728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Countertop Dishwasher in White

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Countertop Dishwasher in White

The Danby Countertop Dishwasher in White is Energy Star qualified for energy efficiency to help you save money on energy-related costs. The dishwasher features a stainless steel tub and spray arm for durability and an automatic detergent and rinse aid dispenser for easy use. The sound reduction system helps deliver a quiet performance, and the 5 wash cycles include intensive and economy settings for efficient cleaning.
Overall rating:
3.464 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
61%of customersrecommend this product17 of 28reviews
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
3.5 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(9)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(6)
Features 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
61%of customersrecommend this product17 of 28reviews
Customer reviews for Countertop Dishwasher in White
Review 1 for Countertop Dishwasher in White
from Atlanta, GA

Perfect... in a pinch

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This countertop dishwasher takes up about as much space as a large microwave, possibly a little more. It's great! You know, of course, when you're getting it that you will be tying up your kitchen faucet. That's no big deal if you time it right. If you don't time it right; however, you could be without a kitchen sink for a while. The shortest cycle is 75 minutes. That cycle, The cycle that I would wash my daily dishes on is more like 2.5 hours. This isn't that difficult for me because I bought this for our office and therefore we set it to run when we leave for work. When you do this, though, you are leaving your faucet on until you return to it. In every other respect, and knowing that going in, this is an impressive little appliance that is great within certain parameters.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Countertop Dishwasher in White
from Amesbury, MA

Great Product

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had read all of the reviews on this product before I decided to purchase it. I'm glad that I read them and even more happy that I bought this dishwasher. It's great! I would recommend it to anyone that is single or for a couple. This dishwasher cleans everything really well and cuts my time at the sink in half. You can fit small 9 inch lunch plates, glasses, coffee mugs, silverware, bowls and small pots & pans in there. Large items don't fit but I don't mind handwashing them. It's not an overly loud machine -- it does make noise but it's not distracting in any way. The cycle that I have been using takes 90 minutes and everything is thoroughly clean when it's done. The overall size of this dishwasher is pretty big so I would definitely make sure that you measure your counter space carefully for length, width and depth before you buy. Also, the box that it is delivered in is around 50 lbs and very wide so you should make sure that someone is home when it is delivered.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Countertop Dishwasher in White
from Massachusetts

Great product as long as you know what to expect

PostedMay 12, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I read a lot of reviews on this product before purchasing it myself, so I pretty much knew what to expect...and feel like that's what I got. Upsides:
It does a great job especially when used on the pots and pans setting (which is actually a little shorter than the normal setting) and I also use detergent capsules with jet dry. The sink attachment is very easy to attach and use. I have had no issues with leaks, but I was very careful to tighten all the hoses. Also despite the given specs it is exactly 17" high and does fit between my countertop and cabinets. Downsides: It is a bit loud, especially in a small apartment, but I just run it when I'm on my way out. The dishrack is layed out awkwardly, but its doable...I moved and secured the utensil basket over the pointless gaping hole nearly in the center to make more usable room. In order to dry the dishes I pull out the rack and let them air dry for a while...they come out very nice especially with the jet dry. Overall I think its a great product and well worth the money.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Countertop Dishwasher in White
from St. Louis MO

Why doesn't this work?

PostedJanuary 4, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After receiving this item, I wasted several hour trying to get it to work with no luck. Product kept producing an error code of E2 which means something is wrong with the hoses. The unit failed to drain or run for that matter. Would not recommend this product. Spend the extra money for a portable unit or installing a built in because this is not worth it.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Countertop Dishwasher in White
from Dayton, Ohio

