728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Fireplace Logs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Dual Fuel Gas Fireplace Logs

Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Dual Fuel Gas Fireplace Logs

The Emberglow Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Gas Log set has a 34,000 BTU's heat output providing up to 1100 sq. ft. of warmth for your household. The 6 highly detailed, hand-painted logs made of refractory cement provide a realistic look. This small-sized set is vent-free and fits in most fireplaces.
Overall rating:
2.279 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(43 reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
36%of customersrecommend this product15 of 42reviews
Rating Breakdown 43 reviews
2.3 out of 5
5
(9)
4
(5)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(26)
Quality 
2.2 out of 5
2.2 out of 5
Value 
2.6 out of 5
2.6 out of 5
36%of customersrecommend this product15 of 42reviews
Customer reviews for Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Dual Fuel Gas Fireplace Logs
Review 1 for Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Dual Fuel Gas Fireplace Logs
from Pittsburgh, Pa.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

fireplace

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Have no idea how it works. Sent one with a hole in gas valve
Cons: Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Dual Fuel Gas Fireplace Logs
from OKC, OK
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Logs did not work at first

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We ordered these online for home delivery.
Very convenient and all went well until I went to light the gas logs.
The logs were only 1/2 set up for natural gas.
This was on a Saturday. so no one at their call center.
I recall the distributor had called me and ask me to specify if I wanted natural gas or propane.
I told them we needed natural gas.
Once the logs were installed and checking the gas connections , the pilot would not light.... after several hours and then of course rereading the installation book. I discovered that there are two adjustments needed to change from propane to natural gas.
Only ONE adjustment had been done.
Logs working now and am pleased with Homer Depot. The distributor needs to be made aware of there error.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: not set up for natural gas, distributor could have 7 day a week call center
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Dual Fuel Gas Fireplace Logs
from Dawsonville
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product!

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
stores were sold out, but we ordered online from Home Depot. Fast and easy. Installed in a matter of minutes and warms the whole house.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: sold out in stores
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Dual Fuel Gas Fireplace Logs
from Dalton Ga
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

hope the next one is better

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I did the research and these were supposed to be the best available. The quality could not be checked because as soon as we unpacked the logs we saw the line going to the logs was twisted closed and no gas could go through. I called the manufacturer and ask if I could get another line and was told I had to return the item back to the local Home Depot. I called Home Depot.com to see if they could ship another set to the store and let me exchange them and they said no, I had to return them for a refund and then reorder on line. I don't know if the problem is with Home Depot.com or the manufacturer but if this set is bad I will have to go thru the same thing again instead of just opening them in the store and inspecting them there.
Cons: no quality inspection
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Dual Fuel Gas Fireplace Logs
from Kansas City
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good Product

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The Gas fireplace works great and looks good. It was easy to install.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Dual Fuel Gas Fireplace Logs
from WV

Do not buy

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had them installed and just like everyone else on here they come on for a minute then go off and pilot will not stay lit. Customer support from manufacturer stinks. DO NOT BUY. They are junk.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Dual Fuel Gas Fireplace Logs
from Kentucky
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Ventless Gas Logs

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We had the logs install and they really look great.
They put out a lot of heat. Would recommend them to anyone.
We purchased them for secondary heat in case our electricity
went off.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Stylish
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Dual Fuel Gas Fireplace Logs
from Okmulgee, Oklahoma
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Good Buy !

PostedFebruary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Came preassembled another than placing logs and tying in gas piping. There is an initial break in at first light up, area needs to be vented for odor. These logs warms immediate area quickley and prevents central from heating entire house unless you raise the temperature. My wife and i enjoy the fire without the mess of ashes. This fire warms you all over. And easy to install.
As I've gotten older i don't feel like cutting , splitting ,hauling and cleaning up ashes andy more. i do miss the odor of burning wood in the fireplace, maybe a scented candle in the future ???
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Dual Fuel Gas Fireplace Logs

Easy install! Lots of heat!

