728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Fireplace Logs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Fireplace Logs

Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Fireplace Logs

Highly detailed and hand-painted, the Emberglow Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Log Set comes with 7 refractory cement logs. Providing up to 1300 sq. ft. of warmth for your household, it has a heat output of 32,000 BTUs/hr. The vent-free design offers heating efficiency without the need to vent the fireplace. The thermostat control keeps constant room temperature, keeping the room warm and comfortable.
Overall rating:
3.237 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
62%of customersrecommend this product23 of 37reviews
Rating Breakdown 38 reviews
3.2 out of 5
5
(13)
4
(8)
3
(3)
2
(3)
1
(11)
Quality 
2.9 out of 5
2.9 out of 5
Value 
2.9 out of 5
2.9 out of 5
62%of customersrecommend this product23 of 37reviews
Customer reviews for Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Fireplace Logs
Review 1 for Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Fireplace Logs
from pittsburgh

Great Logs -

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great logs, just note that they ship from the factory configured for propane use. If you're using with Natural Gas be sure to look at the instructions to make sure you correctly;
1) Adjust vent for NG
2) Correctly adjust set screw
3) Push in selector plate and turn for NG setting (This unit ships with two pilot lights, one configured for propane, the other for NG - when configured for NG you will see some combustion coming from the propane pilot)
Also make sure that you cut and move the thermostat that is zip tied to the bottom of the unit, otherwise it will turn down back to the pilot greatly confusing you. . . .
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Fireplace Logs
from Alexandria, Louisiana
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well worth it

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Was easy to assemble and works as expected. Heats up a living room 27'x18' with 16' ceilings pretty quickly. Built in thermostat is a plus and the wife loves the fact it has a built in igniter.
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Fireplace Logs
from Buffalo, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Product Delivers and Impresses!

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ambiance. Warmth. Beauty! GREAT buy! Recommend! :)
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Fireplace Logs

Great once the odor is gone.

PostedFebruary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Logs work great overall. The odor lasted for about the first 6 hours or so. Finally opened the flu and let them burn on high for awhile and the odor slowly went away. The control knob could be designed a little better but I found almost all logs around this price range have the same or similar chassis and control knob. Don't forget to move the thermostat bulb outside of the fire box. It is wire tied under the chassis. For the money, not a bad set and heats great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Fireplace Logs

Good product, horrible install instructions

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Would have been a five star rating, but I ran into the same problem that a number of other folks ran into, which involves the flames occasionally shutting off about 5 minutes after you power the set on. The instructions fail to mention cutting the zip tie and uncoiling the copper line on the bottom of the log set. This is the heat sensor which thinks the set is overheating as soon as you turn the logs on. This sensor must be removed outside of the fireplace. With this done, I'm now actually hoping to get some use out of these logs rather than just frustration.
Pros: Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: No Instructions, Difficult to Install
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Fireplace Logs
from Texas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ok. Not what I expected

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This 24 in vent free gas fireplace log set was really not what I was expecting and the jury is still out on whether I like it or not.
A regular gas log creates heat by heating the logs and the heat is radiant heat that is put out from the logs. It is a warm nice feel that is very much like having a real fire.
These vent free gas log sets do not heat the logs. The burner on the log set is very much like the burners on a gas stove. They burn a blue flame and the flame is hot. The logs are just for show and don't ever get very hot. The heat from the burners would go right up the chimney if it were not closed off but since this is vent free, and I closed the chimney, the heat comes out of the top of the fire place and goes right up to the ceiling. It is not radiant heat from the logs. This does not warm the room much and the heat all goes right to the ceiling and we turn on the ceiling fan to blow the heat down into the room.
Like I said, it is not what I expected, however there are some good things about this. First there is no soot build up on the logs and that is nice. The logs are real looking and the fire is behind them and they look great. There is also a thermostat on this that automatically turns it down or off as it gets warm in the fireplace.
There was quite a smell when we started using this set. It took a week of having it on for several hours a day to burn off the smell. It was really bad at first but now it is still there but not as noticeable.
Also, the pilot light was very hard to light the first time and we couldn't light it at all with the little spark ignitiion thing. We got a lighter and kept a continueous flame on the pilot for several minutes in order to get it to light.
So it works as stated but it is still very different than what we were used to. We have a beautiful wood mantle above the fireplace and the way the heat comes out of the fireplace and straight up is causing problems with our wood mantle. I don't know what to do about this problem. I wish there was a fan that blew the heat out of the fireplace instead of going straight up to the ceiling. I guess I will have to rig something. I can't keep using it like it is or it will ruin my mantle. If anyone has suggestions on how to blow the heat out I would love to hear them.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great
Cons: does not dispurse heat well, instructructions are not good, hard to light pilot
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Fireplace Logs
from Murfreesboro, Tn.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