Good economic worker for the price

PostedNovember 14, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this dishwasher a week ago. I got tired of not having a dishwasher in my house and can't afford to redo my kitchen just to get a dishwasher so I bought this one. FIrst let me say, I hate doing dishes. For me and my husband, this does about two days worth of our dishes! However, my pans will not fit at all. BUT this dishwasher has freed me up to use the dishwasher during the week when I'm busy and do a load of dishes once or twice a week with pans and "non-dishwasher safe" items. It has really saved me a lot of time and energy!! I would recommend this for any 1-2 person household who needs to cut down on the amount of times you are doing dishes in a wek. I would not recommend it for more than 2 people as you would have to use it every day and with the long wash cycle (About 90 minutes for the eco wash), it just wouldn't make sense. But this product has not failed once to clean my dishes in an economic way. I do recommend this product - just not for everyone. Thus the 4 stars.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Countertop Dishwasher in White
from East Coast

GOOD BUY

PostedAugust 18, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was worried once I purchased this after reading these reviews that I had made a bad purchase but when I finally turned this on and starting using this, I was put to ease again. As long as the hoses are on tight then you will have no leaks. This is not a quiet appliance by any means however on the other hand is not really loud either. This cleans the dishses well as long as you clean the dishes and food scraps off before washing. The only complaint I have is regarding the display as you dont know how much time is remaining or what stage you are currently at from the display but other than that I would recommend this machine. This just fits on my cabinet and just has clearance under the cabinet. I would suggest to measure your space before you purchase this. The box is heavy and large and bulky so be prepared to get some help with this when it is delivered. I would recommend this dishwasher.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Countertop Dishwasher in White
from Tennessee

Love it!

PostedJanuary 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this dishwasher. It's perfect for my small kitchen. When I read some of the more negative reviews I was a little skeptical but decided to go on and purchase it based on the many positive reviews. The cycles do seem long but then I compared it to my neighbor's built in dishwasher and there is not much difference in the duration of the cycles. My dishes have come out sparkling clean. It was extremely easy to hook up. This is the best purchase I've made for myself in quite a while. I'm 100% pleased with this product.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Countertop Dishwasher in White

Works better than i hoped

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this dishwasher. I have used it every day since I got it. I even manage to get some of my pots and pans in it as well. Although it does not have a drying element i just open the door after the wash cycle is done and the dishs dry just fine. using a rinse agent helps as well.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Countertop Dishwasher in White

Major Design Flaw... then it broke completly

PostedOctober 26, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
So we had a danby countertop dishwasher for about 2 years then it died and we decided to get this one to replace it becasue we were so happy with the last one. However, this model one has a major design flaw. I goes through a whole cycle then at the end of washing your dishes it does a "cleaning out" of the water left in the bottom and this makes any food particles left in the bottom of the washer spray onto you newly clean dishes... making them not clean anymore then once it goes through the drying cycle all of that food i now CAKED onto all your dishes so you have to wash them by hand.
So that was the first problem we had. The second was that after 6 months it totally broke. We called danby and they said we could get it fixed under warranty. So they referred me to 3 different repair places in my area and low and behold only 1 of them serviced danby products. Both of the others literally saying "Good luck getting danby to fix anything" Well this became totally true as right now it's been 3 months and nearly all of the parts replaced on my dish washer and it still doesn't work and they flat out told me they don't do refunds even though this product is a total lemon.
I would ignore all the other favorable reviews of this product on homedepot as i can truthfully tell you this thing is terrible, it doesn't clean when it's working and then it breaks totally. My goal is now to warn others about Danby products in hope that no one ever buys anything by them and loses hard earned money.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Countertop Dishwasher in White
from Upstate, NY

Lasted Less than a week!

