728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Home>

Customer reviews for 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

The ECHO 17 in. 21.2 cc Gas Trimmer offers professional power in a lightweight package. The 59 in. straight shaft helps provide an extended reach, the I-30 starter offers easy starting and the Speed Feed trimmer head helps provide quick and easy line changes. The 21.2 cc Power Boost Vortex 2-stroke engine helps provide strong cutting power while the bump head line release allows continuous operation by instantly letting out pre-measured lengths of line when needed.
Overall rating:
4.598 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(1109 reviews) 1108
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product1,005 of 1,076reviews
Rating Breakdown 1,109 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(843)
4
(181)
3
(27)
2
(21)
1
(37)
Features 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product1,005 of 1,076reviews
Customer questions and answers:
72 Questions | 403 Answers
Customer reviews for 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
Review 1 for 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Stroudsburg, PA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The weed whacker you want!

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've owned several different brands of weed whackers and have not been nearly as happy with them as I am with this ECHO2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer! It works extremely well (as you can tell with the pictures provided). Its very light and easy to control, and for the price you can't beat it. I own four acres and it is all meadow/field, so I weed whack often and I needed a reliable weed whacker. This definitely does the job and is light enough that I can do the entire property with out feeling like my arm is going to fall off! Great product, would recommend to anyone, large or small property.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+29points
31out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from West Harrison, IN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Well made, powerful trimmer

PostedApril 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have this trimmer, it came in a box fully assembled, and ready to go. I have a large area that needs trimming several times a year, for a big job the long shaft and wide cutting area help to easily get the job done. The high power also helps me to cut through high thick weeds. Well made tool, solid construction, easy to start, ran well. The easy start is very nice, all plastic is well made and sturdy, the Cutting head is easy to open and close for when you have to re-load the string. Trimmer came with a pair of safety glasses.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use
Cons: a shoulder strap would be nice
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+46points
48out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from arkansas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Echo only for me

PostedApril 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Debated on the curved vs. str8 shaft and glad I took this one (str8 shaft). IMO very well built and easy starting and the extra weight doesn't bother me a bit since it has excellent balance. Agree with others on the reduced fuel usage. And looking forward to using the speed feed head to refill , but after using it twice , I am shocked that I only had to bump out more line one time. I now have an echo chainsaw, weedeater, and trimmer , and I'm sold on their products. The reason I like the str8 shaft better is reach , plain and simple.
Pros: Cuts Well, Durable, Great Engine
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Rosenberg TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bad counter-clockwise spinning head design - get pelted by debris!!!!

PostedMarch 31, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
"Counter-clockwise" spinning head throws clippings & debris back at you. This makes the unit not useful as an edger and you become a shooting range for the debris. Typical situation where as it is designed by engineers for a budget and restricting it to be used as edger. When you rotate the left side down using it as an edger it will die-out shortly. The tank must be full to do this.... any less & you are restarting constantly. The engineers only play with the unit in their own pride not using it for real work. They had the right idea but missed the grass roots end user. Be sure to wear eye protection & get ready to be pelted by debris as you use it! (DO NOT WEAR SHORTS!!!)
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use, wrong spin direction
+4points
14out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Hagerstown, MD
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Trimmer

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've had the SRM-225 trimmer for almost 3 years now. It does a great job trimming around my lawn(1.5 acres) and my in-laws lawn(1 acre). I had purchased another brand Hasq trimmer that died after a little less than a season. I had cleaned the carb on that one and it still refused to run right.
This SRM-225 has plenty of power to tackle everything that I've thrown at it, normal lawn weeds, thickets, small sprouting trees. The only issue I had was that after 2 1/2 seasons I had to replace the carb due to buildup from running ethanol gas through it. That was a quick and easy two screw job. You can get a carb gasket kit and soak and clean the carb in carb cleaner but for $7 more you can just get a whole new carb and be set to go without having to tear it all apart and mess about putting the new seals and all in.
If you need a trimmer that gets the job done and is going to last more than 1/2 a season then pick this one up.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Farm

PostedApril 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
i bought this trimmer in 2012. It was been a great investment. I live on a farm and have a 13 acre pasture. I can trim the entire fence line on a tank an a half. I have recently had to put a new head on it but other than that I have no complaints. I would encourage anyone form homeowner to commercial lawn companies that wanted to save money to get this trimmer.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Expecting great things

PostedApril 5, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I just bought the Echo weed trimmer yesterday (4/4/15) it was quick and easy to use right from the store, just put in gas &oil & away I went. Worked great and didn't seem heavy at all, I'm not a big strong guy but it was easy to handle. The 5 year warranty was a big plus as I was replacing a Husqvarna that I only got 3 yrs out of before it died. I hope this lives up to the expectations that the sales clerk said it would.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Greenville, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great value for home-owner, get bigger powerhead Echo if you can afford it.

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've had several models from Echo, both used professionally and at home. This is a great home-owner model. You can pick up the Echo brand .155 string head right next to it at the HD store, for about $30. Great to have both. You can change them out if you need to.
This is a great and long lasting machine, but buy the bigger displacement engine if you can afford it or if you have to beat down thick weeds all the time. It's just a little underpowered for heavy duty work.
If all you are going to do is regular lawn work, though, these are great even for commercial use. The soft rubber/foam grip is nice, too for working with it many hours a day.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight, shop serviceable
Cons: underpowered for heavy duty work or brush cutting
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Amazing!

