728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2 Cycle 21.2cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

2 Cycle 21.2cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

The ECHO 17 in. 21.2cc Gas Trimmer offers professional power in a lightweight package. The 59 in. straight shaft helps provide an extended reach, the I-30 starter offers easy starting and the Speed Feed trimmer head helps provide quick and easy line changes. The 21.2cc Power Boost Vortex 2-stroke engine helps provide strong cutting power while the bump head line release allows continuous operation by instantly letting out pre-measured lengths of line when needed.
Overall rating:
4.617 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(1308 reviews) 1307
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product1,188 of 1,267reviews
Rating Breakdown 1,308 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(1,008)
4
(207)
3
(27)
2
(24)
1
(42)
Features 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product1,188 of 1,267reviews
Customer questions and answers:
76 Questions | 411 Answers
Customer reviews for 2 Cycle 21.2cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
Review 1 for 2 Cycle 21.2cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Stroudsburg, PA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The weed whacker you want!

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've owned several different brands of weed whackers and have not been nearly as happy with them as I am with this ECHO2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer! It works extremely well (as you can tell with the pictures provided). Its very light and easy to control, and for the price you can't beat it. I own four acres and it is all meadow/field, so I weed whack often and I needed a reliable weed whacker. This definitely does the job and is light enough that I can do the entire property with out feeling like my arm is going to fall off! Great product, would recommend to anyone, large or small property.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+35points
40out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2 Cycle 21.2cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from West Harrison, IN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Well made, powerful trimmer

PostedApril 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have this trimmer, it came in a box fully assembled, and ready to go. I have a large area that needs trimming several times a year, for a big job the long shaft and wide cutting area help to easily get the job done. The high power also helps me to cut through high thick weeds. Well made tool, solid construction, easy to start, ran well. The easy start is very nice, all plastic is well made and sturdy, the Cutting head is easy to open and close for when you have to re-load the string. Trimmer came with a pair of safety glasses.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use
Cons: a shoulder strap would be nice
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+48points
50out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2 Cycle 21.2cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Hagerstown, MD
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Trimmer

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've had the SRM-225 trimmer for almost 3 years now. It does a great job trimming around my lawn(1.5 acres) and my in-laws lawn(1 acre). I had purchased another brand Hasq trimmer that died after a little less than a season. I had cleaned the carb on that one and it still refused to run right.
This SRM-225 has plenty of power to tackle everything that I've thrown at it, normal lawn weeds, thickets, small sprouting trees. The only issue I had was that after 2 1/2 seasons I had to replace the carb due to buildup from running ethanol gas through it. That was a quick and easy two screw job. You can get a carb gasket kit and soak and clean the carb in carb cleaner but for $7 more you can just get a whole new carb and be set to go without having to tear it all apart and mess about putting the new seals and all in.
If you need a trimmer that gets the job done and is going to last more than 1/2 a season then pick this one up.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2 Cycle 21.2cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from arkansas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Echo only for me

PostedApril 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Debated on the curved vs. str8 shaft and glad I took this one (str8 shaft). IMO very well built and easy starting and the extra weight doesn't bother me a bit since it has excellent balance. Agree with others on the reduced fuel usage. And looking forward to using the speed feed head to refill , but after using it twice , I am shocked that I only had to bump out more line one time. I now have an echo chainsaw, weedeater, and trimmer , and I'm sold on their products. The reason I like the str8 shaft better is reach , plain and simple.
Pros: Cuts Well, Durable, Great Engine
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2 Cycle 21.2cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Farm

PostedApril 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
i bought this trimmer in 2012. It was been a great investment. I live on a farm and have a 13 acre pasture. I can trim the entire fence line on a tank an a half. I have recently had to put a new head on it but other than that I have no complaints. I would encourage anyone form homeowner to commercial lawn companies that wanted to save money to get this trimmer.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2 Cycle 21.2cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from United States
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

From A Pro - Quit Looking And Buy This One!

