728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Fireplace Logs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Fireplace Logs

Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Fireplace Logs

Highly detailed and hand-painted, the Emberglow Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Log Set comes with 7 refractory cement logs. Providing up to 1300 sq. ft. of warmth for your household, it has a heat output of 32,000 BTUs/hr. The vent-free design offers heating efficiency without the need to vent the fireplace. The thermostat control keeps constant room temperature, keeping the room warm and comfortable.
Overall rating:
3.031 / 5
3
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
55%of customersrecommend this product17 of 31reviews
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
3.0 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(6)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(11)
Quality 
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6 out of 5
Value 
2.7 out of 5.0
2.7 out of 5
55%of customersrecommend this product17 of 31reviews
Customer reviews for Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Fireplace Logs
Review 1 for Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Fireplace Logs
from pittsburgh

Great Logs -

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great logs, just note that they ship from the factory configured for propane use. If you're using with Natural Gas be sure to look at the instructions to make sure you correctly;
1) Adjust vent for NG
2) Correctly adjust set screw
3) Push in selector plate and turn for NG setting (This unit ships with two pilot lights, one configured for propane, the other for NG - when configured for NG you will see some combustion coming from the propane pilot)
Also make sure that you cut and move the thermostat that is zip tied to the bottom of the unit, otherwise it will turn down back to the pilot greatly confusing you. . . .
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Fireplace Logs
from Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

Disappointed

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In spite of hours of effort and two trips to Home Depot was unable to put gas log fireplace together so it would work. Enclosed instructions were not for the model I purchased and a major part was not in the box as well. Will return to the store and search for another brand.
Cons: No Instructions, Difficult to Install, missing part
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Fireplace Logs
from Dallas, Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Bad Product

PostedDecember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The fireplace didn't work properly. The settings on the gas control valve did not work from setting 1-3. It turned at the 4th setting. When turning the fireplace off, as soon as you passed setting #4. The logs do not look like the picture of the unit. The consumer hotline was had no idea what was wrong with the unit and didn't offer helpful suggestions. The unit should be set up for natural gas and not propane. This detail was not clear on the unit.
Under no circumstances will I keep this unit and I wouldn't recommend purchasing the item!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Fireplace Logs

Good product, horrible install instructions

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Would have been a five star rating, but I ran into the same problem that a number of other folks ran into, which involves the flames occasionally shutting off about 5 minutes after you power the set on. The instructions fail to mention cutting the zip tie and uncoiling the copper line on the bottom of the log set. This is the heat sensor which thinks the set is overheating as soon as you turn the logs on. This sensor must be removed outside of the fireplace. With this done, I'm now actually hoping to get some use out of these logs rather than just frustration.
Pros: Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: No Instructions, Difficult to Install
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Fireplace Logs
from Bossier City, La
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Great Product, Well Worth The Price

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The logs were really simple to install and they function great. I bought them because I needed some additional heat in my main living room that has 23 ft. vaulted celings and tons of windows. The room was very hard to heat and the central ac/heater cycled on and off constantly. After installing the gas logs my central heat seldom if ever comes on and the room stays warm. I love the thermostat feature on the logs, they turn off when the room reaches the desired temperature and that saves alot in LP cost. Great product!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Fireplace Logs
from Tulsa, ok
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Thermocouple failed after less than 1 year

PostedNovember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
These logs are OK for the price but the thermocouple failed after less than 1 year. If I had to do it over again I would have spent a little more money and bought a nicer set of logs
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Fireplace Logs
from Murfreesboro, Tn.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

So Far So GOOD

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installed my logs on Friday night. Left on for awile , went back to check, no heat at all, just flame. Got up the next morning turned on waited for the heat. No heat. Later that afternoon after being mad all day, deceided to make sure I did all the steps like I was supposed to. Noticed the FLU was open......Shut flu, DUMB, DUMB..... HEAT Wave.....AWESOME....Very satisfied
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: No Instructions
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Fireplace Logs
from Louisville, Kentucky
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Installation ideas

