728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 16 oz. 511 Impregnator

16 oz. 511 Impregnator

The Miracle Sealants 16 oz. Hard Surface Floor Sealer penetrates your hard surface floors and forms an invisible barrier that is stain and moisture resistant for a seal that adds hardness and reduces slipperiness. The sealer is ideal for medium porous to dense surfaces such as tile, natural stone, brick, concrete and grout.
Overall rating:
4.25 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product13 of 16reviews
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(12)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product13 of 16reviews
Customer reviews for 16 oz. 511 Impregnator
Review 1 for 16 oz. 511 Impregnator
from Tracy, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use and provides a great seal.

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was happy to try this product based on the reviews and was not let down. I used it to seal my cermic tile and grout kitchen counter. The product is very easy to apply and goes a long way. Water and stains bead or roll off and I fell like my hard work is protected.
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 16 oz. 511 Impregnator
from Austin TX

Not sure it does the job it says

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Have sealed the (sanded) grout in my kitchen area. Weeks after I spilled soup on the floor, and I have serious doubts this is really protecting the liquids to penetrate the treated grout.
It works to some extent, but I paid the full asked price, not "to some extent"
Not recommended
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 16 oz. 511 Impregnator
from NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good stuff!

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a relatively porous granite top that kept soaking up water even though I'd sealed it numerous times with some of the other water-based fluoropolymer products. This product is an impregnator vs. a sealant and it did the trick for this particular top. I used the remainder to seal some new grout in a shower and floor. More costly up front but not by that much and it's better to spend a bit more up front and not have to deal with grout cleaning products in a year or so!
Pros: High Quality
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 16 oz. 511 Impregnator

Great multi-use sealant

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our new light-colored granite countertops were left unsealed by our builder. Even a single drop of water was instantly absorbed by the surface, leaving a temporary dark spot. I wanted to make sure that any other spills wouldn't do the same, so I bought this sealer. It was so easy to use - just brushed it on with a foam brush, waited 5 minutes, and wiped off with a paper towel. Now water beads up on the surface and I'm so pleased with the results. I also used it on the tile and grout of the backsplash and the kitchen and bathroom floors. Great stuff, easy to use, I would definitely buy again.
+23points
25out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 16 oz. 511 Impregnator
from Denton, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works on ceramic tile

PostedJuly 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Saw a reference to this product by a professional tiler. Read many reviews on the product which were mostly for stone applications. I wanted this for my new glazed ceramic tile. I used a clean wash cloth as an applicator. Realized i forgot to wipe off excess as the surface was tacky the next morning. Took the cloth i used to apply sense it was saturated with the 511 and just wiped over the walls and then went after with a dry cloth and it fixed the problem. All of the application instructions are on the bottle and if you follow them it is easy. One tip from my experience is a little goes a long way especially on ceramic tile. Found I could have conserved the amount i used. Have enough left for at least two more applications. Water just beads up on the walls and we are pleased in this early use of the product
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 16 oz. 511 Impregnator

Works great and easy to apply

PostedNovember 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this sealer on the grout of my newly tiled kitchen floor. It went on super easy with the roller bottle applicator that I also bought. It took less than an hour and this size bottle covered my 1/4 inch grout lines on a 200+ sq ft floor tiled in 12x12 and 2x2 size tiles. The roller applicator let me get the sealer only on the grout and not all over the tiles. Any drips wiped right off the porcelain tiles. I gave it the water test after letting it cure for 48 hours and the water beads right up. I'm very pleased with the ease and results. I've never met anyone who has actually resealed their grout every year, but with a job this easy, I would not dread doing it.
+25points
37out of 49found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 16 oz. 511 Impregnator
from NY State

Good Stuff

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It does seem to waterproof tile surfaces. I applied a small/moderate amount with a clean, white cloth (old washcloth) and then let sit on the tile for about 5 minutes. Using another washcloth (a dry, white one), I then removed it. It was pretty easy to do the whole thing and didn't take too much time.
Pros: Easy to Use, these products have a good reputation
Cons: smelled a bit strong--need fan on when you apply
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 16 oz. 511 Impregnator
from Fort Morgan, CO 80701, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product was recommended by my contractor

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It really did the job and was very easy to apply--however there are a few suggestions--start small and do one section and wipe it off--then the next-do not try and do the whole piece at once. Since you really do not use a lot of product-a pint purchase is probably the best since the recommendation was one sealing every six months and then cleaning only with soap and warm water.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, High Quality
Cons: try and buy a pint
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 16 oz. 511 Impregnator
from Kannapolis, NC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product works !