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I rarely write reviews because I don't feel qualified enough to offer valid evaluations of products, but in this case I worked for several years on a maintenance crew that owned many different properties and for most of the spring, summer and fall seasons, trimming weeds and grass dominated our work week. We used the expensive $500 commercial units. I didn't want to spend that much for my property and I didn't want extra weight so I bounced around from trimmer to trimmer. I got to the point where I thought unless you spent $500 you had to live with trimmers with absurd vibration, hard starting and less than dependable performance. After purchasing another one of the standard buck thirty trimmers that failed after the third day, I decided to throw in a few extra bucks for this one. That was the best trimmer decision I ever made. I read the great reviews, watched the videos above of how easy it starts and how easy it was to restring and I was skeptical. Oh my goodness ... the videos are true. Also it is true about the fuel efficiency because I use less fuel to trim my 1 acre property (with gardens, pool, porches, garage, sheds, etc.) This is the best running, least vibrating, easiest to string and start trimmers I have ever used in my life. I spent the extra $25 for the 2 year replacement warranty and from what I have seen so far I am guessing that that will be the best 25 dollars I have ever wasted. Stop looking and go buy this trimmer! You will be well satisfied! I would choose this one over any $500 models I have ever used!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2 Cycle 21.2cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Rosenberg TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bad counter-clockwise spinning head design - get pelted by debris!!!!

PostedMarch 31, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
"Counter-clockwise" spinning head throws clippings & debris back at you. This makes the unit not useful as an edger and you become a shooting range for the debris. Typical situation where as it is designed by engineers for a budget and restricting it to be used as edger. When you rotate the left side down using it as an edger it will die-out shortly. The tank must be full to do this.... any less & you are restarting constantly. The engineers only play with the unit in their own pride not using it for real work. They had the right idea but missed the grass roots end user. Be sure to wear eye protection & get ready to be pelted by debris as you use it! (DO NOT WEAR SHORTS!!!)
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use, wrong spin direction
+2points
23out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2 Cycle 21.2cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from jemison,alabama
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

BUYER BEWARE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedApril 30, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I BOUGHT THIS TRIMMER AND IT QUIT WORKING AFTER TWO MONTHS IT WILL NOT PUMP FUEL AND I HAVE CHANGED ALL THE PARTS OUT FOR NEW ONES HOME DEPOT REFUSED TO HELP ME IN ALABASTER, ALABAMA AND THEY WERE VERY RUDE ABOUT IT AND WANTED ME TO PAY THEM HOURLY TO FIX IT AND ECHO WANTS YOU TO PAY YOURSELF TO HAVE IT CHECKED BE FORE THEY WILL EVEN TELL YOU IF THE WARRANTY COVERS IT SO THERE NO HELP I WOULD NOT RECOMEND THIS TO ANYONE I LOST OVER 200 DOLLARS IN THE DEAL AND STILL HAVE NO TRIMMER!!!!!!!!!!! DO NOT BUY THIS TRIMMER OR SHOP AT HOME DEPOT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Pros: Accurate, Small Turn Radius, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable, does not run
0points
13out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2 Cycle 21.2cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Colorado Springs CO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

SRM=225 Great Trimmer

PostedMay 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Yesterday I just bought this weed trimmer for my wife and she loves it. She had an old Weed Eater that finally wore out and she wanted to move to a gas Trimmer. We originally went to Big R and purchased a STIHL trimmer on the advise of a neighbor. Brought it home and tried to use it and right off the bat had trouble with it. Took it right back to Big R to return it and they did not want to accept it back. Poor return policy on powered equipment. After haggling with them and the manager calling STIHL and his head office, they finally gave us our money back. The next morning I was on my computer researching weed trimmer and this ECHO SRM 225 had the best reviews. Bought it from Home Depot, took it home, fueled it up with the ECHO fuel, primed the fuel system and it started right up. Adjusted the handle down about a foot because my wife is only 5 foot tall, gave it to her and she went to town on our yard. My wife and I are in our mid sixties and found this product to be light weight, well made and easy to use.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2 Cycle 21.2cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Burr Ridge, IL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Caution - Inferior Product

PostedMay 15, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product self-destructed within 24-hours. After easy motor starting, the Nylon Cutter Head "blew apart" within the first 10' of trimming. I had not tapped the head for line advance - simply tried to trim along the driveway. The multiple parts of the Speed-Feed Head are poorly identified and do not allow for easy reassembly. The manual and the pics are of no help. Home Depot allowed easy return for refund. I then bought a less-expensive but similar featured Ryobi model which performed flawlessly (also from Home Depot).
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2 Cycle 21.2cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

