728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Home>

Customer reviews for 5-gal. Homer Bucket (3-Pack)

5-gal. Homer Bucket (3-Pack)

The iconic Homer Bucket 5-Gallon Orange Buckets is ideal for any household or professional job. The all purpose container is constructed for plastic for durability. Each plastic bucket is orange and features the logo of The Home Depot.
Overall rating:
4.595 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(116 reviews) 116
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product103 of 108reviews
Rating Breakdown 116 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(89)
4
(15)
3
(7)
2
(2)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product103 of 108reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for 5-gal. Homer Bucket (3-Pack)
Review 1 for 5-gal. Homer Bucket (3-Pack)
from Blythewood SC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great buckets! They should come with every new roof!

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great idea!
Im picking me up three more of these for the three more recent leaks in my new Home depot dream roof.
Whatever might get past the roof tarps (above) will be collected in these (below).
Im all for rain harvesting, and I do it indoors a lot nowadays, these buckets are perfect for its manual collection.
Great color too, I highly recommend these with ever new Home depot roof
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, love the color!
Cons: No Instructions
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5-gal. Homer Bucket (3-Pack)
from Alabama, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solid Buckets for Bucket Garden

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I read a few reviews on these buckets and they seemed ideal to use in my bucket garden... So far so good. They are strong and should hold up for years of use.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5-gal. Homer Bucket (3-Pack)
from Kansas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent for what I needed.

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It's been a hot summer and I need something quick, and cheap to help me water a lot of tree saplings I planted last spring. I drilled a small hole in the bottom side of these buckets to help with this job. The handles are handling the weight of the water just fine. I put a large rock in each one to help hold them down after the water was gone. The buckets are handling the rocks fine also. The trees I am using this system on are looking better than the ones I use a sprinkler on. For the price, I don't believe you can beat these buckets. Would rather they be white as the orange really stands out in the yard. But that's my only downside right now. No big deal.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5-gal. Homer Bucket (3-Pack)
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Bucket for projects

PostedMarch 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Best buckets for projects I have ever found. The softer plastic takes a lot of abuse without cracking. I use the Homer buckets in gardening projects to make Earth Buckets and Dutch Buckets. Both types of planters have to be drilled or cut. I don't have to worry about the plastic cracking in big jagged lines as i am drilling the bucket, like I have had happen with several buckets from other places.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5-gal. Homer Bucket (3-Pack)

Bought them for the Motto on the side...

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Got two families disaster survival kits for Christmas (I know, not real personal, but darn useful if you need one) and included with each kit is a plastic toilet seat to put on their 5-gal bucket (for obvious sanitary reasons if your water service is interrupted). Instead of ordering the more expensive, plain-vanilla bucket from the prepper company, I ordered two of these because they were slightly less expensive, are a bright orange, and they say "Lets DO this" on the side. Couldn't pass 'em up!
Pros: Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5-gal. Homer Bucket (3-Pack)

Its a bucket alright

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It doesnt leak, its orange...thats pretty much it.Oh, and you can turn it over and sit on it.
+37points
39out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5-gal. Homer Bucket (3-Pack)

the buckets worked just perfect for my garden project.

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Your service was great and your shipping was very fast!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5-gal. Homer Bucket (3-Pack)

You can't go wrong with HD 5 Gallon Buckets!

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These 5 gallon buckets are awesome. I use them for things like carrying water (no leaks!), dumping used motor oil in them, and for carrying a case or two of broken beer bottles. Broken beer bottles always punch through trash bags and cut up my wife's legs when she takes out the trash. This makes her highly annoyed and she complains about me breaking the beer bottles. I tell her that I am just helping out the glass recycler by pre-smashing the bottles for him. It is saving him a step. Anyway, the broken beer bottles can't cut through the tough plastic shell of these 5 gallon buckets.
The only thing these buckets don't seem to be good for are cooking beans over an open fire. These buckets are not fire proof, and trying to eat beans covered in melted plastic will just make your kids cry.
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5-gal. Homer Bucket (3-Pack)
from SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