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used the 511 impregnator to seal grout in my new renovated tile shower, and it works great. Also used it on new granite tops in my bath and it prevents water circles on the granite top.
Pros: Easy to Install, easy follow directions
Cons: must have good ventilation
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 16 oz. 511 Impregnator
from Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked as advertised

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used for new travertine tile in master bath. Applied with brush and removed excess with turkish towel. Went ahead and applied second coat a few days later. Water now beads rather than soak in. Very pleased with result. Does not change appearance of the travertine.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 16 oz. 511 Impregnator
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I ordered this product online. When it arrived I found it to be a very small container. I didn't realize how much 16 oz. was. I thought it would not be enough to apply to all the tiles in three bathrooms and floor. It turns out to be plenty enough with about half of the bottle left.
I waited three days before using the showers. Water forms droplets on top of the tiles and does not get absorbed in them, which means the product is doing its job.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 16 oz. 511 Impregnator
from Whittier, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

JM79

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used 511 Impregnator Sealer on my shower and it failed to seal the grout. After 5 coats of sealer it still failed the water test and was still absorbing water. I bought TileLab penetrating sealer and solved the problem. I spoke with Israel in Tech Support numerous times and they failed to solve the issue with their recommendations and failed to refund the product after a number of days dealing with them. I do not recommend this product at all. Their warrenty or satisfaction guarantee is garbage. I also, do not recommend 511 spray on grout sealer that failed as well. I will not purchase their products again. Also, beware I read in a blog that some people return some of these products filling them with water! HD quality should send these back to the manufacturer not put them back on the shelf when returned. Thank you for the time you spent reading this review. Have a nice day.
Cons: Not Durable, faulty warranty, product does not do as described, bad tech support
+5points
12out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 16 oz. 511 Impregnator

Great Sealer

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this to seal the granite in both my bathrooms. The sealer is very easy to use and very low odor. I just followed the instructions and it dried perfectly clear with no hazy parts. ( I even forgot to wipe the back splash until way more than 3 minutes and it still looks perfect). It's been about a month and it's holding up great so far. I was a little disappointed that it wasn't available in the store but it came within 5 days of ordering.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 16 oz. 511 Impregnator
from Triad, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good sealant

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Only drawback is that it yellows white grout. Otherwise best product in terms of stain and liquid resistance. (You still need to wipe up spills promptly, no sealant works THAT well.)
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 16 oz. 511 Impregnator
from Whittier, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

does what it says it will

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
purchased along with brush applicator. used 2 coats and after a couple of hours, the water beaded as stated...time will tell now how it withstands a kitchen environment.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 16 oz. 511 Impregnator

Stains Everywhere!! Simply didn't work for us!

PostedDecember 3, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used this product on our polished concrete countertops and now we have stains everywhere.
After making our new concrete countertops, we needed a way to protect them against staining. We thought we would try this since it was USDA approved, had a 20 year warranty and had good reviews. We applied precisely as directed on the label using 3 coats on one of our slabs and two coats on the rest. We were hopefully because as described water seemed to bead up well.
After a week we started to notice small spots that were stained. We had no idea what it was coming from. Then we had thanksgiving and used the counter as a buffet for the food. The food spills sat on the concrete surface for maybe 1-2hrs before being cleaned up. We have stains everywhere. Now what!! I would not recommend this product.
As advertised it did not alter the color of the concrete. I will say that is does appear to repel water fairly well. Use at your own risk I guess.
+2points
11out of 20found this review helpful.