PostedMay 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I do full time lawn maintenance and have had this particular model for the past 2 years. I've owned 4 other Name Brand trimmers and each and every one would fail after several months of rough use. this is the only machine that has survived my abuse. If I would have known how well it out performs the competition I would have gotten it years sooner. I strongly recommend this trimmer to anyone. especially if you are tall.
+31points
31out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from huber heights ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product

PostedMay 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
just purchased the trimmer it replaced an 11 year old john deere trimmer before i bought this one i bought trimmer from lowes the salesman at lowes stated the husqvarna was a great product i had the trimmer for 30 minutes it wouldn't rev up when i returned they told me i had bad gas the gas was new and properly mixed. filled the tank on the echo trimmer pulled the cord it started good i went straight to work with it no problems at all first time with echo and it won't be the last
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from schertz, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

echo

PostedApril 16, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was really disappointed with this product. This was not my first "echo" so I was really disappointed with it. The "tap & Go" was not smooth or easy to use. I had to tap it a few times before it would engage. It was very frustrating to do this. Also, I bought what I believed to be a spool replacement. When I ran out of string and was about to replace it, I discovered that the replacement was not a spool, but a "spool head" replacement, which meant that I had to take the head and replace it with the new one. Now this is in the middle of weed eating my yard. Quite depressing. So I took it back. I was so disappointed with this echo product.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Too Heavy, see above
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Colorado
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Absolutely great product!!!!

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have had this trimmer for 4 years now. I love the straight shaft vs the curved shaft. Much better to use in my opinion. This thing is pretty light for the power it has. You can whack down some serious weeds. 1/2" plus thick stocks by several feet tall. Just hold it wide open and let her rip. It gets the job done. It uses a very surprising small amount of gas it is almost ridiculous. A tank of fuel lasts hours. Every winter I put some Stab-Bil in it, and it still starts just as easy as new every spring. This thing always starts easy, performs well, and is all around such a great product that $200 seems rather cheap for it. I am looking at purchasing an Echo chain saw in the future because I am so happy with this trimmer from them. You will not be dissapointed in this trimmer. Just buy it. I wouldn't consider any of those cheaper machines, it is not worth it.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: none
+32points
33out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Belle Chasse, La.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best gas trimmer

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have owned several brands of grass trimmers and this is by far the best gas trimmer I have ever owned. The only reason I did not rate it excellent for features is that it made for attachments.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

The Best

PostedApril 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The best of the best!!!! I purchased this to cut the blackberry bushes and shrubs, did amazing job what else can you ask for!!!!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Excellent

PostedApril 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great trimmer.Well worth the money.Not a cheap 2 season throwaway.High quality for sure.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Beaufort, SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy starting and no vibration

PostedApril 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the first straight shaft trimmer I’ve used, I’ve always used a curve shaft before. I would highly recommend this trimmer. I was a little worried about the handle, but it seems to hold up fine so far and takes all the vibration out. I’ve only used the trimmer three times but it is very easy to start. I think the shield could have been bigger to protect the operator better. I do like the pre-mix they sent so you don’t have an extra can of gas sitting around and you don’t have to worry about the mixing formula. (Safer also!) I got the pre-mix a day or two prior to the trimmer. The trimmer was already pre-assembled so there was no hassle of having the correct tools. I went to Echo’s website and registered the trimmer (very easy process!) and checked out the various attachments I can get for this trimmer. Only problem was there was only one store listed in my area for purchasing the attachments and that store did not know anything about the attachments. So far, compared to other trimmers, I am very impressed with this one and I knew Echo has a good reputation.
Pros: Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, no vibrations
Cons: small shield
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best trimmer ever

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this trimmer at the end of l2014 summer. What little I used it then it worked great. I left it under my carport over the winter and even after nights when the temperature dropped below freezing it would still crank. I have replaced the trimmer line head with a brush blade so I can clear out some under brush in my back yard and it works great as long as I can keep the blade sharp. I would recommend changing the bump head to an Echo or what ever other easy thread line head. I hate those bump heads with a passion no matter what brand of trimmer they're on.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable
Cons: i can't afford a second one
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Way to go ECHO

PostedApril 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Was actually in HD with no intention of purchasing a new trimmer just window shopping when I had a guy approach me who was obviously sold himself with the ECHO products and very quickly persuaded me as well. Where do I even start? I have 2 acres and this trimmer gets the job done the vibration is very minimum if that, you can trim for hours before a refill, the speed line refill is very convenient, lightweight as well and best of all? Made in the U.S.A
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Flora, MS
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easiest gas trimmer to start

PostedApril 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have owned several brands of gas trimmers but Echo is the best. I have an Echo that is over 10 years old that still starts on no more than 4 pulls. I needed an extra trimmer so I purchased this one. My wife is 62 years old and has NEVER been able to pull start a trimmer. There is no jerking the pull cord like most equipment. She barely pulled the cord one time and it starts. There is no heavy compression keeping the cord from pulling easy. I HIGHLY recommend this trimmer mainly because it starts so easy. It also has plenty of torque to get the job done.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Perfect Timmer

PostedApril 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product is used once a week for several hours on 4 acres. Hasn't failed me yet in 8 months.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 34 >>