728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

The ECHO 17 in. 21.2 cc Gas Trimmer offers professional power in a lightweight package. The 59 in. straight shaft helps provide an extended reach, the I-30 starter offers easy starting and the Speed Feed trimmer head helps provide quick and easy line changes. The 21.2 cc Power Boost Vortex 2-stroke engine helps provide strong cutting power while the bump head line release allows continuous operation by instantly letting out pre-measured lengths of line when needed.
Overall rating:
4.587 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(992 reviews) 991
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product892 of 959reviews
Rating Breakdown 992 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(748)
4
(166)
3
(24)
2
(20)
1
(34)
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product892 of 959reviews
Customer questions and answers:
72 Questions | 399 Answers
Customer reviews for 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
Review 41 for 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Indianapolis, IN

Immediate Starts and Great Power

PostedJune 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this to replace my Echo GT-1000 that I inherited in 1997. It was originally purchased by a relative in 1987. It still runs great, but after 23 years, It took about 10 pulls to get it started. My neighbor gratefully accepted it as a replacement for his 2-year-old corded trimmer and he plans on getting a full tune-up on the ol boy. No wonder Echo now offers a 5-year warranty on its products. A friend of mine dropped his in a lake, fished it out of 10' of water, and it still fired on the first pull.
I am very impressed with this trimmer. It starts on the first effortless pull, has tremendous power, torque, and response. I also enjoy the new U-Turn head. Reloading string takes about 1/10th the time as the GT-1000. I also own the Echo ES-210 Blower/Vac and CS-370 Chain Saw and they all start on the first pull.
There is no doubt in my mind that this trimmer will be handed down to my son in 20 years and it will still run like a champ. Echo products cost more up front, but they are worth it in the long run. Do you want tools that work for you, or tools that you work on?
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 42 for 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from LakePort, NY

Echo SRM 225i-Great trimmer

PostedJune 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
Started on the 3rd pull right out the box, after initial start it first time everytime. This was the first time I trimmied this year (mid June) some of the weeds down on our beach were waist high. this trimmer took them down without any problems. I'd recommend this trimmer to anyone looking for a high quality machine. The only thing I'd recommend is if you hve a lot of trimming to do, buy yourself a harness, it does get heavy after awhile.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 43 for 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Glen Mills, PA

Ok For Light Duty

PostedJune 19, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As a power equipment technician i see a lot of trimmers and use alot. This echo is good for the average user/HOMEOWNER The engine is only about 21-22 ccs and can only handle a light load like maintenance grass. Not good for cutting large weeds and take down. my first problem i have with this is echo uses a hollow meatal spring like drive shaft wich decreases torque and acceleration at wide open throttle. I would recomend putting out the monet for a larger engine size and a solid steel drive shaft. I personally use a REDMAX BCZ2650S which has a 26 cc strato charged engine for cleaner emissions and an all solid steel drive shaft. That model starts at around 389 and is the most versitile trimmer ive ever owned with all of its capapbilities. So to wrap things up this trimmer is ok for ligh homeowner use dont expect the power to amaze you.
-12points
2out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 44 for 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Glen Mills, PA

Ok For Light Duty

PostedJune 19, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As a power equipment technician i see a lot of trimmers and use alot. This echo is good for the average user/HOMEOWNER The engine is only about 21-22 ccs and can only handle a light load like maintenance grass. Not good for cutting large weeds and take down. my first problem i have with this is echo uses a hollow meatal spring like drive shaft wich decreases torque and acceleration at wide open throttle. I would recomend putting out the monet for a larger engine size and a solid steel drive shaft. I personally use a REDMAX BCZ2650S which has a 26 cc strato charged engine for cleaner emissions and an all solid steel drive shaft. That model starts at around $389 and is the most versitile trimmer ive ever owned with all of its capapbilities. So to wrap things up this trimmer is ok for ligh homeowner use dont expect the power to amaze you.
-14points
1out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 45 for 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from california

Vastly superior to a husky

PostedJune 19, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If your looking to buy a trimmer in this price range...this is it.
Excellent!!!! I had bought a straight shaft husky trimmer from the competition and ended up taking it back, I must say Im soooo glad I didnt end up with that peice of junk in the shed...the echo is VASTLY SUPERIOR for about the same price. My only complaint is that the bump feeder is abit to sensitive..I accidently fed string quite a few times till I got used to it, no biggie though. Very well built for the price..I consider it a bargain.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 46 for 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from MadTown, WI

None better for the money!

