 HP 270 cc Commercial-Duty Chipper Shredder
craig

One of those items you wish you had purchased sooner.

PostedAugust 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Phenominal workhorse! Everything works as promised. Documentation is clear and extensive. Lots of thoughtful accessories such as safety googles, special funnel for oil filling and gloves are included. This machine works. I've used other chipper/shredders before but this Brush Master makes them look like toys in comparison. It creates great mulch. Both shredder and mulcher work without compromise. My only regret is that I did not buy this sooner.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3 in. 11 HP 270 cc Commercial-Duty Chipper Shredder
SimplyHandy
from Indianapolis, IN

Great for small business / avid home owner

PostedAugust 17, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The Brush Master is exactly that! A Master! After trying out my friends Troy Bilt with a 2 1/4" feed I knew I needed something for larger branches to clean up my 'natural' backyard. The Troy Bilt is OK for light duty occasional use, not what I needed so I purchasd the CH3 DEK Brush Master from Home Depot with a 30 day return guarantee if not satisfied. After the first use I was totally impressed with DEKs' performance of their 'beginners' model, the CH3. The biggest difference is that the DEK LOVES to chip, it literally begs to be used. Unlike the Troy Bilt, this machine sucks it in and spits it out FAST.
Now for the negatives, after the 3rd use (Full days) the vibrations broke a weld spot on the belt guard and a handle, no biggie, the unit was still sucking it in and spitting it out but I called GXI customer service, provided the sales receipt and description of the problems to which their response was "Where do we ship you the new parts". They were more than helpful and friendly. The replacement parts were there within a week. I would recommend this unit to anyone for its performance, speed, and ease of use. It cost a little more but well worth it in time saved and timely customer service.
If not for the weld breaks I would have given this product a 5 star rating.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3 in. 11 HP 270 cc Commercial-Duty Chipper Shredder
Smcgravey
from Ridgefield, WA

Heavy duty Chipper- will last very long time

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Chipper arrived on pallet, packaged well, but damaged upon arrival. Easy to assemble, but missing couple of hardware pieces. Contacted Manufactuer for replacement parts, no response until I contacted Home depot customer service. Manufactuer finally responded and shipped replacement parts FEDEX.
Chipper works great, chewed up anything and everything that could fit in the hole without engine bogging down. This chipper is very heavy, but tows well with my John Deere heavy duty riding mower. This chipper may well last as long as my John Deere's.
I gave it 4 out of 5 stars cause it was damaged upon arrival, missing few nuts and bolts, and poor manufacter customer service.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3 in. 11 HP 270 cc Commercial-Duty Chipper Shredder
kreny2
from San Angelo, TX

Good for most small branches!

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This chipper works well on small straight branches. It can take smaller branches in with the leaves but generally just spits the leaves right through without chopping them.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3 in. 11 HP 270 cc Commercial-Duty Chipper Shredder
Chopper
from Port Angeles Wa.

OVERALL A GREAT MACHINE FOR THE MONEY EXCEPT FOR A FEW MINOR FLAWS

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I just spent three days with this machine doing all the trimming of my brush trees that I have been putting off for over a year because of the size of the project.( trees just kept getting bigger and bigger ) The only complaint I have with the machine is the discharge system. The bag is way to small to be used for anything but a hand full of leaves and when running it in straight discharge it didn't throw the chips out far enough so I had to continually rake the pile away from the discharge chute to keep from backing up the machine. In all I made about 5 yrds of mulch and it was just perfect size
for the garden. The machine handled everything I threw at it and didn't even break a sweat. If it weren't for the discharge issues I would give it a solid FIVE STAR rating.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3 in. 11 HP 270 cc Commercial-Duty Chipper Shredder
TxHillCountry
from Canyon Lake TX

Great Overall Chipper

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This chipper has the guts to chip up much more than the 3 inch size limit imposed by the feeder. It is loud but with ear protection, the noise is bearable. It doesn't bog down under heavy continuous use very easily. I like the fact that the engine is isolated from the chipping mechanism via a drivebelt which dampens vibrations and excludes the engine from being stopped abruptly. The one negative feature I have found so far is the oil drain plug is mounted too close to the base of the platform the engine is bolted to, only allowing an open end wrench to access the bolt and getting it off the first time is a bugger. Overall, great machine.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3 in. 11 HP 270 cc Commercial-Duty Chipper Shredder
Randy
from Floyd County, Indiana
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this chipper is a monster!

