728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 15 oz. 511 Spray-On Grout Sealer

15 oz. 511 Spray-On Grout Sealer

The Miracle Sealants 15 oz. Grout Sealer provides a quick and easy way to seal your hard surface floors. Just spray the sealer on your grout, tile, brick, concrete, natural stone or tile surface and let it set for a seal that forms an invisible barrier to oil, stains and water. The sealer will not alter the natural look of your hard surface floor.
Overall rating:
4.235 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product16 of 17reviews
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(7)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product16 of 17reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer reviews for 15 oz. 511 Spray-On Grout Sealer
Review 1 for 15 oz. 511 Spray-On Grout Sealer
from Fort Washington, Maryland

Sealer

PostedApril 26, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was told to get the $90 bottle of 511 but decided on this at $10 per can. This was my first time sealing grout. I found that the spray came out too much and left a lot on the surrounding tile so I spray the longest lines and then got on my hands and knees with an old tee-shirt to work the excess sealer into the horizontal lines running through the long vertical which worked like a charm, no waste.
The tile was porcelin and cleaned up well. Very slippery if you walk on it before wiping off so be careful. The T-shirt ended up very damp which allowed me to use it for a second coat. So I got more out of it then planned. I used 2 cans on about 400sq ft. After a 2 hour wait I did the water test and the grout repelled it as promised. Hard work but it was worth it. USE GLOVES and VENT area well!
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 15 oz. 511 Spray-On Grout Sealer

It dries in 2 hrs as stated with windows open in 60s temp.

PostedMarch 22, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used the sealant for kitchen floor grout. I wish there is a spray pipe to direct sealant onto grout so there is less waste onto the tiles. It needs 2nd spray and protects it like new. It takes lots of time thoroughly cleaning floor, covering baseboard and cabinets before sealing. It should be easier when the floor is new. Previous owner left us a greasy floor.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 15 oz. 511 Spray-On Grout Sealer
from Long Island, NY

better than expected

PostedJanuary 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the guy at my HD store explained how this worked and showed me on the floor in the store... spray it on and walk away... within an hour or two it's all dried up... one coat is probably enough but i gave two just to be safe... after all the work that went into my bathroom i can spare a few more bucks to make sure it stays as nice as it is now... just like the other reviews said - use plenty of ventilation, and a mask would be nice too... i would spray a few lines and then walk out to take a breath, then spray a few more lines, etc... when all done splash some water on it - it's fun to watch
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 15 oz. 511 Spray-On Grout Sealer
from Orange County, CA

PRETTY SIMPLE TO USE

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Although the Miracle Sealant is easy to use, it does spray all over the place. It would be a lot easier if they used a nozzle that concentrates on actually spraying the grout lines, rather than the whole tile. A lot gets wasted & one can will actually cover an 11'x11' room.
You do need to leave the house for few hours as the chemical smell is pretty intense.
Overall, the product does a good job.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 15 oz. 511 Spray-On Grout Sealer
from West Coast

Easy to apply.

PostedNovember 9, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
IMO, like all solvents get plenty of ventilation and use a chemical filtered mask. Smells like turpentine.
Be careful - attacks paint and caulking. On more sensitive areas brushing directly and carefully may be better.
Clean surfaces first. No noticeable effect on porcelain tile ( as advertised - good) such as hazing, discoloration etc. Wipe away excess, and remainder evaporates away.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 15 oz. 511 Spray-On Grout Sealer
from Crossville, Alabama Dekalb County

511 Grout Sealer

PostedJune 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I drove 47 miles to buy this product because another LARGE home improvement store near me had terrible reviews for their spray on grout sealers.
This 511 product is simply amazing. It is so easy to use and , for the the obligatory water test, it passes with flying colors !
It was so easy that I did it twice, not that it needed it, but because it was fun.
Just be sure to provide all of the ventilation you can, and if you have appliance with standing pilot lights, I would suggest extinguishing them.
I would recommend this product to anyone !!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 15 oz. 511 Spray-On Grout Sealer
from CA

Good product

PostedSeptember 2, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I like this product better that other aerosol grout sealers that I have used in the past, it seems to be absorbed much better into the grout and creates a better seal than a similar product I bought at an other store. The only thing I did not like about it was the application nozzle, it is a little small, I was using it for a medium sized area (about 200 sq ft) and by the end my finger was very sore.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 15 oz. 511 Spray-On Grout Sealer
from Edinburg, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

indoor & out grout sealer

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
this sealer makes tile water tight, easy to apply, does not look like you painted grout with varnish, easy to clean up, and has the longest warranty out there, what more could you ask for?
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, warranty
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 15 oz. 511 Spray-On Grout Sealer
from Maryland

WORKS FOR ME!