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased and installed this gas log system yesterday. Our gas line comes into the fireplace on the left side . The gas inlet on the burner is on the right side. I ran a flexible stainless steel line behind the log set to the inlet. This is a common practice. To speed up the process of lighting the pilot, I slightly loosened the gas line connection at the burner inlet and slightly opened the gas valve to the fireplace for a couple of seconds to purge the air from the line. After retightening the connector at the burner inlet I turned the gas back on and checked again for leakage. I waited a few minutes to be sure there was no gas still in the fireplace before attempting to light the pilot. A butane grill lighter was easier to use than the igniter button. Don't forget to untie the thermostat line and run the bulb outside the fireplace. As mentioned in other reviews, there are fumes and smoke when the system is started initially. If you have no damper in your fireplace, you may want to try burning off the fumes outside in your gas grill. You will have to experiment with the temperature, turning it just high enough to burn off the fumes and not damage the logs ,which may void the warranty. I checked 5 stars for everything, but obviously can't comment on much other than the installation. The log set seems to be working as designed.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Fireplace Logs
from Troy, MI

Melbourne Oak 24" Ventless Gas Fireplace Log Set

PostedFebruary 20, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Not too hard to install, if you already have gas running into the fireplace. I had some trouble figuring out where some of the logs were supposed to go because the pictures with the instructions were too dark to clearly see the proper placement. When I called the manufacturer; they emailed me a pdf file with clearer pictures. Also, the unit comes setup for propane, so you have follow the instructions to reverse the orifice and modify the air intake (instructions could have been a little clearer on the latter). Whole install probably took about an hour since I am rather methodical about reading instructions, etc. Poorly packaged; one major log broken. Manufacturer didn't hesitate sending me a replacement; must be used to the complaint. The pilot took every bit of the 30 seconds it says you have to hold in the valve until the thermocouple was sufficiently heated for the pilot to stay lit. Gives off substantial smell first day of operation, so I would leave the flue open until the breakin is completed. Works great. I love the way it shuts off itself when the desired temp is reached then comes back on when the temp. drops. Have had it running 3 weeks straight since installed. Has greatly reduced the running of my low efficiency central furnace. Hoping for big gas savings. If nothing else, my wife no longer complains about being cold.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Fireplace Logs
from San Antonio, TX

Good natural gas blue flame heater

PostedMarch 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our vent free gas log set was purchased online and shipped to us. It was well packed and nothing was broken or missing. The flexible gas line was not long enough so we had to buy a 3 ft gas line. My husband did not have a problem installing the log set. He converted it from propane to natural gas according to the instructions. The instructions also said there would be an odor when burning while the ceramic logs cured - THERE WAS A RATHER STRONG ODOR THE FIRST DAY. Our main confusion was that the instruction book did not say the flame would be blue if using natural gas. I checked with our city gas company and they said the flame should be blue if there is no carbon dioxide, and they add an odor to natural gas for safety reasons which I notice slightly when the log set is burning. The thermostat works great and saves the central heat from coming on when we are just using the livingroom. Heat is not lost up the chimney with this vent free log set - just no yellow flames.
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Fireplace Logs
from Utah

Used all winter

PostedFebruary 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Replaced my old gas log set that required the flue to be open, and so sent 90% of the heat and my money into the atmosphere, I installed this set in about 30 minutes. (Hint: READ the instructions!) Make certain you set this up properly to what fuel you have installed, i.e. propane or nat gas. Burn the logs on high with your flue open for awhile, (read: hours) to get rid of the "chemical smell" or to "cure" the concrete logs. After that, I shut my flue, set the thermostat, and WOW, it heated the north end of the home good! The floor space on the first floor is about 1,800 sq feet. The room it was installed in had two exterior doors (one "door" is actually two...french doors, to the back yard, other is a normal exterior door to the front yard) and a door to the garage, all drafty, about 30 years old. I am buying another one for my living room (opposite side of the home) and I know atleast 2 others that have purchased these and love them. Few products are worth the money you pay, most don't work 100% as advertised, but I think this one is one of them. Never had a problem with flames going out. (product set to proper fuel?) and I dont think any gas fire place can hold a candle to the looks, smell and feel of a real wood fire. But this one is alot CLEANER, more efficient, and looks ok to me. I have owned this product for atleast 3 months, and it has been "on/running" 24/7 with no issues.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Fireplace Logs
from Philadelphia, TN 37846, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DEFECTIVE.