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This chipper gobbles up anything that fits through the chipper chute. I cleared hundreds of saplings from my woods and the chipper eats up a 20' sapling in minutes. I have to hang on to some of them to slow them down as they feed through so they don't overload the motor. The chipper is a huge work save for me because I previously had to haul the saplings up a hill to my pickup truck and haul them away. It is also a great alternative to burning which is ecologically unsound and is actually illegal in the county where I live. I love it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3 in. 11 HP 270 cc Commercial-Duty Chipper Shredder
FrDt

Chipper Jammed with Every Use - Doesn't self-feed

PostedMay 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Chipper jams every time I use it. It jams regardless of branch diameter. It doesn't self-feed.
While it's running it chips up branches with a diameter of 2" or less fairly well. It struggles with 2"-3" branches. The jams occur because it doesn't self-feed. As you feed branches into the chipper funnel I have to push them into the chipper or they will not feed at all. Once they are entirely inside the funnel all I can do is try to mash them into the chipper with another branch. In the end there will inevitably be the last branch jammed in the chipper blades which makes starting it up for the next use impossible without unjamming it.
I've taken off the belt cover so I can check to see if the belt moves freely before I try to start the machine. If the belt doesn't move the machine is jammed.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-1point
8out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3 in. 11 HP 270 cc Commercial-Duty Chipper Shredder
SimplyHandyInIndy
from Indianapolis
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Perfect for large wooded lots

PostedAugust 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have owned the CH3 for almost a year now and couldn't be happier. I did have some issues with broken welds at first but the manufacturer was more than willing to stand behind the product with nothing more than a proof of purchase receipt. The feed chute to the cutter weld broke and I actually think that it was my fault and told them so up front and they still sent me a replacement free of charge, along with a replacement handle and belt guard, also probably my fault for not using it on a level surface and vibration caused the problems. That was all in the first 3 or 4 months after I bought it and really really put it through its paces. I have used it many times since helping neighbors with their debris and except for dulling blades I have had no problems. As for the person that gave this machine a very poor review and is going to 'upgrade to the Stanley' product, they had to have misused this machine and will find out that the Stanly machine is nothing more than this same machine re-branded and the color scheme changed to standard Stanley yellow and black. I am so thrilled with this machine that I purchased the CH5 last week at Sears and am selling the CH3 to a friend for almost what I paid for it!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well, Long-Lasting, customer service is outstanding
Cons: none that i have found!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3 in. 11 HP 270 cc Commercial-Duty Chipper Shredder
Cessna386
from Maine
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better than I expected

PostedSeptember 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have a plan to thin out the saplings and small firs behind our house. After cutting and loading on my trailer to haul offsite and then unloading the same brush, I thought there was a better way. Bought this after a little online research and couldn't be happier. Ran it two days for four hours straight and it handled anything I could shove in the chute. The largest hardwood pieces would slow it down just a little but anything else just disappeared.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, efficient
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3 in. 11 HP 270 cc Commercial-Duty Chipper Shredder
DoMac
from California, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this chipper is built well

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this chipper multched up all the bark from my wood cutting and chopped up all the limbs so far i love it.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful, Mulches Well, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3 in. 11 HP 270 cc Commercial-Duty Chipper Shredder
canucken
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stay away from this equipment

PostedMay 15, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a terrible chipper/shredder. Exit chute plugs up constantly, leave hopper plugs up all the time, I've broken two of the pull cord mechanisms already, the engine is a cheap Chinese knock off of a Honda. The carburetor has caused me all sorts of grief. Not happy with it at all. Over prices and bad quality.
Pros: Sturdy
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>