728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs

Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs

The Emberglow Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Gas Log Set has a 34,000 BTU heat output providing up to 1100 sq. ft. of warmth for your household. The 6 highly detailed, hand-painted logs made of refractory cement provide a realistic look. This small-sized set is vent-free and fits in most fireplaces.
Overall rating:
1.867 / 5
1.9
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
23%of customersrecommend this product7 of 30reviews
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
1.9 out of 5.0
5
(4)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(21)
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.5 out of 5.0
2.5 out of 5
23%of customersrecommend this product7 of 30reviews
Customer reviews for Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
Review 1 for Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
Markm
from Corinth, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DO NOT BUY

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this log set on Monday and had it installed in a short amount of time, so I give it good marks for easy installation. However, the pilot light went out and wouldn't stay lit, so I took it out and brought it back to Home Depot who replaced it with no problem (or receipt) on Friday. One hour after starting the new logs, the fire went out and wouldn't come back on again. AGAIN the pilot light would light when pushed in, but wouldn't stay lit, thus...no fire!
After reading all the other reviews and now having 2 defective units in a row I would seriously say STAY AWAY FROM THESE! I have installed gas logs in every one of my last 3 houses before this one and they are all still working without a problem. I got them all from Lowes, who does not sell Emberglow products. I guess I will have to pay a little more and get some that actually work.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable, don't work!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
tgiv
from College Station, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A+ local support, F- manufacturer support

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This replacement Propane logs system is still a Work In Progress after a weekend of installation then week of tweaking.
1. Big thanks to Home Depot for having a great deal on hand + a busy manager (Sid) to insure I had ALL the extra fittings required - to replace my dinosaur logs kit. FIVE STARS
2. Instructions manual gets THREE STARS in that it needs more photos and clarity with more problems/solutions listed.
3. Manufacturer on-line/email support is NON existent = ZERO STARS
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, locally available, store support, great price, diy
Cons: no mfr support, first start = loooong time, theromo switch may cut fire off .. when new
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
Angry
from Trinity, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very poor piece of merchandise

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this set yesterday. We were not advised that there was a set of connections available for it, so after 4 trips to the hardware store to find the right size parts, we finally got it installed. my husband is a master plumber. We got it to light and it stayed lit about 2 minutes. It went out and we were never able to even get the pilot light to stay on. Of course, the "technical support" was closed until Monday. This was Friday evening! A very poor piece of merchandise to be sure. We will be returning it to the store this morning......I would give it no stars if that option was available.
Pros: none
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Install, Difficult to Use, does not wokr for more than 2 minutes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
bluesjones
from Tennessee
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Horrible Quality

PostedNovember 3, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The first set we bought was defective in that it would not allow any gas flow through the unit whatsoever. We bought a second set and it had a defective pilot light which would not allow the logs to actually fire up. We will not buy any product from EmberGlow due to the horrible quality of these products.
Cons: defective unit
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
Roxie
from Peachtree City, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Terrible logs

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased product because of price. Paid to have installed. Problems with pilot light. Worked for one hour and the whole system went out. Pilot light would never work again. Had to take them back. Not worth the time and expense.
Cons: Not Durable
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
wvliberalgirl
from Charleston, WV

Pilot quit working after two hours of operation

PostedDecember 1, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My logs were professionally installled today. They worked for two hours and went out. The pilot light wouldn't reignite with the ignition switch and wouldn't stay lit when lit with a match. Very disappointed. Will have to call the installer back, spend more money and probably have to return the set to the store. This was a bad experience already.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
ATL57
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Possible design flaw?

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installed, would not remain operational over 30 minutes, even with chimney flue open. Returned item and swapped for same set of logs, same problem. The high temperature cut-off breaker is mounted on a metal bracket that is in direct contact with flame. When logs cool down, I press the re-set button and they burn for about 10 to 15 minutes before the breaker trips.
Cons: did not work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
RobFritz
from PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor quality product

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this log set three years ago. used it the first year and then was out of town for two years during which time, the log set wasn't used. Came back this year, cleaned the area, turned on the log set and after about 30 minutes, the fire went out and won't come one. Most likely a bad thermocouple but there is no information on replacement parts. Worst log set we have ever had in a house.
The only PRO was that when it did work, it looked very realistic. Too bad it is poorly made.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
papastryfe
from bushkill, pa 18324
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very disappointed, never worked right from the start, poor quality.