PostedJune 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
I bought this for my business and it has been a workhorse that never has given me any problems. It starts on the first pull and does an excellent job. Buy it, you'll be glad you did!
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 47 for 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Cleveland, OH

Good little string trimmer

PostedJune 23, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I wanted to get a halfway decent machine for the money and this one seems to work well for me. It starts up every time and is comfortable to use. I have found that if the string is fully extended, the engine cannot get enough RPM to effectively knock down the weeds. Once the string shortens down it gets up to full speed and does well. If you are just trimming driveways or around trees you'll be happy. However, don't expect to clear fields with this machine.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 48 for 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Excellenty Machine

PostedJune 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:2-Cycle 21.2 cc Gas Straight Shaft Trimmer - California Only
Great Machine.... The one I will buy in the morning will make my fifth.... I work them hard in a commercial setting... these machines have not let me down.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 49 for 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from texas

so far...so good

PostedJune 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this one after reading many reviews from consumer reports on down. Seems like most folks liked it, and consumer reports did also, but said it was pricey, which is true. Let me say, I HATE WEEDEATERS, and weedeating. Have had a Royobi, TroyBuilt, and they worked for a bit, then problems with the bump head, feeding line through, and having to change oil often. Have used this one about four times and love it. We have a chain link fence around the back yard and it does very well there. Am in Texas, so it's hot. Best way to start it is prime it, pull twice with choke on, then turm off and pull. It always starts on the third pull. It is lighter than my others, and does not make my arms fall asleep from the vibration. I plan on updating this review later after I have used it more and had to change the line. More later.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 50 for 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Oklahoma City, OK

A Bargain

PostedJuly 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought it this afternoon to replace a Bolens BL-150 straight shaft trimmer which has a 31CC motor. While this has a smaller motor displacement than the Bolens unit, I didn;t notice any lack of power. The clutch helps prevent stalls due to wrapping grass around the head which happens frequently with taller grass and a little impatience. I have 2 universal heads; a fixed line unit and a brush head with metal edges that were necessary on the Bolens for anything heavier than bermuda grass.
Definitely better quality overall than the Bolens unit, of course you pay for it at about twice the money but that comes with a limited 5 year warranty.
The unit was already assembled so when I got it home I removed the accessory kit, gassed it up and took it out for a thrash. We got carried away with gardening plans and as a result haven't been able to keep up with some of the weeds that have invaded some of our beds which total around 1,400 sq feet.
Starting was easier than on the Bolens, followed the directions and away we go. Slightly longer shaft than what I had been using and was happy about that since I didn't have to lean with it (6 ft tall). I would have had to stop a bunch of times due to grass/weeds wrapping the head and killing my other unit, but on this just let off the gas clear the head and go back to work. With the universal brush head I was easily slicing through heavier brush with no problem.
Yes, I know this will sound like an advertisement but I have no affiliation with Home Depot or anything even remotely connected with them or any of their products - I actually look forward to using this trimmer tomorrow, and will recommend it to anyone looking for a solid, well built trimmer.
I will say this though, it's probably going to be overkill for northern fescue - you could probably get away with a cheaper trimmer for softer grasses but this is great on bermuda and midwestern weeds (Central Oklahoma)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 51 for 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from North Carolina

Great Weedeater!

