728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chainsaws & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for ECS120ACPC2 Chainsaw Chain Sharpener

ECS120ACPC2 Chainsaw Chain Sharpener

This Power Care Chainsaw Chain Sharpener quickly and easily sharpens a variety of chains. The sharpener includes 3 sharpening stones that help give a smooth, sharp cutting edge to 5/32 in., 3/16 in., and 7/32 in. Chainsaw chains. The sharpener's rust-resistant construction provides long-lasting durability.
Overall rating:
4.067 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product12 of 15reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Features 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product12 of 15reviews
Customer reviews for ECS120ACPC2 Chainsaw Chain Sharpener
Review 1 for ECS120ACPC2 Chainsaw Chain Sharpener
from Morristown, TN

Simple, easy chain sharpener.

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Numerous types of products exist to sharpen saw chain. The average home owner really can't go wrong with this product. This is basically a Dremel tool with a filing guide (which fits actual Dremel tools). The angle markings on the guide were poorly stamped, so for people new to sharpening saw chains, you might want to mark your correct angle in a more visible way. However, it beats filing each cutter by hand, and it definitely saves money over buying new chain constantly. I put the filing guide on my cordless Dremel tool and it worked great.
I gave this 4 stars because the guide marking should have been better.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ECS120ACPC2 Chainsaw Chain Sharpener
from Massillon, OH, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

AWESOME PIECE!!!!

PostedJune 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this about a month ago, for my 18inch chains, and I it takes me about 3-4minutes, to sharpen the whole chain, to a razor sharp edge, after cutting through a black walnut tree, and making the edges very dull, almost truly round edges, and still only takes about 3-4minutes to sharpen them all up, and I used the diamond bits, not the stone bits, to do it, though!!! It has a sliding trigger, for the multi-speed settings, which isn't bad, but not necessarily great either, but, it does spin straight and true, plus has full instruction manual, and such, which makes it easy to use, especially if you were used to using the file sharpeners, and with this, you do not use up your strength, either, since you don't need to press so hard, just lightly press it against, and you are set!!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ECS120ACPC2 Chainsaw Chain Sharpener
from Massillon, OH, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

UPDATE ON BITS!!!!

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ok, I have written another review, which, is not too long after I bought it, and, I also got the "Milescraft" diamond sharpener bits, the 5/32"s bits, for my chains, and, the stone bits, that come with the tool, are not the greatest, they will work, on about 2 sets of 18-20" chains, and then they will be done for, but, the diamond bits, do last through about 2-3times as many, since the bits do not dwindle down, and in essence, explode, from being worn down too far, but, they will work, if needed, as long as they do stay together, but, you are really paying for the rotary tool, not the bits, so, they will be cheap bits, so, I do highly suggest purchasing the "Milescraft" diamond bits, as you buy this tool, as well......
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting, has veriable speeds
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ECS120ACPC2 Chainsaw Chain Sharpener
from Burlington, KY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Chinese Piece of sCRAP

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this thinking I'd replace my hand files and guide. Problems out of the box:
1. Bur was 1/64" out of round so would not work properly.
2. Guide was not perpendicular to the tool so the bur depth changed depending on where you were on the guide.
3. Alignment gauge wasn't manufactured correctly so the bur wouldn't fit in the right slot making adjustment impossible.
Harbor Freight sells this kind of junk but you're aware of that going in. Home Depot should consider offering a quality sharpener for those to whom price isn't the first consideration.
Pros: impossible to adjust so i didn't hurt myself tryin
Cons: poor construction, impossible to set up properly
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ECS120ACPC2 Chainsaw Chain Sharpener
from Tenmile, Oregon

Power Chain Sharpner

PostedDecember 27, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Awsome sharpner! Not to mention, when ordering on-line or calling to order, you will get the best service possible! Knowledgeable individuals, curteous, friendly, and extremely helpful! Chain sharpner comes with several stones and works great!
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ECS120ACPC2 Chainsaw Chain Sharpener
from Paynesville, MN 56362, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent sawchain sharpener

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a very good sharpener. The variable speed is A great feature. The only issue that I have had is the stone that came with the sharpener disintegrated on the very first cutter. Should be a little better quality stones. Better get some spares.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: poor quality stones
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ECS120ACPC2 Chainsaw Chain Sharpener

This sharpener will save you a ton of time and money

PostedApril 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The first sharpener I purchased did not work, I exchanged it and the second one makes easy work of sharpening a dull chain. It took me about 5 minutes to sharpen my dull chain and after testing the chain saw out it again cut like butter. Well worth the investment not having to buy a new chain all the time or wait for someone to sharpen it for it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ECS120ACPC2 Chainsaw Chain Sharpener
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

About average product.

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is not a high quality product. The alignment guide with marks to keep correct alignment with saw blade will not stay correct. It moves during use. The grinding stone crumbled with first use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, alignment guide needs improvment. needs better gri
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ECS120ACPC2 Chainsaw Chain Sharpener
from Hillsboro, OR, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The instructions for assembly are totally inadequate. (Power Care 467-164)

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Regarding Power Care Chain Saw Sharpener, 467-164:
Step 4 in the instructions says to attach the sharpening stone by slowly turning the chuck while pressing the lock button. There are no pictures to show which part is the chuck, and where the lock button is. I did remove the collet cap, per step 1. Step 4 refers to fig. 3, which looks like something (the "chuck"?) about the size of the collet cap is installed on the threaded are where the collet cap was located. The picture of the box contents does not show a part that looks like what is being turned in Fig 3. Is the "chuck" the small sleeve with splits at one end? Is the order for step 4 and step 5 turned around?
Step 6 says to tighten the chuck by using the enclosed mutiwrench. There are 2 wrenches, with no lables to show which is the "multiwrench". Also, if it is the wrench with multiple openinings, which opening is to be used?
From the pictures and instructions, I suspect the "chuck" is missing from my kit. But my kit did include everything shown in the picture of the tool and parts.
Cons: instructions totally inadequate
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ECS120ACPC2 Chainsaw Chain Sharpener
from palm coast, fl

convenient, easy to use, does the job

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I kept on buying new chains until I decided to give this a try. I was pleased to find out it sharpens the chain to like new in a short time. What you sharpen is about one in four links. The one with the cutting edge. Having an ac plug is good too, since I maintain the chain at the shop. I did not like the battery powered units since they tended to heat up (too much to handle) before finishing the job.
This unit stays cool. I recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ECS120ACPC2 Chainsaw Chain Sharpener
from Flower Mound, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saves chain blades

PostedMay 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read the reviews before I bought this, and although the print is a little small, you really need to read it. After I was comfortable with the instructions, I was easily able to sharpen the blades on both of my chain saws. Great value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ECS120ACPC2 Chainsaw Chain Sharpener
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product has paid for itself.

PostedNovember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are thrilled with this product. My husband keeps saying how glad he is that we purchased it. In the past we have had to pay others to sharpen our saw but now we can to it ourselves when we need it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ECS120ACPC2 Chainsaw Chain Sharpener

Great product and easy to use

PostedJanuary 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Does a great job. Sharpens chain really well. I was really surprised how well my chainsaw cut.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for ECS120ACPC2 Chainsaw Chain Sharpener

Good product for money!

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I don't use a chainsaw sharpener for commercial purposes but for the homeowner, I am pleased with the product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ECS120ACPC2 Chainsaw Chain Sharpener
from Lancaster, MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Sharpener

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Does a good job of sharpening, easy to see angle guide and having the ability to control the speed of the stone is helpful.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.