728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for PAS Brush Cutter Attachment

PAS Brush Cutter Attachment

The ECHO PAS Brush Cutter Attachment turns a PAS power head into a dedicated brush cutter. Its 8 in. saw blade easily handles tough weeds and brush. It is for use with all ECHO PAS power heads.
Overall rating:
4.355 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product30 of 31reviews
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(16)
4
(12)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Features 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product30 of 31reviews
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer reviews for PAS Brush Cutter Attachment
Review 1 for PAS Brush Cutter Attachment
boss
from Florida, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

echo pass is a great product

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very well built product, easy to use. The quick disconnect is very well build and easy to slide in and out of the power head to lock down the tool. as you can see by the picture, I cleared the whole back of my lot, 80 feet , in about 30 minutes.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PAS Brush Cutter Attachment
Harry
from New Port Richey, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Finally! A brush cutter that actually clears brush!

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This brush cutter is the best solution I've found for selective clearing of bamboo as well as small oak trees and vines.
Pros: Great Engine, Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PAS Brush Cutter Attachment
Lawnanator
from florida
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great for small to medium undergrowth.

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had a lot of small undergrowth 1/2 inch to 1 1/2 inch on the property that was too small for a chain saw. It works great but plan on using some muscle and keep your kids away. Worked great on my Florida jungle, a lot of florida holly (Brazilian pepper) and palmetto.
Pros: Cuts Well
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PAS Brush Cutter Attachment
Alikays
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

As a female, it is a little heavy for me to operate, but it does exactly what it is supposed to.

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The brush cutter is a little heavy for me to operate for a length of time, but I do use the harness which helps some. The cutter works quite well and I am glad I have purchased the Echo PAS 225 and can use a variety of attachments that I plan to add to my collection. With proper care, these Echo cutters and trimmers can last a very long time. Glad I got it..
Pros: Cuts Well, Durable, Long-Lasting
Cons: slightly heavy for me but good
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PAS Brush Cutter Attachment
Roddy
from Rural Connecticut
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A "bushwhacker" of note!

PostedJune 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a dream piece of equipment. My property is acres of trees, the undergrowth of which is a jumble of different kinds of vines, wild blackberry, wild rose, barberry and tree seedlings and young saplings. An impassable jungle. This attachment on the Echo engine cuts through it all. It's not easy, but it works where nothing else ever has -- except a Bobcat Brush Hog which cost me $600 to rent for one day. I live in hope now that I will be able to reclaim areas of my property that I had given up to the jungle.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Store
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PAS Brush Cutter Attachment
Berry
from Hendersonville, NC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

outstanding

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product is outstanding, quality is outstanding. This is the best product i have bought in years.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PAS Brush Cutter Attachment
Mopar

works well

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
this brush cutter is very easy to use and works well
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Store
Cons: assembly instructions could have been more clear
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PAS Brush Cutter Attachment
UH48
from Manakin Sabot VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I needed a heavy duty weedwacker, and the price was excellent for the product.

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It starts fairly easily. I use the brush cutter blade which works great on brush, not so great on individual grass blades or for some reason thin twigs of poison ivy or hackberry tree. It also works great on clumps of fescue, not so great on bermuda. I probably need to shift to a string trimmer. I did have an issue with my first power head; Home Depot immediately exchanged for a new power head. The new one works like a champ. I read that some people didn't like the length and was a bit worried, but I find it just right--I'm 5'6", female. The shoulder harness that came with the brush cutter is a bit of a challenge to adjust. Not sure why the belt thing is there, especially since it seems to adjust in the back. The assembly instructions could be a little more detailed( one picture, and sort of small)
Pros: Durable, Great Engine, 5 year warranty
Cons: needs better assembly instructions, brush cutter doesn't cut small grass well
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PAS Brush Cutter Attachment
HOS1001
from Tennessee
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is easy to use and is efficient.