So Far So GOOD

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installed my logs on Friday night. Left on for awile , went back to check, no heat at all, just flame. Got up the next morning turned on waited for the heat. No heat. Later that afternoon after being mad all day, deceided to make sure I did all the steps like I was supposed to. Noticed the FLU was open......Shut flu, DUMB, DUMB..... HEAT Wave.....AWESOME....Very satisfied
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: No Instructions
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Fireplace Logs
from Frankenmuth, Michigan
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Thanks for helping me look so good

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm always leary of ordering anything online. But I wanted this gas burning log set, so with the help of a Home Depot employee I order the set. A short delay in delivery and I had my new logs. I was afraid that they would come broken or without easy read instructions....boy was I wrong. Everything was in good shape and the instructions, well let's just say that I was burning my fireplace in no time at all.
Thanks Home Depot for making me look good.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Fireplace Logs

Good unit

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Slight odor during first use. Directions to assemble logs were poor. Overall, very satisfied with the unit, good buy for the money. Unit gives off nice heat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Fireplace Logs
from Troy, MI

Melbourne Oak 24" Ventless Gas Fireplace Log Set

PostedFebruary 20, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Not too hard to install, if you already have gas running into the fireplace. I had some trouble figuring out where some of the logs were supposed to go because the pictures with the instructions were too dark to clearly see the proper placement. When I called the manufacturer; they emailed me a pdf file with clearer pictures. Also, the unit comes setup for propane, so you have follow the instructions to reverse the orifice and modify the air intake (instructions could have been a little clearer on the latter). Whole install probably took about an hour since I am rather methodical about reading instructions, etc. Poorly packaged; one major log broken. Manufacturer didn't hesitate sending me a replacement; must be used to the complaint. The pilot took every bit of the 30 seconds it says you have to hold in the valve until the thermocouple was sufficiently heated for the pilot to stay lit. Gives off substantial smell first day of operation, so I would leave the flue open until the breakin is completed. Works great. I love the way it shuts off itself when the desired temp is reached then comes back on when the temp. drops. Have had it running 3 weeks straight since installed. Has greatly reduced the running of my low efficiency central furnace. Hoping for big gas savings. If nothing else, my wife no longer complains about being cold.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Fireplace Logs
from Dallas, Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Bad Product

PostedDecember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The fireplace didn't work properly. The settings on the gas control valve did not work from setting 1-3. It turned at the 4th setting. When turning the fireplace off, as soon as you passed setting #4. The logs do not look like the picture of the unit. The consumer hotline was had no idea what was wrong with the unit and didn't offer helpful suggestions. The unit should be set up for natural gas and not propane. This detail was not clear on the unit.
Under no circumstances will I keep this unit and I wouldn't recommend purchasing the item!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Fireplace Logs
from San Antonio, TX

Good natural gas blue flame heater

PostedMarch 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our vent free gas log set was purchased online and shipped to us. It was well packed and nothing was broken or missing. The flexible gas line was not long enough so we had to buy a 3 ft gas line. My husband did not have a problem installing the log set. He converted it from propane to natural gas according to the instructions. The instructions also said there would be an odor when burning while the ceramic logs cured - THERE WAS A RATHER STRONG ODOR THE FIRST DAY. Our main confusion was that the instruction book did not say the flame would be blue if using natural gas. I checked with our city gas company and they said the flame should be blue if there is no carbon dioxide, and they add an odor to natural gas for safety reasons which I notice slightly when the log set is burning. The thermostat works great and saves the central heat from coming on when we are just using the livingroom. Heat is not lost up the chimney with this vent free log set - just no yellow flames.
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Fireplace Logs
from Utah