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These were very fast and easy to install. Only took an hour. They put out a lot of heat. Very warm and efficient. No issues with pilot light. Buy a flex gas line to install. They look pretty realistic compared to other ventless logs. No quite as big of flames and my vented logs, but puts out way more heat. Very cozy!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Dual Fuel Gas Fireplace Logs
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

gas logs work great

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install and works perfectly, no problems to report
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Dual Fuel Gas Fireplace Logs
from Virginia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Terrible support system

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Having been a quality manager for a major company for 22 years I have to say the support system is terrible.
Logs worked for a little while and like others stopped working. Pilot light will not stay lit.
After trouble shooting, it was determined the thermostat was bad. Called the support number to order a new one and was told they didn't carry the part and that I should go online to look.
$189.00 for a set of logs that didn't last a season and then can't order a replacement part is not good service.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Dual Fuel Gas Fireplace Logs
from Corinth, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DO NOT BUY

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this log set on Monday and had it installed in a short amount of time, so I give it good marks for easy installation. However, the pilot light went out and wouldn't stay lit, so I took it out and brought it back to Home Depot who replaced it with no problem (or receipt) on Friday. One hour after starting the new logs, the fire went out and wouldn't come back on again. AGAIN the pilot light would light when pushed in, but wouldn't stay lit, thus...no fire!
After reading all the other reviews and now having 2 defective units in a row I would seriously say STAY AWAY FROM THESE! I have installed gas logs in every one of my last 3 houses before this one and they are all still working without a problem. I got them all from Lowes, who does not sell Emberglow products. I guess I will have to pay a little more and get some that actually work.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable, don't work!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Dual Fuel Gas Fireplace Logs
from Charleston, WV

Pilot quit working after two hours of operation

PostedDecember 1, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My logs were professionally installled today. They worked for two hours and went out. The pilot light wouldn't reignite with the ignition switch and wouldn't stay lit when lit with a match. Very disappointed. Will have to call the installer back, spend more money and probably have to return the set to the store. This was a bad experience already.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Dual Fuel Gas Fireplace Logs
from Trinity, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very poor piece of merchandise

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this set yesterday. We were not advised that there was a set of connections available for it, so after 4 trips to the hardware store to find the right size parts, we finally got it installed. my husband is a master plumber. We got it to light and it stayed lit about 2 minutes. It went out and we were never able to even get the pilot light to stay on. Of course, the "technical support" was closed until Monday. This was Friday evening! A very poor piece of merchandise to be sure. We will be returning it to the store this morning......I would give it no stars if that option was available.
Pros: none
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Install, Difficult to Use, does not wokr for more than 2 minutes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Dual Fuel Gas Fireplace Logs
from Tennessee
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Horrible Quality

PostedNovember 3, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The first set we bought was defective in that it would not allow any gas flow through the unit whatsoever. We bought a second set and it had a defective pilot light which would not allow the logs to actually fire up. We will not buy any product from EmberGlow due to the horrible quality of these products.
Cons: defective unit
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Dual Fuel Gas Fireplace Logs

Dissatisfied

PostedJanuary 30, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Before the thermocouple completely stopped working, the unit was fair. It took a full minute to "warm up" the pilot to the point where it would stay lit and ignite the rest of the unit. Sometimes up to 5 minutes. Once lit, mine never shut off on it's own, and it seemed to produce good heat.
Within one year the thermocouple stopped working, so no matter how long you sat there with your finger depressing the pilot button to heat it up, the pilot would NEVER stay lit.
I'm in the process of replacing this unit now with a simpler one. The pilot/thermocouple sensor set-up is unecessarily complex and prone to issues.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Dual Fuel Gas Fireplace Logs
from College Station, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A+ local support, F- manufacturer support

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This replacement Propane logs system is still a Work In Progress after a weekend of installation then week of tweaking.
1. Big thanks to Home Depot for having a great deal on hand + a busy manager (Sid) to insure I had ALL the extra fittings required - to replace my dinosaur logs kit. FIVE STARS
2. Instructions manual gets THREE STARS in that it needs more photos and clarity with more problems/solutions listed.
3. Manufacturer on-line/email support is NON existent = ZERO STARS
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, locally available, store support, great price, diy
Cons: no mfr support, first start = loooong time, theromo switch may cut fire off .. when new
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Dual Fuel Gas Fireplace Logs
from piggott ark
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

no good so mad

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It no good just bought one today and have been trying for a hour to get it lite will not light at all
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Dual Fuel Gas Fireplace Logs
from Hillsborough, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wonderful value!!

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
They are wonderful! Pilot light stays on. Looks great.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Dual Fuel Gas Fireplace Logs
from Peachtree City, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Terrible logs

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased product because of price. Paid to have installed. Problems with pilot light. Worked for one hour and the whole system went out. Pilot light would never work again. Had to take them back. Not worth the time and expense.
Cons: Not Durable
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>