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this product to cut down stalks of white cane. It cut the stalks down with little effort. It made the yearly task much easier and it took approximately half the time it usually takes.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PAS Brush Cutter Attachment
Paulz28
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Decent

PostedJuly 15, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So I bought this to clear about a half acre of wooded viney lot. It does really well on small diameter trees or sapplings so long as the blade is sharp. After a full eight hour day the blade was done. With a fresh blade it will cut over one inch. Blades cost $20 though. I can't think of any other way to have done what i did with out this attachment though. So I'm happy. My back hurts from swinging it all day though lol.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PAS Brush Cutter Attachment
Mustache
from Bemidji, MN 56601, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy change from one attachment to the other

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The brush cutter works so much better than my other cutter. The grass trimmer also out performs the one it replaced. My former trimmer would tangle grass around the armature causing it to stall out. The ECHO with either the brush cutter or trimmer attachment doesn't tangle near as often or as severe. The ordering on line was flawless and arrival much sooner than expected.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Accurate, Durable, Light Weight, nice balance and easy starting
Cons: it won't drive me to south dakota or change my oil
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PAS Brush Cutter Attachment
Berto
from Newport News, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy to use dulled within a week!!

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Be prepared to buy more blades if you have alot of thick brush to clear!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PAS Brush Cutter Attachment
RUOTOLS

Used to cut brush, very good

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I cleared 1/8 acre of dense reeds and it did fine.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Small Turn Radius
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PAS Brush Cutter Attachment
Robert
from Pinson, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solid & stable

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The brush cutter attaches to the power source shaft quickly and solidly, without tools. It is sturdily built, and is easy to handle. I cleared a large, heavily overgrown garden in a quarter of the time (or less) it would take with hand tools. My only gripe is the blade, though inexpensive, dulled quickly on saplings, so I didn't mind so much pushing it into the dirt to cut growth at ground level.
I am looking for a better blade.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store
Cons: blade dulls quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PAS Brush Cutter Attachment
theweedwhacker
from upstate N.Y.

poor assembly directions

PostedJune 1, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is an excellent brush cutter. It powers through brush up to about an inch thick and with my 21cc power head can make it through small branches 1-2 inches with little to no effort. The assembly was a bit of a brain teaser though as the pictures in the book weren't much help and I had to use trial and error to figure out which screws went where. I would, however, recommend this product to anyone looking for a good brush cutter.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PAS Brush Cutter Attachment
SteveF
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

great product, easy to install

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had an old Echo string trimmer with a take-it-apart-put-it-back-together brush attachment. I usually ended up not bothering. With the PAS units, I can switch attachments in less than a minute.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PAS Brush Cutter Attachment
thegreatrando
from Montgomery, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great, gets the job done!

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I needed something to clear brush along fence lines and under trees in my horse pasture. This tool is highly effective at removing brush and not really all that hard to use. The warnings that come with it are a little intimidating but the attachment is really easy to use.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Powerful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PAS Brush Cutter Attachment
Luke
from San Francisco, CA, USA

Works well and does the job as advertised.

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Nicely put together unit and very good quality, as are all of the Echo products I have tried. Plenty powerful for getting through vegetation up to 1.5 inches in diameter. Anything larger than that is pushing it.
Be careful using this thing. Make sure everyone is well away and make sure you are wearing a face shield and other suitable protective equipment. Read the safety manual. No problem if used properly and if common sense is applied, but the unit should be handled with respect.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PAS Brush Cutter Attachment
gbcurtis
from Edgewood, NM 87015, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Well & Almost As Represented

PostedSeptember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Echo is resistant to provide necessary information about how to allow a user to operate this attachment at the rotational (cutting) speed of the blade that is represented the cutter can operate.
Echo requires a user to take the unit to a Repair Center (that Home Depot is not) to make adjustments that will allow operation at advertised rotational speed.
This is NOT mentioned anywhere in advertisements or on the box, but instead is difficult to find within the instructions and worse, on the blade-containing package, an unlikely place to look.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PAS Brush Cutter Attachment
Asemedic
from Deatsville, AL

Needs More Info

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Overall the unit works really well. The owner's manual is more of a directions to put together guide and needs more information for proper usage of the attachment because it tells nothing of speed needed to operate properly, direction of cut needs to be from left to right etc. These are safety critical information needs. Additionally, the back strap does not fit on my unit which is listed as an approved device as well as the new grip does not include the proper screws for mounting. But the cutter works great once you learn the proper speed and direction.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>