O.K., Could Be Better

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I purchased Homer 5 gallon buckets to grow 'maters in. I used the orange Homers and found I needed a couple more, so since it was near I bought 2 Lowes white 5 gallon buckets to finish my container garden.
I used the same mixture of Miracle Grow Garden Soil and composted mulch for the 'maters and have regularly fed both brand buckets with the same nutrients.
As can be seen in the photo, the HD Homer buckets produce a shorter but bushier 'mater plant than the Lowes white buckets. It remains to be seen which will produce produce the best 'maters in terms of quantity and quality. ;-)
I rated 4 stars because I had to drill holes in the bottom for drainage. :-( Both companys should add a plastic bag of holes so drilling holes wouldn't be necessary.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-22points
14out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5-gal. Homer Bucket (3-Pack)
from Texas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

durable multipurpose orange bucket

PostedApril 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
great for everything. sturdy durable and doesn't break when dropped even loaded with stuff. makes a wonderful chicken nesting box, tool bucket, grout, paint if it fits in the bucket your good to go.
Pros: Easy to Clean
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5-gal. Homer Bucket (3-Pack)

Buckets, buckets, and more buckets

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These buckets are great. You can't beat a good bucket (unless of course you are a drummer). And they are orange too! You can fill them up with stuff and then dump them out. They're great. If your bedroom has an Autumn motif, might I suggest you turn over a bucket, thus making a terrific night stand. If I were you I would order ten thousand of these babies, they're worth it.
+10points
14out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5-gal. Homer Bucket (3-Pack)

The best bucket ever!!!

PostedJune 8, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Coverage 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Low odor 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I spent years of my life looking for "the right bucket". After long last i found it. the bucket of my dreams. It was round, and orange. It held stuff just as ide hoped. It held water, it held sand. It is "the bucket". No one can compair to my bucket. We just finished our family photos (me and the bucket). Thank you home depot for making the magic of "the bucket" happen.
+19points
33out of 47found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5-gal. Homer Bucket (3-Pack)

Good sturdy bucket, inexpensive.

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
What can be said about a 5 gallon bucket? The bucket is sturdy, its handle is strong and well attached, and the price is unbeatable.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5-gal. Homer Bucket (3-Pack)
from St. Louis
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buckets

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
There isn’t much that can be said for a 5 gallon bucket, it works well and the handle seems well designed and can handle weight.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5-gal. Homer Bucket (3-Pack)

very good bucket for the price

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We use these buckets daily for commercial painting and they are the best bang for your buck!
Pros: High Quality of Material
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5-gal. Homer Bucket (3-Pack)
from Rochester, MI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic price and great quality

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The lids were a LIFESAVER! I used these buckets to move my very large fish tank contents - lots of delicate fish - over 50 miles from my home. Everyone survived, nothing spilled, and the transportation was seamless and budget-friendly.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5-gal. Homer Bucket (3-Pack)
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good standard 5gal Buckets

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Good standard 5gal Home Depot buckets everyone is familiar with. Online deal had a slightly better price than in store and with free shipping it was an easy buy.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5-gal. Homer Bucket (3-Pack)
from Diamond Bar, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

5-Gallon Orange Homer Buckets

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Well, they are buckets. They do what they are supposed to do & the price was good. At $7.02 for a 3-pack of buckets, they are cheaper than the $2.78 5-gal grey bucket at Lowe's, & the blue buckets at Wal-Mart. The 98-cent orange lids are sturdier than the thinner & more expensive grey lid at Lowe's & the white lid at Wal-Mart.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5-gal. Homer Bucket (3-Pack)
from El Paso, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

FAR SUPERIOR TO LOWES !!

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I made the mistake of picking up 5 buckets at Lowes because of convenience (my porcelain and grout was purchased there). EVERY Lowes bucket either split at the bottom or on the sides during the mixing of mortar and grout. NONE of the replacement HD buckets split! The HD buckets are far superior!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5-gal. Homer Bucket (3-Pack)
from NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I use em for gasoline

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Fill em up, toss em in the back of the wife's car and am good to go!
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: No Instructions
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>