PostedApril 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I read reviews of other products before going into the store and purchasing this, and I'm glad I did. The thought of getting-down on my hands and knees with an applicator tracing each and every grout line made me cringe. Spray-on sealers are more convenient and just makes so much sense!
I agree with the other reviewers, the product emits fumes, therefore I'd suggest planning to apply the sealing right before you leave the house. It will take a few hours before the air is 'clear' again. And definitely crack a window or two.
I gave the product a '4' rating because of the size of the sprayer - ALOT of product comes out when you spray it, thus making it messier than it has to be, and requires alot wiping. However, although alot of product does get onto the tiles, it doesn't leave a residue or haze behind at all.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 15 oz. 511 Spray-On Grout Sealer
from Hollywood, MD
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use and Effective

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchsed this product after some black spots started appearing on the grout in our newly tiled shower. Once we cleaned off the spots, we purchased and used this product on the grout prior to using the shower again. This sealer was easy to apply and it is very effective. It's been 4 months and the sealer is still doing it's job very well. I'm very happy with the product.
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 15 oz. 511 Spray-On Grout Sealer
from Levittown PA

Once you go spray you never go back

PostedJuly 8, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As the title says, the spray is the way to go, nozzle is perfect size for 1/8 to 1/4 inch grout, varying the distance of the nozzle to the grout. It is quick and easy, extra is easily wiped away with clean dry towe. I see no hazing or discoloration so far as advertised. Why use the little drippy brushes and take all day and misalign your spine? It doesn't make sense, this is the ONLY grout sealer that should be considered. Look no further, this is a miracle
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 15 oz. 511 Spray-On Grout Sealer

Works Great to Keep Your Grout Clean

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The products works as expected but don't forget your face mask, you will get quite a headache without one.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 15 oz. 511 Spray-On Grout Sealer

This stuff is strong and was recomended by friends who do tile work all over the world

PostedJuly 16, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This stuff work, but you do need to leave the room for ventilation, and then reapply again.
But leave the house, open some windows,turn on a fan to direct the fumes out faster if needed.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 15 oz. 511 Spray-On Grout Sealer
from Arizona
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It appears to seal groat in one application. Time will tell......

PostedJune 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I used this as instructed and it appears to seal my groat well after one good continues spray. It didn`t take me long to do a whole room. Time will tell if it really seals out dirt etc. like promised. At over $10 a can I thought it was a bit pricey.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 15 oz. 511 Spray-On Grout Sealer
from Roswell, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good stuff - but it doesn't last 20 years.

PostedMay 17, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought this product to use to seal the grout on a new ceramic tile shower and floor in the master bathroom. Now, obviously, this is an area that gets ALOT of use. After one year of use I noticed that part of the floor of the shower needs to be resealed and after inspecting the whole bathroom found that the floor grout in the rest of the bathroom was not repelling water and neither were the bottom rows of grout on the shower. I will admit I just finished cleaning the grout in the shower and am planning on running to home depot to get another can of this stuff, so obviously I don't think it's too bad for the money. It sure was easy to apply (although open every window and turn on every fan you can find.) My only disappointment is that I wish if would have lasted a few more years, no, I didn't think it would last 20, but 5 would have been nice!
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 15 oz. 511 Spray-On Grout Sealer
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

511 Spray-On grout sealer 15 oz.

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I just applied this product 2 weeks ago. Applying this product was easier than crawling on my hands and knees. It was a little messy but I steam mopped the area the next morning and the area cleaned up very well. I applied a second coat. Only time will tell if this product protects as long as liquid products I have used before.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 15 oz. 511 Spray-On Grout Sealer

Ruined my tile

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Leaves a film on tile that shows any footprint. Terrible product.
-6points
0out of 6found this review helpful.