The best

PostedApril 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have bought lots of weedeaters in the past,but being a poor man i had to..i saved my money and bought this echo weedeater best thing i ever did far as grass is concerned worth every penny,didnt even half to pull the string but 3 times it fired up and did some damage to my weeds and i have tall weeds...if you want a great weedeater make sure its a echo no matter what model they all work great..the reason i wanted one is when work is slack my boss has me do his yard with his and it was awesome.and its not the same model and he has done had his 10 years been worked on once....he does own a farm and the past 10 years that weedeater dont get no slack...long story short echo or no go.....ha
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2 Cycle 21.2cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Greenville, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great value for home-owner, get bigger powerhead Echo if you can afford it.

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've had several models from Echo, both used professionally and at home. This is a great home-owner model. You can pick up the Echo brand .155 string head right next to it at the HD store, for about $30. Great to have both. You can change them out if you need to.
This is a great and long lasting machine, but buy the bigger displacement engine if you can afford it or if you have to beat down thick weeds all the time. It's just a little underpowered for heavy duty work.
If all you are going to do is regular lawn work, though, these are great even for commercial use. The soft rubber/foam grip is nice, too for working with it many hours a day.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight, shop serviceable
Cons: underpowered for heavy duty work or brush cutting
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2 Cycle 21.2cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

The Best

PostedApril 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The best of the best!!!! I purchased this to cut the blackberry bushes and shrubs, did amazing job what else can you ask for!!!!!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2 Cycle 21.2cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Excellent

PostedApril 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great trimmer.Well worth the money.Not a cheap 2 season throwaway.High quality for sure.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2 Cycle 21.2cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Amazing!

PostedMay 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I do full time lawn maintenance and have had this particular model for the past 2 years. I've owned 4 other Name Brand trimmers and each and every one would fail after several months of rough use. this is the only machine that has survived my abuse. If I would have known how well it out performs the competition I would have gotten it years sooner. I strongly recommend this trimmer to anyone. especially if you are tall.
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2 Cycle 21.2cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from huber heights ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product

PostedMay 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
just purchased the trimmer it replaced an 11 year old john deere trimmer before i bought this one i bought trimmer from lowes the salesman at lowes stated the husqvarna was a great product i had the trimmer for 30 minutes it wouldn't rev up when i returned they told me i had bad gas the gas was new and properly mixed. filled the tank on the echo trimmer pulled the cord it started good i went straight to work with it no problems at all first time with echo and it won't be the last
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2 Cycle 21.2cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Powder springs
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Let go of my echo

PostedMay 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Man let go of my echo, bought this echo trimmer after my homelite put me down,awesome trimmer ,got me trimming everything near my house ,easy start ,great power a must have for anyone wanting a beautiful yard finely edged up ,get it while they last ,going quick ,I had to go to the store three times before I could find one in stock
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2 Cycle 21.2cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Colorado
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Absolutely great product!!!!

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have had this trimmer for 4 years now. I love the straight shaft vs the curved shaft. Much better to use in my opinion. This thing is pretty light for the power it has. You can whack down some serious weeds. 1/2" plus thick stocks by several feet tall. Just hold it wide open and let her rip. It gets the job done. It uses a very surprising small amount of gas it is almost ridiculous. A tank of fuel lasts hours. Every winter I put some Stab-Bil in it, and it still starts just as easy as new every spring. This thing always starts easy, performs well, and is all around such a great product that $200 seems rather cheap for it. I am looking at purchasing an Echo chain saw in the future because I am so happy with this trimmer from them. You will not be dissapointed in this trimmer. Just buy it. I wouldn't consider any of those cheaper machines, it is not worth it.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: none
+33points
34out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2 Cycle 21.2cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Dublin, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as hard as I do.

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This weed eater does all the clerk told me it would do. Easy to start and even cuts briars up to a medium size. Very pleased with it.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2 Cycle 21.2cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Dallas/Fort Worth Metroplex
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Echo String Trimmer

PostedApril 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My previous echo string trimmer lasted over ten years without any problems at all. Always starts, and the new string replacement system is even better on the new trimmers. Bought the first one based on a recommendation by an owner of a landscape business, who always uses the Echo brand string trimmers, and was impressed with their reliability. He was right!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 36 >>