PostedDecember 1, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Before making a purchase, I would advise reading the many reviews that appear on other online sites.
POSITIVE:
EZ to set-up and run
Cleans dishes well if instructions are followed EXACTLY
NEGATIVES:
Dish cycles are long.
It's difficult to know visually when the cycle is complete.
Window leaked after less than a weeks worth of use.
Final comments: If you are lucky enough to obtain a machine that is not a lemon and you can get used to the long dish cycles and the guesswork of knowing when the cycle has been completed then this may be a good buy for you.
Luckily, I experienced problems within a week and Home Depot graciously accepted it return. Please do your homework.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Countertop Dishwasher in White
from Racine, WI

Does the job

PostedDecember 27, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I basically needed a small dishwasher to avoid having small daily piles of dishes to do. As a single person, this is the perfect size. The cycles are indeed long, as another reviewer mentioned, but for my purposes, it gets the job done well enough. If you have seriously "crusty" dishes, it would be wise to soak them first to get off the grunge, but really, it works rather well. I'm happy with it.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Countertop Dishwasher in White
from Fort Collins Co

Great Product

PostedFebruary 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This unit is better than I exspected. Fits great on the counter at work. It works with low noise and cleans very well.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Countertop Dishwasher in White
from Bridgeport, NYU

A nice small dishwasher

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Being a widower, this dishwasher is just the right size for me. I does a good job and saves me a lot of time.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Countertop Dishwasher in White
from Dobbs Ferry, NY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This machine is actually pretty good.

PostedNovember 5, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've read several reviews about this product and I'm really puzzled how people have a problem with this dishwasher. First of all a two year old could hook this thing up and installation is a breeze. The dishwasher is not as noisy as people have stated but you will notice it when its on. Its quieter than my wife's hairdryer which is good. Yes you may have to run two cycles because it will not hold a sink full of dishes but so what! Never had a problem with this dishwasher and I had it for 3 years now.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Countertop Dishwasher in White
from Boston, Ma

THIS PRODUCT IS GREAT

PostedNovember 20, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I Bought this for my condo. The kitchen isnt very large, and to put in a full dishwasher would have been a huge mess and cost. Even tho this product can seem kinda pricey for a small unit. It is solidly built. Stainless steel insides. Every load comes out spotlessly clean. The only thing I wish this had is an optionaly Dry cycle and a timer to let you know how long you have left. Otherwise this is a great investment for people who dont have alot of room and are either single or just a couple.. I love mine..Very happy with it!!!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Countertop Dishwasher in White
from Portland, Oregon

Danby Countertop Dishwasher

PostedOctober 18, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
By following the directions this unit works as described. By using the correct amount of Dishwasher Detergent and Rinse Agent my dishes came out spotless and totally clean. I don't agree with the other reviewer at all. I believe he or she used too much soap and didn't allow it to cycle through. I am very happy with this unit, in fact I purchased a 4 year extended warranty plan for it just today. Thank you Home Depot for another fine appliance.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Countertop Dishwasher in White
from Staten Island, NY

Great Product

PostedJuly 15, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is wonderful. It cleans the dishes well and is very quiet..... i read all the poor reviews from other people about leaks and such, i have not experienced any of that, my advise to them is to make sure that the connects are tight. The cycle time includes the drying time and is the same as any regular size dishwasher. Set up was very easy and quick.
Great product and wonderful purchase.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Countertop Dishwasher in White
from Falls

Not all it's cracked up to be

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The ad claimed you could fit serving for six inside. I'm lucky to get 2 and 1/2 in there. Most of my plates don't even fit because they're too tall. Then when it is run half my dishes are still dirty. All of my old homes had dishwashers so it is not due to improper loading, it is just this product. Very disappointed. End up doing the dishes by hand anyway. Wish I could return it but it's already been used. Save your money and get something better!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Countertop Dishwasher in White
from Arizona

Great countertop model

PostedDecember 29, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This Dishwasher was a breeze to install and does an excellent job in cleaning the dishes. I would highly recommend this product.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Countertop Dishwasher in White
from Rhode island

Good and Bad

PostedApril 3, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The good news is it washes dishes quite well for a protale unit.
Bad news is the connector to faucet is very leaky and easy to break. Also takes a few attempts to get it to hold. I thought I had a defective connector and order another one, which leaks just as much.
It is as load as any portable. Full wash cycle takes over 2 hours, quick cycle is about 1 hour.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>