PostedJuly 8, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have only used it a few times but it runs great and has plenty of power. Edges well without any stalling and is well balanced. The trimmer head takes a little getting used to when you replace the line but works well. I highly recommend this item!
+9points
18out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 52 for 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from California home owner

Echo String Trimmer srm225

PostedJuly 9, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased the trimmer and it started easily but would only run for a couple of minutes then die. It was difficult to start, but then would run for a couple of minutes and die. I thought this was a bad unit so retrurnted it and got another trimmer the same model and had the same problem, so I returned that one and am looking for another brand. I have had Echo products in the past and they were very reliable, but not this item.
+8points
13out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 53 for 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Texas

Excellent Trimmer - easy to use and works great

PostedJuly 18, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased a Toro trimmer and returned it b/c we couldn't keep it running and the line continually came out. Replaced it with this Echo trimmer after reading online reviews. It started right away and the line stays in the trimmer. Easy to use and the yard looks great!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 54 for 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Bristol TN

Best weed trimmer ever

PostedJuly 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is such a wonderful joy to use it started on the second pull after filling with gas and ran great after about 1 minute of warm up.Been using it every day since with Zero problems well worth the money.i bought a cheaper brand one month ago and and its junk already.i have no luck with these things so i bought this one with a five year warranty and i am very pleased.Home Depot has the best selection of trimmers anywhere I started online and relized i needed to go to the store to see for my self what was available and boy did they have a bunch to choose from i think i got the best one for me at a GREAT PRICE THANKS VERY MUCH! (GREAT STRING TRIMMER )
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 55 for 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Baytown Texas

Excelent Trimmer

PostedAugust 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchesed a different brand and it lasted about three months before the pull rope broke. I returned the trimmer to the place of purchase to get a replacement. As luck would have it they were out of the model I had purchased.
I decided to upgrade so I purchased an ECHO SRM 225.I
took the trimmer home gased it up and on the second pull it started. This trimmer works great and I highly recommend this model and any ECHO PRODUCTS.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 56 for 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Harvest, AL

Powerful Trimmer

PostedAugust 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The ECHO SRM-225 is an excellent weed trimmer. It started right up on the second pull, and I was cutting in no time. It's got great cutting capability - it had no problem cutting through overgrown weeds along my fence. One of my favorite features is the arm guard near the engine - it keeps you from getting burned if you brush it by accident. The head is easy to load string onto, and it runs forever on one tank.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 57 for 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Warren, MI

Awesome!

PostedAugust 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Well balanced, good weight, well built. Couldn't ask for a better product for the price. I would recommend this to any and everyone.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 58 for 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Leesville, LA

Works great

PostedAugust 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This trimmer is very easy to start and use. I like the U Turn head which is easy for a quick line change. It has plenty of power and the yard looks great! Home Depot comes through again!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 59 for 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from South Carolina

Echo Trimmer

PostedAugust 8, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After years of buy "other brands", because they were less expensive. I finally figured out a quality product actually saved me money, time, and agrivation. I've replaced all of my yard equipment with ECHO products.
the trimmer is of the highest quality and does an excellent job. It is powerful, and the .095 string will strip bark from bushes and smalll trees, be careful in these areas.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 60 for 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Independence, Mo

So far I'm impressed....

PostedAugust 10, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've only used my new Echo trimmer a few times now, so I'm still getting used to it, and it has yet to prove it worth, otherwise I would give this machine 5 stars.
At first touch you can feel that the trimmer is well balanced and reasonably weighted. The ergonomics of the machine are good and it's comfortable to hold, and I also like the arm rest and heat guard on the motor assembly. The handle is comfortable and I love that it's fixed (yet adjustable), but can still be used for straight cutting, edging, or use at a variety of angles. My machine starts on the second pull everytime, and warms up to working speed in just a minute or two. The motor doesn't bog down and has a smooth acceleration curve. I am using this machine for home use, so there isn't a lot of heavy brush or really tall weeds, so for what I'm using it for, this Echo works like a champ. The bump line head feeds great and is easy to use and respooling new line is a breeze....one of my favorite features of this machine. The controls are straight forward, and the trimmer is basically simple and enjoyable to use, as opposed to a few of the cumbersome and awkward trimmers I've used in the past. Plenty of power from this trimmer for what I use it for and the engine runs relatively cool. I highly recommend this trimmer for residential use.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 32 >>