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
A professional installer worked to try to get these logs with the 'universal' installation kit to work for 2 hours. The 'universal' is not. The logs and pilot light kept going out after 5 minutes. He tested the Temperature Sensor, which is supposed to shut off the fire at 230 degrees; it passed 300 degrees each time before quitting. The noxious fumes from the ceramic logs was overwhelming. We never had that problem with other gas logs. We had to disassemble everything, box it back up and carry that heavy box back down stairs for the trip back to Home Depot.
Cons: Too Heavy, Difficult to Install, defective, poor quality, noxious fumes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Fireplace Logs
from McRae, AR

Logs and Pilot light

PostedFebruary 8, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When we received the order, the logs were all broken, logs were in the bottom of the box separated by a piece of cardboard and this bubble plastic----also, the pilot would not stay lit.
Amazing, product like this being shipped the way it was was not good. I had to order over the internet because in JANUARY Home Depot was clearing out the stoves, fireplaces etc.,
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Fireplace Logs
from Grand Island, NY

Bad Smell

PostedDecember 16, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
At first I thought the smell was just the logs burning off. However after further usage if the unit is turned on high (maximum heat) they smell horribly. If the unit is run very low there is no smell at all and is very pleasant to use. I am still trying to figure out how to use this unit on a higher setting without the smell.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Fireplace Logs
from Keller, TX

Less than realistic gas logs

PostedJanuary 8, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My husband purchased this gas log set for our livingroom fireplace. At first, they seemed ok. But the more we used them, the less satisfied we became. The flame would go out shortly after lighting the set. We could hear the gas coming out of the pipes and the flame was not realistic at all--it looked and sounded like a blow torch! The logs would sit up considerably higher than your usual fire and you can see the knobs in front where you have your pilot light and gas control knob. I was also told that the vent free set would put out more heat into the room--which we didn't notice at all. We had purchased a gas log set about 9 years ago from Home Depot-- they were the natural version and we were very pleased with them. We will be going back to the natural gas log set again.
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Fireplace Logs
from Alabama, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice log set, poorly written instructions.

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Nice log set that puts out a lot of heat. You will also need a flexible gas connection kit such as: BrassCraft Safety+Plus Advantage Gas Installation Kit for Range and Dryer Model # PSC1081 K5 (Home Depot Store SKU # 345781) if you don't already have one. I like the thermostat feature that will lower the gas/heat output when the room warms up.
I would have given this a 4 star rating but I considered the instructions to be somewhat poorly written and confusing.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
Cons: poorly written instructions.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Fireplace Logs
from Atlanta, GA

Great Looking

PostedOctober 25, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These look great and are easy to install. The only problem I've had is the smell. I'm pretty sure its the chemicals used during manufacturing that are burning off, its fairly pungent to begin with. Be prepared to allow the logs to burn for a few hours while venting your house.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Fireplace Logs
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

frustrated buyer

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this set, had it installed and worked okay (flame not great unless on high) until one time during a use it shut off as usual with thermostat control. Waited for it to turn back on, but it never did. Went to check and noticed the knob would not move and there was an oily substance coming from it. Took it back and got another. Installed it but could not get pilot to stay lit. Tried to oall customer service 3 times, each time holding for at least 20 mins. Finally got someone who said to clean out the ods hole, she would email me instructions and gave me her extension so I wouldn't'
have to hold on phone so long. Email wouldn't download. Tried to call using ext. Not a good #.. Finally got it lit, used it one night, went to use next night, it when out, along with pilot. Couldn't get pilot to stay lit again. Took out and am taking back to store. What a pain. Shouldn't't have to "cross temp wires" (as stated abv) to make work
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Fireplace Logs
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Nice, but needs a tweak to work well

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Two keys for successful use of this log: position the logs so the flames don't touch them constantly. This eliminates the ongoing burning smell. Also, if you experience the log and pilot going out after a short time, check to see if the overtemp switch on the back has tripped. Mine wouldn't stay lit more than 10 minutes, so I jumpered the three wires together at the overtemp switch and now it strictly uses the thermostat to control when it's on and off. Perfect! Now it automatically heats half my house cheaper than the electric heat can. Why they would put a 250 degree overtemp switch 1 inch from a gas log burner tube I won't understand.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Fireplace Logs
from Arkansas

Great solution...

PostedFebruary 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had remodeled the house and taken out the chimney for the wood burning fireplace. The fireplace was a messy thing and it leaked around the chimney. We replaced it with the vent free gas and it does a great job. Puts out alot of heat. No mess. And no going outside in the rain or snow to get wood.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>