Used all winter

PostedFebruary 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Replaced my old gas log set that required the flue to be open, and so sent 90% of the heat and my money into the atmosphere, I installed this set in about 30 minutes. (Hint: READ the instructions!) Make certain you set this up properly to what fuel you have installed, i.e. propane or nat gas. Burn the logs on high with your flue open for awhile, (read: hours) to get rid of the "chemical smell" or to "cure" the concrete logs. After that, I shut my flue, set the thermostat, and WOW, it heated the north end of the home good! The floor space on the first floor is about 1,800 sq feet. The room it was installed in had two exterior doors (one "door" is actually two...french doors, to the back yard, other is a normal exterior door to the front yard) and a door to the garage, all drafty, about 30 years old. I am buying another one for my living room (opposite side of the home) and I know atleast 2 others that have purchased these and love them. Few products are worth the money you pay, most don't work 100% as advertised, but I think this one is one of them. Never had a problem with flames going out. (product set to proper fuel?) and I dont think any gas fire place can hold a candle to the looks, smell and feel of a real wood fire. But this one is alot CLEANER, more efficient, and looks ok to me. I have owned this product for atleast 3 months, and it has been "on/running" 24/7 with no issues.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Fireplace Logs
from Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

Disappointed

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In spite of hours of effort and two trips to Home Depot was unable to put gas log fireplace together so it would work. Enclosed instructions were not for the model I purchased and a major part was not in the box as well. Will return to the store and search for another brand.
Cons: No Instructions, Difficult to Install, missing part
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Fireplace Logs
from Bossier City, La
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Great Product, Well Worth The Price

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The logs were really simple to install and they function great. I bought them because I needed some additional heat in my main living room that has 23 ft. vaulted celings and tons of windows. The room was very hard to heat and the central ac/heater cycled on and off constantly. After installing the gas logs my central heat seldom if ever comes on and the room stays warm. I love the thermostat feature on the logs, they turn off when the room reaches the desired temperature and that saves alot in LP cost. Great product!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Fireplace Logs
from Tulsa, ok
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Thermocouple failed after less than 1 year

PostedNovember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
These logs are OK for the price but the thermocouple failed after less than 1 year. If I had to do it over again I would have spent a little more money and bought a nicer set of logs
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Fireplace Logs
from Louisville, Kentucky
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Installation ideas

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased and installed this gas log system yesterday. Our gas line comes into the fireplace on the left side . The gas inlet on the burner is on the right side. I ran a flexible stainless steel line behind the log set to the inlet. This is a common practice. To speed up the process of lighting the pilot, I slightly loosened the gas line connection at the burner inlet and slightly opened the gas valve to the fireplace for a couple of seconds to purge the air from the line. After retightening the connector at the burner inlet I turned the gas back on and checked again for leakage. I waited a few minutes to be sure there was no gas still in the fireplace before attempting to light the pilot. A butane grill lighter was easier to use than the igniter button. Don't forget to untie the thermostat line and run the bulb outside the fireplace. As mentioned in other reviews, there are fumes and smoke when the system is started initially. If you have no damper in your fireplace, you may want to try burning off the fumes outside in your gas grill. You will have to experiment with the temperature, turning it just high enough to burn off the fumes and not damage the logs ,which may void the warranty. I checked 5 stars for everything, but obviously can't comment on much other than the installation. The log set seems to be working as designed.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Fireplace Logs
from Philadelphia, TN 37846, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DEFECTIVE.

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
A professional installer worked to try to get these logs with the 'universal' installation kit to work for 2 hours. The 'universal' is not. The logs and pilot light kept going out after 5 minutes. He tested the Temperature Sensor, which is supposed to shut off the fire at 230 degrees; it passed 300 degrees each time before quitting. The noxious fumes from the ceramic logs was overwhelming. We never had that problem with other gas logs. We had to disassemble everything, box it back up and carry that heavy box back down stairs for the trip back to Home Depot.
Cons: Too Heavy, Difficult to Install, defective, poor quality, noxious fumes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Fireplace Logs
from McRae, AR

Logs and Pilot light

PostedFebruary 8, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When we received the order, the logs were all broken, logs were in the bottom of the box separated by a piece of cardboard and this bubble plastic----also, the pilot would not stay lit.
Amazing, product like this being shipped the way it was was not good. I had to order over the internet because in JANUARY Home Depot was clearing out the stoves, fireplaces etc.,
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Gas Fireplace Logs
from Grand Island, NY

Bad Smell

PostedDecember 16, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
At first I thought the smell was just the logs burning off. However after further usage if the unit is turned on high (maximum heat) they smell horribly. If the unit is run very low there is no smell at all and is very pleasant to use. I am still trying to figure out how to use this unit on a higher setting without the smell.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 >>