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this 18" set for a firebox upstairs to operate vent-free. Our local gas company installed the valve and flexhose. We assembled the logs and the unit worked great for about 3 hours. It shut off, pilot and all. I tried everything to get it restarted, and tried again every day or so. Called the gas company to inspect it, and came to find out after the inspection / attempt to repair (at $90/hr) that the thermo-couple was bad, there were loose wires, and it was tripping the automatic shutoff. We tried everything, cleaning it with compressed air, embers on the burner, bleeding the gas lines out, and even seeing if it was an oxygen/fresh air level issue (which it was not) . We brought it back to our local store and apparently (according to the woman at the customer service counter) they've seen a bunch of these come back. Not worth trying to save a few dollars at all. Ended up getting another unit from Home Depot that I'm much happier with.
Pros: Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable, poor quality, knob and pilot control difficult to use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
Ybbor
from Chattanooga, TN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

good fire place

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Good fire place but uses a lot of fuel. I am use a 100lbs tank of propane a week and I'm only burning this on low.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: uses to much fuel
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
Sandman62
from Sylacauga, AL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nothing But Trouble

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this set last Saturday got them installed and the same as everyone else got them lit for like 5 minutes then fire & pilot went out.
You could get the pilot to burn as long as you kept the button pushed otherwise it would not burn or keep a fire.
I had 10% fuel left thought maybe not enough gas in tank so Monday I filled my 200 gallon tank and still no fire so I took them back and drove 60 miles to next store and bought another set because my Home Depot in my town had another set but it had also been returned they just try to resell bad stuff I guess.
So like I said went to another store and bought another set got them installed they lit and burned for a while then went out just like the others.
You would think after all these problems Home Depot would not keep selling Junk
This is a very realistic set I have owned others and this is the best looking set so far but I am taking them back and see what Lowes Might have.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable, junk
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
SanDiegoSara

Dissatisfied

PostedJanuary 30, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Before the thermocouple completely stopped working, the unit was fair. It took a full minute to "warm up" the pilot to the point where it would stay lit and ignite the rest of the unit. Sometimes up to 5 minutes. Once lit, mine never shut off on it's own, and it seemed to produce good heat.
Within one year the thermocouple stopped working, so no matter how long you sat there with your finger depressing the pilot button to heat it up, the pilot would NEVER stay lit.
I'm in the process of replacing this unit now with a simpler one. The pilot/thermocouple sensor set-up is unecessarily complex and prone to issues.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
Brian
from Midlothian, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pilot will not stay lit - Reset

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If the pilot light will stay lit while holding the knob in but goes out when you release the knob check the reset button on the back right (facing the unit when installed)corner of the unit. It is a small metal button that will click when pushed. You can also follow the brown wires from the pilot to the reset button. I could not find this in the instructions but it worked on mine. I have them attached to LP gas so I don't know if this will work on the NG issues.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable, No Instructions
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
Frustrated
from ATL,GA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Epic Failure!

PostedNovember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This unit arrived with a broken log. Went to use it for a special ocassion, (Anniversary) and it failed to light. I suspect that the thermalcouple that keeps the pilot lit, failed. I am requesting a refund for this defective unit.
Cons: defective
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
JoeCam
from Bradford, AR

Great Gas Log Set

PostedDecember 27, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered it about two weeks ago, received it within 2 days. Very fast shipping I must say.
The product was great! A little smaller then what the website said although, but worked perfect for me.
It’s almost about 17 inches on the back, about 10 inches wide and about 14 inches tall.
I installed this in a mobile home's small wood fireplace, and am very happy with it.
It puts off a lot of heat, and heats the main rooms in a 2000 something sq. ft. mobile home pretty well
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
CapArt
from Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Reviews had me scared... But..

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This gas log set is working great so far. The biggest problems I have seen with it is the lack of instructions and the somewhat confusing complexity of the unit. Home Depot's website saved the day by having a pdf of the instructions available. Once I read that it all made since. There are two pilot lights, one for LP & one for NG. The biggest problem is that the unit came with the 250 degree switch tripped but one push of the reset had it working nicely.
Pros: Looks Great, Great Value
Cons: Difficult to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
Tommy
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

junk

PostedOctober 10, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Only one pilot lit, spent 2 days trying to lite it
JUNK!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
Brad
from Fort Worth, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Save your money

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this at Home Depot today. When unpacking, I noticed zero paperwork only to find out the only instructions for installation are on decals attached to the unit. Very hard to read. The log placement info is on the back of the unit, so once installed, you can't see how to place the logs.
Spent $20 on parts to hook it up and the pilot(s) would not light. I tried for an hour to get the pilot to light. I could heat up the thermocouple with a match and get the burner to light, so I know I had good gas to the unit.
All in all, I just wasted $20 and about 2 hours of my time on this thing. Back it goes.....
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
Esuburban
from Pittsburgh, PA

Junk

PostedMarch 6, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Unit arrived with a broken log, would not stay lit more than 5 minutes, after this it would not even light because the safety feature that tripped shutting it off never re-set. My installer (a professional installer) said it was "cheap ". Had to return it.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Benton Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
MiddleMan

Not Good

PostedMarch 19, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bad experience. Installed for a customer. Tried for 30 minutes, Pilot would not stay. Reinstalled her old logs, pilot started first try. Waisted of time and money.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 >>